DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communication filed on 03/13/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ellmauthaler et al. US 20170176243 A1 (hereinafter Ellmauthaler).
Regarding claim 1, Ellmauthaler disclose 1. A system comprising:
a distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) (see abstract; para. 0022-0023) system that includes a pulse generator (see para. 0002-0003, “mud pulse telemetry… generate pressure pulses”0014, 0018, 0019 wherein transmitted mud pulses are detected using a DAS system; see para. 0022, “signal generator”; see para. 0025,”mud pulses transmitted by a telemetry system”; 0033) and a sensing fiber positionable in a wellbore (see para. 0022-0023, “sensing fiber”);
a processor (see abstract; para. 0041 “processor”); and
a non-transitory computer-readable medium (para. 0041) that includes instructions executable by the processor for causing the processor to perform operations (para. 0041) comprising:
generating, using the pulse generator, a light pulse to be transmitted into the sensing fiber to make one or more measurements relating to a wellbore operation involving the wellbore (see para. 0022-0025, “interrogation light signals”);
receiving an initial pulse that includes a reflection of the light pulse prior to the light pulse entering the sensing fiber (see abstract; see para. 0030-0031, “interferometer may be placed in the launch path (i.e. in a position that splits and interferes optical signals 212 prior to traveling down sensing fiber 230) of the interrogating signal (i.e. transmitted optical signal 212) to generate a pair of signals that travel down sensing fiber 230”, wherein optical signals are illustrated as pulses; para. 0023, wherein optical signals 212 are light signals, therefore the initial pulse is implied);
applying a cross-correlation filter to one or more subsequently received pulse reflections originating from the sensing fiber, the cross-correlation filter comprising the initial pulse (see abstract; para. 0014, 0030-0031, wherein the initial pulse is implied; 0037, “travel time of the mud pulses may be estimated using a matched filter operation (which may include cross-correlation operations)”; para. 0044, 0053); and
generating, based on applying the cross-correlation filter, an output signal usable to control the wellbore operation (see 0068, 0078, 0079 “mud pump stroke pulses in the downhole drilling system using an output of the second matched filter operation”).
Regarding claim 3, Ellmauthaler disclose the materials discussed with respect to claim 1, and further disclose wherein the operation of receiving the initial pulse comprises measuring an initial pulse reflection from a reflective surface positionable between the pulse generator and the sensing fiber (see Fig. 2, para. 0025-0026,where “mirrors 250” are positionable between pulse generator 210 and fiber 230).
Regarding claim 4, Ellmauthaler disclose the materials as discussed above with respect to claim 1. Ellmauthaler further disclose wherein the operation of applying the cross-correlation filter to the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections (see para. 0037, 0053, 0058) comprises (i) isolating a raw I-value of the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections (see para. 0029-0030, 0047, “I component is disclosed) and (ii) isolating a raw Q-value of the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections (see abstract, para 0029-0030, 0040, 0047, 0058, Q component is disclosed).
Regarding claim 5, Ellmauthaler disclose the materials as discussed above with respect to claim 4. Ellmauthaler further disclose wherein the operation of applying the cross-correlation filter to the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections (see para. 0037, 0047, 0050, 0053, 0058, wherein a matched filter operation is disclosed with the received DAS data signals using the I and Q quadrature signals) comprises: cross-correlating the raw I-value with the initial pulse to generate a filtered I-value (see para. 0037, 0047, 0050, 0053, 0058, wherein a matched filter operation is disclosed with the received DAS data signals using the I and Q quadrature signals, the matching filter operation include cross-correlation operations); and cross-correlating the raw Q-value with the initial pulse to generate a filtered Q-value (see abstract; para. 0037, 0047, 0050, 0053, 0058, wherein a matched filter operation is disclosed with the received DAS data signals using the I and Q values, the matching filter operation include cross-correlation operations).
Regarding claim 6, Ellmauthaler disclose the materials as discussed above with respect to claim 5. Ellmauthaler further disclose wherein the operation of generating the output signal comprises estimating a delta phase (dphase) of the generated light pulse using the filtered I-value and the filtered Q-value to generate the output signal (see abstract; para. 0037, 0047, 0050, 0053, 0058, wherein matched filter using quadrature and in phase value is disclosed; see para. 0028-0031, wherein phase shift is disclosed for I and Q values ).
