DETAILED ACTION
The present office action is in response to claims filed on 03/14/2024. Claims 1 – 20 are pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, 9, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the received used throughout” in lines 9-10, which should recite “the received used air throughout” for proper antecedent basis.
Claim 7 recites “used air” in line 4, which should recite “the used air” for proper antecedent basis.
Claim 9 recites “the received used throughout” in line 11, which should recite “the received used air throughout” for proper antecedent basis.
Claim 16 recites “used air” in line 4, which should recite “the used air” for proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “cooling technology” in claims 9 and 19.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Paragraph 0037 recites "cooling technology including, but not limited to, direct expansion cooling, chilled water-cooling, direct evaporative cooling, free cooling, or the like, or a combination thereof". Therefore, the Examiner interprets "cooling technology" to be direct expansion cooling, chilled water-cooling, direct evaporative cooling, free cooling, or the like, or a combination thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 9 recites “wherein a cooling technology of the exchangeable AC assembly is configured to be switched out and thereby exchanged for an additional cooling assembly” in lines 20-22. This yields the claim indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter.
“Switched out and thereby exchanged for an additional cooling technology” is unclear. As defined under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) above, “cooling technology” is defined as direct expansion cooling, chilled water-cooling, direct evaporative cooling, free cooling, or the like, or a combination thereof.
If, for example, a chilled water coil of the system requires maintenance, is removed from the system, and replaced with a duplicate chilled water coil, is the duplicate chilled water coil considered an additional cooling technology?
Or is “additional cooling technology” interpreted as a different cooling technology?
This lack of clarity renders Claim 9 indefinite.
For purposes of interpretation, the Examiner interprets “switched out and thereby exchanged for an additional cooling technology in the intersecting discharge directions” to mean removed and replaced, either with the same technology or a different technology.
Claims 10 – 17 are rejected for their dependency on Claim 9.
Claim 11 recites “the direct expansion cooling assembly of the exchangeable AC assembly is exchanged with a chilled water-cooling assembly. This yields the claim indefinite, because Claim 11 depends from Claim 10.
Claim 10 recites “at least one of the cooling technology or the additional cooling technology of the exchangeable AC assembly comprises at least one of a direct expansion cooling assembly, a chilled water-cooling assembly, a direct evaporation cooling assembly, or an air free cooling assembly.
Because of the “or” and “at least one of” in Claim 10, “the direct expansion cooling assembly of the exchangeable AC assembly” of Claim 11 is not positively recited in Claim 10. This yields the claim indefinite.
Therefore, for purposes of examination, if a direct expansion cooling assembly of the exchangeable AC assembly is not taught in Claim 10, the limitations of Claim 11 are moot.
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 18, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faig et al. (WO2014/191533, listed on Applicant’s IDS dated 01/15/2025) in view of Roy (U.S. Patent No. 11,452,242).
Regarding Claim 1, Faig shows (Figures 1B, 4A, and 4B):
An air handling unit system (system illustrated in Figures 4A and 4B), the air handling unit system (system illustrated in Figures 4A and 4B) comprising:
a set (set of 1s illustrated in Figure 4A) of cooling unit building blocks (1);
a housing (overall housing formed by the 10s, aligned side by side in Figure 4A) configured to house (as illustrated in Figure 4A) the set (set of 1s illustrated in Figure 4A) of cooling unit building blocks (1), the housing (overall housing formed by the 10s, aligned side by side in Figure 4A) at least partially formed of a plurality of sidewalls (11, 12, 13, 14, 15) and one or more framing members (internal housing framing members illustrated in Figure 1B), the housing (overall housing formed by the 10s, aligned side by side in Figure 4A) comprising:
an air supply corridor (22) configured to receive (as illustrated by the air flow arrows in Figure 4B) fresh air (4), the air supply corridor (22) positioned proximate to (as illustrated in Figure 1B) at least one sidewall (12) of the plurality of sidewalls (11, 12, 13, 14, 15); and
an air return corridor (20), the air return (20) corridor including one or more vent walls (21, 26), the air return corridor (20) configured to receive (as illustrated by air flow arrows in Figure 4B) used air (2) and distribute the received use air (2) through the set (set of 1s illustrated in Figure 4A) of cooling unit building blocks (1), and
each cooling unit building block (1) of the set (set of 1s illustrated in Figure 4A) of cooling unit building blocks (1) comprising:
an exchangeable air-conditioning section (section of 10 which houses 40 and 31, as illustrated in Figure 1B) positioned proximate (as illustrated by the air flow arrows in Figure 1B) the air supply corridor (20), the exchangeable AC section (section of 10 which houses 40 and 31, as illustrated in Figure 1B) including an exchangeable AC assembly (40) removably coupled to (as illustrated in Figure 1B, it is inherent 40 is removable from 10 for maintenance and repair purposes) the exchangeable AC section (section of 10 which houses 40 and 31, as illustrated in Figure 1B), the exchangeable AC section (section of 10 which houses 40 and 31, as illustrated in Figure 1B) including an array of supply fans (31), the array of supply fans (31) configured to distribute (as illustrated by the air flow arrows in Figure 4B, the pressure differential created by 31 draws the air in 20 through 40) the fresh air (4) from the air supply corridor (20) to the exchangeable AC assembly (40).
