Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the sedimentation groove must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by CN213584016U, referred to Contemporary. An English machine translation has been provided with this office action and claim mapped in the prior art rejection below.
Regarding Claims 1-11 & 20, Contemporary discloses the battery (See Abstract; battery), comprising:
A). A box body comprising an electrical cavity (See Figures Items 211 & 212; housing and cover plate has an electrical cavity inside it); a battery cell group accommodated in the electrical cavity (See Figures, in particular Figure 3; battery module which is a plurality of battery modules Item 20), wherein
B). The battery cell group comprises a plurality of battery cells arranged in a first direction (See Figures & Figure 3 battery modules), at least two battery cells in the battery cell group are each provided with C). A pressure relief mechanism (See Figures, in particular Figure 5 Item 213 pressure relief mechanism, and the pressure relief mechanism is arranged on D). A first wall of the battery cell (See Figures, and in particular Figure 5 Item 21a; first wall); and
E). A supporting member attached to the first wall to support the battery cell (See Figures and in particular Figure 5 Item 24 backing plate/Item 13 thermal management member), wherein the supporting member comprises
F). Escape cavities corresponding to at least two of the pressure relief mechanisms in the battery cell group, and the escape cavities are used for providing deformation spaces for actuation of at least two of the pressure relief mechanisms (See Figures and in particular Figure 6 escape cavities 134a).
Regarding Claim 2, Contemporary disclose the battery according to claim 1, wherein escape openings (See Figures and in particular Figure 6 Items 134a) are arranged on a surface of the supporting member close to the battery cell group, at least two of the pressure relief mechanisms face the escape openings, and the escape cavities are in communication with the escape openings (See Figures and Figure 6; Item 134a escape cavity and escape openings).
Regarding Claim 3, Contemporary discloses the battery according to claim 2, wherein when the pressure relief mechanism is actuated, an emission from the battery cell enters the escape cavity through the escape opening, and is discharged from the escape cavity (See Figure 6/Page 31; “a bottom wall of the relief cavity is provided with a weakened area configured to be destructible by an exhaust emitted from the battery cell upon actuation of the pressure relief mechanism such that the exhaust passes through the weakened area.)”
Regarding Claim 4, Contemporary discloses the battery according to claim 2, wherein the escape cavities and/or the escape openings are successively arranged in the first direction (See Figures/Figure 6 for escape cavities and escape openings are arranged in a first direction).
Regarding Claim 5, Contemporary discloses the battery according to claim 1, wherein the escape cavity is provided with a weak region, and the weak region is configured to, when the pressure relief mechanism is actuated, allow the emission to pass through the weak region to be discharged from the escape cavity (See Figure 6/Page 31; “a bottom wall of the relief cavity is provided with a weakened area configured to be destructible by an exhaust emitted from the battery cell upon actuation of the pressure relief mechanism such that the exhaust passes through the weakened area.”).
Regarding Claim 6, Contemporary discloses the battery according to claim 5, wherein the weak region is configured to be destroyed when the pressure relief mechanism is actuated, thus allowing the emission to be discharged from the escape cavity (See Page 31; “a side of the bypass cavity is capable of being damaged by the emissions to allow the fluid to exit the interior of the thermal management component).
Regarding Claim 7, Contemporary discloses the battery according to claim 6, wherein the escape cavity comprises a bottom wall and a side wall, the bottom wall is arranged opposite to the first wall, the side wall is connected to the bottom wall and extends toward the first wall, and the weak region is arranged on the bottom wall and/or the side wall (See Figures Item 135; weakened area).
Regarding Claim 8, Contemporary discloses the battery according to claim 7, wherein the weak region is arranged at an end portion of the bottom wall and/or the side wall in the first direction (See Figures Item 135; weakened area).
Regarding Claim 9, Contemporary discloses the battery according to claim 6, wherein the thickness of the weak region is smaller than the thickness of the region on the escape cavity other than the weak region (See Figures/Figure 6 the thickness of the weak region is smaller than the thickness of the region of the escape cavity).
Regarding Claim 10, Contemporary discloses the battery according to claim 6, wherein the melting point of the material of the weak region is smaller than the melting point of the material of the region on the escape cavity other than the weak region (See Page 33, “That is, the zone of weakness135 may have a lower melting point than the remainder of the thermal management component 13.”)
Regarding Claim 11, Contemporary discloses the battery according to claim 5, wherein the weak region comprises a through hole, and when the pressure relief mechanism is actuated, the emission passes through the through hole and is discharged from the escape cavity (See Figures Page 31, It should be understood that the bottom wall of the avoiding cavity134a may be thinned by other thinning manners, for example, a blind hole or a stepped hole may be formed on the first region 131a of the first heat conducting plate 131; and/or, blind holes and the like are provided on the second heat conduction plate 132).
Regarding Claim 20, Contemporary discloses the electrical device, comprising: the battery according to claim 1, wherein the battery is used for providing electric energy for the electrical device (See Contemporary, Page 8 electric device; Page 40 electric device may be a vehicle 1, ship, or spacecraft).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over CN213584016U, referred to as Contemporary in view of JP2022543185A, referred to as Contemporary2. An English machine translation of both documents have been provided with this office action and claim mapped in the prior art rejection below.
