(DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to the amendments/remarks filed on 02/19/2026. Claims 16-24, 27-33 are pending; claims 16, 27-28 have been amended; claims 32-33 are added; claims 1-15, 25-26 are canceled.
Claim Objections
Claims 16, 32 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16 recites “the at least one first centering being in the form of a fit” should read -- the at least one first centering being in [[the]] a form of a fit--
Claim 32 recites “the at least one second centering is in the form of a second fit” should read -- the at least one second centering is in [[the]] a form of a second fit--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-22, 24, 27-28, 30-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabata (US 2007/0225098) in view of JIN (CN 210290671U) and further in view of VERHOOG (WO2023099774)
Claim 16: Tabata discloses a drive train (10; Fig.1) for a motor vehicle (¶[0048]), comprising:
a prime mover (M1; Fig.12) comprising a drive shaft (86; Fig.12); and
a transmission (16, 20) comprising an input shaft (92) and a first planetary gear set (24) with a plurality of gear set elements that include a sun gear (S1), a planet carrier (CA1), and a ring gear (R1),
the input shaft (92) connected to one of the plurality of gear set elements of the first planetary gear set (24) for conjoint rotation, wherein the drive shaft (86) is configured for at least indirectly transmitting drive power onto the input shaft (92), and
the drive shaft (86) is connected via a spline (93) to the input shaft (92) for conjoint rotation (¶[0148]); and wherein the drive shaft (86) is rotatably mounted via a first bearing element (88)
Tabata does not disclose spline is arranged axially between a toothing of a first gear set element of the plurality of gear set elements of the first planetary gear set and an axial stop configured for axially supporting the input shaft against the drive shaft in one torque direction; and the first bearing element is axially preloaded by a spring element such that the drive shaft is secured in an axial position, and wherein the input shaft is radially secured at the drive shaft, or vice versa, via at least one first centering, the at least one first centering being in the form of a fit allowing for axial flexibility of the input shaft.
Note: Tabata discloses spline (93) is arranged axially between a toothing of a first gear set element (s1) of the plurality of gear set elements of the first planetary gear set and abutment surface of rotor shaft (86).
JIN teaches a drive train (fig.1) having a drive shaft (1) and input member (2), an axial stop (shoulder of motor shaft 1; 5.) configured for axially supporting the input shaft against the drive shaft in one torque direction (¶[0050]: When subjected to axial force, the positive axial force is supported by the shoulder of the motor shaft 1, and the negative axial force is supported by the spacer 3. Spacer 3 is axially limited by lock nut 5, and stop washer 4 prevents lock nut 5 from loosening.); and wherein the input member (2) is radially secured and at the drive shaft (1), or vice versa, via at least one first centering (see annotated Fig below), the at least one first centering being in the form of a fit (as shown in Fig. below, the notch from motor shaft 1 is radial fit with input 2) allowing for axial flexibility of the input shaft (¶[0050]: motor shaft 1 is clearance-fitted with the first shaft gear 2, and the coaxial positioning is achieved by the outer circle step of the motor shaft 1.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drive shaft (86) of Tabata to include (shoulder of motor shaft 1, as well as spacer 3, washer 4 and nut 5 -JIN), reverse arrangement of input shaft and drive shaft; and at least one first centering (as shown in annotated Fig. below) being in the form of a fit allowing for axial flexibility of the input shaft as taught by JIN in order to prevent axial movement between two shafts, reduce axial bearing load.
Accordingly, the modified structure of Tabata would reverse arrangement of input shaft and drive shaft; wherein the drive shaft 86 includes (a shoulder, 3, 4, 5) and is arranged radially inward of input shaft 92; and at least one first centering being in the form of a fit allowing for axial flexibility of the input shaft as taught by JIN.
VERHOOG teaches a motor housing (4; Fig.1) in a motor vehicle, wherein a first drive shaft (12) is rotatably mounted via a first bearing (19); and the first bearing element (19) is axially preloaded by a spring element (48) such that drive shaft (12) is secured in axial position (see ¶[0081] from translation)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add spring (48: VERHOOG) of VERHOOG in order to eliminate noise and vibration generate by during rotation of the shaft particularly due to positioning clearances and/or thermal contraction or expansion phenomena (see ¶[0038])
Claim 17: Tabata as modified by JIN and VERHOOG discloses wherein the prime mover (M1-Tabata) comprises an electric machine (¶[0112]), and the drive shaft (86) comprises a rotor shaft of the electric machine (¶[0148]: a first rotor support shaft 86 formed integrally with the first rotor 84).
Claim 18: Tabata as modified by JIN and VERHOOG discloses wherein: the drive shaft (86-Tabata) is rotatably mounted in a positionally fixed component (12a,80-Tabata) via a first bearing element (88-Tabata) and a second bearing element (90-Tabata); the first bearing element (88-Tabata) is arranged axially between the prime mover (M1-Tabata) and the transmission (16, 20-Tabata); and the second bearing element (90-Tabata) is arranged opposite the first bearing element (88-Tabata) about the prime mover (M1-Tabata).
Claim 19: Tabata as modified by JIN and VERHOOG discloses wherein the first bearing element (88-Tabata) and the second bearing element (90-Tabata. As the modified device of Tabata, bearing 90 would experience preload indirectly through rotor shaft as both bearings mounted on the same shaft) are axially preloaded by the spring element (48-VERHOOG)
Claim 20: Tabata as modified by JIN and VERHOOG discloses wherein the input shaft (92-Tabata) is formed as one piece with the first gear set element (S1) of the first planetary gear set (24-Tabata) (¶[0148]: The first sun gear S1 has an integrally formed sun gear shaft 92).
