DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, 10-12, 14-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamada et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0115446) in view of Lee et al (US Patent Application Publication 2016/0064456).
Regarding claim 1, Kamada et al disclose a sensor-embedded display panel, the sensor-embedded display panel comprising:
a substrate 151,
a plurality of light emitting elements 190B, 190G on the substrate, the plurality of light emitting elements configured to emit light of different wavelength spectra belonging to the visible light wavelength spectrum [see paragraph 0196], and
a plurality of sensors 110 on the substrate, the plurality of sensors being configured to selectively sense light of any one of a green wavelength spectrum and a red wavelength spectrum [see paragraph 0196], wherein
the plurality of light emitting elements and the plurality of sensors are arranged in parallel along an in-plane direction of the substrate [see Fig. 8A],
the plurality of light emitting elements and the plurality of sensors commonly comprise:
a common electrode 115 configured to apply a common voltage,
a first common auxiliary layer 114 under the common electrode, and
a second common auxiliary layer 112 facing the first common auxiliary layer,
wherein each of the sensors comprises a photoelectric conversion layer 193G, 193R, 183 and a buffer layer 192G, 192R, 182 between the first common auxiliary layer and the second common auxiliary layer [see Fig. 3A; see paragraph 0102],
the photoelectric conversion layer comprises a first wavelength-selective photoelectric conversion material 193G having a first maximum absorption wavelength in a wavelength range of greater than or equal to about 500 nm and less than or equal to about 600 nm [i.e. one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a green-light photoelectric conversion material would absorb light in the range of 495-570 nm], or
the photoelectric conversion layer comprises a second wavelength-selective photoelectric conversion material 193R having a second maximum absorption wavelength in a wavelength range of greater than or equal to about 600 nm and less than or equal to about 750 nm [i.e. one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a red-light photoelectric conversion material would absorb light in the range of 620-750 nm].
Kamada et al do not disclose with specificity wherein a thickness of the buffer layer is greater than or equal to about 20 nm and less than or equal to about 50 nm, nor wherein a thickness of the buffer layer is greater than or equal to about 70 nm and less than or equal to about 110 nm. Kamada et al do acknowledge that the thickness of the buffer layer is preferably adjusted such that the optical distance between the pair of electrodes in the light-emitting element intensifies the light [see paragraph 0112]. One such as Lee et al disclose a substantially similar display panel, comprising a photoelectric conversion layer and a buffer layer, wherein the thickness of the buffer layer is chosen so as to intensify the light, and which contemplates thicknesses of the buffer layer in the claimed ranges [see paragraphs 0033, 0034 and 0055]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form the buffer layers to the claimed thicknesses in order to tune the quantum efficiency of the device.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of Kamada et al and Lee et al disclose the sensor-embedded display panel of claim 1. Furthermore, Kamada et al disclose wherein the buffer layer is between the second common auxiliary layer and the photoelectric conversion layer [see Fig. 3A].
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of Kamada et al and Lee et al disclose the sensor-embedded display panel of claim 1. Furthermore, Kamada et al disclose wherein
the second common auxiliary layer comprises a first hole transport material [see paragraph 0118], and
the buffer layer comprises a second hole transport material [see paragraph 0119].
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of Kamada et al and Lee et al disclose the sensor-embedded display panel of claim 1. Furthermore, Kamada et al disclose wherein
each of the sensors further comprises a pixel electrode 191 under the second common auxiliary layer [see Fig. 8A], and
the pixel electrode includes a reflective electrode and the common electrode includes a semi-transmissive electrode [see paragraph 0109].
Regarding claims 10 and 11, the prior art of Kamada et al and Lee et al disclose the sensor-embedded display panel of claim 1. Furthermore, Kamada et al disclose wherein
the plurality of light emitting elements comprise:
a red light emitting element configured to emit light in a red wavelength spectrum,
a green light emitting element configured to emit light in a green wavelength spectrum, and
a blue light emitting element configured to emit light in a blue wavelength spectrum, and
wherein the sensor-embedded display panel comprises:
a plurality of red subpixels configured to display red and comprising the red light emitting element [see paragraph 0074],
a plurality of green subpixels configured to display green and comprising the green light emitting element,
a plurality of blue subpixels configured to display blue and comprising the blue light emitting element, and
a plurality of sensor pixels including the sensor and configured to selectively sense light in the green wavelength spectrum or in the red wavelength spectrum [see paragraphs 0176, 0177, 0182 and 0183].
