DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. This office action is in response to the Amendment filed on June 9, 2026.
Claims 1, 6-7, 9, 14-15, and 17 are amended. No claims are canceled or added.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-13, filed June 9, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 9, and 17 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Feeley, et al (US 20140036590 A1).
Applicant asserts Guo (US 20230343400 A1) ¶[0073] does not teach independently-erasable lateral sub-blocks or that one lateral sub-block can be erased while another lateral sub-block remains programmed. Applicant also asserts, and Examiner agrees, the remainder of Guo focuses on vertically-divided sub-blocks.
Examiner believes ¶[0073] teaches the idea of independently-erasable lateral sub-blocks, but does not expressly disclose details how one such sub-block can be erased while others remain programmed. Therefore, the rejections of independent claims 1, 9, and 17 as presented in the previous Office Action are withdrawn.
4. Applicant’s arguments, see pages 14-15, filed June 9, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 6 and 13 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that the cited references do not teach amended claim 6 as it now requires that the "distant" unselected word lines are word lines that are four or more word lines away from the selected word line. However, the amendment is very specific to only the unselected word lines that are distant from the selected word lines and merely defines these distant word lines as four or more word lines away and is rejected by Dong.
5. Applicant’s arguments, see pages 14-15, filed June 9, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 7 and 15 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant submits, and Examiner agrees, that the cited art does not teach ramping up the selected word line together with the two immediately adjacent unselected word lines to a pass voltage while at least four nearby, non-immediately-adjacent unselected word lines within three word lines of the selected word line are held at approximately zero Volts, as cited in amended claims 7 and 15. Therefore, the rejections of claims 7 and 15 have been withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-2, 9-10, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo, et al (US 20230343400 A1), hereinafter Guo, in view of Dong, et al (US 20080137425 A1), hereinafter Dong, and further in view of Feeley, et al (US 20140036590 A1), hereinafter Feeley.
Regarding independent claim 1, Guo teaches a method of performing a programming operation (e.g., FIGS. 7A-B, 16) in a memory device (FIG. 1, 100), comprising the steps of:
preparing a memory block (FIG. 4A, Blocks 0..M-1 of planes 302 and 304) that includes an array of memory cells that are arranged in a plurality of word lines (FIG. 4F, memory cells coupled to WL0..WL47);
with the memory block operating in a lateral sub-block mode (FIGS. 4B, 4D, sub-blocks including 420..450 are shown arranged laterally);
ramping down a selected word line (FIG. 14, MWLn; ¶ [0122]) being programmed from a reference voltage (FIG. 14, VCG_RV; ¶[0122]);
after beginning to ramp down the selected word line from the reference voltage, sequentially ramping down a plurality of unselected word lines from pass voltages from nearest the selected word line to the opposite ends of the memory block (FIG. 14 illustrates unselected word lines closer to the selected word line (e.g., MWLn+1) being ramped down earlier than unselected word lines farther from the selected word line (e.g., MWLn+3), the ramping down of each occurring sequentially and the “ends” being the farthest word lines in each direction from the selected word line (¶[0125]));
Guo does not teach after the unselected word lines have been sequentially ramped down, ramping up a plurality of unselected word lines that are distant from the selected word line; and
after the unselected word lines that are distant from the selected word line have begun to ramp up, ramping up the selected word line to a programming voltage.
Dong teaches after the unselected word lines have been sequentially ramped down (both the instant application (FIG. 12, ¶[0042]) and Guo (Abstract) describe the “ramping down” as part of the program-verify portion of a program operation preceding the next program pulse (instant application FIG. 12; Guo, FIG. 7C). The program-verify operation aligns with Dong FIG. 10, step 1030, which precedes the next program pulse of FIG. 10, 1020, as illustrated in FIG. 9. Therefore, Dong’s ramping up in FIG. 9 occurs after the unselected word lines have ramped down.), ramping up a plurality of unselected word lines that are distant from the selected word line (Instant application ¶[0058] and ¶[0112] define “distant” as at least four word lines away from the selected word line (WLn+4 and farther, WLn-4 and farther); Dong teaches in FIG. 9 unselected word lines WLn+4 and farther (included in waveform 920) and WLn-4 and farther (included in waveform 960) begin ramping at times t2 (waveform 920) and t1 (waveform 960)); and
after the unselected word lines that are distant from the selected word line have begun to ramp up, ramping up the selected word line to a programming voltage (Dong FIG. 9 shows selected word line WLn ramping to VPGM1 beginning at t3 and to VPGM2 beginning at t4, both of which are after unselected word lines have begun to ramp up).
