DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments filed on May 1, 2026 have been fully considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “moving mechanism” in claims 1, 10 and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okada (2004/0156028).
Regarding claim 13, Okada discloses an exposure apparatus (Fig. 2, 3), comprising: a light-emission unit (1) that emits exposure light (para 0058); a mask stage (MS) that holds an exposure mask (M1, M2, para 0058); a workpiece stage (WS) that holds a workpiece (W, para 0059); a projection optical system (2) that irradiates the workpiece held by the workpiece stage with the exposure light, the exposure light being emitted from the light-emission unit and passing through the exposure mask (para 0060); a reflective member (4a, 4b) that is disposed in an irradiation region for the exposure light applied from the projection optical system in a step of detecting a mask mark (MAM, Fig. 3, para 0065), the mask mark being an alignment mark of the exposure mask (para 0065); an alignment microscope (3) that is disposed in an optical path of the exposure light applied to the mask mark and captures an image of the mask mark on a basis of reflected light that is reflected by the reflective member in the step of detecting the mask mark (para 0065); and a moving mechanism (inherent) that moves the reflective member from a position deviated from the irradiation region to the irradiation region in the step of detecting the mask mark (Fig. 2, 3, para 0065, 0066), wherein the moving mechanism inserts the reflective member between the workpiece stage and the alignment microscope to move the reflective member to the irradiation region in the step of detecting the mask mark (Fig. 3, para 0065, Fig. 3A shows reflective member 4a on an extension of the workpiece stage, also see Fig. 4. Thus, the reflective member 4a is between the workpiece stage and the alignment microscope).
Claim Rejections –35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Okada (2004/0156028).
Regarding claim 1, Okada discloses an exposure apparatus (Fig. 2, 3), comprising: a light-emission unit (1) that emits exposure light (para 0058); a mask stage (MS) that holds an exposure mask (M1, M2, para 0058); a workpiece stage (WS) that holds a workpiece (W, para 0059); a projection optical system (2) that irradiates the workpiece held by the workpiece stage with the exposure light, the exposure light being emitted from the light-emission unit and passing through the exposure mask (para 0060); a reflective member (4a, 4b) that is disposed in an irradiation region for the exposure light applied from the projection optical system in a step of detecting a mask mark (MAM, Fig. 3, para 0065), the mask mark being an alignment mark of the exposure mask (para 0065); an alignment microscope (3) that is disposed in an optical path of the exposure light applied to the mask mark and captures an image of the mask mark on a basis of reflected light that is reflected by the reflective member in the step of detecting the mask mark (para 0065); and a moving mechanism (inherent) that moves the reflective member from a position deviated from the irradiation region to the irradiation region in the step of detecting the mask mark (Fig. 2, 3, para 0065, 0066), wherein the workpiece stage includes a placement surface on which the workpiece is placed (Fig. 2, para 0059, 0062, 0063), the reflective member is connected to a position different from the placement surface of the workpiece stage (Fig. 2, 3) such that a height position of a surface of the reflective member is substantially equal to a height position of a surface of the workpiece placed on the placement surface (Fig. 2A, 2B, show that the reflective members 4a, 4b are substantially equal to a height position of a surface of the workpiece W, Fig. 3A, 3B show that when the wafer W is not on the placement surface of the workpiece stage, the surface of the reflecting members 4a, 4b are at a higher position than the surface of the placement surface) and the moving mechanism moves the workpiece stage to move the reflective member to the irradiation region (Fig. 2, 3, para 0062-0065).
Alternatively, although Okada does not explicitly state that the height position of the surface of the reflective member is substantially equal to the height position of the surface of the workpiece placed on the placement surface, since Okada discloses that when the exposure stage WS is located at the exposure position, a work piece/alignment mark and positioning of the mask and the workpiece is carried out based on the stored mask mark position (para 0059). Since the positioning of the mask and the workpiece is carried out based on the stored mask mark position, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to obtain the mask mark position when the reflecting surface is at the same height position as the workpiece for more accurate focusing and positioning.
Regarding claim 2, Okada discloses wherein the moving mechanism (inherent) moves the workpiece stage such that the placement surface is deviated from the irradiation region and moves the reflective member to the irradiation region in the step of detecting the mask mark (Fig. 3, para 0065).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada in view of Tanaka (JP 8-233529 in IDS) (para numbers refer to the provided English translation).
Regarding claim 4, Okada does not disclose wherein the reflective member is formed to have a size equal to or larger than a size of the irradiation region, and reflects a whole of the exposure light applied from the projection optical system.
Tanaka discloses an exposure apparatus (Fig. 1, para 0007, 0009, 0036-0038), comprising: a light-emission unit (1) that emits exposure light; a mask stage (2) that holds an exposure mask (M, para 0042 (1)); a workpiece stage (4) that holds a workpiece (W, para 0042 (6)); a projection optical system (3) that irradiates the workpiece held by the workpiece stage with the exposure light, the exposure light being emitted from the light-emission unit and passing through the exposure mask (para 0042 (1); a reflective member (4a) that is disposed in an irradiation region for the exposure light applied from the projection optical system in a step of detecting a mask mark (MAM, para 0041), the mask mark being an alignment mark of the exposure mask (Fig. 1, para 0042 (1), (2)); an alignment microscope (5) that is disposed in an optical path of the exposure light applied to the mask mark and captures an image of the mask mark on a basis of reflected light that is reflected by the reflective member in the step of detecting the mask mark (para 0042 (3)(4)), wherein the reflective member (4a) is formed to have a size equal to or larger than a size of the irradiation region, and reflects a whole of the exposure light applied from the projection optical system (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a reflective member formed to have a size equal to or larger than a size of the irradiation region, and reflects a whole of the exposure light applied from the projection optical system as taught by Tanaka to the invention of Okada in order to detect all of the mask marks on the mask at once using a plurality of alignment microscope since merely changing a side of a provide element requires only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada in view of Sugimoto (2008/0212047).