Regarding claim 12, Kamada et al disclose a sensor-embedded display panel, the sensor-embedded display panel comprising unit pixels repeatedly arranged,
wherein each of the unit pixels comprises:
at least one red subpixel configured to display red and comprising a red light emitting element [see paragraph 0074],
at least one green subpixel configured to display green and comprising a green light emitting element,
at least one blue subpixel configured to display blue and comprising a blue light emitting element, and
a sensor pixel comprising a sensor configured to selectively sense light in the red wavelength spectrum [see paragraphs 0176 and 0177], and
wherein the sensor comprises:
a reflective electrode and a semi-transmissive electrode facing each other [see paragraph 0109],
a photoelectric conversion layer between the reflective electrode and the semi-transmissive electrode, the photoelectric conversion layer comprising a wavelength-selective photoelectric conversion material having a maximum absorption wavelength in a wavelength region of greater than about 600 nm and less than or equal to about 750 nm [i.e. one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a red-light photoelectric conversion material would absorb light in the range of 620-750 nm], and
a buffer layer between the reflective electrode and the semi-transmissive electrode [see paragraph 0112].
Kamada et al do not disclose, with specificity, wherein the buffer layer has a thickness of greater than or equal to about 70 nm and less than or equal to about 110 nm. Kamada et al do acknowledge that the thickness of the buffer layer is preferably adjusted such that the optical distance between the pair of electrodes in the light-emitting element intensifies the light [see paragraph 0112]. One such as Lee et al disclose a substantially similar display panel, comprising a photoelectric conversion layer and a buffer layer, wherein the thickness of the buffer layer is chosen so as to intensify the light, and which contemplates thicknesses of the buffer layer in the claimed ranges [see paragraphs 0033, 0034 and 0055]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form the buffer layers to the claimed thicknesses in order to tune the quantum efficiency of the device.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art of Kamada et al and Lee et al disclose the sensor-embedded display panel of claim 12. Furthermore, Kamada et al disclose wherein
the red light emitting element, the green light emitting element, the blue light emitting element, and the sensor commonly comprise:
a first common auxiliary layer 114 comprising an electron transport material [see paragraph 0118], and
a second common auxiliary layer 112 comprising a first hole transport material [see paragraph 0118], and
wherein the buffer layer comprises a second hole transport material [see paragraph 0119].
Regarding claim 15, the prior art of Kamada et al and Lee et al disclose the sensor-embedded display panel of claim 14. Furthermore, Kamada et al disclose wherein
each of the red light emitting element, the green light emitting element, the blue light emitting element, and the sensor comprises:
a common electrode 115 configured to apply a common voltage to the red light emitting element, the green light emitting element, the blue light emitting element, and the sensor, and
a pixel electrode 191 facing the common electrode, and
wherein the pixel electrode includes a reflective electrode and the common electrode includes a semi-transmissive electrode [see paragraph 0109].
Regarding claim 16, Kamada et al disclose a sensor-embedded display panel, the sensor-embedded display panel comprising unit pixels repeatedly arranged,
wherein each of the unit pixels comprises:
at least one red subpixel configured to display red and comprising a red light emitting element [see paragraph 0074],
at least one green subpixel configured to display green and comprising a green light emitting element,
at least one blue subpixel configured to display blue and comprising a blue light emitting element, and
a sensor pixel comprising a sensor configured to selectively sense light in the red wavelength spectrum [see paragraphs 0176 and 0177], and
wherein the sensor comprises:
a reflective electrode and a semi-transmissive electrode facing each other [see paragraph 0109],
a photoelectric conversion layer between the reflective electrode and the semi-transmissive electrode, the photoelectric conversion layer comprising a wavelength-selective photoelectric conversion material having a maximum absorption wavelength in a wavelength region of greater than about 500 nm and less than or equal to about 600 nm [i.e. one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a green-light photoelectric conversion material would absorb light in the range of 495-570 nm], and
a buffer layer between the reflective electrode and the semi-transmissive electrode [see paragraph 0112].