Regarding claim 7, Ellmauthaler disclose the materials as discussed above with respect to claim 1. Ellmauthaler further disclose wherein the operation of applying the cross-correlation filter to the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections comprises: determining whether to sample the subsequently received pulse reflections with an odd number or with an even number (para. 0026-0027, “at a high sample rate, various regions along sensing fiber 230 may be sampled, with each region being the length of the path mismatch L between paths α and β”); and sampling the odd number or the even number of the subsequently received pulse reflections of the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections (see abstract, para. 0014, 0026-0027, 0048, wherein pulses are being sampled).
Examiner notes that it is understood from the claim language that the sampled pulse reflection correspond to any pulse, given that there’s only two options either odd or even pulses. Therefore the language is being interpreted as determining whether to sample the subsequently received pulse reflections with a number; and sampling of the subsequently received pulse reflections of the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections. So it is basically sampling a pulse reflection and sampling a received pulse reflection.
Regarding claim 8, Ellmauthaler disclose a method comprising:
generating, by a computing system (see para. 0041) communicatively coupled with a distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) system (see abstract; para. 0022-0023) that includes a pulse generator and a sensing fiber positioned in a wellbore (see para. 0022-0023, “sensing fiber”), a light pulse to be transmitted into the sensing fiber to make one or more measurements relating to a wellbore operation involving the wellbore (see para. 0022-0025, “interrogation light signals”);
receiving, by the computing system, an initial pulse that includes a reflection of the light pulse prior to the light pulse entering the sensing fiber (see abstract; see para. 0030-0031, “interferometer may be placed in the launch path (i.e. in a position that splits and interferes optical signals 212 prior to traveling down sensing fiber 230) of the interrogating signal (i.e. transmitted optical signal 212) to generate a pair of signals that travel down sensing fiber 230”, wherein optical signals are illustrated as pulses; para. 0023, wherein optical signals 212 are light signals, therefore the initial pulse is implied);
applying, by the computing system, a cross-correlation filter to one or more subsequently received pulse reflections originating from the sensing fiber, the cross-correlation filter comprising the initial pulse (see abstract; para. 0014, 0030-0031, wherein the initial pulse is implied; 0037, “travel time of the mud pulses may be estimated using a matched filter operation (which may include cross-correlation operations)”; para. 0044, 0053); and
generating, by the computing system and based applying the cross-correlation filter to the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections, an output signal for controlling the wellbore operation (see 0068, 0078, 0079 “mud pump stroke pulses in the downhole drilling system using an output of the second matched filter operation”).
Regarding claim 10, Ellmauthaler disclose the materials discussed with respect to claim 8, and further disclose wherein receiving the initial pulse comprises measuring an initial pulse reflection from a reflective surface positionable between the pulse generator and the sensing fiber (see Fig. 2, para. 0025-0026,where “mirrors 250” are positionable between pulse generator 210 and fiber 230).
Regarding claim 11, Ellmauthaler disclose the materials as discussed above with respect to claim 8. Ellmauthaler further disclose wherein applying the cross-correlation filter to the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections (see para. 0037, 0053, 0058) comprises (i) isolating a raw I-value of the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections (see para. 0029-0030, 0047, “I component is disclosed) and (ii) isolating a raw Q-value of the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections (see abstract, para 0029-0030, 0040, 0047, 0058, Q component is disclosed).
Regarding claim 12, Ellmauthaler disclose the materials as discussed above with respect to claim 11. Ellmauthaler further disclose wherein applying the cross-correlation filter to the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections (see para. 0037, 0047, 0050, 0053, 0058, wherein a matched filter operation is disclosed with the received DAS data signals using the I and Q quadrature signals) comprises: cross-correlating the raw I-value with the initial pulse to generate a filtered I-value (see para. 0037, 0047, 0050, 0053, 0058, wherein a matched filter operation is disclosed with the received DAS data signals using the I and Q quadrature signals, the matching filter operation include cross-correlation operations); and cross-correlating the raw Q-value with the initial pulse to generate a filtered Q-value (see abstract; para. 0037, 0047, 0050, 0053, 0058, wherein a matched filter operation is disclosed with the received DAS data signals using the I and Q values, the matching filter operation include cross-correlation operations).
