DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1–8, 10–14, 16–21, 23, 27–28, 30–31, and 35–38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel (US Pub. 2011/0192596 A1)(hereinafter Patel) in view of Ramos et al. (WO 2004020789).
Regarding claim 1, Patel discloses a data recorder for a wellbore, (Patel, Figs. 1-3 and ¶0032; ...the male wet connect 22 comprises a retrievable power source 74 conveyed downhole and coupled to the upper end of the through tubing completion 48... the retrievable power supply 74 also may have a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control.)
comprising: an energy transfer mechanism to receive sensed signals from one or more downhole sensors; (Patel, Fig. 3 and ¶0031; ... the wet connect components 22, 60 are shown coupled together via an inductive coupling 68... The inductive coupler wet connect system shown may provide one or two way communication of power, signaling, data transmission, or some combination of these)
a data logger; (Patel, Fig. 3 and ¶0032; ... a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control.)
a controller having to perform operations (Patel, Fig. 2 and ¶0031; electronics 72 are disposed within male wet connect 22.)
and storing the sensor data in the data logger; (Patel, Fig. 3 and ¶0032; ... a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control. And Wu, ¶0001; In addition, prior data loggers have also included memory storage in order to convert parameter sensor readings into values which are readable by a human)
and a coupling mechanism to connect the data recorder to an equipment section. (Patel, Figs 2-3 and ¶0031; the male and female wet connect components 22, 60 may be coupled together via a latching mechanism 66.)
While Patel discloses an inductive energy transfer mechanism, Patel does not specifically disclose that the transfer mechanism includes an inductive-optical hybrid coupler, the electronics have one or more processors and converting the sensed signals received from the one or more downhole sensors into sensor data.
In an analogous art, Ramos et al. discloses an inductive energy transfer mechanism fiber optic and inductive connection of sensors thus coupled (Paragraph 86), the electronics have one or more processors (Paragraph 39) and converting the sensed signals received from the one or more downhole sensors into sensor data (Paragraph 45).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have use an inductive optical hybrid coupler, include processors, and convert sensed signals to sensor data in order to transmit the logging tool data real time to surface, that is as economical and as easy to deploy as slickline deployed systems, and that does not include the detriments of electrically or battery powered devices (Ramos, Paragraph 6).
Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1, Patel discloses wherein the energy transfer mechanism is couplable to an energy transfer mechanism of a first equipment section of the wellbore and receives the sensed signals via the energy transfer mechanism of the first equipment section. (Patel, Figs. 2-3 and ¶0031; The inductive coupler wet connect system shown may provide one or two way communication of power, signaling, data transmission, or some combination of these.)
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 2, Patel wherein the energy transfer mechanism of the first equipment section.is a permanent downhole half wet mate connector. (Patel, Figs. 1-3 and ¶0029; a female wet connect 60 provided at the top of the through tubing completion 48; ¶0035; a male hydraulic wet connect 92 may be disengaged from a female hydraulic wet connect 94 and pulled out of hole during production of the lateral bore 42; ¶0037; the male inductive coupler 100 of the retrievable communications module 96 and the female inductive coupler 104 may be engaged together via a latching mechanism, such as latching mechanism 66.).
Regarding Claim 4, Patel discloses sending control signals to downhole sensors (Col. 2, Lines 30-42, Col. 26,Lines 52-59), however Patel fails to explicitly disclose the sensed signals are received in response to the control signals.
In an analogous art, Ramos discloses that signals are sent to the sensor and sensed signals are received in response (Paragraph 45, optical pulses sent down to sensors and the optical signal is changed by a modulator and sent on a return signal as sensor data).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have receive in response sensed signals in response to the control signals in order to dynamically modify its own behavior or internal parameters in real time to optimize data collection.
Regarding Claim 5, Patel in view of Ramos further discloses the control and sensed signals are optical signals (Paragraph 31 and 45 of Ramos). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used optical signals for the same reason as disclosed above for claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6, Patel in view of Ramos further discloses a light source, wherein the operations further include activating the light source and using the light source to send the control signals (Ramos, Paragraphs 45 and 60, pulses of light transmitted and control signals sent).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have use a light source to send all signals for the same reason as disclosed above for claim 1.
Regarding Claim 7, Patel in view of Ramos further discloses communications interface that is configured to transmit downhole data uphole in real time, wherein the downhole data at least includes the sensor data (Ramos Paragraph 31).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have use a light source for faster more dynamic communication system that is cost effective and also allows faster tool status reports (Paragraph 31 of Ramos).