Guo does not explicitly teach the memory block operating in a lateral sub-block mode in which the memory block is divided into laterally divided sub-blocks that are independently erasable on a sub-block level such that a selected lateral sub-block can be erased while an unselected lateral sub-block remains programmed.
Feeley teaches the memory block operating in a lateral sub-block mode in which the memory block is divided into laterally divided sub-blocks that are independently erasable on a sub-block level such that a selected lateral sub-block can be erased while an unselected lateral sub-block remains programmed (FIG. 14 shows lateral sub-block (“tiles”) in which sub-block 320 is erased while sub-blocks 310 and 330 are inhibited from being erased; ¶[0017], [0113-0114]).
Regarding independent claim 9, Guo teaches a memory device (FIG. 1, 100) for performing a programming operation (e.g., FIGS. 7A-B, 16), comprising:
a memory block (FIG. 4A, Blocks 0..M-1 of planes 302 and 304) that includes an array of memory cells that are arranged in a plurality of word lines (FIG. 4F, memory cells coupled to WL0..WL47), the array being divided into at least two laterally divided sub-blocks (FIG. 4B, sub-blocks 420..450 arranged laterally);
control circuitry (FIG. 1, 110) that is configured to program the memory cells (¶[0044]) of one of the sub-blocks (¶[0081], FIG. 4D; conductive layers are broken up by isolation regions, constraining programming to one of the sub-blocks) in a plurality of program loops (¶[0126]; FIG. 7C), during at least one of the program loops (¶[0126]) the control circuitry being configured to;
ramp down a selected word line being programmed from a reference voltage (FIG. 14, MWLn; ¶[0122]);
after beginning to ramp down the selected word line from the reference voltage, sequentially ramp down a plurality of unselected word lines from pass voltages from nearest the selected word line to the opposite ends of the memory block (FIG. 14 illustrates unselected word lines closer to the selected word line (e.g., MWLn+1) being ramped down earlier than unselected word lines farther from the selected word line (e.g., MWLn+3), the ramping down of each occurring sequentially and the “ends” being the farthest word lines in each direction from the selected word line (¶[0125]));
Guo does not teach after the unselected word lines have been sequentially ramped down, ramp up a plurality of unselected word lines that are distant from the selected word line; and
after the unselected word lines that are distant from the selected word line have begun to ramp up, ramp up the selected word line to a programming voltage.
Dong teaches after the unselected word lines have been sequentially ramped down (both the instant application (FIG. 12, ¶[0042]) and Guo (Abstract) describe the “ramping down” as part of the program-verify portion of a program operation preceding the next program pulse (instant application FIG. 12; Guo, FIG. 7C). The program-verify operation aligns with Dong FIG. 10, step 1030, which precedes the next program pulse of FIG. 10, 1020, as illustrated in FIG. 9. Therefore, Dong’s ramping up in FIG. 9 occurs after the unselected word lines have ramped down.), ramp up a plurality of unselected word lines that are distant from the selected word line (Instant application ¶[0058] and ¶[0112] define “distant” as at least four word lines away from the selected word line (WLn+4 and farther, WLn-4 and farther); Dong teaches in FIG. 9 unselected word lines WLn+4 and farther (included in waveform 920) and WLn-4 and farther (included in waveform 960) begin ramping at times t2 (waveform 920) and t1 (waveform 960)); and
after the unselected word lines that are distant from the selected word line have begun to ramp up, ramp up the selected word line to a programming voltage (Dong FIG. 9 shows selected word line WLn ramping to VPGM1 beginning at t3 and to VPGM2 beginning at t4, both of which are after unselected word lines have begun to ramp up).
Guo does not explicitly teach the memory block operating in a lateral sub-block mode in which the memory block is divided into laterally divided sub-blocks that are independently erasable on a sub-block level such that a selected lateral sub-block can be erased while an unselected lateral sub-block remains programmed.
Feeley teaches the memory block operating in a lateral sub-block mode in which the memory block is divided into laterally divided sub-blocks that are independently erasable on a sub-block level such that a selected lateral sub-block can be erased while an unselected lateral sub-block remains programmed (FIG. 14 shows lateral sub-block (“tiles”) in which sub-block 320 is erased while sub-blocks 310 and 330 are inhibited from being erased; ¶[0017], [0113-0114]).
