This application has PRO 63/451,676 03/13/2023.
DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant has elected Group I, claims 1-20 without traverse as noted in the Applicant’s “Response to election/restriction” filed on 07/15/2026. It is noted that the Applicant did not elect Species as listed in the “Response to election/restriction” filed on 07/15/2026. For examination purpose, Species 1 (cl.2), Species 3 (cl.7), Species 6 (cl.11), Species 7 (cl.12), and Species 9 (cl.15) (Refer to the Office action dated 5/15/2015). Therefore, Claims 3, 8, 10, 13, 16-18, and 21-30 are withdrawn from consideration as non-elected claims. Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9, 11-12, 14-15, and 19-20 remain for examination, wherein claim 1 is an independent claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: in the instant case the “Ti90Al6V4” on line 1 of the instant claim should be amended as “Ti90Al6V4”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9, 11-12, 14-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 109759597 A, with on-line translation, thereafter CN’597) in view of Hofmann et al (US-PG-pub 2016/0258522 A1, listed in IDS filed on 12/30/2025, thereafter PG’522).
Regarding claim 1, CN’597 teaches a titanium base alloy waste material recycling method, comprising using Ti powder Ti-based alloy with waste material, atomizing powder, grinding to obtain Ti-based alloy powder, and then mixing the alloy powder with the waste materials, pressing, sintering, to obtain high Ti content of large size (including sheet-like) hard alloy product. (Abstract of CN’597) with material mixing, melting, sintering to form target product (claim of CN’597), which reads on all of the essential process steps of Ti based alloy recycling process including melting and solidifying the mixing of a waste Ti based alloy and a correction alloy to form a target alloy as claimed in the instant claim. CN’597 does not specify that the Ti based waste alloy is from a mongrel alloy. However, Ti based alloy including an alloy for mongrel application is well-known technique as demonstrated by PG’522. PG’522 teaches alloy for harmonic drives with unique gearing systems having rim-shaped circular spline (par.[0004] and Figs.1-2 of PG’522) and Ti based alloy including Ti-6Al-4V in listed of the manufacturing materials (Table 1 of PG’522). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply the well-known technique, applying Ti based alloy as mongrel alloy, as demonstrated by PG’522 in the process of CN’597 in order to implement tailored metallic glass-based strain wave gears and strain wave gear components (Abstract of PG’522).
Regarding claim 2, CN’597 indicates crystalline phase in the Ti based alloy and PG’522 also indicates Ti-6Al-4V not a BMG material (having crystal structure) (table 1-2 of PG’597).
Regarding claim 4, CN’597 teaches adding WC in the mixing material (par.[0012] of CN’597) and PG’522 teaches other elements in the Mg-based alloy implement process (par.[0081] of PG’522).
Regarding claims 5 and 19-20, PG’522 teaches that the materials properties of a MG-based material can be tailored by varying the composition and varying the ratio of crystalline structure to amorphous structure. (par.[0071] of PG’522), which read on the selected amorphous structure (cl.5) and optimizing by adding additions for correct alloy (cl.19) and target alloy (cl.20).
Regarding claims 6-7, CN’597 provides example having specific Ti based waste material and correct materials (working example on par.[0013]-[0021] of CN’597), which reads on the claimed materials as claimed in the instant claims..
Regarding alim 9, CN’597 indicates applying atomizing to make powder (claim and par.[0006] of CN’597).
Regarding claim 11, CN’597 teaches a titanium base alloy waste material recycling method and PG’522 teaches alloy for harmonic drives with unique gearing systems having rim-shaped circular spline (par.[0004] and Figs.1-2 of PG’522) and Ti based alloy including Ti-6Al-4V in listed of the manufacturing materials (Table 1 of PG’522).
Regarding claim 12, CN’597 teaches add Ti or Ti + Ni content in alloy (claim and example of CN’597).
Regarding claims 14-15, PG’522 teaches that the materials properties of a MG-based material can be tailored by varying the composition and varying the ratio of crystalline structure to amorphous structure. (par.[0071] of PG’522) and PG’522 provides BMG material example Ti67Zr11V10Cu5Al2Be5 and properties (table 2 of PG’522), which comprises Ti-Al-V as elements of mongrel alloy.
Conclusion
/JIE YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734