Kamada et al do not disclose, with specificity, wherein the buffer layer has a thickness of greater than or equal to about 70 nm and less than or equal to about 110 nm. Kamada et al do acknowledge that the thickness of the buffer layer is preferably adjusted such that the optical distance between the pair of electrodes in the light-emitting element intensifies the light [see paragraph 0112]. One such as Lee et al disclose a substantially similar display panel, comprising a photoelectric conversion layer and a buffer layer, wherein the thickness of the buffer layer is chosen so as to intensify the light, and which contemplates thicknesses of the buffer layer in the claimed ranges [see paragraphs 0033, 0034 and 0055]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form the buffer layers to the claimed thicknesses in order to tune the quantum efficiency of the device.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art of Kamada et al and Lee et al disclose the sensor-embedded display panel of claim 16. Furthermore, Kamada et al disclose wherein
the red light emitting element, the green light emitting element, the blue light emitting element, and the sensor commonly comprise:
a first common auxiliary layer 114 comprising an electron transport material [see paragraph 0118], and
a second common auxiliary layer 112 comprising a first hole transport material [see paragraph 0118], and
wherein the buffer layer comprises a second hole transport material [see paragraph 0119].
Regarding claim 19, the prior art of Kamada et al and Lee et al disclose the sensor-embedded display panel of claim 18. Furthermore, Kamada et al disclose wherein
each of the red light emitting element, the green light emitting element, the blue light emitting element, and the sensor comprises:
a common electrode 115 configured to apply a common voltage to the red light emitting element, the green light emitting element, the blue light emitting element, and the sensor, and
a pixel electrode 191 facing the common electrode, and
wherein the pixel electrode includes a reflective electrode and the common electrode includes a semi-transmissive electrode [see paragraph 0109].
Regarding claim 20, the prior art of Kamada et al and Lee et al disclose an electronic device comprising the sensor-embedded display panel of claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 9, 13 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding dependent claim 4, and claim 5 which depends therefrom, the prior art of record fails to teach or make reasonably obvious, in combination with the other claimed elements and with sufficient specificity, wherein an extinction coefficient at the first maximum absorption wavelength of the first wavelength-selective photoelectric conversion material is greater than or equal to about 0.5, and a refractive index at the first maximum absorption wavelength of the first wavelength-selective photoelectric conversion material is greater than or equal to about 2.0 and less than or equal to about 3.0; regarding dependent claim 6, and claim 7 which depends therefrom, the prior art of record fails to teach or make reasonably obvious, in combination with the other claimed elements and with sufficient specificity, wherein an extinction coefficient at the second maximum absorption wavelength of the second wavelength-selective photoelectric conversion material is greater than or equal to about 0.5, and a refractive index at the second maximum absorption wavelength of the second wavelength-selective photoelectric conversion material is greater than or equal to about 2.0 and less than or equal to about 3.0; regarding dependent claim 9, the prior art of record fails to teach or make reasonably obvious, in combination with the other claimed elements and with sufficient specificity, wherein a full width at half maximum (FWHM) of the absorption spectrum or EQE spectrum, respectively, of the sensor is narrower than FWHM of the respective absorption spectrum or EQE spectrum of the first wavelength-selective photoelectric conversion material or the second wavelength-selective photoelectric conversion material; regarding dependent claims 13 and 17, the prior art of record fails to teach or make reasonably obvious, in combination with the other claimed elements and with sufficient specificity, wherein an extinction coefficient at the maximum absorption wavelength of the wavelength-selective photoelectric conversion material is greater than or equal to about 0.5, and a refractive index at the maximum absorption wavelength of the wavelength-selective photoelectric conversion material is greater than or equal to about 2.0 and less than or equal to about 3.0.
Conclusion
/C.E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /VICTOR A MANDALA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899