Regarding Claim 8, Patel in view of Ramos further discloses the operations further include generating processed data from the sensed signals, the sensor data, or from both (Ramos Paragraph 39, process received data).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have process the sensor data in order to enable presentation of the data to a user at surface (Ramos Paragraph 39).
Regarding claim 10, which depends from claim 8, Patel discloses wherein the data logger additionally stores at least one of the sensed signals and the processed data. (Patel, Fig. 3 and ¶0032; ... a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control.)
Regarding claim 11, which depends from claim 1, Patel discloses wherein the sensors are embedded in a second equipment section and the sensed signals are stimulation data. (Patel, Fig. 1 and ¶0029; a through tubing completion 48 are a number of electrically activated flow control valves (FCV) 56. The valves 56 may be coupled with sensors 58 to measure and transmit one or more lateral borehole parameters, such as flow rate, pressure, temperature, water cut, resistivity, etc.)
Regarding claim 12, which depends from claim 1, Patel discloses wherein the coupling mechanism is a retrieval mechanism that is a collet-type device or a releasable mechanism. (Patel, Figs. 2-3 and ¶0014; FIG. 3 is a schematic illustration of a portion of a through tubing completion with a retrievable connector; ¶0031; the male and female wet connect components 22, 60 may be coupled together via a latching mechanism 66.; ¶0032; the male wet connect 22 comprises a retrievable power source 74 conveyed downhole and coupled to the upper end of the through tubing completion 48; ¶0036; system 20 comprises a retrievable communications module 96. The retrievable communications module 96 may comprise a wireless telemetry module 98, a male inductive coupler 100 of inductive coupling 68, a downhole power storage/generator module 102, and/or other suitable components; ¶0037; the male inductive coupler 100 of the retrievable communications module 96 and the female inductive coupler 104 may be engaged together via a latching mechanism, such as latching mechanism 66.)
Regarding claim 13, which depends from claim 1, Patel discloses further comprising a power source. (Patel, ¶0032; the male wet connect 22 comprises a retrievable power source 74 conveyed downhole and coupled to the upper end of the through tubing completion 48)
Regarding claim 14, which depends from claim 1, Patel wherein the downhole sensors are completion task sensors. (Patel, Fig. 1 and Abstract; A technique facilitates use of a through tubing completion system run in a lateral borehole. The through tubing completion may comprise production tubing coupled to a flow control valve and one or more sensors measuring at least one characteristic of the lateral borehole; ¶0008; the through tubing completion may comprise one of a male or female wet connect system configured to communicatively couple with the flow control valve and the one or more sensors;¶0025; embodiments also relate to how a side track or lateral bore can be completed without pulling the existing completion and without or with minimal modification of the existing surface infrastructure, referred to as through tubing completion. In some embodiments, the through tubing completion systems relate to intelligent completions or completion systems that are adjustable based on conditions arising in the well; ¶0029; a through tubing completion 48 are a number of electrically activated flow control valves (FCV) 56. The valves 56 may be coupled with sensors 58 to measure and transmit one or more lateral borehole parameters, such as flow rate, pressure, temperature, water cut, resistivity, etc.).
Regarding claim 16, Patel discloses a downhole data recording system for a wellbore, (Patel, Figs. 1-3 and ¶0032; ...the male wet connect 22 comprises a retrievable power source 74 conveyed downhole and coupled to the upper end of the through tubing completion 48... the retrievable power supply 74 also may have a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control.)
comprising: a network of devices, (Patel, Abstract; The through tubing completion also comprises a connection system which facilitates the transfer of signals between the through tubing completion extending into the lateral borehole and a surface location or other location.)
wherein the network includes sensors; (Patel, ¶0029; sensors 58 to measure and transmit one or more lateral borehole parameters, such as flow rate, pressure, temperature, water cut, resistivity, etc. The information may be coupled to a female wet connect 60 provided at the top of the through tubing completion 48. Female wet connect 60 and male wet connect 22 form connection or coupling system 21, which in this case is a wet connect system.)
a data recorder (Patel, Figs. 1-3 and ¶0032; ...the male wet connect 22 comprises a retrievable power source 74 conveyed downhole and coupled to the upper end of the through tubing completion 48... the retrievable power supply 74 also may have a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control.)
