DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mine et al. (US 2014/0028316) in view of Okamoto (US 4905316).
In re claims 1, 6, and 8, Mine discloses a superconducting magnet device, including a radiation shield structure comprising: a superconducting coil (14); a radiation shield (16) including a plurality of divided shield pieces disposed to surround the superconducting coil; a thermal bridge member (35) that thermally connects the plurality of divided shield pieces to each other; and a resistance layer (37) that is interposed between the thermal bridge member and the divided shield pieces and has a higher electrical resistivity than the thermal bridge member (inherent functionality of electrical insulation) wherein the thermal bridge member thermally connects the plurality of divided shield pieces over a slit. Mine does not disclose the slit completely dividing the radiation shield or a specific metal material used to make the bridge member. Okamoto however, teaches a superconducting magnet device having a radiation shield (4) completely divided by slits (see figure 7 for best view). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made slits, as taught by Okamoto, to completely divide the shield of Mine to reduce eddy currents, as discussed by Okamoto throughout the specification. Also, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have chosen a high thermal conductivity material for the thermal bridge member to allow uniform temperature distribution around the magnet, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Please note that in the instant application, paragraph 22, applicant discloses that materials such as copper or aluminum can be used, which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since these materials are well known to be highly thermally conductive.
In re claim 2, Mine discloses that the resistance layer is a passive film (37, as shown in figure 1).
In re claim 5, Mine teaches the claimed device except for the shield being formed of high thermal conductivity metal. Okamoto however teaches that the shield 4 is formed of aluminum (see column 5, line 29). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a high thermal conductivity metal as taught by Okamoto in the shield of Mine to provide a more uniform thermal distribution in the shield.
In re claim 7, Mine discloses the resistance layer (37) having a higher electrical resistivity than the thermal bridge member but does not disclose a plurality of resistance layers. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided additional resistance layers to the existing layers to increase resistance, and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alexander Talpalatski/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837