Regarding independent claim 17, Guo teaches an apparatus for performing a programming operation in a memory device (Abstract), comprising:
a memory block (FIG. 4A, Blocks 0..M-1 of planes 302 and 304) that includes an array of memory cells that are arranged in a plurality of word lines (FIG. 4F, memory cells coupled to WL0..WL47), the array being divided into at least two laterally divided sub-blocks (FIG. 4B, sub-blocks 420..450 arranged laterally);
a programming means (FIG. 1, 110; ¶[0007]) for programming the memory cells (¶[0044]) of one of the sub-blocks (¶ [0081], FIG. 4D; conductive layers are broken up by isolation regions, constraining programming to one of the sub-blocks) in a plurality of program loops (¶[0126]; FIG. 7C), during at least one of the program loops (¶[0126]) the programming means being configured to;
ramp down a selected word line (FIG. 14, MWLn; ¶[0122]) being programmed from a reference voltage (FIG. 14, VCG_RV; ¶[0122]),
after beginning to ramp down the selected word line from the reference voltage, sequentially ramp down a plurality of unselected word lines from pass voltages from nearest the selected word line to the opposite ends of the memory block (FIG. 14 illustrates unselected word lines closer to the selected word line (e.g., MWLn+1) being ramped down earlier than unselected word lines farther from the selected word line (e.g., MWLn+3), the ramping down of each occurring sequentially and the “ends” being the farthest word lines in each direction from the selected word line (¶[0125])).
Guo does not teach after the unselected word lines have been sequentially ramped down, ramp up a plurality of unselected word lines that are distant from the selected word line, and
after the unselected word lines that are distant from the selected word line have begun to ramp up, ramp up the selected word line to a programming voltage.
Dong teaches after the unselected word lines have been sequentially ramped down (both the instant application (FIG. 12, ¶[0042]) and Guo (Abstract) describe the “ramping down” as part of the program-verify portion of a program operation preceding the next program pulse (instant application FIG. 12; Guo, FIG. 7C). The program-verify operation aligns with Dong FIG. 10, step 1030, which precedes the next program pulse of FIG. 10, 1020, as illustrated in FIG. 9. Therefore, Dong’s ramping up in FIG. 9 occurs after the unselected word lines have ramped down.), ramp up a plurality of unselected word lines that are distant from the selected word line (Instant application ¶[0058] and ¶[0112] define “distant” as at least four word lines away from the selected word line (WLn+4 and farther, WLn-4 and farther); Dong teaches in FIG. 9 unselected word lines WLn+4 and farther (included in waveform 920) and WLn-4 and farther (included in waveform 960) begin ramping at times t2 (waveform 920) and t1 (waveform 960)), and
after the unselected word lines that are distant from the selected word line have begun to ramp up, ramp up the selected word line to a programming voltage (Dong FIG. 9 shows selected word line WLn ramping to VPGM1 beginning at t3 and to VPGM2 beginning at t4, both of which are after unselected word lines have begun to ramp up).
Guo does not explicitly teach the memory block operating in a lateral sub-block mode in which the memory block is divided into laterally divided sub-blocks that are independently erasable on a sub-block level such that a selected lateral sub-block can be erased while an unselected lateral sub-block remains programmed.
Feeley teaches the memory block operating in a lateral sub-block mode in which the memory block is divided into laterally divided sub-blocks that are independently erasable on a sub-block level such that a selected lateral sub-block can be erased while an unselected lateral sub-block remains programmed (FIG. 14 shows lateral sub-block (“tiles”) in which sub-block 320 is erased while sub-blocks 310 and 330 are inhibited from being erased; ¶[0017], [0113-0114]).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 17, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Dong into the method of Guo to include sequentially ramping up source-side and drain-side unselected word lines prior to ramping up the selected word line to a program voltage. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Guo in the above manner for the purpose of correcting insufficient boosting and reducing program disturb (Dong, ¶ [0055-0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Feeley into the method of Guo to include sub-source lines assigned to partial (sub) blocks. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Guo in the above manner for the purpose that any partial block may be selected and erased independently of other partial blocks. (Feeley, ¶ [0113]).
