DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to application 18/603,955 filed on 03/13/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending. All pending claims are examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This application is a continuation application of U.S. application No. 17/819,072 filed on 08/11/2022, now U.S. Patent 11,941,652 (“Parent Application”). See MPEP §201.07. In accordance with MPEP §609.02 A. 2 and MPEP §2001.06(b) (last paragraph), the Examiner has reviewed and considered the prior art cited in the Parent Application.
Also in accordance with MPEP §2001.06(b) (last paragraph), all documents cited or considered ‘of record’ in the Parent Application are now considered cited or ‘of record’ in this application. Additionally, Applicant(s) are reminded that a listing of the information cited or ‘of record’ in the Parent Application need not be resubmitted in this application unless Applicant(s) desire the information to be printed on a patent issuing from this application. See MPEP §609.02 A. 2.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of Patent No. 11,941,652, in view of US Pg. Pub. No. 20030083933 (McAlear).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, the limitations have been mixed and matched (see table below). They are not patentably distinct from each other because, for example claim 1 of Patent No. 11,941,652 teaches most of the limitations of the instant Application claim 1 except
transmit the account information associated with the authenticated account to a dedicated application programming interface (API) hosted by an external system;
receive a success message from the external system, the success message indicating that the authenticated account is an authorized account a primary account;
However, McAlear discloses a method for establishing reward benefits (see abstract) and “[0034] The operation of a preferred embodiment of the ODA system is explained in the following with reference to FIGS. 1-10 of the drawings. FIG. 1 is a top level view of the network system architecture for the ODA system. In the preferred embodiment, the account holder's personal computer (PC) 1 is connected with the Internet 2. Similarly, third party PCs 3 may be connected to the Internet 2. An account holder's wireless handset 4 and third parties' handsets 5 on a wireless network 6 are connected to the Internet 2 via a gateway 7 that bridges the wireless network 6 to the Internet 2…”, see Fig. 1 and paragraph 34.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the teaching of McAlear in the invention claimed in claim 1 of the instant application. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to connect with an external system using a gateway to interface in order to support communications in a network (see McAlear paragraphs 3 and 34)
Below are the differences between the claims in the instant application and Patent No. 11,941,652.
.
Instant Application
Patent No. 11,941,652.
1. A system comprising: a communications module; at least one memory storing instructions for linking loyalty accounts; at least one hardware processor interoperably coupled with the at least one memory and the communications module, wherein the instructions instruct the at least one hardware processor to: receive, via a user interface, credentials associated with a current account; authenticate the current account as an authenticated account associated with a particular loyalty account based on the received credentials; receive, via the user interface, account information associated with the authenticated account; transmit the account information associated with the authenticated account to a dedicated application programming interface (API) hosted by an external system; receive a success message from the external system, the success message indicating that the authenticated account is an authorized account a primary account; and in response to receiving the success message: link the particular loyalty account associated with the authenticated account with a loyalty account associated with the primary account.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the account information is credit account information, and wherein the authenticated account is an authorized account of a credit account of the primary account.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the loyalty account associated with the primary account is associated with a set of earned benefits, wherein, after linking the loyalty account associated with the primary account to the loyalty account associated with the authorized account, the set of earned benefits are applied to the loyalty account associated with the authorized account, and wherein the success message comprises information associated with the account of the primary user, and wherein the particular loyalty account is linked by using the information associated with the account of the primary user.
4. The system of claim 3, wherein the set of earned benefits comprise perks, and rewards points, and wherein the rewards points are redeemable for rewards.
5. The system of claim 3, wherein the authorized account of a linked loyalty account earns benefits based on transactions associated with the primary account.
6. The system of claim 1 further comprising: in response to determining the authenticated account is not an authorized account, return a failure message, wherein the failure message comprises an error code, and wherein the loyalty account associated with the authorized account is not linked the loyalty account associated with a particular primary account.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the account information comprises: an account number or partial account number and at least one of: a name on the account; a date of birth of a user of the primary account; or an address associated with the account.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the account information associated with the authorized account is linked to the loyalty account associated with the primary account.
9. A computer-implemented method for linking loyalty accounts performed by one or more processors associated with a loyalty account provider, the method comprising: receiving, via a user interface, credentials associated with a current account; authenticating the current account as an authenticated account associated with a particular loyalty account based on the received credentials; receiving, via the user interface, account information associated with the authenticated account; transmitting the account information associated with the authenticated account to a dedicated application programming interface (API) hosted by an external system; receiving a success message from the external system, the success message indicating that the authenticated account is an authorized account a primary account; and in response to receiving the success message: linking the particular loyalty account associated with the authenticated account with a loyalty account associated with the primary account.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the account information is credit account information, and wherein the authenticated account is an authorized account of a credit account of the primary account.
11. The method of claim 9, wherein the loyalty account associated with the primary account is associated with a set of earned benefits, wherein, after linking the loyalty account associated with the primary account to the loyalty account associated with the authorized account, the set of earned benefits are applied to the loyalty account associated with the authorized account, and wherein the success message comprises information associated with the account of the primary user, and wherein the particular loyalty account is linked by using the information associated with the account of the primary user.
