Response to Amendment
Status of Claims
In the response of 2/12/2026, Applicant amended claims 1, 4, 16, 22 and 25-30. Therefore claim 1-38 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 2/12/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-30 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Algeroy et al. (US Pub. 2013/0192851 A1).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an energy transfer mechanism configured to...” in claims 1 and 16; and “a coupling mechanism configured to...” in claims 1 and 27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 16 has been amended to recite in part, “including electro-optical transformer circuitry. Examiner is unable to find and Applicant has pointed out where in the specification as originally filed this subject matter is describe. The specification as originally filed at ¶0044 merely states “In some embodiments, an ETM may comprise a transformer where one type of energy is converted to another type of energy (e.g., an electrical solenoid where electricity is converted into a mechanical energy).” The specification makes no mention of an electro-optical transformer circuitry. Consequently, the specification as originally filed fails to provide written description support for this subject matter.
Claims 17-29 depend from claim 16 and are therefore also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-18, 21-23 and 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel (US Pub. 2011/0192596 A1)(hereinafter Patel) in view of Algeroy et al. (US Pub. 2013/0192851 A1)(hereinafter Algeroy) in view of Steele et al. (US Pub. 2021/0372276 A1)(hereinafter Steele) in view of Wu (2009/0063069 A1)(hereinafter Wu).
Regarding claim 1, Patel discloses a data recorder for a wellbore, (Patel, Figs. 1-3 and ¶0032; ...the male wet connect 22 comprises a retrievable power source 74 conveyed downhole and coupled to the upper end of the through tubing completion 48... the retrievable power supply 74 also may have a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control.)
comprising: an energy transfer mechanism to receive sensed signals from one or more downhole sensors; (Patel, Fig. 3 and ¶0031; ... the wet connect components 22, 60 are shown coupled together via an inductive coupling 68... The inductive coupler wet connect system shown may provide one or two way communication of power, signaling, data transmission, or some combination of these)
a data logger; (Patel, Fig. 3 and ¶0032; ... a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control.)
a controller having one or more processors to perform operations (Patel, Fig. 2 and ¶0031; electronics 72 are disposed within male wet connect 22.)
and storing the sensor data in the data logger; (Patel, Fig. 3 and ¶0032; ... a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control. And Wu, ¶0001; In addition, prior data loggers have also included memory storage in order to convert parameter sensor readings into values which are readable by a human)
and a coupling mechanism to connect the data recorder to an equipment section. (Patel, Figs 2-3 and ¶0031; the male and female wet connect components 22, 60 may be coupled together via a latching mechanism 66.)
While Patel discloses an inductive energy transfer mechanism, Patel does not specifically disclose that the transfer mechanism includes an inductive-optical hybrid coupler. Algeroy, in the field of providing downhole couplers, however, teaches the limitation. (Algeroy, Fig. 1 and ¶0025; the coupler portions 118, 120, and 122 are inductive coupler portions; ¶0026; in addition to inductive coupler portions, the coupler portion 118 can include ... optical coupler portions) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to implement Patel with the known technique of the providing an inductive-optical hybrid coupler, as taught by Algeroy, in order to allow for the coupling, communication and operation of various types of components with a wellbore system. (Algeroy, ¶0015)
While Patel discloses electronics Patel does not specifically disclose the electronics have one or more processors. Steele in the same field of endeavor, however, discloses that the wet connect electronics includes a processor. (Steele, ¶0080; ...devices and electronics for implementing the reception of one or more signals, such as ... a controller circuitry, ... a signal processor,) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to implement Patel, with the known technique of the electronics including a controller have a processor as taught by Steele, in order to implement and carryout Patels teaching of receiving and recording sensor data. (Steele, ¶0080)
While Steele discloses providing circuity for receiving, transmitting, transforming, multiplexing, demultiplexing, and the conversion of signals between electrical and optical of downhole signal, including sensors signals, Steele does not specifically disclose the sensed signal are converted into sensor data and therefore does not disclose including: converting the sensed signals received from the one or more downhole sensors into sensor data. Wu also in the field of Data Loggers, however, teaches providing the functionality. (Wu, ¶0001; data loggers have been used for generating signals dependant on the sensing of a particular environmental parameter. In addition, prior data loggers have also included memory storage in order to convert parameter sensor readings into values which are readable by a human) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to implement Steele with the known technique of converting sensed signals received into sensor data, as taught by Wu in order to provide sensor values which are readable by a human. (Wu, ¶0001)
Regarding claim 16, Patel discloses a downhole data recording system for a wellbore, (Patel, Figs. 1-3 and ¶0032; ...the male wet connect 22 comprises a retrievable power source 74 conveyed downhole and coupled to the upper end of the through tubing completion 48... the retrievable power supply 74 also may have a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control.)