Regarding claim 2, Guo as modified by Dong and Feeley teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Guo further teaches (¶[0122], referencing FIGS. 14 and 15) the step of sequentially ramping down the plurality of unselected word lines begins with only ramping down at least two word lines that are nearest the selected word line (MWLn-MWLn-1 and MWLn+1) and then only ramping down at least two next closest word lines (LWLT and MWLn+2) and continues until all of the unselected word lines in the memory block have begun to ramp down from the pass voltages (¶[0125]).
Regarding claim 10, Guo as modified by Dong and Feeley teaches the limitations of claim 9.
Guo further teaches sequentially ramping down the plurality of unselected word lines (FIG. 14 illustrates unselected word lines closer to the selected word line (e.g., MWLn+1) being ramped down earlier than unselected word lines farther from the selected word line (e.g., MWLn+3)), the control circuitry is configured to initially only ramp down at least two word lines that are nearest the selected word line (FIG. 14, MWLn-MWLn-1 and MWLn+1; ¶[0122]), and then only ramp down at least two next closest word lines (FIG. 14, LWLT and MWLn+2; ¶[0122]) and continue to ramp down the unselected word lines until all of the unselected word lines in the memory block have begun to ramp down from the pass voltages (¶[0125]).
Regarding claim 18, Guo as modified by Dong and Feeley teaches the limitations of claim 17.
Guo further teaches when sequentially ramping down the plurality of unselected word lines (¶[0122], referencing FIGS. 14 and 15), the programming means is configured to initially only ramp down at least two word lines that are nearest the selected word line (MWLn-MWLn-1 and MWLn+1) and then only ramp down at least two next closest word lines (LWLT and MWLn+2) and continue to ramp down the unselected word lines until all of the unselected word lines in the memory block have begun to ramp down from the pass voltages (¶[0125]).
8. Claims 3-4, 11-12, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo, et al (US 20230343400 A1), hereinafter Guo, in view of Dong, et al (US 20080137425 A1), hereinafter Dong, further in view of Feeley, et al (US 20140036590 A1), hereinafter Feeley, and further in view of Dong, et al (US 9620233 B1), hereinafter Dong ‘233.
Regarding claim 3, Guo as modified by Dong and Feeley teaches the limitations of claim 2.
Guo further teaches the step of sequentially ramping down the plurality of unselected word lines includes a first stage (FIG. 15, e.g., the figure second from the left in which the word lines immediately adjacent to the selected word line are ramped down from VREAD to 0a.u.) and a second stage (FIG. 15, e.g., the figure third from the left and second from the right),
wherein during the first stage, a first number (two, although ¶[0122] teaches the number may be different) of unselected word lines simultaneously begin to ramp down (e.g., ¶[0122] teaches MWLn-MWLn-1 and MWLn+1 ramp together),
wherein during the second stage, a second number of unselected word lines simultaneously begin to ramp down (two, although ¶[0122] teaches the number may be different and MWLn+2 and LWLT ramp together).
Guo does not explicitly teach the second number of unselected word lines is greater than the first number of unselected word lines.
Dong ‘233 teaches the second number of unselected word lines (FIG. 12, Clusters 1 and 2) is greater than the first number (FIG. 12, Cluster 0) of unselected word lines (see also Col. 20, ll. 18-30).
Regarding claim 11, Guo as modified by Dong and Feeley teaches the limitations of claim 10.
Guo further teaches the control circuitry is configured to sequentially ramp down the plurality of unselected word lines in a first stage (FIG. 15, e.g., the figure second from the left in which the word lines immediately adjacent to the selected word line are ramped down from VREAD to 0a.u.) and a second stage (FIG. 15, e.g., the figure third from the left and second from the right),
wherein during the first stage, the control circuitry simultaneously begins to ramp down a first number of unselected word lines (two, although ¶[0122] teaches the number may be different and MWLn-MWLn-1 and MWLn+1 ramp together),
wherein during the second stage, the control circuitry simultaneously begins to ramp down a second number of unselected word lines (two, although ¶[0122] teaches the number may be different and MWLn+2 and LWLT ramp together).
Guo does not explicitly teach the second number of unselected word lines is greater than the first number of unselected word lines.
Dong ‘233 teaches the second number of unselected word lines (FIG. 12, Clusters 1 and 2) is greater than the first number (FIG. 12, Cluster 0) of unselected word lines (see also Col. 20, ll. 18-30).