12. The method of claim 11, wherein the set of earned benefits comprise perks, and rewards points, and wherein the rewards points are redeemable for rewards.
13. The method of claim 11, wherein the authorized account of a linked loyalty account earns benefits based on transactions associated with the primary account.
14. The method of claim 9 further comprising: in response to determining the authenticated account is not an authorized account, returning a failure message, wherein the failure message comprises an error code, and wherein the loyalty account associated with the authorized account is not linked the loyalty account associated with a particular primary account.
15. The method of claim 9, wherein the account information comprises: an account number or partial account number and at least one of: a name on the account; a date of birth of a user of the primary account; or an address associated with the account.
16. The method of claim 9, wherein the account information associated with the authorized account is linked to the loyalty account associated with the primary account.
17. A non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing computer-readable instructions executable by a computer and, when executed, cause the computer to: receive, via a user interface, credentials associated with a current account; authenticate the current account as an authenticated account associated with a particular loyalty account based on the received credentials; receive, via the user interface, account information associated with the authenticated account; transmit the account information associated with the authenticated account to a dedicated application programming interface (API) hosted by an external system; receive a success message from the external system, the success message indicating that the authenticated account is an authorized account a primary account; and in response to receiving the success message: link the particular loyalty account associated with the authenticated account with a loyalty account associated with the primary account.
18. The medium of claim 17, wherein the account information is credit account information, and wherein the authenticated account is an authorized account of a credit account of the primary account.
19. The medium of claim 17, wherein the loyalty account associated with the primary account is associated with a set of earned benefits, wherein, after linking the loyalty account associated with the primary account to the loyalty account associated with the authorized account, the set of earned benefits are applied to the loyalty account associated with the authorized account, and wherein the success message comprises information associated with the account of the primary user, and wherein the particular loyalty account is linked by using the information associated with the account of the primary user.
20. The medium of claim 19, wherein the set of earned benefits comprise perks, and rewards points, and wherein the rewards points are redeemable for rewards.
1. A financial institution computing system comprising: a communications module; at least one memory storing instructions for verifying authorized users of credit accounts, a repository storing a plurality of account profiles associated with a plurality of accounts, each account profile associated with a primary user, wherein at least one of the plurality of account profiles is further associated with at least one authorized user; at least one hardware processor interoperably coupled with the at least one memory and the communications module, wherein the instructions instruct the at least one hardware processor to: receive, from a loyalty system managing a plurality of loyalty accounts via a dedicated application programming interface (API), the API hosted on a network by the financial institution computing system, credit account information associated with an authenticated user, wherein the loyalty system is separate and distinct from the financial institution system, wherein an authenticated user is a user who was previously authenticated by the loyalty system, and wherein the credit account information is associated with the financial institution; in response to receiving the credit account information via the dedicated API, automatically initiate a query of the repository of account profiles for accounts associated with the credit account information; identify results from the initiated query and automatically compare the received credit account information associated with the authenticated user with the results from queried repository; determine, by the at least one hardware processor and based on the comparison, whether the authenticated user is an authorized user of a credit account associated with a particular primary user, wherein the particular primary user is different from the authorized user; in response to determining that the authenticated user is an authorized user of the credit account associated with the particular primary user, automatically generate a success message comprising information necessary to link a loyalty account associated with the authorized user with a loyalty account associated with the particular primary user, wherein the loyalty account associated with the particular primary user is managed by the loyalty system and is different than the credit account associated with the particular primary user; and return, via the API, the success message to the loyalty system.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the success message is used by the loyalty system to link the loyalty account associated with the authorized user with the loyalty account associated with the particular primary user, wherein the loyalty account associated with the particular primary user is associated with a set of earned benefits, and wherein, after linking the loyalty account associated with the particular primary user to the loyalty account associated with the authorized user, the set of earned benefits are applied to the loyalty account associated with the authorized user at the loyalty system.
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the set of earned benefits comprise perks and rewards points, and wherein the rewards points are redeemable for rewards.
4. The system of claim 3, wherein the authorized user of a linked loyalty account earns benefits based on transactions associated with the credit account.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the instructions instruct the at least one hardware processor to: in response to determining the authenticated user is not an authorized user, return a failure message, wherein the failure message comprises an error code, and wherein the loyalty account of the authorized user is not linked to the loyalty account of a particular primary user.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the account information associated with the authenticated user comprises: an account number or partial account number and at least one of: a name on the account; a date of birth of the authenticated user; or an address associated with the account.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the account information associated with the authorized user is linked to the loyalty account associated with the particular primary user.
