DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “moving mechanism” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okada (2004/0156028).
Regarding claim 1, Okada discloses an exposure apparatus (Fig. 2, 3), comprising: a light-emission unit (1) that emits exposure light (para 0058); a mask stage (MS) that holds an exposure mask (M1, M2, para 0058)); a workpiece stage (WS) that holds a workpiece (W, para 0059); a projection optical system (2) that irradiates the workpiece held by the workpiece stage with the exposure light, the exposure light being emitted from the light-emission unit and passing through the exposure mask (para 0060); a reflective member (4a, 4b) that is disposed in an irradiation region for the exposure light applied from the projection optical system in a step of detecting a mask mark (MAM, Fig. 3, para 0065), the mask mark being an alignment mark of the exposure mask (para 0065); an alignment microscope (3) that is disposed in an optical path of the exposure light applied to the mask mark and captures an image of the mask mark on a basis of reflected light that is reflected by the reflective member in the step of detecting the mask mark (para 0065); and a moving mechanism (inherent) that moves the reflective member from a position deviated from the irradiation region to the irradiation region in the step of detecting the mask mark (Fig. 2, 3, para 0065, 0066).
Regarding claim 2, Okada discloses wherein the workpiece stage includes a placement surface on which the workpiece is placed (Fig. 2), and the moving mechanism (inherent) moves the workpiece stage such that the placement surface is deviated from the irradiation region and moves the reflective member to the irradiation region in the step of detecting the mask mark (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Okada discloses wherein the moving mechanism inserts the reflective member between the workpiece stage and the alignment microscope to move the reflective member to the irradiation region in the step of detecting the mask mark (Fig. 3, para 0065).
Regarding claim 5, Okada discloses wherein the reflective member is connected to a position different from the placement surface of the workpiece stage, and the moving mechanism moves the workpiece stage to move the reflective member to the irradiation region (Fig. 2, 3).
Regarding claim 6, Okada discloses wherein the reflective member is connected to the workpiece stage such that a height position of a surface of the reflective member is equal to a height position of a surface of the workpiece placed on the placement surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada in view of Tanaka (JP 8-233529 in IDS) (para numbers refer to the provided English translation).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Okada does not disclose wherein the reflective member is formed to have a size equal to or larger than a size of the irradiation region, and reflects a whole of the exposure light applied from the projection optical system.
Tanaka discloses an exposure apparatus (Fig. 1, para 0007, 0009, 0036-0038), comprising: a light-emission unit (1) that emits exposure light; a mask stage (2) that holds an exposure mask (M, para 0042 (1)); a workpiece stage (4) that holds a workpiece (W, para 0042 (6)); a projection optical system (3) that irradiates the workpiece held by the workpiece stage with the exposure light, the exposure light being emitted from the light-emission unit and passing through the exposure mask (para 0042 (1); a reflective member (4a) that is disposed in an irradiation region for the exposure light applied from the projection optical system in a step of detecting a mask mark (MAM, para 0041), the mask mark being an alignment mark of the exposure mask (Fig. 1, para 0042 (1), (2)); an alignment microscope (5) that is disposed in an optical path of the exposure light applied to the mask mark and captures an image of the mask mark on a basis of reflected light that is reflected by the reflective member in the step of detecting the mask mark (para 0042 (3)(4)), wherein the reflective member (4a) is formed to have a size equal to or larger than a size of the irradiation region, and reflects a whole of the exposure light applied from the projection optical system (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a reflective member formed to have a size equal to or larger than a size of the irradiation region, and reflects a whole of the exposure light applied from the projection optical system as taught by Tanaka to the invention of Okada in order to detect all of the mask marks on the mask at once using a plurality of alignment microscope since merely changing a side of a provide element requires only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada in view of Sugimoto (2008/0212047).
Regarding claim 7, Okada does not disclose a moving stage that holds the reflective member, wherein the moving mechanism moves each of the workpiece stage and the moving stage to move the reflective member to the irradiation region. Sugimoto disclose an exposure apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising a workpiece stage (2, para 0048) and a moving stage (3) for holding fiducial member for alignment (para 0050-0052). Although Sugimoto does not disclose a reflective member on the moving stage (3), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a separate moving stage for the reflective member (4a) of Okada as taught by Sugimoto in order to provide flexibility in the movement of the workpiece stage and the moving stage with independent control of the stages.
Regarding claim 8, Okada discloses the reflective member is at a height position of a surface of the reflective member is equal to a height position of a surface of the workpiece placed on the placement surface (Fig. 2, 3). However, Okada does not disclose that the reflective member is held by the moving stage wherein the moving mechanism moves each of the workpiece stage and the moving stage along an identical plane. Sugimoto discloses the fiducial member for alignment on the moving stage (3, para 0050-0052) and the moving mechanism that moves each of the workpiece stage and the moving stage along an identical plane (Fig. 1, 2, para 0072-0074). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide reflective member on the moving stage and to move each of the workpiece stage and the moving stage along an identical plane for the reasons stated above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sentoku et al. (7,148,973) is cited to show the state of art regarding detecting mask alignment mark (6).
/PETER B KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882 November 29, 2025