Regarding claim 19, Guo as modified by Dong and Feeley teaches the limitations of claim 18.
Guo further teaches the programming means is configured to sequentially ramp down the plurality of unselected word lines in a first stage (FIG. 15, e.g., the figure second from the left in which the word lines immediately adjacent to the selected word line are ramped down from VREAD to 0a.u.) and a second stage (FIG. 15, e.g., the figure third from the left and second from the right),
wherein during the first stage, the programming means simultaneously begins to ramp down a first number (two, although ¶[0122] teaches the number may be different and MWLn-MWLn-1 and MWLn+1 ramp together) of unselected word lines,
wherein during the second stage, the programming means simultaneously begins to ramp down a second number of unselected word lines (two, although ¶[0122] teaches the number may be different and MWLn+2 and LWLT ramp together).
Guo does not explicitly teach the second number of unselected word lines is greater than the first number of unselected word lines.
Dong ‘233 teaches the second number of unselected word lines (FIG. 12, Clusters 1 and 2) is greater than the first number (FIG. 12, Cluster 0) of unselected word lines (see also Col. 20, ll. 18-30).
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 19, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Dong ‘233 into the method of Guo to include clustering word lines as part of the discharging (ramping down) process (Dong ‘233, FIGS. 11-13). The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Guo in the above manner for the purpose of increasing the size of clusters for increased efficiency or decreasing the size of clusters for increased accuracy (Dong ‘233, Col. 23, ll. 12-22).
Regarding claim 4, Guo as modified by Dong, Feeley, and Dong ‘233 teaches the limitations of claim 3.
Regarding claim 12, Guo as modified by Dong, Feeley, and Dong ‘233 teaches the limitations of claim 11.
Regarding claim 20, Guo as modified by Dong, Feeley, and Dong ‘233 teaches the limitations of claim 19.
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 20, Guo shows in FIGS. 14 and 15 and ¶[0122] the “first number” of unselected word lines ramping is two, which is no more than four, but fails to show the range of the “first number” of unselected word lines of the claimed limitation. However, the claimed range will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating this range is critical, which is lacking in the present disclosure. “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the workable ranges by routine experimentation” – In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454,456,105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
9. Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo, et al (US 20230343400 A1), hereinafter Guo, in view of Dong, et al (US 20080137425 A1), hereinafter Dong, further in view of Feeley, et al (US 20140036590 A1), hereinafter Feeley, and further in view of Lee, et al (US 20220336025 A1), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 8, Guo as modified by Dong and Feeley teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Guo does not teach after the step of ramping up the selected word line to the programming voltage, the method further includes the step of ramping up a plurality of remaining unselected word lines to pass voltages.
Lee teaches after the step of ramping up the selected word line to the programming voltage, the method further includes the step of ramping up a plurality of remaining unselected word lines to pass voltages (FIG. 11 as applied to the embodiment of FIGS. 14-15 ramps up “Group 2” (word lines adjacent to the selected WL) after the selected word line has ramped up to VPGM; Guo as modified by Dong and Lee would move Dong’s WLn +1 and WLn-1 from waveforms 920 and 960, respectively (Dong FIG. 11), to Lee’s “Group 2” waveform (Lee FIG. 11)).
Regarding claim 16, Guo as modified by Dong and Feeley teaches the limitations of claim 9.
Guo does not teach after ramping up the selected word line to the programming voltage, the control circuitry is further configured to ramp up a plurality of remaining unselected word lines to pass voltages.
Lee teaches after ramping up the selected word line to the programming voltage, the control circuitry is further configured to ramp up a plurality of remaining unselected word lines to pass voltages (FIG. 11 as applied to the embodiment of FIGS. 14-15 ramps up “Group 2” (word lines adjacent to the selected WL) after the selected word line has ramped up to VPGM; Guo as modified by Dong and Lee would move Dong’s WLn +1 and WLn-1 from waveforms 920 and 960, respectively (Dong FIG. 11), to Lee’s “Group 2” waveform (Lee FIG. 11)).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee into the method of Guo to include ramping up the word lines adjacent to the selected word line to a pass voltage after the selected word line has ramped up to the program voltage. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Guo in the above manner for the purpose of preventing electron injection from the WL(i+1) region adjacent to the selected word line WLi to the WL(i−1) region (Lee ¶[0124]).