8. A computer-implemented method for linking loyalty accounts performed by one or more processors associated with a financial institution system, the method comprising: receiving, from a loyalty system managing a plurality of loyalty accounts via a dedicated application programming interface (API), the API hosted on a network by the financial institution computing system, credit account information associated with an authenticated user, wherein the loyalty system is separate and distinct from the financial institution system, wherein an authenticated user is a user who was previously authenticated by the loyalty system, and wherein the credit account information is associated with the financial institution; in response to receiving the credit account information via the dedicated API, automatically initiating a query of a repository of account profiles for accounts associated with the credit account information; identifying results from the initiated query and automatically compare the received credit account information associated with the authenticated user with the results from queried repository; determining, by the one or more processors and based on the comparison, whether the authenticated user is an authorized user of a credit account associated with a particular primary user, wherein the particular primary user is different from the authorized user; in response to determining that the authenticated user is an authorized user of the credit account associated with the particular primary user, automatically generating a success message comprising information necessary to link a loyalty account associated with the authorized user with a loyalty account associated with the particular primary user, wherein the loyalty account associated with the particular primary user is managed by the loyalty system and is different than the credit account associated with the particular primary user; and returning, via the API, the success message to the loyalty system.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the success message is used by the loyalty system to link the loyalty account associated with the authorized user with the loyalty account associated with the particular primary user, wherein the loyalty account associated with the particular primary user is associated with a set of earned benefits, and wherein, after linking the loyalty account associated with the particular primary user to the loyalty account associated with the authorized user, the set of earned benefits are applied to the loyalty account associated with the authorized user at the loyalty system.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the set of earned benefits comprise perks and rewards points, and wherein the rewards points are redeemable for rewards.
11. The method of claim 10, wherein the authorized user of a linked loyalty account earns benefits based on transactions associated with the credit account.
12. The method of claim 8, comprising: in response to determining the authenticated user is not an authorized user, return a failure message, wherein the failure message comprises an error code, and wherein the loyalty account of the authorized user is not linked to the loyalty account of a particular primary user.
13. The method of claim 8, wherein the account information associated with the authenticated user comprises: an account number or partial account number and at least one of: a name on the account; a date of birth of the authenticated user; or an address associated with the account.
14. The method of claim 8, wherein the account information associated with the authorized user is linked to the loyalty account associated with the particular primary user.
15. A non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing computer-readable instructions executable by a computer and, when executed, cause the computer to: receive, from a loyalty system managing a plurality of loyalty accounts via a dedicated application programming interface (API), the API hosted on a network by the financial institution computing system, credit account information associated with an authenticated user, wherein the loyalty system is separate and distinct from the financial institution system, wherein an authenticated user is a user who was previously authenticated by the loyalty system, and wherein the credit account information is associated with the financial institution; in response to receiving the credit account information via the dedicated API, automatically initiate a query of a repository of account profiles for accounts associated with the credit account information; identify results from the initiated query and automatically compare the received credit account information associated with the authenticated user with the results from queried repository; determine, by the one or more processors and based on the comparison, whether the authenticated user is an authorized user of a credit account associated with a particular primary user, wherein the particular primary user is different from the authorized user; in response to determining that the authenticated user is an authorized user of the credit account associated with the particular primary user, automatically generate a success message comprising information necessary to link a loyalty account associated with the authorized user with a loyalty account associated with the particular primary user, wherein the loyalty account associated with the particular primary user is managed by the loyalty system and is different than the credit account associated with the particular primary user; and return, via the API, the success message to the loyalty system.
16. The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the success message is used by the loyalty system to link the loyalty account associated with the authorized user with the loyalty account associated with the particular primary user, wherein the loyalty account associated with the particular primary user is associated with a set of earned benefits, and wherein, after linking the loyalty account associated with the particular primary user to the loyalty account associated with the authorized user, the set of earned benefits are applied to the loyalty account associated with the authorized user at the loyalty system.
17. The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the set of earned benefits comprise perks and rewards points, and wherein the rewards points are redeemable for rewards.
18. The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the authorized user of a linked loyalty account earns benefits based on transactions associated with the credit account.
19. The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 15, comprising: in response to determining the authenticated user is not an authorized user, return a failure message, wherein the failure message comprises an error code, and wherein the loyalty account of the authorized user is not linked to the loyalty account of a particular primary user.
20. The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the account information associated with the authenticated user comprises: an account number or partial account number and at least one of: a name on the account; a date of birth of the authenticated user; or an address associated with the account.
Independent claims 9 and 17 and dependent claims 2-8, 10-16, and 18-20, they have mixed and matched limitations see for example claims 2, 4, 6, etc. of the instant application are an obvious variance of claims 2, 3, 7, etc. of Patent No. 11,941,652.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of Patent No. 11,449,884, in view of US Pg. Pub. No. 20030083933 (McAlear).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, the limitations have been mixed and matched (see table below). They are not patentably distinct from each other because, for example claim 1 of Patent No. 11,449,884teaches most of the limitations of the instant Application claim 1 except
transmit the account information associated with the authenticated account to a dedicated application programming interface (API) hosted by an external system;
receive a success message from the external system, the success message indicating that the authenticated account is an authorized account a primary account;
However, McAlear discloses a method for establishing reward benefits (see abstract) and “[0034] The operation of a preferred embodiment of the ODA system is explained in the following with reference to FIGS. 1-10 of the drawings. FIG. 1 is a top level view of the network system architecture for the ODA system. In the preferred embodiment, the account holder's personal computer (PC) 1 is connected with the Internet 2. Similarly, third party PCs 3 may be connected to the Internet 2. An account holder's wireless handset 4 and third parties' handsets 5 on a wireless network 6 are connected to the Internet 2 via a gateway 7 that bridges the wireless network 6 to the Internet 2…”, see Fig. 1 and paragraph 34.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the teaching of McAlear in the invention claimed in claim 1 of the instant application. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to connect with an external system using a gateway to interface in order to support communications in a network (see McAlear paragraphs 3 and 34)
Below are the differences between the claims in the instant application and Patent No. 11,449,884.