comprising: a network of devices, (Patel, Abstract; The through tubing completion also comprises a connection system which facilitates the transfer of signals between the through tubing completion extending into the lateral borehole and a surface location or other location.)
wherein the network includes sensors; (Patel, ¶0029; sensors 58 to measure and transmit one or more lateral borehole parameters, such as flow rate, pressure, temperature, water cut, resistivity, etc. The information may be coupled to a female wet connect 60 provided at the top of the through tubing completion 48. Female wet connect 60 and male wet connect 22 form connection or coupling system 21, which in this case is a wet connect system.)
a data recorder (Patel, Figs. 1-3 and ¶0032; ...the male wet connect 22 comprises a retrievable power source 74 conveyed downhole and coupled to the upper end of the through tubing completion 48... the retrievable power supply 74 also may have a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control.)
including: an energy transfer mechanism configured to receive sensed signals from the sensors of the network; (Patel, Fig. 3 and ¶0031; ... the wet connect components 22, 60 are shown coupled together via an inductive coupling 68... The inductive coupler wet connect system shown may provide one or two way communication of power, signaling, data transmission, or some combination of these)
a data logger; (Patel, Fig. 3 and ¶0032; ... a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control.)
and a controller having one or more processors to perform operations (Patel, Fig. 2 and ¶0031; electronics 72 are disposed within male wet connect 22.)
and storing the sensor data in the data logger; (Patel, Fig. 3 and ¶0032; ... a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control. And Wu, ¶0001; In addition, prior data loggers have also included memory storage in order to convert parameter sensor readings into values which are readable by a human)
and a wet connect coupled to the data recorder, (Patel, Figs 2-3 and ¶0031; the male and female wet connect components 22, 60 may be coupled together via a latching mechanism 66.)
wherein the sensed signals are received by the energy transfer mechanism via the wet connect. (Patel, Figs. 2-3 and ¶0031; the wet connect components 22, 60 are shown coupled together via an inductive coupling 68; ¶0040; Data obtained by the sensors, e.g. sensors 58, may be transmitted via the cable 62 to the inductive coupler system 68)
While Patel discloses an inductive energy transfer mechanism, Patel does not specifically disclose that the transfer mechanism includes an inductive-optical hybrid coupler. Algeroy, in the field of providing downhole couplers, however, teaches the limitation. (Algeroy, Fig. 1 and ¶0025; the coupler portions 118, 120, and 122 are inductive coupler portions; ¶0026; in addition to inductive coupler portions, the coupler portion 118 can include ... optical coupler portions) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to implement Patel with the known technique of the providing an inductive-optical hybrid coupler, as taught by Algeroy, in order to allow for the coupling, communication and operation of various types of components with a wellbore system. (Algeroy, ¶0015)
While Patel discloses electronics Patel does not specifically disclose the electronics have one or more processors. Steele in the same field of endeavor, however, discloses that the wet connect electronics includes a processor. (Steele, ¶0080; ...devices and electronics for implementing the reception of one or more signals, such as ... a controller circuitry, ... a signal processor,) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to implement Patel, with the known technique of the electronics including a controller have a processor as taught by Steele, in order to implement and carryout Patels teaching of receiving and recording sensor data. (Steele, ¶0080)
Steele also discloses including electro-optical transformer circuitry; (Steele, ¶0032; The downhole end of the long length of fiber optic cable can also be mated with electro-optical devices that can transform the optical signal to an electrical signal and vice versa, ¶0066; the communication system can include components to transform communication signals. For example, components can be included that can perform signal processing to transform a signal from electric to mechanical, electric to light, light to thermal to electric, light to light, carrier wave to carrier wave, utilize signal encryption, utilize signal compression, other conversions and transformations, and various combinations thereof.)
While Steele discloses providing circuity for receiving, transmitting, transforming, multiplexing, demultiplexing, and the conversion of signals between electrical and optical of downhole signal, including sensors signals, Steele does not specifically disclose the sensed signal are converted into sensor data and therefore does not disclose including: converting the sensed signals received from the network into sensor data. Wu also in the field of Data Loggers, however, teaches providing the functionality. (Wu, ¶0001; data loggers have been used for generating signals dependant on the sensing of a particular environmental parameter. In addition, prior data loggers have also included memory storage in order to convert parameter sensor readings into values which are readable by a human) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, with the known technique of converting sensed signals received into sensor data, as taught by Wu in order to provide sensor values which are readable by a human. (Wu, ¶0001)
Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1, Patel discloses wherein the energy transfer mechanism is couplable to an energy transfer mechanism of a first equipment section of the wellbore and receives the sensed signals via the energy transfer mechanism of the first equipment section. (Patel, Figs. 2-3 and ¶0031; The inductive coupler wet connect system shown may provide one or two way communication of power, signaling, data transmission, or some combination of these.)