Regarding claim 13, Ellmauthaler disclose the materials as discussed above with respect to claim 12. Ellmauthaler further disclose wherein the operation of generating the output signal comprises estimating a delta phase (dphase) of the generated light pulse using the filtered I-value and the filtered Q-value to generate the output signal (see abstract; para. 0037, 0047, 0050, 0053, 0058, wherein matched filter using quadrature and in phase value is disclosed; see para. 0028-0031, wherein phase shift is disclosed for I and Q values ).
Regarding claim 14, Ellmauthaler disclose the materials as discussed above with respect to claim 8. Ellmauthaler further disclose wherein applying the cross-correlation filter to the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections comprises: determining whether to sample the subsequently received pulse reflections with an odd number or with an even number (para. 0026-0027, “at a high sample rate, various regions along sensing fiber 230 may be sampled, with each region being the length of the path mismatch L between paths α and β”); and sampling the odd number or the even number of the subsequently received pulse reflections of the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections (see abstract, para. 0014, 0026-0027, 0048, wherein pulses are being sampled).
Examiner notes that it is understood from the claim language that the sampled pulse reflection correspond to any pulse, given that there’s only two options either odd or even pulses. Therefore the language is being interpreted as determining whether to sample the subsequently received pulse reflections with a number; and sampling of the subsequently received pulse reflections of the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections. So it is basically sampling a pulse reflection and sampling a received pulse reflection.
Regarding claim 15, Ellmauthaler disclose 1. A system comprising:
a distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) (see abstract; para. 0022-0023) system that includes a pulse generator (see para. 0002-0003, “mud pulse telemetry… generate pressure pulses”0014, 0018, 0019 wherein transmitted mud pulses are detected using a DAS system; see para. 0022, “signal generator”; see para. 0025,”mud pulses transmitted by a telemetry system”; 0033) and a sensing fiber positionable in a wellbore to facilitate one or more measurements about the wellbore (see para. 0022-0023, “sensing fiber”, 0025 vibration or acoustically induced strains that may comprise mud pulses);
a reflective surface positionable between the pulse generator and the sensing fiber to reflect at least a portion of the one or more light pulses (see Fig. 2, para. 0025-0026,where “mirrors 250” are positionable between pulse generator 210 and fiber 230).
a processor (see abstract; para. 0041 “processor”); and
a non-transitory computer-readable medium (para. 0041) that includes instructions executable by the processor for causing the processor to perform operations (para. 0041) comprising:
generating, using the pulse generator, a particular light pulse to be transmitted into the sensing fiber to make one or more measurements relating to a wellbore operation involving the wellbore (see para. 0022-0025, “interrogation light signals”, vibration or acoustically induced strains that may comprise mud pulses);
receiving by reflecting at least a portion of the particular light pulse from the reflective surface prior to the particular light pulse entering the sensing fiber an initial pulse (see abstract; see para. 0030-0031, “interferometer may be placed in the launch path (i.e. in a position that splits and interferes optical signals 212 prior to traveling down sensing fiber 230) of the interrogating signal (i.e. transmitted optical signal 212) to generate a pair of signals that travel down sensing fiber 230”, wherein optical signals are illustrated as pulses; para. 0023, wherein optical signals 212 are light signals, therefore the initial pulse is implied);
applying a cross-correlation filter to one or more subsequently received pulse reflections originating from the sensing fiber, the cross-correlation filter comprising the initial pulse (see abstract; para. 0014, 0030-0031, wherein the initial pulse is implied; 0037, “travel time of the mud pulses may be estimated using a matched filter operation (which may include cross-correlation operations)”; para. 0044, 0053); and
generating, based on applying the cross-correlation filter to the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections, an output signal usable to control the wellbore operation (see 0068, 0078, 0079 “mud pump stroke pulses in the downhole drilling system using an output of the second matched filter operation”).