Instant Application
Patent No. 11,449,884
1. A system comprising: a communications module; at least one memory storing instructions for linking loyalty accounts; at least one hardware processor interoperably coupled with the at least one memory and the communications module, wherein the instructions instruct the at least one hardware processor to: receive, via a user interface, credentials associated with a current account; authenticate the current account as an authenticated account associated with a particular loyalty account based on the received credentials; receive, via the user interface, account information associated with the authenticated account; transmit the account information associated with the authenticated account to a dedicated application programming interface (API) hosted by an external system; receive a success message from the external system, the success message indicating that the authenticated account is an authorized account a primary account; and in response to receiving the success message: link the particular loyalty account associated with the authenticated account with a loyalty account associated with the primary account.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the account information is credit account information, and wherein the authenticated account is an authorized account of a credit account of the primary account.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the loyalty account associated with the primary account is associated with a set of earned benefits, wherein, after linking the loyalty account associated with the primary account to the loyalty account associated with the authorized account, the set of earned benefits are applied to the loyalty account associated with the authorized account, and wherein the success message comprises information associated with the account of the primary user, and wherein the particular loyalty account is linked by using the information associated with the account of the primary user.
4. The system of claim 3, wherein the set of earned benefits comprise perks, and rewards points, and wherein the rewards points are redeemable for rewards.
5. The system of claim 3, wherein the authorized account of a linked loyalty account earns benefits based on transactions associated with the primary account.
6. The system of claim 1 further comprising: in response to determining the authenticated account is not an authorized account, return a failure message, wherein the failure message comprises an error code, and wherein the loyalty account associated with the authorized account is not linked the loyalty account associated with a particular primary account.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the account information comprises: an account number or partial account number and at least one of: a name on the account; a date of birth of a user of the primary account; or an address associated with the account.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the account information associated with the authorized account is linked to the loyalty account associated with the primary account.
9. A computer-implemented method for linking loyalty accounts performed by one or more processors associated with a loyalty account provider, the method comprising: receiving, via a user interface, credentials associated with a current account; authenticating the current account as an authenticated account associated with a particular loyalty account based on the received credentials; receiving, via the user interface, account information associated with the authenticated account; transmitting the account information associated with the authenticated account to a dedicated application programming interface (API) hosted by an external system; receiving a success message from the external system, the success message indicating that the authenticated account is an authorized account a primary account; and in response to receiving the success message: linking the particular loyalty account associated with the authenticated account with a loyalty account associated with the primary account.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the account information is credit account information, and wherein the authenticated account is an authorized account of a credit account of the primary account.
11. The method of claim 9, wherein the loyalty account associated with the primary account is associated with a set of earned benefits, wherein, after linking the loyalty account associated with the primary account to the loyalty account associated with the authorized account, the set of earned benefits are applied to the loyalty account associated with the authorized account, and wherein the success message comprises information associated with the account of the primary user, and wherein the particular loyalty account is linked by using the information associated with the account of the primary user.
12. The method of claim 11, wherein the set of earned benefits comprise perks, and rewards points, and wherein the rewards points are redeemable for rewards.
13. The method of claim 11, wherein the authorized account of a linked loyalty account earns benefits based on transactions associated with the primary account.
14. The method of claim 9 further comprising: in response to determining the authenticated account is not an authorized account, returning a failure message, wherein the failure message comprises an error code, and wherein the loyalty account associated with the authorized account is not linked the loyalty account associated with a particular primary account.
15. The method of claim 9, wherein the account information comprises: an account number or partial account number and at least one of: a name on the account; a date of birth of a user of the primary account; or an address associated with the account.
16. The method of claim 9, wherein the account information associated with the authorized account is linked to the loyalty account associated with the primary account.
17. A non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing computer-readable instructions executable by a computer and, when executed, cause the computer to: receive, via a user interface, credentials associated with a current account; authenticate the current account as an authenticated account associated with a particular loyalty account based on the received credentials; receive, via the user interface, account information associated with the authenticated account; transmit the account information associated with the authenticated account to a dedicated application programming interface (API) hosted by an external system; receive a success message from the external system, the success message indicating that the authenticated account is an authorized account a primary account; and in response to receiving the success message: link the particular loyalty account associated with the authenticated account with a loyalty account associated with the primary account.
18. The medium of claim 17, wherein the account information is credit account information, and wherein the authenticated account is an authorized account of a credit account of the primary account.
19. The medium of claim 17, wherein the loyalty account associated with the primary account is associated with a set of earned benefits, wherein, after linking the loyalty account associated with the primary account to the loyalty account associated with the authorized account, the set of earned benefits are applied to the loyalty account associated with the authorized account, and wherein the success message comprises information associated with the account of the primary user, and wherein the particular loyalty account is linked by using the information associated with the account of the primary user.
