DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7-16, 22-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 2/13/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species C in the reply filed on 2/13/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Species A should be combined with species A. In view of the applicant arguments, The election of species C is now considered to be (Figs 1-17, 26-31).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 17-19, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Consigny US 2010/0200192 Al .
Re claim 1, Consigny teach a helical pile assembly (fig 4) comprising: at least one shaft (9, 1) having a proximal end (top), a distal end (bottom), a cavity (annotated fig) extending along at least a portion of an interior of the shaft; at least one fluid conduit (4) having a first end insertable at least partially into the cavity and a second end (fig 4); and a pile adapter including a plate (8) and a flange (10) extending from one surface of the plate, wherein the flange is configured to mate with the proximal end of the at least one shaft (fig 4), and wherein the plate includes at least one aperture (fig 4, holes in which 4 passes through) aligned with the flange that permits the first end of the at least one fluid conduit to pass through the plate and flange into the cavity when the pile adapter is mated with the proximal end of the at least one shaft (fig 4).
Re claim 2, Consigny teach wherein the at least one fluid conduit comprises: a first fluid conduit having a first end insertable through the plate and flange into the cavity when the pile adapter is mated with the proximal end of the at least one shaft; and a second fluid conduit having a first end insertable through the plate and flange into the cavity when the pile adapter is mated with the proximal end of the at least one shaft (fig 4).
Re claim 3, Consigny teach wherein the flange has a hollow center portion configured to mate with the proximal end of the at least one shaft (fig 4).
Re claim 4, Consigny teach wherein the hollow center portion has a circular shaped inner wall configured to mate with the proximal end of the at least one shaft (figs).
Re claim 6, Consigny teach wherein the at least one fluid conduit comprises a tube (fig 4).
Re claim 17, Consigny teach a helical pile assembly comprising: at least one shaft having a proximal end, a distal end, a cavity extending along at least a portion of an interior of the shaft; a pile adapter including a plate and a flange extending from one surface of the plate, wherein the flange is configured to mate with the proximal end of the at least one shaft, and wherein the plate includes at least one aperture aligned with the flange (see the rejection of claim 1); a first fluid conduit having a first end insertable through the at least one aperture in the plate and through the flange into the cavity when the pile adapter is mated with the proximal end of the at least one shaft; and a second fluid conduit having a first end insertable through the at least one aperture in the plate and through the flange into the cavity when the pile adapter is mated with the proximal end of the at least one shaft (4 noting two conduits, see the rejection of claim 1).
Re claim 18, Consigny teach wherein the flange has a hollow center portion configured to mate with the proximal end of the at least one shaft (fig 4).
Re claim 19, Consigny teach wherein the hollow center portion has a circular shaped inner wall configured to mate with the proximal end of the at least one shaft (figs).
Re claim 21, Consigny teach wherein the first fluid conduit comprises a tube, and wherein the second fluid conduit comprises a tube (fig 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Consigny.
Re claim 5, Consigny discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the hollow center portion has a polygonal shaped inner wall configured to mate with the proximal end of the at least one shaft. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change the shape to a polygonal shaped inner wall, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04, section IV, part B.
Re claim 20, Consigny discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the hollow center portion has a polygonal shaped inner wall configured to mate with the proximal end of the at least one shaft. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change the shape to a polygonal shaped inner wall, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04, section IV, part B.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 11953237 B2, JP 2004-233031 A, US 3952802 A, US20230383492.
/GORDON A JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3763