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 2, Patel wherein the energy transfer mechanism of the first equipment section.is a permanent downhole half wet mate connector. (Patel, Figs. 1-3 and ¶0029; a female wet connect 60 provided at the top of the through tubing completion 48; ¶0035; a male hydraulic wet connect 92 may be disengaged from a female hydraulic wet connect 94 and pulled out of hole during production of the lateral bore 42; ¶0037; the male inductive coupler 100 of the retrievable communications module 96 and the female inductive coupler 104 may be engaged together via a latching mechanism, such as latching mechanism 66.)
Regarding claim 17, which depends from claim 16, Patel discloses wherein the wet connect is a permanent downhole half wet mate connector of a first equipment section of the wellbore. (Patel, Figs. 1-3 and ¶0029; a female wet connect 60 provided at the top of the through tubing completion 48; ¶0031; the wet connect components 22, 60 are shown coupled together via an inductive coupling 68... The inductive coupler wet connect system shown may provide one or two way communication of power, signaling, data transmission, or some combination of these; ¶0035; a male hydraulic wet connect 92 may be disengaged from a female hydraulic wet connect 94 and pulled out of hole during production of the lateral bore 42; ¶0037; the male inductive coupler 100 of the retrievable communications module 96 and the female inductive coupler 104 may be engaged together via a latching mechanism, such as latching mechanism 66.)
Regarding claim 21, which depends from claim 16, Patel discloses wherein the operations further include sending power signals to one or more of the devices of the network via the wet connect. (Patel, Figs. 2-3 and ¶0031; The inductive coupler wet connect system shown may provide one or two way communication of power, signaling, data transmission, or some combination of these.)
Regarding claim 7, which depends from claim 1, Steele discloses further comprising a communications interface that is configured to transmit downhole data uphole in real time, wherein the downhole data at least includes the sensor data. (Patel, Figs. 1-2 and ¶0030; the cable 24 connecting the male wet connect 22 to the surface may be used to provide real time monitoring and control of the lateral bore 42 during periods of production..)
Regarding claim 23, which depends from claim 16, Patel discloses wherein the operations further include sending downhole data uphole in real time, wherein the downhole data includes the sensor data. (Patel, Figs. 1-2 and ¶0030; the cable 24 connecting the male wet connect 22 to the surface may be used to provide real time monitoring and control of the lateral bore 42 during periods of production; ¶0040; Data obtained by the sensors, e.g. sensors 58, may be transmitted via the cable 62 to the inductive coupler system 68)
Regarding claim 8, which depends from claim 1, Patel wherein the one or more operations further include generating processed data from the sensed signals, the sensor data, or from both. (Patel, ¶0032; the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control; And Steele, ¶0032; The downhole end of the long length of fiber optic cable can also be mated with electro-optical devices that can transform the optical signal to an electrical signal and vice versa, as well as circuitry or software to perform signal processing, data manipulation, such as applying compression, and modulation algorithms.)
Regarding claim 9, which depends from claim 8, Steele discloses wherein a machine learning algorithm is used for the generating the processed data. (Steele, ¶0072; the received data can be analyzed by a computing system and adjustments made programmatically to the instructions and operating plans of downhole tools 720, for example, when a machine learning algorithm is utilized to process the received telemetry. In some aspects, a user can provide review and approval of the changes recommended by the machine learning algorithm. The computing system running the machine learning algorithm can be located downhole proximate downhole tools 720, proximate surface equipment 705, proximate first upper pipe segment 716, or at another location along the borehole length.)
Regarding claim 22, which depends from claim 16, Steele discloses wherein the devices include computing devices and one or more of the operations of controller are distributed to one or more of the computing devices.(Steele, ¶0072; The computing system running the machine learning algorithm can be located downhole proximate downhole tools 720, proximate surface equipment 705, proximate first upper pipe segment 716, or at another location along the borehole length.)
Regarding claim 10, which depends from claim 8, Patel discloses wherein the data logger additionally stores at least one of the sensed signals and the processed data. (Patel, Fig. 3 and ¶0032; ... a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control.)
Regarding claim 11, which depends from claim 1, Patel discloses wherein the sensors are embedded in a second equipment section and the sensed signals are stimulation data. (Patel, Fig. 1 and ¶0029; a through tubing completion 48 are a number of electrically activated flow control valves (FCV) 56. The valves 56 may be coupled with sensors 58 to measure and transmit one or more lateral borehole parameters, such as flow rate, pressure, temperature, water cut, resistivity, etc.)