20. The medium of claim 19, wherein the set of earned benefits comprise perks, and rewards points, and wherein the rewards points are redeemable for rewards.
1. A loyalty account provider system comprising: a communications module; at least one memory storing instructions for linking loyalty accounts; at least one hardware processor interoperably coupled with the at least one memory and the communications module, wherein the instructions instruct the at least one hardware processor to: receive, via a user interface associated with the loyalty account provider system, credentials from a user; automatically authenticate, by the loyalty account provider system, the user as associated with a particular loyalty account based on the credentials; receive, via the user interface, credit account information from the authenticated user; transmit the credit account information from the authenticated user, using the communications module and to a dedicated application programming interface (API) hosted by a financial institution computing system, the financial institution computing system managing a set of credit accounts, wherein the credit account information from the authenticated user is compared to a repository of account profiles at the financial institution computing system to determine whether the authenticated user is an authorized user of an account associated with a primary user, wherein the primary user is different from the authorized user; receive a success message from the financial institution computing system via the API, the success message indicating that the authenticated user is an authorized user of a credit account of the primary user, wherein the success message comprises information associated with the credit account of the primary user; and in response to receiving, via the API, the success message: link the particular loyalty account associated with the authenticated user with a loyalty account associated with the primary user by using the information associated with the credit account of the primary user, wherein the loyalty account associated with the primary user is associated with a set of earned benefits, and wherein, after linking the loyalty account associated with the primary user to the loyalty account associated with the authorized user, the set of earned benefits are applied to the loyalty account associated with the authorized user.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the set of earned benefits comprise perks, and rewards points, and wherein the rewards points are redeemable for rewards.
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the authorized user of a linked loyalty account earns benefits based on transactions associated with the credit account of the primary user.
4. The system of claim 1 further comprising: in response to determining the authenticated user is not an authorized user, return a failure message, wherein the failure message comprises an error code, and wherein the loyalty account associated with the authorized user is not linked the loyalty account associated with a particular primary user.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the account information comprises: an account number or partial account number and at least one of: a name on the account; a date of birth of the account holder; or an address associated with the account.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the account information associated with the authorized user is linked to the loyalty account associated with the primary user.
7. A computer-implemented method for linking loyalty accounts performed by one or more processors associated with a loyalty account provider, the method comprising: receiving, via a user interface associated with the loyalty account provider, credentials from a user; automatically authenticating, by the loyalty account provider, the user as associated with a particular loyalty account based on the credentials; receiving, via the user interface, credit account information from the authenticated user; transmitting the credit account information from the authenticated user, using a communications module and to a dedicated application programming interface (API) hosted by a financial institution computing system managing a set of credit accounts, wherein the credit account information from the authenticated user is compared to a repository of account profiles at the financial institution computing system to determine whether the authenticated user is an authorized user of an account associated with a primary user, wherein the primary user is different from the authorized user; receiving a success message from the financial institution computing system via the API, the success message indicating that the authenticated user is an authorized user of a credit account of the primary user, wherein the success message comprises information associated with the credit account of the primary user; and in response to receiving, via the API, the success message: linking the particular loyalty account of authenticated user with a loyalty account associated with the primary user by using the information associated with the credit account of the primary user, wherein the loyalty account associated with the primary user is associated with a set of earned benefits, and wherein, after linking the loyalty account associated with the primary user to the loyalty account associated with the authorized user, the set of earned benefits are applied to the loyalty account associated with the authorized user.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein the set of earned benefits comprise perks, and rewards points, and wherein the rewards points are redeemable for rewards.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the authorized user associated with a linked loyalty account earns benefits based on transactions associated with the credit account of the primary user.
10. The method of claim 7 further comprising: in response to determining the authenticated user is not an authorized user, return a failure message, wherein the failure message comprises an error code, and wherein the loyalty account associated with the authorized user is not linked the loyalty account associated with a particular primary user.
11. The method of claim 7, wherein the account information comprises: an account number or partial account number and at least one of: a name on the account; a date of birth of the account holder; or an address associated with the account.
12. A non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing computer-readable instructions executable by a computer and, when executed, cause the computer to: receive, via a user interface associated with a loyalty account provider system, credentials from a user; automatically authenticate, by the loyalty account provider system, the user as associated with a particular loyalty account based on the credentials; receive, via the user interface, credit account information from the authenticated user; transmit the credit account information from the authenticated user, using a communications module and to a dedicated application programming interface (API) hosted by a financial institution computing system, the financial institution computing system managing a set of credit accounts, wherein the credit account information from the authenticated user is compared to a repository of account profiles at the financial institution computing system to determine whether the authenticated user is an authorized user of an account associated with a primary user, wherein the primary user is different from the authorized user; receive a success message from the financial institution computing system via the API, the success message indicating that the authenticated user is an authorized user of a credit account of the primary user, wherein the success message comprises information associated with the credit account of the primary user; and in response to receiving, via the API, the success message: link the particular loyalty account associated with the authenticated user with a loyalty account associated with the primary user by using the information associated with the credit account of the primary user, wherein the loyalty account associated with the primary user is associated with a set of earned benefits, and wherein, after linking the loyalty account associated with the primary user to the loyalty account associated with the authorized user, the set of earned benefits are applied to the loyalty account associated with the authorized user.