Regarding claim 16, Ellmauthaler disclose the materials as discussed above with respect to claim 15. Ellmauthaler further disclose wherein the operation of applying the cross-correlation filter to the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections (see para. 0037, 0053, 0058) comprises (i) isolating a raw I-value of the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections (see para. 0029-0030, 0047, “I component is disclosed) and (ii) isolating a raw Q-value of the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections (see abstract, para 0029-0030, 0040, 0047, 0058, Q component is disclosed).
Regarding claim 17, Ellmauthaler disclose the materials as discussed above with respect to claim 16. Ellmauthaler further disclose wherein the operation of applying the cross-correlation filter to the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections (see para. 0037, 0047, 0050, 0053, 0058, wherein a matched filter operation is disclosed with the received DAS data signals using the I and Q quadrature signals) comprises: cross-correlating the raw I-value with the initial pulse to generate a filtered I-value (see para. 0037, 0047, 0050, 0053, 0058, wherein a matched filter operation is disclosed with the received DAS data signals using the I and Q quadrature signals, the matching filter operation include cross-correlation operations); and cross-correlating the raw Q-value with the initial pulse to generate a filtered Q-value (see abstract; para. 0037, 0047, 0050, 0053, 0058, wherein a matched filter operation is disclosed with the received DAS data signals using the I and Q values, the matching filter operation include cross-correlation operations).
Regarding claim 18, Ellmauthaler disclose the materials as discussed above with respect to claim 17. Ellmauthaler further disclose wherein the operation of generating the output signal comprises estimating a delta phase (dphase) of the generated light pulse using the filtered I-value and the filtered Q-value to generate the output signal (see abstract; para. 0037, 0047, 0050, 0053, 0058, wherein matched filter using quadrature and in phase value is disclosed; see para. 0028-0031, wherein phase shift is disclosed for I and Q values ).
Regarding claim 19, Ellmauthaler disclose the materials as discussed above with respect to claim 15. Ellmauthaler further disclose wherein the operation of applying the cross-correlation filter to the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections comprises: determining whether to sample the subsequently received pulse reflections with an odd number or with an even number (para. 0026-0027, “at a high sample rate, various regions along sensing fiber 230 may be sampled, with each region being the length of the path mismatch L between paths α and β”); and sampling the odd number or the even number of the subsequently received pulse reflections of the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections (see abstract, para. 0014, 0026-0027, 0048, wherein pulses are being sampled).
Examiner notes that it is understood from the claim language that the sampled pulse reflection correspond to any pulse, given that there’s only two options either odd or even pulses. Therefore the language is being interpreted as determining whether to sample the subsequently received pulse reflections with a number; and sampling of the subsequently received pulse reflections of the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections. So it is basically sampling a pulse reflection and sampling a received pulse reflection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ellmauthaler et al. US 20170176243 A1 (hereinafter Ellmauthaler) in view of Farhadiroushan et al. US20240011824A1 (hereinafter Farhadiroushan).
Regarding claim 2, Ellmauthaler disclose the materials as applied above with respect to claim 1.
However Ellmauthaler do not expressly or explicitly teach that the operation of receiving the initial pulse comprises generating a synthetic light pulse that is an estimated initial pulse reflection, and wherein the operation of applying the cross-correlation filter to the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections comprises cross-correlating the synthetic light pulse and the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections.
Farhadiroushan disclose the operation of receiving the initial pulse comprises generating a synthetic light pulse that is an estimated initial pulse reflection, and wherein the operation of applying the cross-correlation filter to the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections comprises cross-correlating the synthetic light pulse and the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections (see para. 0032-0035, 0039, 0040; Figures 1 and 7, an operation of receiving a light source comprises generating a synthetic light source that is an estimated reflection by faraday-rotator mirrors (107, 108), and the operation of applying a fast processor unit (714) to the one or more subsequently received pulses comprises cross-correlating the synthetic light source and the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Farhadiroushan, to configure the system of Ellmauthaler for conducting the operation of receiving the initial pulse comprises generating a synthetic light pulse that is an estimated initial pulse reflection, and wherein the operation of applying the cross-correlation filter to the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections comprises cross-correlating the synthetic light pulse and the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections for the benefit of improving the signal visibility and sensitivity, obtaining fast quantitative measurements with high sensitivity (see para. 0012, 0040).