10. Claims 5-6 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo, et al (US 20230343400 A1), hereinafter Guo, in view of Dong, et al (US 20080137425 A1), hereinafter Dong, further in view of Feeley, et al (US 20140036590 A1), hereinafter Feeley, and further in view of Chen, et al (US 20190147955 A1), hereinafter Chen.
Regarding claim 5, Guo as modified by Dong and Feeley teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Guo does not teach the step of ramping down the selected word line from the reference voltage includes ramping the selected word line down to a negative voltage.
Chen teaches the step of ramping down the selected word line from the reference voltage (FIG. 9C, VrA..VrG) includes ramping the selected word line down to a negative voltage (FIG. 16A, word line voltage of “first group” 1401, which includes selected word line WLn (see ¶[0098] and [0148]), is -3V during pre-charge).
Regarding claim 13, Guo as modified by Dong and Feeley teaches the limitations of claim 9.
Guo does not teach the control circuitry is configured to ramp down the selected word line from the reference voltage to a negative voltage.
Chen teaches the control circuitry is configured to ramp down the selected word line from the reference voltage (FIG. 9C, VrA..VrG) to a negative voltage (FIG. 16A, word line voltage of “first group” 1401, which includes selected word line WLn (see ¶[0098] and [0148]), is -3V during pre-charge).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Chen into the method of Guo to include a negative word line voltage for the selected word line during pre-charge. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Guo in the above manner for the purpose of reducing the disturb without the time penalty of a stepped increase (Chen ¶[0208-0209]).
Regarding claim 6, Guo as modified by Dong, Feeley, and Chen teaches the limitations of claim 5.
Guo further teaches the step of sequentially ramping down the plurality of unselected word lines from the pass voltages (FIG. 14) includes ramping the unselected word lines down to approximately zero Volts (FIG. 15 and ¶[0122], in which 0 a.u. (assumed “arbitrary units”) is understood to represent 0V),
Dong further teaches the plurality of unselected word lines that are distant from the selected word line are word lines that are four or more word lines away from the selected word line (e.g., Dong teaches in FIG. 9 unselected word lines WLn+4 and farther (included in waveform 920) and WLn-4 and farther (included in waveform 960) begin ramping down to 0V at time t6).
Regarding claim 14, Guo as modified by Dong, Feeley, and Chen teaches the limitations of claim 13.
Guo further teaches the circuitry is configured to sequentially ramp down the plurality of unselected word lines (FIG. 14) from the pass voltages to approximately zero Volts (FIG. 15 and ¶[0122], in which 0 a.u. (assumed “arbitrary units”) is understood to represent 0V).
Dong further teaches the plurality of unselected word lines that are distant from the selected word line are word lines that are four or more word lines away from the selected word line (e.g., Dong teaches in FIG. 9 unselected word lines WLn+4 and farther (included in waveform 920) and WLn-4 and farther (included in waveform 960) begin ramping down to 0V at time t6).
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 7 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
12. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art made of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach the claimed limitation of wherein the step of ramping up the selected word line to the positive voltage comprises ramping up the selected word line and the two unselected word lines immediately adjacent the selected word line to the pass voltage while at least four unselected word lines that are within three word lines of the selected word line and are not immediately adjacent to the selected word line are held at approximately zero Volts.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art made of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach the claimed limitation of wherein ramping up the selected word line to the positive voltage comprises ramping up the selected word line and the two unselected word lines immediately adjacent the selected word line to the pass voltage while at least four unselected word lines that are within three word lines of the selected word line and that are not immediately adjacent to the selected word line are held at approximately zero Volts.
Citation of Relevant Art
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Maeda (US 20120134210 A1) teaches erasing a first sub-block while not erasing a second sub-block (Abstract), the sub-blocks arranged laterally (e.g., SB1 and SB2 of FIGS. 1 and 3A).
Yang, et al (US 20220383956 A1) teaches laterally-arranged sub-blocks (FIGS. 4B, 4E) can be the unit of erase (¶[0071]), each sub-block independently selectable (¶[0087]).
Cui, et al (US 20220059157 A1) teaches sub-blocks arranged laterally (FIG. 6A) and an erase operation may be performed on a selected sub-block (¶[0126]).
Conclusion
/B.S.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2827
/AMIR ZARABIAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2827