13. The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the set of earned benefits comprise perks, and rewards points, and wherein the rewards points are redeemable for rewards.
14. The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 13, wherein the authorized user of a linked loyalty account earns benefits based on transactions associated with the credit account of the primary user.
15. The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 12 further comprising: in response to determining the authenticated user is not an authorized user, return a failure message, wherein the failure message comprises an error code, and wherein the loyalty account associated with the authorized user is not linked the loyalty account associated with a particular primary user.
16. The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the account information comprises: an account number or partial account number and at least one of: a name on the account; a date of birth of the account holder; or an address associated with the account.
17. The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the account information associated with the authorized user is linked to the loyalty account associated with the primary user.
Independent claims 9 and 17 and dependent claims 2-8, 10-16, and 18-20, they have mixed and matched limitations see for example claim 4 of the instant application is an obvious variance of claim 2 of Patent No. 11,449,884. Claim 3 of the instant application is an obvious variance of claim 3 of Patent No. 11,449,884. Claim 7 of the instant application is an obvious variance of claim 5 of Patent No. 11,449,884.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 1-20 are not compliant with 101, according with the last “2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance” (2019 PEG), published in the MPEP 2103 through 2106.07(c). The Examiner’s analysis is presented below in all the claims.
Claim 1: Step 1 of 2019 PGE, does the claim fall within a Statutory Category? Yes. The claim recites a system.
Step 2A - Prong 1: Is a Judicial Exception recited in the claim? Yes. The claim recites the limitations of
“b) authenticate the current account as an authenticated account associated with a particular loyalty account based on the received credentials; f) in response to receiving the success message: link the particular loyalty account associated with the authenticated account with a loyalty account associated with the primary account “.
The “authenticate, link” limitations, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations as certain methods of organizing human activity, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors. The method for automatically linking loyalty rewards accounts of authorized users of a credit account with the loyalty rewards account of the primary user of the credit account. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application? No. The claim recites additional limitations, such as,
“a) receive, via a user interface, credentials associated with a current account; c) receive, via the user interface, account information associated with the authenticated account; d) transmit the account information associated with the authenticated account to a dedicated application programming interface (API) …; e) receive a success message …, the success message indicating that the authenticated account is an authorized account a primary account;” These are limitations toward accessing, transmitting or receiving data (gathering data).
The Examiner analyses other supplementary elements in the claim in view of the instant disclosure:
“a communications module; at least one memory storing instructions for linking loyalty accounts; at least one hardware processor interoperably coupled with the at least one memory and the communications module, wherein the instructions instruct the at least one hardware processor; hosted by an external system”. All these elements are recited in a very generic way.
The Examiner gives the broadest reasonable interpretation to the above elements. They are insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The combination of these additional elements can also be considered no more than mere instructions “to apply” the exception, See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim as a whole does not integrate the method of organizing human activity into a practical application. Thus, the claim is ineligible because is directed to the recited judicial exception (abstract idea).
Step 2B : claim provides an inventive concept? No.
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the supplementary or additional elements in the claim,
“a communications module; at least one memory storing instructions for linking loyalty accounts; at least one hardware processor interoperably coupled with the at least one memory and the communications module, wherein the instructions instruct the at least one hardware processor; hosted by an external system” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception. i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using generic hardware and software cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an supplementary or additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B.
Again, in this step, the additional elements in the claims under consideration are:
“a communications module; at least one memory storing instructions for linking loyalty accounts; at least one hardware processor interoperably coupled with the at least one memory and the communications module, wherein the instructions instruct the at least one hardware processor; hosted by an external system” were considered to be extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus it is re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field.
Other limitations in the claim, such as:
“a) receive, via a user interface, credentials associated with a current account; b) authenticate the current account as an authenticated account associated with a particular loyalty account based on the received credentials; c) receive, via the user interface, account information associated with the authenticated account; d) transmit the account information associated with the authenticated account to a dedicated application programming interface (API) …; e) receive a success message …, the success message indicating that the authenticated account is an authorized account a primary account;”
These are limitations toward accessing or receiving data (gathering data). Accessing data is very well understood, routine and conventional computer task activity; It represents insignificant extra solution activity. Mere data-gathering step[s] cannot make an otherwise nonstaturory claim statutory In re Grams,888 F.2d 835, 840 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (quoting In re Meyer, 688 F.2d 789, 794 (CCPA 1982)).
Further, the instant specification does not provide any indication that the additional elements “a communications module; at least one memory storing instructions for linking loyalty accounts; at least one hardware processor interoperably coupled with the at least one memory and the communications module, wherein the instructions instruct the at least one hardware processor; hosted by an external system” were are anything other than generic software and hardware, and the OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); and v. Presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1362-63, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely computer receives and sends information over a network and presenting or displaying information, is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Accordingly, a conclusion that the “a communications module; at least one memory storing instructions for linking loyalty accounts; at least one hardware processor interoperably coupled with the at least one memory and the communications module, wherein the instructions instruct the at least one hardware processor; hosted by an external system” limitations (pointed above) are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 2. The claim is ineligible.