Regarding claim 10, Okada discloses an exposure apparatus (Fig. 2, 3), comprising: a light-emission unit (1) that emits exposure light (para 0058); a mask stage (MS) that holds an exposure mask (M1, M2, para 0058); a workpiece stage (WS) that holds a workpiece (W, para 0059); a projection optical system (2) that irradiates the workpiece held by the workpiece stage with the exposure light, the exposure light being emitted from the light-emission unit and passing through the exposure mask (para 0060); a reflective member (4a, 4b) that is disposed in an irradiation region for the exposure light applied from the projection optical system in a step of detecting a mask mark (MAM, Fig. 3, para 0065), the mask mark being an alignment mark of the exposure mask (para 0065); an alignment microscope (3) that is disposed in an optical path of the exposure light applied to the mask mark and captures an image of the mask mark on a basis of reflected light that is reflected by the reflective member in the step of detecting the mask mark (para 0065); a moving mechanism (inherent) that moves the reflective member from a position deviated from the irradiation region to the irradiation region in the step of detecting the mask mark (Fig. 2, 3, para 0065, 0066), wherein the workpiece stage includes a placement surface on which the workpiece is placed (Fig. 2, para 0059, 0062, 0063), and the reflective member is held by the moving stage such that a height position of a surface of the reflective member is substantially equal to a height position of a surface of the workpiece placed on the placement surface (Fig. 2A, 2B, show that the reflective members 4a, 4b are substantially equal to a height position of a surface of the workpiece W, Fig. 3A, 3B show that when the wafer W is not on the placement surface of the workpiece stage, the surface of the reflecting members 4a, 4b are at a higher position than the surface of the placement surface), wherein the moving mechanism moves he workpiece stage to move the reflective member to the irradiation region (Fig. 2, 3, para 0062-0065).
Alternatively, although Okada does not explicitly state that the height position of the surface of the reflective member is substantially equal to the height position of the surface of the workpiece placed on the placement surface, since Okada discloses that when the exposure stage WS is located at the exposure position, a work piece/alignment mark and positioning of the mask and the workpiece is carried out based on the stored mask mark position (para 0059). Since the positioning of the mask and the workpiece is carried out based on the stored mask mark position, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to obtain the mask mark position when the reflecting surface is at the same height position as the workpiece for more accurate focusing and positioning.
However, Okada does not disclose a moving stage that holds the reflective member, wherein the moving mechanism also moves the moving stage, as well as the workpiece stage, along an identical plane to move the reflective member to the irradiation region. Sugimoto disclose an exposure apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising a workpiece stage (2, para 0048) and a moving stage (3) for holding fiducial member for alignment (para 0050-0052). Sugimoto discloses the fiducial member for alignment on the moving stage (3, para 0050-0052) and the moving mechanism that moves each of the workpiece stage and the moving stage along an identical plane (Fig. 1, 2, para 0072-0074). Although Sugimoto does not disclose a reflective member on a moving stage (3), but discloses a fiducial member (14), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the reflecting member, instead of the fiducial member, on a moving stage separate from the workpiece stage since fiducial member is also used for aligning the mask and the workpiece and since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art and providing separate moving stage provides flexibility in the movement of the workpiece stage and the moving stage with independent control of the stages.
Regarding claim 11, Okada discloses wherein the moving mechanism (inherent) moves the workpiece stage (WS) such that the placement surface is deviated from the irradiation region and moves the reflective member to the irradiation region in the step of detecting the mask mark. (Fig. 2, 3, para 0065, 0066).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada in view of Sugimoto as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Tanaka (JP 8-233529 in IDS) (para numbers refer to the provided English translation).
Regarding claim 12, the further difference between the claimed invention and the modified Okada is wherein the reflective member is formed to have a size equal to or larger than a size of the irradiation region, and reflects a whole of the exposure light applied from the projection optical system.
Tanaka discloses an exposure apparatus (Fig. 1, para 0007, 0009, 0036-0038), comprising: a light-emission unit (1) that emits exposure light; a mask stage (2) that holds an exposure mask (M, para 0042 (1)); a workpiece stage (4) that holds a workpiece (W, para 0042 (6)); a projection optical system (3) that irradiates the workpiece held by the workpiece stage with the exposure light, the exposure light being emitted from the light-emission unit and passing through the exposure mask (para 0042 (1); a reflective member (4a) that is disposed in an irradiation region for the exposure light applied from the projection optical system in a step of detecting a mask mark (MAM, para 0041), the mask mark being an alignment mark of the exposure mask (Fig. 1, para 0042 (1), (2)); an alignment microscope (5) that is disposed in an optical path of the exposure light applied to the mask mark and captures an image of the mask mark on a basis of reflected light that is reflected by the reflective member in the step of detecting the mask mark (para 0042 (3)(4)), wherein the reflective member (4a) is formed to have a size equal to or larger than a size of the irradiation region, and reflects a whole of the exposure light applied from the projection optical system (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a reflective member formed to have a size equal to or larger than a size of the irradiation region, and reflects a whole of the exposure light applied from the projection optical system as taught by Tanaka to further modify Okada in order to detect all of the mask marks on the mask at once using a plurality of alignment microscope since merely changing a side of a provide element requires only routine skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Okada does not disclose wherein the reflective member is formed to have a size that covers a whole of the workpiece and blocks the exposure light applied to the workpiece in the step of detecting the mask mark. Okada discloses the reflective member next to the workpiece, and it does not block the exposure light applied to the workpiece.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER B KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882 June 2, 2026