Claim 21: Tabata as modified by JIN and VERHOOG discloses wherein: the transmission (16, 20-Tabata) further comprises a second planetary gear set (26-Tabata) operatively connected to the first planetary gear set (24-Tabata) and including a plurality of gear set elements with a sun gear (S2), a planet carrier (CA2) and a ring gear (R2);
a second gear set element (CA1) of the first planetary gear set (24) is at least indirectly connected to a first output shaft (14) for conjoint rotation (¶[0149]), and a third gear set element (R1) of the first planetary gear set (24) is at least indirectly connected (via C2) to a first gear set element (S2) of the second planetary gear set (26) for conjoint rotation;
a second gear set element (CA2) of the second planetary gear set (26) is connected to a positionally fixed component (12) for conjoint rotation, and a third gear set element (R2) of the second planetary gear set (26) is at least indirectly connected (via CA4) to a second output shaft (22) for conjoint rotation; and
a first output torque is at least indirectly transmittable onto the first output shaft (14) by the first planetary gear set (24) (when engine 8 is in non-operated state, see ¶[0138]), and a support torque of the first planetary gear set (24) is convertible in the second planetary gear set (26) such that a second output torque, which corresponds to the first output torque, is transmittable onto the second output shaft (22).
Claim 22: Tabata as modified by JIN and VERHOOG discloses wherein the first gear set element (S1) of the first planetary gear set (24) is supported with respect to a second gear set element (CA1) of the first planetary gear set (24) via an axial bearing (see annotated fig below).
Claim 24: Tabata as modified by JIN and VERHOOG discloses wherein the first gear set element (S1) of the first planetary gear set (24) is the sun gear (S1 is sun gear), the second gear set element of the first planetary gear set (CA1) is the planet carrier (CA1 is carrier), and the third gear set element (R1) of the first planetary gear set (24) is the ring gear (R1 is ring gear).
Claim 27: Tabata as modified by JIN and VERHOOG discloses wherein the input shaft (92) is radially secured at the drive shaft (86), or vice versa, via at least one second centering (see annotated Fig below rejection of claim 16 above. As shown from annotated Fig., 3 has radial fit with drive shaft and contacts with input shaft, it contributes to radial alignment. Furthermore, the term “centering” does not have any definition from the specification. Therefore, under BRI, the term is interpreted as any structure that has any fit and radially centers would satisfy this limitation.).
Claim 28: Tabata as modified by JIN and VERHOOG discloses wherein: the input shaft (92) is radially secured at the drive shaft (86), or vice versa, via the at least one first centering (see annotated Fig below rejection of claim 16 above); the input shaft (92) is radially secured at the drive shaft (86), or vice versa, via at least one second centering (see annotated Fig below rejection of claim 16 above); and the spline (93) is arranged axially between the at least one first and second centerings (see annotated Fig below rejection of claim 16 above).
Claim 30: Tabata as modified by JIN and VERHOOG discloses a motor vehicle (see ¶[0048]), comprising the drive train (10) of claim 16.
Claim 31: Tabata as modified by JIN and VERHOOG discloses the drive train (10; Fig.1) of claim 16, wherein the spring element (48- VERHOOG) extends axially between the first bearing element (88-Tabata) and a positionally fixed component (12a- Tabata).
Claim 32: Tabata as modified by JIN and VERHOOG discloses the drive train (10; Fig.1) of claim 27, wherein the at least one second centering (see annotated Fig. below rejection of claim 16) is in the form of a second fit (as shown in annotated Fig.: spacer 3 has radial fit with drive shaft 1 and contact input shaft 2. Note: the claim does require to be press fit as described in the spec, thereof, any fit that radially centers would satisfy this limitation.) allowing for axial flexibility of the input shaft (92), the at least one second centering (see annotated Fig. below rejection of claim 16) being spaced apart from the at least one first centering (see annotated Fig. below rejection of claim 16).
Claim 33: Tabata as modified by JIN and VERHOOG discloses the drive train (10; Fig.1) of claim 16, wherein the drive shaft (86-Tabata) and the input shaft (93-Tabata) radially contact each other at the fit (clearance fitted-JIN).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabata (US 2007/0225098) in view of JIN (CN 210290671U) and VERHOOG (WO2023099774) and further in view of Holdeman (US 4,440,042)
Claim 23: Tabata as modified by JIN and VERHOOG does not disclose wherein a thrust washer is arranged axially between the axial bearing and the first gear set element of the first planetary gear set.
Holdeman teaches planetary gear assembly (10; Fig.1) having a thrust washer (38) is arranged axially between a bearing (16) and a sun gear (32) .
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add thrust washer (38) as taught by Holdeman such that the thrust washer (38) is arranged axially between the axial bearing and the first gear set element (S1-Tabata) of the first planetary gear set (24-Tabata) in the modified device of Tabata in order to compensate for any axial movement.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabata (US 2007/0225098) in view of JIN (CN 210290671U) and VERHOOG (WO2023099774) and further in view of Phillips (US 20120100953)
Claim 29: Tabata as modified by JIN and VERHOOG does not explicitly disclose wherein at least the sun gear of the first planetary gear set is helically toothed.
Phillips teaches a transmission (Fig.1) having a planetary gearset (20); wherein the gear set (20) may be replaced by a helical gear set (see ¶[0021])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the teaching of Phillips to replace the planetary gearset (24) of the modified device of Tabata with the helical gearset (see ¶[0021]-as taught by Phillips) in order to provide smoother and quieter operation.
Response to Amendment/Argument
The previous rejection under 35 USC 103 have been considered but are moot. As the present rejections are based on Tabata in view of Jin and Verhoog; wherein Jin is relied upon to teach the newly added limitation (see rejections above).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
List (US 20090286641) discloses drive shaft 11 and input shaft 40 spline between input and drive shaft and bearing.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERNESTO A SUAREZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/LILLIAN T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3655A