including: an energy transfer mechanism configured to receive sensed signals from the sensors of the network; (Patel, Fig. 3 and ¶0031; ... the wet connect components 22, 60 are shown coupled together via an inductive coupling 68... The inductive coupler wet connect system shown may provide one or two way communication of power, signaling, data transmission, or some combination of these)
a data logger; (Patel, Fig. 3 and ¶0032; ... a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control.)
and a controller having one or more processors to perform operations (Patel, Fig. 2 and ¶0031; electronics 72 are disposed within male wet connect 22.)
and storing the sensor data in the data logger; (Patel, Fig. 3 and ¶0032; ... a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control. And Wu, ¶0001; In addition, prior data loggers have also included memory storage in order to convert parameter sensor readings into values which are readable by a human)
and a wet connect coupled to the data recorder, (Patel, Figs 2-3 and ¶0031; the male and female wet connect components 22, 60 may be coupled together via a latching mechanism 66.)
wherein the sensed signals are received by the energy transfer mechanism via the wet connect. (Patel, Figs. 2-3 and ¶0031; the wet connect components 22, 60 are shown coupled together via an inductive coupling 68; ¶0040; Data obtained by the sensors, e.g. sensors 58, may be transmitted via the cable 62 to the inductive coupler system 68)
While Patel discloses an inductive energy transfer mechanism, Patel does not specifically disclose that the transfer mechanism includes an inductive-optical hybrid coupler, the electronics have one or more processors and converting the sensed signals received from the one or more downhole sensors into sensor data.
In an analogous art, Ramos et al. discloses an inductive energy transfer mechanism fiber optic and inductive connection of sensors thus coupled (Paragraph 86), the electronics have one or more processors (Paragraph 39) and converting the sensed signals received from the one or more downhole sensors into sensor data (Paragraph 45).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have use an inductive optical hybrid coupler, include processors, and convert sensed signals to sensor data in order to transmit the logging tool data real time to surface, that is as economical and as easy to deploy as slickline deployed systems, and that does not include the detriments of electrically or battery powered devices (Ramos, Paragraph 6).
Regarding claim 17, which depends from claim 16, Patel discloses wherein the wet connect is a permanent downhole half wet mate connector of a first equipment section of the wellbore. (Patel, Figs. 1-3 and ¶0029; a female wet connect 60 provided at the top of the through tubing completion 48; ¶0031; the wet connect components 22, 60 are shown coupled together via an inductive coupling 68... The inductive coupler wet connect system shown may provide one or two way communication of power, signaling, data transmission, or some combination of these; ¶0035; a male hydraulic wet connect 92 may be disengaged from a female hydraulic wet connect 94 and pulled out of hole during production of the lateral bore 42; ¶0037; the male inductive coupler 100 of the retrievable communications module 96 and the female inductive coupler 104 may be engaged together via a latching mechanism, such as latching mechanism 66.)
Regarding claim 18, Patel discloses a wet connect control line (Paragraphs 29, 31, 35, and 37), however Patel fails to explicitly disclose a fiber optic communication line.
In an analogous art, Ramos et al. discloses fiber optic communication line (Paragraphs 45 and 86).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a fiber optic wet line for long distance communication with high throughput and lower signal degradation.
Regarding Claim 19, Patel discloses sending control signals to the network of downhole sensors (Col. 2, Lines 30-42, Col. 26,Lines 52-59), however Patel fails to explicitly disclose the sensed signals are received in response to the control signals.
In an analogous art, Ramos discloses that signals are sent to the sensor and sensed signals are received in response (Paragraph 45, optical pulses sent down to sensors and the optical signal is changed by a modulator and sent on a return signal as sensor data).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have receive in response sensed signals in response to the control signals in order to dynamically modify its own behavior or internal parameters in real time to optimize data collection.
Regarding Claim 20, Patel in view of Ramos further discloses the control and sensed signals are optical signals (Paragraph 31 and 45 of Ramos). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used optical signals for the same reason as disclosed above for claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, which depends from claim 16, Patel discloses wherein the operations further include sending power signals to one or more of the devices of the network via the wet connect. (Patel, Figs. 2-3 and ¶0031; The inductive coupler wet connect system shown may provide one or two way communication of power, signaling, data transmission, or some combination of these.)
Regarding Claim 23, Patel in view of Ramos further discloses communications interface that is configured to transmit downhole data uphole in real time, wherein the downhole data at least includes the sensor data (Ramos Paragraph 31).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have use a light source for faster more dynamic communication system that is cost effective and also allows faster tool status reports (Paragraph 31 of Ramos).