Regarding claim 12, which depends from claim 1, Patel discloses wherein the coupling mechanism is a retrieval mechanism that is a collet-type device or a releasable mechanism. (Patel, Figs. 2-3 and ¶0014; FIG. 3 is a schematic illustration of a portion of a through tubing completion with a retrievable connector; ¶0031; the male and female wet connect components 22, 60 may be coupled together via a latching mechanism 66.; ¶0032; the male wet connect 22 comprises a retrievable power source 74 conveyed downhole and coupled to the upper end of the through tubing completion 48; ¶0036; system 20 comprises a retrievable communications module 96. The retrievable communications module 96 may comprise a wireless telemetry module 98, a male inductive coupler 100 of inductive coupling 68, a downhole power storage/generator module 102, and/or other suitable components; ¶0037; the male inductive coupler 100 of the retrievable communications module 96 and the female inductive coupler 104 may be engaged together via a latching mechanism, such as latching mechanism 66.)
Regarding claim 27, which depends from claim 16, Patel discloses wherein the data recorder further includes a coupling mechanism to connect the data recorder to a second equipment section. (Patel, Figs. 2-3 and ¶0014; FIG. 3 is a schematic illustration of a portion of a through tubing completion with a retrievable connector; ¶0031; the male and female wet connect components 22, 60 may be coupled together via a latching mechanism 66.; ¶0032; the male wet connect 22 comprises a retrievable power source 74 conveyed downhole and coupled to the upper end of the through tubing completion 48;)
Regarding claim 13, which depends from claim 1, Patel discloses further comprising a power source. (Patel, ¶0032; the male wet connect 22 comprises a retrievable power source 74 conveyed downhole and coupled to the upper end of the through tubing completion 48)
Regarding claim14, which depends from claim 1, Patel wherein the downhole sensors are completion task sensors. (Patel, Fig. 1 and Abstract; A technique facilitates use of a through tubing completion system run in a lateral borehole. The through tubing completion may comprise production tubing coupled to a flow control valve and one or more sensors measuring at least one characteristic of the lateral borehole; ¶0008; the through tubing completion may comprise one of a male or female wet connect system configured to communicatively couple with the flow control valve and the one or more sensors;¶0025; embodiments also relate to how a side track or lateral bore can be completed without pulling the existing completion and without or with minimal modification of the existing surface infrastructure, referred to as through tubing completion. In some embodiments, the through tubing completion systems relate to intelligent completions or completion systems that are adjustable based on conditions arising in the well; ¶0029; a through tubing completion 48 are a number of electrically activated flow control valves (FCV) 56. The valves 56 may be coupled with sensors 58 to measure and transmit one or more lateral borehole parameters, such as flow rate, pressure, temperature, water cut, resistivity, etc.)
Regarding claim 28, which depends from claim 16, Patel discloses wherein the sensors are completion task sensors. (Patel, Fig. 1 and Abstract; A technique facilitates use of a through tubing completion system run in a lateral borehole. The through tubing completion may comprise production tubing coupled to a flow control valve and one or more sensors measuring at least one characteristic of the lateral borehole; ¶0008; the through tubing completion may comprise one of a male or female wet connect system configured to communicatively couple with the flow control valve and the one or more sensors;¶0025; embodiments also relate to how a side track or lateral bore can be completed without pulling the existing completion and without or with minimal modification of the existing surface infrastructure, referred to as through tubing completion. In some embodiments, the through tubing completion systems relate to intelligent completions or completion systems that are adjustable based on conditions arising in the well; ¶0029; a through tubing completion 48 are a number of electrically activated flow control valves (FCV) 56. The valves 56 may be coupled with sensors 58 to measure and transmit one or more lateral borehole parameters, such as flow rate, pressure, temperature, water cut, resistivity, etc.)
Regarding claim 15, which depends from claim 1, Steele discloses wherein the downhole sensors are production task sensors. (Steele, ¶0068; These telemetry sensors can be used with drilling wellbores, LWD, MWD, SWD, ESP, HF, production wellbores, intercept wellbores, relief wellbores, and other types of well systems.)
Regarding claim 29, which depends from claim 16, Steele discloses wherein the sensors are production task sensors. (Steele, ¶0068; These telemetry sensors can be used with drilling wellbores, LWD, MWD, SWD, ESP, HF, production wellbores, intercept wellbores, relief wellbores, and other types of well systems.)