Regarding claim 9, Ellmauthaler disclose the materials as applied above with respect to claim 8.
However Ellmauthaler do not expressly or explicitly teach that the operation of receiving the initial pulse comprises generating a synthetic light pulse that is an estimated initial pulse reflection, and wherein the operation of applying the cross-correlation filter to the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections comprises cross-correlating the synthetic light pulse and the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections.
Farhadiroushan disclose the operation of receiving the initial pulse comprises generating a synthetic light pulse that is an estimated initial pulse reflection, and wherein the operation of applying the cross-correlation filter to the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections comprises cross-correlating the synthetic light pulse and the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections (see para. 0032-0035, 0039, 0040; Figures 1 and 7, an operation of receiving a light source comprises generating a synthetic light source that is an estimated reflection by faraday-rotator mirrors (107, 108), and the operation of applying a fast processor unit (714) to the one or more subsequently received pulses comprises cross-correlating the synthetic light source and the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Farhadiroushan, to configure the system of Ellmauthaler for conducting the operation of receiving the initial pulse comprises generating a synthetic light pulse that is an estimated initial pulse reflection, and wherein the operation of applying the cross-correlation filter to the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections comprises cross-correlating the synthetic light pulse and the one or more subsequently received pulse reflections for the benefit of improving the signal visibility and sensitivity, obtaining fast quantitative measurements with high sensitivity (see para. 0012, 0040).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ellmauthaler et al. US 20170176243 A1 (hereinafter Ellmauthaler) in view of Li et al. US2023/0071743A1.
Regarding claim 20, Ellmauthaler disclose the materials discussed with respect to claim 15.
However Ellmauthaler do not expressly or explicitly disclose that the wellbore operation comprises a fracturing operation, and wherein the operations further comprise adjusting a fracture parameter to control the fracturing operation.
Li disclose a method for quantitative hydraulic fracturing surveillance from fiber optic sensing, capturing distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) data (see abstract, para. 0021), wherein the wellbore operation comprises a fracturing operation, and wherein the operations further comprise adjusting a fracture parameter to control the fracturing operation (see para. 0021, 0064, 0068).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Ellmauthaler such that the wellbore operation comprises a fracturing operation, and wherein the operations further comprise adjusting a fracture parameter to control the fracturing operation for the benefit of quantitatively predicting fracturing profiling from fiber optic DAS data (see para. 0062) enabling and providing the first step towards an automated quantitative framework for intelligence completion and production monitoring, with minimal manual interpretation (see para. 0068).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record cited in form PTOL-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mizuna et al. US20220307895A1 disclose an optical fiber based seismic sensing technology such as distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) which provides industries (i.e. oil and gas industry) with new options for seismic sensing. In borehole seismic the DAS provides a viable alternative to downhole particle motion sensor arrays with high sensor count flexible deployment and long term operation (see para. 0003).
Ellmauthaler et al. US20220145755 disclose a distributed acoustic system (DAS) including an interrogator that includes two or more lasers , a pulser module, a wavelength division multiplexer (WDM), wherein each of pulser modules are connected to WDM as inputs and a downhole fiber attached to the WDM as an output and wherein the downhole fiber includes at least one sensing fiber. Ellmauthaler further disclose increasing a sampling frequency may include identifying a length of a downhole fiber connected to an interrogator, generating and launching a light pulse from each of the two or more lasers the pulser module, and delaying an output from the pulser module into the downhole fiber by k/N seconds, where k is a pulse repetition interval of the pulser module and N is equal to the two or more lasers (see abstract; para. 0075-0076).
/YARITZA H. PEREZ BERMUDEZ/
Examiner
Art Unit 2857
/SHELBY A TURNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857