Regarding claim 27, which depends from claim 16, Patel discloses wherein the data recorder further includes a coupling mechanism to connect the data recorder to a second equipment section. (Patel, Figs. 2-3 and ¶0014; FIG. 3 is a schematic illustration of a portion of a through tubing completion with a retrievable connector; ¶0031; the male and female wet connect components 22, 60 may be coupled together via a latching mechanism 66.; ¶0032; the male wet connect 22 comprises a retrievable power source 74 conveyed downhole and coupled to the upper end of the through tubing completion 48;)
Regarding claim 28, which depends from claim 16, Patel discloses wherein the sensors are completion task sensors. (Patel, Fig. 1 and Abstract; A technique facilitates use of a through tubing completion system run in a lateral borehole. The through tubing completion may comprise production tubing coupled to a flow control valve and one or more sensors measuring at least one characteristic of the lateral borehole; ¶0008; the through tubing completion may comprise one of a male or female wet connect system configured to communicatively couple with the flow control valve and the one or more sensors;¶0025; embodiments also relate to how a side track or lateral bore can be completed without pulling the existing completion and without or with minimal modification of the existing surface infrastructure, referred to as through tubing completion. In some embodiments, the through tubing completion systems relate to intelligent completions or completion systems that are adjustable based on conditions arising in the well; ¶0029; a through tubing completion 48 are a number of electrically activated flow control valves (FCV) 56. The valves 56 may be coupled with sensors 58 to measure and transmit one or more lateral borehole parameters, such as flow rate, pressure, temperature, water cut, resistivity, etc.).
Regarding claim 30, Patel discloses a method of obtaining downhole data from a wellbore, (Patel, Figs. 1-3 and ¶0032; ...the male wet connect 22 comprises a retrievable power source 74 conveyed downhole and coupled to the upper end of the through tubing completion 48... the retrievable power supply 74 also may have a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control.)
comprising: receiving, at a data recorder, (Patel, Figs. 1-3 and ¶0032; ...the male wet connect 22 comprises a retrievable power source 74 conveyed downhole and coupled to the upper end of the through tubing completion 48... the retrievable power supply 74 also may have a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control.)
sensed signals (Patel, Fig. 3 and ¶0032; ... a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control.)
from a network of devices, (Patel, Abstract; The through tubing completion also comprises a connection system which facilitates the transfer of signals between the through tubing completion extending into the lateral borehole and a surface location or other location.)
wherein the data recorder and the network of device are located downhole; (Patel, Fig. 3 and ¶0031; ... the wet connect components 22, 60 are shown coupled together via an inductive coupling 68... The inductive coupler wet connect system shown may provide one or two way communication of power, signaling, data transmission, or some combination of these)
and delivering downhole data to the surface via the data recorder, (Patel, Figs. 1-2 and ¶0030; the cable 24 connecting the male wet connect 22 to the surface may be used to provide real time monitoring and control of the lateral bore 42 during periods of production.)
wherein the data recorder includes an energy transfer mechanism connected to a permanent half wet mate connector of a first equipment string of the wellbore (Patel, Figs. 1-3 and ¶0029; a female wet connect 60 provided at the top of the through tubing completion 48; ¶0031; the wet connect components 22, 60 are shown coupled together via an inductive coupling 68... The inductive coupler wet connect system shown may provide one or two way communication of power, signaling, data transmission, or some combination of these; ¶0035; a male hydraulic wet connect 92 may be disengaged from a female hydraulic wet connect 94 and pulled out of hole during production of the lateral bore 42; ¶0037; the male inductive coupler 100 of the retrievable communications module 96 and the female inductive coupler 104 may be engaged together via a latching mechanism, such as latching mechanism 66.)
and the sensed signals are received via the permanent half wet mate connector, (Patel, Figs. 2-3 and ¶0031; the wet connect components 22, 60 are shown coupled together via an inductive coupling 68; ¶0040; Data obtained by the sensors, e.g. sensors 58, may be transmitted via the cable 62 to the inductive coupler system 68)
While Patel discloses an inductive energy transfer mechanism connected to a wet connect, Patel does not specifically disclose that the transfer mechanism includes an inductive-optical hybrid coupler.