Regarding claim 18, which depends from claim 16, Steele discloses wherein the wet connect is a fiber optic wet connect. (Steele, Fig. 7 and ¶0070; FIG. 7 is an illustration of a block diagram of an example fiber optic telemetry system (FOTS) 700 with a light source located at optional points within the system; ¶0081; Wet connect 730 can be one or more tools or devices in a same or different housing, including, but not limited to, a light detector, a light reflector, an electro-optical transform circuitry, a controller circuitry, an electrical amplifier, a light amplifier, an erbium-doped fiber amplifier, a signal processor, a modulator, a multiplexer, a demultiplexer, an energy source or an input from an energy source, and other components. It also can include devices capable of receiving, transmitting optical and electrical signals... The data and power can be transferred using data communication protocols including, but not limited to, Ethernet, fast Ethernet, gigabit Ethernet, T1/E1/J1, DS3/E3, as well as multiple cabling types such as coax, twisted pair, multi-mode and single-mode fiber optics and other types of data transfer and power transfer protocols known within the art.)
Claim(s) 4-6, 19-20 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Steele in view of Wu in view of Lasater et al. (US Pub. 2007/0257812 A1)(Lasater)(hereinafter Lasater)
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 depends from claim 1. As already discussed the limitations of claim 1 are obvious over Patel in view of Algeroy in view of Steele in view of Wu. Concerning claim 4, Steele discloses wherein the operations further include sending control signals to the one or more downhole sensors, (Steele, ¶0032; The downhole end of the long length of electrical cable can also be mated with electro-optical devices that can transform the electrical signal to an optical signal and vice versa, as well as circuitry or software to perform signal processing, data manipulation, such as applying compression, and modulation algorithms. The resultant signal can allow the downhole tools to receive data and instructions from the surface equipment.)
Neither Patel nor Steele, however, specifically disclose wherein the sensed signals are received in response to the control signals. Lasater, in the same field of endeavor, however, teaches the limitation. (Lasater, Fig. 8 and ¶0052; The communications port 118 may also act as a stand alone wet connect... the communications port 118 to communicate with and/or power the sensors and actuating devices...; ¶0055; Commands sent over the transmission path can include a target toolface setting, a target inclination setting, a target azimuth setting, a target geo-physical sensor value, tool bore hole position information such as depth, total vertical depth and position within the earth, requests for data such as current inclination, azimuth, geo-physical sensor values, diagnostic information, time, and/or relative time.) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to implement Patel with the known technique of providing sensed signal in response to control signals, as taught by Lasater, since it is a known purpose for employing wet connects in a downhole environment. (Lasater, ¶0055)
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 depends form claim 16. As already discussed the limitations of claim 16 are obvious over Patel in view of Steele in view of Wu. Concerning claim 19, Steele discloses wherein the operations further include sending control signals to the network via the wet connect, (Steele, ¶0032; The downhole end of the long length of electrical cable can also be mated with electro-optical devices that can transform the electrical signal to an optical signal and vice versa, as well as circuitry or software to perform signal processing, data manipulation, such as applying compression, and modulation algorithms. The resultant signal can allow the downhole tools to receive data and instructions from the surface equipment.)
Neither Patel nor Steele, however, specifically disclose wherein the sensed signals are received in response to the control signals. Lasater, in the same field of endeavor, however, teaches the limitation. (Lasater, Fig. 8 and ¶0052; The communications port 118 may also act as a stand alone wet connect... the communications port 118 to communicate with and/or power the sensors and actuating devices...; ¶0055; Commands sent over the transmission path can include a target toolface setting, a target inclination setting, a target azimuth setting, a target geo-physical sensor value, tool bore hole position information such as depth, total vertical depth and position within the earth, requests for data such as current inclination, azimuth, geo-physical sensor values, diagnostic information, time, and/or relative time.) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to implement Patel with the known technique of providing sensed signal in response to control signals, as taught by Lasater, since it is a known purpose for employing wet connects in a downhole environment. (Lasater, ¶0055)
Regarding claim 5, which depends from claim 4, Steele teaches, wherein the control signals and the sensed signals are optical signals. (Steele, Fig. 7 and ¶0081; Wet connect 730 can be one or more tools or devices in a same or different housing, including, but not limited to, a light detector, a light reflector, an electro-optical transform circuitry, a controller circuitry, an electrical amplifier, a light amplifier, an erbium-doped fiber amplifier, a signal processor, a modulator, a multiplexer, a demultiplexer, an energy source or an input from an energy source, and other components. It also can include devices capable of receiving, transmitting optical and electrical signals... The data and power can be transferred using data communication protocols including... single-mode fiber optics and other types of data transfer and power transfer protocols known within the art.)