The applied references have a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding Claim 12, Contemporary discloses the battery according to claim 11, except wherein the weak region further comprises a sealing structure configured to seal the through hole, and the sealing structure is configured to be destroyed when the pressure relief mechanism is actuated, thus allowing the emission of the battery cell to pass through the through hole.
Contemporary2 discloses a battery wherein a weak region further comprises a sealing structure configured to seal the through hole, and the sealing structure is configured to be destroyed when the pressure relief mechanism is actuated, thus allowing the emission of the battery cell to pass through the through hole (See Page 5, “In some embodiments, the battery further comprises a sealing member disposed between the thermal management member and the protective member to seal the collection cavity.”
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include comprises a sealing member disposed between the thermal management member and the protective member to seal the escape/collection cavity because according to Contemporary2, “the installation of the sealing member can effectively prevent the discharge in the collection cavity from being discharged unexpectedly, thereby improving the safety performance of the battery (See Page 5).”
Claims 13 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over CN213584016U, referred to as Contemporary in view of JP2022543185A, referred to as Contemporary2, and in further view of JP2022542779A referred to as Contemporary3. An English machine translation of these three documents have been provided with this office action and claim mapped in the prior art rejection below.
The applied references have a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding Claims 13 & 14, Contemporary in view of Contemporary2 disclose the battery according to claim 12, except wherein the through hole is filled with the sealing structure or wherein the sealing structure is arranged on an inner surface of the escape cavity corresponding to the through hole; and/or the sealing structure is arranged on an outer surface of the escape cavity corresponding to the through hole.
Contemporary3 discloses a battery wherein the escape cavities/collection cavities is filled with a sealing structure (See Page 5; cooling medium).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a sealing structure/medium as shown in Contemporary3 or wherein the sealing structure is arranged on an inner surface of the escape cavity corresponding to the through hole; and/or the sealing structure is arranged on an outer surface of the escape cavity corresponding to the through hole in the escape/collection cavities of the combination of Contemporary in view of Contemporary2 because according to Contemporary3, the sealing structure/medium allows, “for lowering the temperature of incoming influent (See Page 5).”
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over CN213584016U, referred to as Contemporary in view CN213782158U, referred to as Contemporary4. An English machine translation of these two documents have been provided with this office action and claim mapped in the prior art rejection below.
Regarding Claim 15, Contemporary discloses the battery according to claim 1, except wherein the escape cavity comprises a bottom wall arranged opposite to the first wall, in a second direction, distances between at least two regions of the bottom wall and a first plane where the first wall is located are not equal, and the second direction is perpendicular to the first wall.
Contemporary4 discloses a battery wherein the escape cavity comprises a bottom wall arranged opposite to the first wall, in a second direction, distances between at least two regions of the bottom wall and a first plane where the first wall is located are not equal, and the second direction is perpendicular to the first wall (See Figures, in particular Figure 34).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace or substitute at least one of the escape cavity of Contemporary4 into Contemporary as a design choice because this would allow the pressure relief mechanism to be recessed into the escape cavity as shown in Figure 34.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Contemporary and Contemporary4 discloses the battery according to claim 15, wherein: in the first direction, the distance between at least a part of region of the bottom wall and the first plane gradually increases in the second direction, and/or in the first direction, the distance between at least a part of region of the bottom wall and the first plane gradually decreases in the second direction (See Figure 34 of Contemporary4 where the black shapes have gradual incline and decline portions).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Contemporary and Contemporary4 disclose the battery according to claim 16, wherein in the first direction, the distance between the bottom wall and the first plane increases gradually or decreases gradually in the second direction from the center of the bottom wall to the end portion of the bottom wall (See Figure 34 of Contemporary4 where the black shapes have gradual incline and decline portions).
Claims 18 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over CN213584016U, referred to as Contemporary in view CN213782158U, referred to as Contemporary4, and in further view of Deka (Industrial Battery Service Manual Print Availability Date 06/19). An English machine translation of these two documents have been provided with this office action and claim mapped in the prior art rejection below.
Regarding Claims 18 & 19 the combination of CN213584016U in view of Contemporary4, discloses the battery according to claim 15, except wherein the bottom wall is provided with a sedimentation groove with an opening facing the first wall, and in the second direction, the distance between a groove bottom wall of the sedimentation groove and the first plane is greater than the distance between a region on the bottom wall other than the sedimentation groove and the first plane or in Claim 19, wherein the sedimentation groove is located at the end portion of the bottom wall in the first direction.
Deka discloses the use of sedimentation grooves at the bottom wall of the batteries as shown in Figure A-1 (Sedimentation Space) & Glossary – (Sediment Space). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add into the combination of Contemporary in view of Contemporary4, a sedimentation groove as recited as a design choice/shape to allow a space for the sediment from wearing of the plate to be housed and prevent short circuiting of the battery.
Conclusion
/Bobby Ramdhanie/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1779