In an analogous art, Ramos et al. discloses an inductive energy transfer mechanism fiber optic and inductive connection of sensors thus coupled (Paragraph 86), the electronics have one or more processors (Paragraph 39) and the sensed signals received from the one or more downhole data (Paragraph 45).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have use an inductive optical hybrid coupler, include processors, and convert sensed signals to sensor data in order to transmit the logging tool data real time to surface, that is as economical and as easy to deploy as slickline deployed systems, and that does not include the detriments of electrically or battery powered devices (Ramos, Paragraph 6).
Regarding claim 31, claim 31 depends from claim 30. As already discussed, the limitations of claim 31 are anticipated by Patel. Concerning claim 31, Patel discloses further comprising generating sensor data by processing the sensed signals (Patel, ¶0032; the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control) and wherein the downhole data is based on the sensed signals. (Patel, Figs. 1-2 and ¶0030; the cable 24 connecting the male wet connect 22 to the surface may be used to provide real time monitoring and control of the lateral bore 42 during periods of production; ¶0040; Data obtained by the sensors, e.g. sensors 58, may be transmitted via the cable 62 to the inductive coupler system 68). However, while Patel discloses providing sensors data, Patel does not specifically disclose the step that sensed signals from the sensors are processed into sensor data.
In an analogous art, Ramos et al. discloses sensed signals from the sensors are processed into sensor data (Paragraph 86, 39, and 45).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to process the sensed signals to sensor data in order to transmit the logging tool data real time to surface to reduce the amount of raw data sent.
Regarding claim 35, which depends from claim 31, Patel discloses further comprising generating processed data using one or more of the sensor data and the sensed signals, wherein the downhole data further includes the processed data. (Patel, ¶0032; the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control)
Regarding claim 36, which depends from claim 31, Patel discloses wherein the delivering includes sending the downhole data to the surface in real-time. (Patel, Figs. 1-2 and ¶0030; the cable 24 connecting the male wet connect 22 to the surface may be used to provide real time monitoring and control of the lateral bore 42 during periods of production.)
Regarding claim 37, wherein the delivering includes retrieving the data recorder after the storing. (Patel, Fig. 3 and ¶0032; ... a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control.)
Regarding claim 38, which depends from claim 37, Patel discloses wherein the sensor data is from completion task sensors (Patel, Fig. 1 and Abstract; A technique facilitates use of a through tubing completion system run in a lateral borehole. The through tubing completion may comprise production tubing coupled to a flow control valve and one or more sensors measuring at least one characteristic of the lateral borehole; ¶0008; the through tubing completion may comprise one of a male or female wet connect system configured to communicatively couple with the flow control valve and the one or more sensors; ¶0025; embodiments also relate to how a side track or lateral bore can be completed without pulling the existing completion and without or with minimal modification of the existing surface infrastructure, referred to as through tubing completion. In some embodiments, the through tubing completion systems relate to intelligent completions or completion systems that are adjustable based on conditions arising in the well.)
and the method further comprises running a different data recorder into the wellbore, (Patel Figs. 1-2 and ¶0026; through tubing completion system 20 having a communication connection or coupling system 21 comprising a male coupler wet connect 22 run on a cable 24, ¶0032; ...the male wet connect 22 comprises a retrievable power source 74 conveyed downhole and coupled to the upper end of the through tubing completion 48... the retrievable power supply 74 also may have a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control)
connecting an energy transfer mechanism of the different data recorder to the permanent half wet mate connector, (Patel, Figs 2-3 and ¶0029; a female wet connect 60 provided at the top of the through tubing completion 48; ¶0031; the male and female wet connect components 22, 60 may be coupled together via a latching mechanism 66; ¶0037; the male inductive coupler 100 of the retrievable communications module 96 and the female inductive coupler 104 may be engaged together via a latching mechanism, such as latching mechanism 66)
and obtaining sensor data from production task sensors via the permanent half wet mate connector. (Patel, Figs. 1-2 and ¶0040; Data obtained by the sensors, e.g. sensors 58, may be transmitted via the cable 62 to the inductive coupler system 68).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Ramos et al. as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Ramsay et al. (WO 2021091562).
Regarding Claim 9, Patel discloses processing data (Paragraph 32), however Patel fails to disclose a machine learning algorithm is used for the generating the processed data.
In an analogous art, Ramsay et al. discloses a machine learning algorithm is used for the generating the processed data (Paragraph 44, 47-56, physical sensor data gathered and used to create a machine learning model and then machine learning model used to estimate future output of a virtual sensor which may represent one or more physical sensors).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have use a machine learning algorithm to generate the processed data in order to reduce the amount of specialized hardware and additional sensors for purposes of determining and estimating changes in wellbores (Ramsay, Paragraph 67).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Ramos et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ramsay et al. (WO 2021091562).
