Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
“SEMICONDUCTOR DEVICE WITH A NON-BONDING REGION BETWEEN THE ELECTRODE AND THE WIRE”
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito (Pub. No. US 2019/0043827 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ito discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a semiconductor element 2 placed on an insulating substrate 1 ([0029]) and having an electrode 22 on a surface ([0036]); a bonding wire 3 bonded to the electrode and electrically coupling the semiconductor element ([0037]); and a first resin material 4 covering a bonding portion between the electrode and the bonding wire ([0038]), the bonding portion includes a non-bonding region where the electrode and the bonding wire are not bonded (Figs. 9-14D, The term “bonding portion” is a broad term that encompasses any area or region on which bonding is provided, including areas adjacent to or located at the periphery of a structure. Although Ito identifies portion 31 as the bonding portion, the claim language does not clearly define the extent or boundaries of the claimed bonding region. Therefore, the scope of the term remains broad and is not limited to the specific portion identified in the Ito reference.)
Regarding claim 2, Ito discloses the device according to claim 1, further comprising: a second resin material 5 sealing the semiconductor element, the bonding wire, and the first resin material, a Young's modulus of the second resin material being lower than a Young's modulus of the first resin material ([0042]).
Regarding claim 3, Ito discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein a Young's modulus of the first resin material is 1000 MPa or more ([0042]).
Regarding claim 4, Ito discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein a recess 23 is provided in an upper surface of the electrode, and the non-bonding region is formed by an opening of the recess provided in the upper surface ([0068]).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Ito discloses the device according to claims 2 or 3, wherein a recess 23 is provided in an upper surface of the electrode 22, and the non-bonding region is formed by an opening of the recess provided in the upper surface ([0068]).
Regarding claim 7, Ito discloses the device according to claim 4, wherein in the bonding portion, the bonding wire and the electrode are bonded along an extending direction of the bonding wire, and a ratio of a length of the recess to a length of the bonding portion along the extending direction is 6% or more (Figs. 9-14D and [0068]).
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagai et al. (Pub. No. US 2011/0049675 A1, herein Nagai).
Regarding claim 1, Nagai discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a semiconductor element 1000 ([0040]) placed on an insulating substrate 200/230 ([0048]) and having an electrode 800 on a surface ([0041], [0049]); a bonding wire 340 bonded to the electrode and electrically coupling the semiconductor element ([0053]); and a first resin material 280/290 covering a bonding portion between the electrode and the bonding wire ([0050]), the bonding portion includes a non-bonding region where the electrode and the bonding wire are not bonded (Figs. 10-11B, 22).
With respect to claim 9, Nagai discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the non-bonding region has a shielding layer 330 that is not ultrasonically bonded between the electrode and the bonding wire ([0041]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to claim 8, the prior art of record alone or in combination do not teach or fairly suggest, in combination with other elements of the claims, wherein in the bonding portion, the bonding wire and the electrode are bonded along an extending direction of the bonding wire, and the recess is provided at a center of the bonding portion in the extending direction.
Conclusion
June 25, 2026
/MALIHEH MALEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813