Claim 9: Step 1 of 2019 PGE, does the claim fall within a Statutory Category? Yes. The claim recites a method.
Step 2A - Prong 1: Is a Judicial Exception recited in the claim ? Yes. Because the same reasons pointed above.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application? No. Because the same reasons pointed above.
Step 2B : claim provides an inventive concept? No. Because the same reasons pointed above. The claim is ineligible.
Claim 17: Step 1 of 2019 PGE, does the claim fall within a Statutory Category? Yes. The claim recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium.
Step 2A - Prong 1: Is a Judicial Exception recited in the claim ? Yes. Because the same reasons pointed above.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application? No. Because the same reasons pointed above.
Step 2B : claim provides an inventive concept? No. Because the same reasons pointed above. The claim is ineligible.
Dependent claims 2-8, 10-16 and 18-20, the claims recite elements such as “wherein the account information is credit account information, and wherein the authenticated account is an authorized account of a credit account of the primary account”, etc. These elements do not integrate the system of organizing human activity into a practical application. The claims are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by PG. Pub. No. 11941652 (Bloy).
As to claims 1, 9 and 17, Bloy discloses a system comprising: a communications module; at least one memory storing instructions for linking loyalty accounts; at least one hardware processor interoperably coupled with the at least one memory and the communications module, wherein the instructions instruct the at least one hardware processor
(“The present disclosure involves systems, software, and computer implemented methods for automatically providing linking partner loyalty rewards accounts using authorized user and primary user information associated with an account. A first example system includes a communications module, at least one memory storing instructions, a repository storing a plurality of account profiles associated with a plurality of accounts, each account profile associated with a primary user. Optionally one or more authorized users may also be associated with each account profile. The first example system further includes a repository a plurality of loyalty rewards accounts, and at least one hardware processor interoperably coupled with the at least one memory and the communications module. The instructions can cause to hardware processor to perform the following operations, including receiving credentials associated with a loyalty account from the user, …”, 1:30-50 and claim 1) to:
a) receive, via a user interface, credentials associated with a current account (see Fig. 2 step 202 ) ;
b) authenticate the current account as an authenticated account associated with a particular loyalty account based on the received credentials (see Fig. 2 step 204);
c) receive, via the user interface, account information associated with the authenticated account;
(“In some implementations of the described solution, a financial institution hosts or provides access to an application programming interface (API) that can be used as an entry point or interface to allow authorized partner systems (e.g., a loyalty rewards account providers) to verify that a user associated with a loyalty rewards program account is an authorized user of a credit account, where the credit account is associated with an existing primary user who has a different loyalty rewards program account. In some instances a user associated with a loyalty rewards program account can be associated with a rewards status level, which is earned through various qualifying actions associated with the partner system (e.g., purchases, hotel stays, etc.). In some instances, simply having a particular card associated with the partner (e.g., a co-branded card) may result in a particular status being provided. The authorized user can access a partner system entry point (e.g., a website, portal, mobile application, kiosk, etc.) and provide credentials (e.g., partner system username and password) to log in and be authenticated by the partner system to confirm their identity. The user can then provide personal credit account information (e.g., a credit card number). In some instances, the user provides a first name, last name, and last four digits of an account number to access and/or connect the accounts. In another instance, the user provides a minimum amount of information required to identify a particular account …”, 3:28-55);
d) transmit the account information associated with the authenticated account to a dedicated application programming interface (API) hosted by an external system
(see 3:28-55 and in Fig. 2 steps 208, 210, 212 and 214);
e) receive a success message from the external system, the success message indicating that the authenticated account is an authorized account a primary account; f) ( see in Fig. 2 steps 216 and 218)
f) in response to receiving the success message: link the particular loyalty account associated with the authenticated account with a loyalty account associated with the primary account.
( see in Fig. 2 steps 220 and 224).
As to claim 9, it comprises the same limitations that claim 1 above therefore is rejected in similar manner.
As to claim 17, it comprises the same limitations that claim 1 above therefore is rejected in similar manner. Further the claim comprises
A non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing computer-readable instructions executable by a computer and, when executed, cause the computer to: receive, via a user interface, credentials associated with a current account; authenticate the current account as an authenticated account associated with a particular loyalty account based on the received credentials (see claim 15 of the Bloy’s reference).As to claims 2, 10 and 18, Bloy discloses
wherein the account information is credit account information, and wherein the authenticated account is an authorized account of a credit account of the primary account.