Regarding claim 20, which depends from claim 19, Steele discloses wherein the control signals and the sensed signals are optical signals. (Steele, Fig. 7 and ¶0081; Wet connect 730 can be one or more tools or devices in a same or different housing, including, but not limited to, a light detector, a light reflector, an electro-optical transform circuitry, a controller circuitry, an electrical amplifier, a light amplifier, an erbium-doped fiber amplifier, a signal processor, a modulator, a multiplexer, a demultiplexer, an energy source or an input from an energy source, and other components. It also can include devices capable of receiving, transmitting optical and electrical signals... The data and power can be transferred using data communication protocols including... single-mode fiber optics and other types of data transfer and power transfer protocols known within the art.)
Regarding claim 6, which depends from claim 5, Steele discloses further comprising a light source, wherein the operations further include activating the light source and using the light source to send the control signals. (Steele, Fig. 7 and ¶0032; The downhole end of the long length of fiber optic cable can also be mated with electro-optical devices that can transform the optical signal to an electrical signal and vice versa, as well as circuitry or software to perform signal processing; ¶0077; The data and power may be transferred using data communication protocols including, ... single-mode fiber optics, or other types of data transfer and power transfer protocols known within the art; ¶¶0079-0080; The uphole end of long length of fiber optic cable 750 can be connected to first upper pipe segment 716, to light source 740, or to another upper pipe segment. The downhole end of long length of fiber optic cable 750 can be connected via wet connect 730 to downhole tools 720... wet connect 730 can be part of a housing that also includes a light source 745, similar to the configuration as described for light source 740. When light source 740 is present, light source 745 is typically a reflector and light demodulator to generate the communication signal. In some aspects, light source 745 includes tools, devices, and electronics for implementing the reception of one or more signals, such as one or more of a light detector, a light reflector, an electro-optical transform circuitry, a controller circuitry, an electrical amplifier, a light amplifier, an erbium-doped fiber amplifier, a signal processor, a modulator, a demodulator, a multiplexer, a demultiplexer, an energy source or an input from an energy source, and other components. In other aspects, light source 745 can include a laser, a laser emitting diode, a high-powered LED, or other types of electromagnetic spectrum sources. Wet connect 730 can be coupled to downhole tools 720. Downhole tools 720 can be a BHA, a HF end of pipe assembly, telemetry tools, pumps, sensors, and other tools and devices, or combinations thereof.)
Regarding claim 24, which depends from claim 16, Patel does not specifically discloses wherein the operations further include filtering the sensed signals before generating the sensor data. Lasater, however, teaches the limitation. (Lasater, ¶0043; When the incoming signal arrives it is routed to a differential amplifier to boost the signal strength and into a band pass filter.) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to implement Patel with the known technique of filtering, as taught by Lasater, in order to remove noise from the signals.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Algeroy in view of in view of Steele in view of Wu in view of Lasater in view of Luo et al. (US Pub. 2020/0018149 A1)(hereinafter Lou)
Regarding claim 25, claim 25 depends from claim 24. As already discussed, the limitations of claim 24 are obvious over Patel in view of Algeroy in view of Steele in view of Wu in view of Lasater. Concerning claim 25, while Steele discloses employing machine learning, neither Steele nor Lasater specifically disclose wherein the one or more processors use a machine learning algorithm for the filtering. Lou, in the same field of endeavor, however, teaches the limitation. (Lou, ¶0142; Fourier domain enhancement and/or machine-learning based Wiener filter may be used to preprocess the raw data; ¶0185; FIG. 6 illustrates raw data and an example of processed data denoised by a machine-learning filter, in accordance with one or more implementations. 600 may illustrate raw data. 602 may illustrate denoised data. For example, the processed data may be denoised by a Wiener filter using machine learning.) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to implement Lasater, with the known technique of employing a machine learning algorithm for the filtering, as taught by Lou, in order to provide for enhanced signal detection in a noisy environment.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Algeroy in view of Steele in view of Wu in view of Luo.
Regarding claim 26, claim 26 depends from claim 16. As already discussed the limitations of claim 16 are obvious over Patel in view of Steele in view of Wu. Concerning claim 26, while Steele discloses employing machine learning, neither Patel nor Steele specifically disclose wherein the devices includes computing devices and the filtering is performed by one or more of the computing devices. Lou, in the same field of endeavor, however, teaches the limitation. (Lou, ¶0142; Fourier domain enhancement and/or machine-learning based Wiener filter may be used to preprocess the raw data; ¶0185; FIG. 6 illustrates raw data and an example of processed data denoised by a machine-learning filter, in accordance with one or more implementations. 600 may illustrate raw data. 602 may illustrate denoised data. For example, the processed data may be denoised by a Wiener filter using machine learning.) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to implement Steele, with the known technique of employing a machine learning algorithm for the filtering, as taught by Lou, in order to provide for enhanced signal detection in a noisy environment.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Algeroy.