Regarding Claim 15, Patel discloses downhole sensors (Paragraphs 8 and 29, flow rate, pressure, temperature, water cut, resistivity sensors), however Patel fails to disclose explicitly production task sensors.
In an analogous art, Ramsay et al. discloses production task sensors (Paragraph 56, output of sensors for permeability thus production task sensors).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have use production task sensors in order to determine the availability and potential of resources (Ramsay, Paragraph 2).
Claim(s) 22 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Ramos et al. as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Eriksson et al. (US 20150107901).
Regarding claim 22 and 26, which depends from claim 16, Patel discloses wherein the devices include computing devices (Patel, Fig. 3 and ¶0032; ... a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control.) however Patel fails to disclose one or more of the operations of controller are distributed to one or more of the computing devices and filtering data.
In an analogous art, Eriksson et al. discloses one or more of the operations of controller are distributed to one or more of the computing devices (Paragraph 27, sensor data is processed at the downhole tool) and filtering data (Paragraph 28, event triggers thus filtering occurring in specific decision and accumulation systems of the downhole tool and the corresponding tools).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have computing devices and operations of controller distributed to the computing devices and filtering allows for a reduction in transmitting raw data to the surface (Eriksson et al., Paragraph 27).
Claim(s) 24 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Ramos et al. as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Ramsay et al. (WO 2021091562).
Regarding Claim 24 and 25, Patel discloses processing data (Paragraph 32), however Patel fails to disclose filtering the sensed signals before generating the sensor data using a machine learning algorithm is used for the generating the processed data.
In an analogous art, Ramsay et al. discloses a machine learning algorithm is used for the generating the processed data (Paragraph 44, 47-56, physical sensor data gathered and used to create a machine learning model and then machine learning model used to estimate future output of a virtual sensor which may represent one or more physical sensors) and filtering the sensed signals (Paragraph 37-40, weights used and data filtered to update training model).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have use a machine learning algorithm to generate the processed data in order to reduce the amount of specialized hardware and additional sensors for purposes of determining and estimating changes in wellbores (Ramsay, Paragraph 67) and to filter the sensed signals to retrain the model for additional accuracy (Ramsay, Paragraph 37).
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Ramos et al. as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Grigsby et al. (US 20050072564).
Regarding Claim 29, Patel discloses a fiber optic wet line, however Patel fails to explicitly disclose an expansion contraction deice to compensate for axial movement.
In an analogous art, Grigsby et al. discloses the fiber optic wet line is coiled and compensates for axial movement (Paragraph 38).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have coil the fiber optic wet line to allow for the travel line length to vary (Grigsby et al., Paragraph 38).
Claim(s) 32 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Ramos et al. as applied to claim 31 above, and further in view of Ramsay et al. (WO 2021091562).
Regarding Claim 32 and 33, Patel discloses processing data (Paragraph 32), however Patel fails to disclose filtering the sensed signals before generating the sensor data using a machine learning algorithm is used for the generating the processed data.
In an analogous art, Ramsay et al. discloses a machine learning algorithm is used for the generating the processed data (Paragraph 44, 47-56, physical sensor data gathered and used to create a machine learning model and then machine learning model used to estimate future output of a virtual sensor which may represent one or more physical sensors) and filtering the sensed signals (Paragraph 37-40, weights used and data filtered to update training model).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have use a machine learning algorithm to generate the processed data in order to reduce the amount of specialized hardware and additional sensors for purposes of determining and estimating changes in wellbores (Ramsay, Paragraph 67) and to filter the sensed signals to retrain the model for additional accuracy (Ramsay, Paragraph 37).
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Ramos et al. and Ramsay et al. (WO 2021091562) as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Eriksson et al. (US 20150107901).
Regarding claim 34, which depends from claim 32, Patel discloses wherein the devices include computing devices (Patel, Fig. 3 and ¶0032; ... a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control.) however Patel fails to disclose the sensed signals are filtered.
In an analogous art, Eriksson et al. discloses the sensed signals are filtered (Paragraph 28, event triggers thus filtering occurring in specific decision and accumulation systems of the downhole tool and the corresponding tools).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to filtered the sensed data to allows for a reduction in transmitting raw data to the surface (Eriksson et al., Paragraph 27).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-38 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on citations or references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/STEVEN LIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2688