(“The account management application 108 can in some instances, be associated with or manage a financial account database 110 or set of information, where the financial account database 110 can store information associated with one or more customer accounts 112. Each customer account 112 can be associated with a particular customer and/or specific customer account, also referred to as a primary user of the account. Additionally each customer account 112 can be associated with one or more authorized users, who are given access to the account with the permission of the primary user. When customers are associated with multiple accounts, each customer account 112 can be linked to other related accounts, or can be separate. Each customer account 112 can be associated with one or more payment cards, financial accounts (e.g., a credit or debit account), or both. Each customer account 112 can include an account balance 114, a profile 116, and any other suitable information or data. The account balance 114 can store information associated with a current account balance in a checking or savings account, a current balance associated with a credit card account, or any other information identifying a current balance of the corresponding customer account 112. The customer profile 116 can include any suitable information associated with the customer. In some instances, demographic information can be stored in the account profile 116. As illustrated, an account history 118 can be included in the profile 116, and can be used to provide historical information related to account usage by the customer, such as historical spending or payment information, as well as timeliness information related to payments associated with the customer account 112 and/or other associated accounts. In some instances, spending related to a partner associated with a corresponding loyalty account 138 can be monitored or recorded therein. Further each customer account 112 can be associated with a primary user 120. The primary user 120 can be the user who owns the account and is financially responsible for the account balance 114 and making payments. In some instances, the primary user 120 can optionally add one or more authorized users 122 to the account. Authorized users 122 can access funds or credit in the customer account 112 and can have a unique physical payment card. In some instances, a number or identifier associated with the card provided to the authorized user may be the same as the primary user's card, while in others, the numbers may be different. In some instances, the customer account 112 includes a separate profile 116 for each user (primary and authorized) in a particular customer account 112. In other instances, each customer account 112 includes a single profile 116, with information and history 118 for both the primary user 120 and the one or more authorized users 122. In still other instances, the primary user 120 and each of the authorized users 122 may have their own particular customer account 112, where each of the relations to a particular primary user or one or more authorized users can be part of the account information…”, 7:25-67 and 8: 1-15).
As to claims 3, 11 and 19, Bloy discloses
wherein the loyalty account associated with the primary account is associated with a set of earned benefits, wherein, after linking the loyalty account associated with the primary account to the loyalty account associated with the authorized account, the set of earned benefits are applied to the loyalty account associated with the authorized account, and wherein the success message comprises information associated with the account of the primary user, and wherein the particular loyalty account is linked by using the information associated with the account of the primary user.
(“… In other instances, each customer account 112 includes a single profile 116, with information and history 118 for both the primary user 120 and the one or more authorized users 122. In still other instances, the primary user 120 and each of the authorized users 122 may have their own particular customer account 112, where each of the relations to a particular primary user or one or more authorized users can be part of the account information…”, 8:5-15 and Fig. 1 elements 108, 110, 112, 114, 116, 118, 120 and 122).
As to claims 4, 12 and 20, Bloy discloses
wherein the set of earned benefits comprise perks, and rewards points, and wherein the rewards points are redeemable for rewards. (see Fig. 1 elements 134, 136,138, 140, 142, 155, 146, 148, 150, 152 and 154)
As to claims 5 and 13, Bloy discloses
wherein the authorized account of a linked loyalty account earns benefits based on transactions associated with the primary account.
(“The partner database 136 can further include a reward catalog (not shown) identifying one or more rewards and their corresponding reward points cost. The one or more rewards in the reward catalog can be for specific goods or services, discounts on purchases or transactions associated with one or more providers, or access to provider-specific goods or services, including some that may not be offered to the general public or non-customers of the financial institution. In some instances, the reward benefit levels 146 can also include one or more perks 150 provided by the partner in tiers….”, 10:55-67 and 11:1-21).
As to claims 6 and 14, Bloy discloses further comprising: in response to determining the authenticated account is not an authorized account, return a failure message, wherein the failure message comprises an error code, and wherein the loyalty account associated with the authorized account is not linked the loyalty account associated with a particular primary account.
(see Fig. 3 element 310 and associated disclosure).
As to claims 7 and 15, Bloy discloses further comprising:
wherein the account information comprises: an account number or partial account number and at least one of: a name on the account; a date of birth of a user of the primary account; or an address associated with the account.
(“Once the partner system has authenticated the user, the user can be prompted to input their credit account information for verification (at 206). The credit account information can be, for example, the user's name and the last four digits of the credit account number. In another example, the credit account information can be a date of birth, name, and/or billing address, or any other set or combination of information required to authenticate and/or determine a particular credit account associated with the user. The partner system can verify the credit account information by accessing an API 208 of a FI system, such as FI system 106 of FIG. 1…”, 12:15-25).
As to claims 8 and 16, Bloy discloses
wherein the account information associated with the authorized account is linked to the loyalty account associated with the primary account.
(“wherein the account information associated with the authorized user is linked to the loyalty account associated with the particular primary user”, claim 7 of the Bloy’s reference. See also claim 1 and 2 of the Bloy’s reference).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
“Emerging ecommerce credit and debit card protocols ”. IEEE. 2002.
This publication discloses “Internet sellers need guaranteed payments for goods and services. Buyers need protection from misuse of their financial accounts. Credit cards dominate the Internet payment world, but merchant fraud is rampant and cardholders are scared. This paper explores emerging protocols and technologies that are being developed to eliminate card fraud and Internet payment methods that will compete with credit cards.”
/MARIA V VANDERHORST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621 3/18/2025