Regarding claim 30, Patel discloses a method of obtaining downhole data from a wellbore, (Patel, Figs. 1-3 and ¶0032; ...the male wet connect 22 comprises a retrievable power source 74 conveyed downhole and coupled to the upper end of the through tubing completion 48... the retrievable power supply 74 also may have a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control.)
comprising: receiving, at a data recorder, (Patel, Figs. 1-3 and ¶0032; ...the male wet connect 22 comprises a retrievable power source 74 conveyed downhole and coupled to the upper end of the through tubing completion 48... the retrievable power supply 74 also may have a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control.)
sensed signals (Patel, Fig. 3 and ¶0032; ... a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control.)
from a network of devices, (Patel, Abstract; The through tubing completion also comprises a connection system which facilitates the transfer of signals between the through tubing completion extending into the lateral borehole and a surface location or other location.)
wherein the data recorder and the network of device are located downhole; (Patel, Fig. 3 and ¶0031; ... the wet connect components 22, 60 are shown coupled together via an inductive coupling 68... The inductive coupler wet connect system shown may provide one or two way communication of power, signaling, data transmission, or some combination of these)
and delivering downhole data to the surface via the data recorder, (Patel, Figs. 1-2 and ¶0030; the cable 24 connecting the male wet connect 22 to the surface may be used to provide real time monitoring and control of the lateral bore 42 during periods of production..)
wherein the data recorder includes an energy transfer mechanism connected to a permanent half wet mate connector of a first equipment string of the wellbore (Patel, Figs. 1-3 and ¶0029; a female wet connect 60 provided at the top of the through tubing completion 48; ¶0031; the wet connect components 22, 60 are shown coupled together via an inductive coupling 68... The inductive coupler wet connect system shown may provide one or two way communication of power, signaling, data transmission, or some combination of these; ¶0035; a male hydraulic wet connect 92 may be disengaged from a female hydraulic wet connect 94 and pulled out of hole during production of the lateral bore 42; ¶0037; the male inductive coupler 100 of the retrievable communications module 96 and the female inductive coupler 104 may be engaged together via a latching mechanism, such as latching mechanism 66.)
and the sensed signals are received via the permanent half wet mate connector, (Patel, Figs. 2-3 and ¶0031; the wet connect components 22, 60 are shown coupled together via an inductive coupling 68; ¶0040; Data obtained by the sensors, e.g. sensors 58, may be transmitted via the cable 62 to the inductive coupler system 68)
While Patel discloses an inductive energy transfer mechanism connected to a wet connect, Patel does not specifically disclose that the transfer mechanism includes an inductive-optical hybrid coupler. Algeroy, in the field of providing downhole couplers, however, teaches the limitation. (Algeroy, Fig. 1 and ¶0025; the coupler portions 118, 120, and 122 are inductive coupler portions; ¶0026; in addition to inductive coupler portions, the coupler portion 118 can include ... optical coupler portions) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to implement Patel with the known technique of the providing an inductive-optical hybrid coupler, as taught by Algeroy, in order to allow for the coupling, communication and operation of various types of components with a wellbore system. (Algeroy, ¶0015)
Claim(s) 31 and 35-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Algeroy in view of Wu.
Regarding claim 31, claim 31 depends from claim 30. As already discussed the limitations of claim 31 are anticipated by Patel. Concerning claim 31, Patel discloses further comprising generating sensor data by processing the sensed signals (Patel, ¶0032; the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control) However, while Patel discloses providing sensors data, Patel does not specifically disclose the step that sensed signals from the sensors are processed into sensor data. Wu also in the field of Data Loggers, however, teaches providing the functionality. (Wu, ¶0001; data loggers have been used for generating signals dependant on the sensing of a particular environmental parameter. In addition, prior data loggers have also included memory storage in order to convert parameter sensor readings into values which are readable by a human) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to implement Patel with the known technique of converting sensed signals received into sensor data, as taught by Wu in order to provide sensor values which are readable by a human. (Wu, ¶0001)
wherein the downhole data is based on the sensed signals. (Patel, Figs. 1-2 and ¶0030; the cable 24 connecting the male wet connect 22 to the surface may be used to provide real time monitoring and control of the lateral bore 42 during periods of production; ¶0040; Data obtained by the sensors, e.g. sensors 58, may be transmitted via the cable 62 to the inductive coupler system 68)
Regarding claim 35, which depends from claim 31, Patel discloses further comprising generating processed data using one or more of the sensor data and the sensed signals, wherein the downhole data further includes the processed data. (Patel, ¶0032; the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control)
Regarding claim 36, which depends from claim 31, Patel discloses wherein the delivering includes sending the downhole data to the surface in real-time. (Patel, Figs. 1-2 and ¶0030; the cable 24 connecting the male wet connect 22 to the surface may be used to provide real time monitoring and control of the lateral bore 42 during periods of production..)
Regarding claim 37, wherein the delivering includes retrieving the data recorder after the storing. (Patel, Fig. 3 and ¶0032; ... a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control.)
Regarding claim 38, which depends from claim 37, Patel discloses wherein the sensor data is from completion task sensors (Patel, Fig. 1 and Abstract; A technique facilitates use of a through tubing completion system run in a lateral borehole. The through tubing completion may comprise production tubing coupled to a flow control valve and one or more sensors measuring at least one characteristic of the lateral borehole; ¶0008; the through tubing completion may comprise one of a male or female wet connect system configured to communicatively couple with the flow control valve and the one or more sensors; ¶0025; embodiments also relate to how a side track or lateral bore can be completed without pulling the existing completion and without or with minimal modification of the existing surface infrastructure, referred to as through tubing completion. In some embodiments, the through tubing completion systems relate to intelligent completions or completion systems that are adjustable based on conditions arising in the well.)
and the method further comprises running a different data recorder into the wellbore, (Patel Figs. 1-2 and ¶0026; through tubing completion system 20 having a communication connection or coupling system 21 comprising a male coupler wet connect 22 run on a cable 24, ¶0032; ...the male wet connect 22 comprises a retrievable power source 74 conveyed downhole and coupled to the upper end of the through tubing completion 48... the retrievable power supply 74 also may have a storage component 76 for recording data obtained by the sensors 58. Once retrieved to the surface, the data may be downloaded and processed for future well system control)
connecting an energy transfer mechanism of the different data recorder to the permanent half wet mate connector, (Patel, Figs 2-3 and ¶0029; a female wet connect 60 provided at the top of the through tubing completion 48; ¶0031; the male and female wet connect components 22, 60 may be coupled together via a latching mechanism 66; ¶0037; the male inductive coupler 100 of the retrievable communications module 96 and the female inductive coupler 104 may be engaged together via a latching mechanism, such as latching mechanism 66)
and obtaining sensor data from production task sensors via the permanent half wet mate connector. (Patel, Figs. 1-2 and ¶0040; Data obtained by the sensors, e.g. sensors 58, may be transmitted via the cable 62 to the inductive coupler system 68)
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Algeroy in view of Wu in view of Lasater.
Regarding claim 32, which depends from claim 31, Patel does not specifically discloses the sensed signals are filtered before the processing. Lasater, however, teaches the limitation. (Lasater, ¶0043; When the incoming signal arrives it is routed to a differential amplifier to boost the signal strength and into a band pass filter.) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to implement Patel with the known technique of filtering, as taught by Lasater, in order to remove noise from the signals.
Claim(s) 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Wu in view of Lasater in view of Lou.
Regarding claim 33, claim 33 depends from claim 32. As already discussed the limitations of claim 32 are obvious over Patel in view of Wu in view of Lasater. Concerning claim 33, neither Patel nor Lasater specifically disclose wherein the sensed signals are filtered using a machine learning algorithm. Lou, in the same field of endeavor, however, teaches the limitation. (Lou, ¶0142; Fourier domain enhancement and/or machine-learning based Wiener filter may be used to preprocess the raw data; ¶0185; FIG. 6 illustrates raw data and an example of processed data denoised by a machine-learning filter, in accordance with one or more implementations. 600 may illustrate raw data. 602 may illustrate denoised data. For example, the processed data may be denoised by a Wiener filter using machine learning.) Consequently, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter, to implement Steele, with the known technique of employing a machine learning algorithm for the filtering, as taught by Lou, in order to provide for enhanced signal detection in a noisy environment.
Regarding claim 34, which depends from claim 32, Lou discloses wherein the sensed signals are filtered by a computing device of the network of devices. . (Lou, ¶0142; Fourier domain enhancement and/or machine-learning based Wiener filter may be used to preprocess the raw data; ¶0185; FIG. 6 illustrates raw data and an example of processed data denoised by a machine-learning filter, in accordance with one or more implementations. 600 may illustrate raw data. 602 may illustrate denoised data. For example, the processed data may be denoised by a Wiener filter using machine learning.)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEROLD B MURPHY/Examiner, Art Unit 2687
/STEVEN LIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2688