Although it is inherent Faig’s exchangeable AC assembly is removably coupled, Faig does not explicitly show that the exchangeable AC assembly is removably coupled to the exchangeable AC section.
In the same field of endeavor of modular air handling units for a data center, Roy teaches (Figure 2D):
It is known in the air handling unit system (800) art for an exchangeable AC assembly (850) to be removably coupled (as illustrated in Figure 2D, there is an access door at 850 to remove and replace 850 as needed) to an exchangeable AC section (830).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the exchangeable AC assembly shown by Faig to be removably coupled to the exchangeable AC section by an access door in the housing, as taught by Roy, to facilitate easy repair and maintenance of the air handling unit system.
Regarding Claim 2, Faig shows (Figures 1B, 4A, and 4B):
The exchangeable AC assembly (40) comprises a chilled water-cooling assembly (“chilling unit 40 may be a water chilling coil configured to chill a supply airflow”, Page 6, lines 26-27).
Regarding Claim 3, Faig shows (Figures 1B, 4A, and 4B):
The air supply corridor (22) is positioned proximate to (as illustrated in Figure 1B) a front wall (12, as illustrated in Figure 4B, 12 is a front wall of 10) of the plurality of sidewalls (11, 12, 13, 14, 15).
Regarding Claim 4, Faig shows (Figures 1B, 4A, and 4B):
The air return corridor (20) is positioned in (as illustrated in Figure 4B) a top portion (the top portion of 10 in which 20 is positioned, as illustrated in Figure 4B) of the housing (overall housing formed by the 10s, aligned side by side in Figure 4A).
Regarding Claim 5, Faig shows (Figures 1B, 4A, and 4B):
The air return corridor (20) is defined at least partially by (as illustrated in Figure 1B) a top sidewall (15) of the plurality of sidewalls (11, 12, 13, 14, 15) and an internal sidewall (as illustrated in Figure 1B, the horizontal internal sidewall of 10 partially defines 20) of the plurality of sidewalls (11, 12, 13, 14, 15).
Regarding Claim 6, Faig shows (Figures 1B, 4A, and 4B):
One or more service corridors (as illustrated in Figure 4A, the system includes service corridors adjacent the rows of racks).
Regarding Claim 8, Faig shows (Figures 1B, 4A, and 4B):
The one or more vent walls (21, 26) include one or more inlet louvers (26).
Regarding Claim 9, Faig shows (Figures 1B, 4A, and 4B):
An air handling unit system (system illustrated in Figures 4A and 4B), the air handling unit system (system illustrated in Figures 4A and 4B) comprising:
a set (set of 1s illustrated in Figure 4A) of cooling unit building blocks (1);
a housing (overall housing formed by the 10s, aligned side by side in Figure 4A) configured to house (as illustrated in Figure 4A) the set (set of 1s illustrated in Figure 4A) of cooling unit building blocks (1), the housing (overall housing formed by the 10s, aligned side by side in Figure 4A) at least partially formed of a plurality of sidewalls (11, 12, 13, 14, 15) and one or more framing members (internal housing framing members illustrated in Figure 1B), the housing (overall housing formed by the 10s, aligned side by side in Figure 4A) comprising:
an air supply corridor (22) configured to receive (as illustrated by the air flow arrows in Figure 4B) fresh air (4), the air supply corridor (22) positioned proximate to (as illustrated in Figure 1B) at least one sidewall (12) of the plurality of sidewalls (11, 12, 13, 14, 15); and
an air return corridor (20), the air return (20) corridor including one or more vent walls (21, 26), the air return corridor (20) configured to receive (as illustrated by air flow arrows in Figure 4B) used air (2) from one or more data centers (data center positioned to the left of 1, as illustrated in Figure 4B) positioned proximate to (as illustrated in Figure 4B) a front sidewall (11) of the plurality of sidewalls (11, 12, 13, 14, 15) and distribute the received use air (2) throughout the set (set of 1s illustrated in Figure 4A) of cooling unit building blocks (1), and
each cooling unit building block (1) of the set (set of 1s illustrated in Figure 4A) of cooling unit building blocks (1) comprising:
an exchangeable air-conditioning section (section of 10 which houses 40 and 31, as illustrated in Figure 1B) positioned proximate (as illustrated by the air flow arrows in Figure 1B) the air supply corridor (20), the exchangeable AC section (section of 10 which houses 40 and 31, as illustrated in Figure 1B) including an exchangeable AC assembly (40) removably coupled to (as illustrated in Figure 1B, it is inherent 40 is removable from 10 for maintenance and repair purposes) the exchangeable AC section (section of 10 which houses 40 and 31, as illustrated in Figure 1B), the exchangeable AC section (section of 10 which houses 40 and 31, as illustrated in Figure 1B) including an array of supply fans (31), the array of supply fans (31) configured to distribute (as illustrated by the air flow arrows in Figure 4B, the pressure differential created by 31 draws the air in 20 through 40) the fresh air (4) from the air supply corridor (20) to the one or more data centers (data center positioned to the left of 1, as illustrated in Figure 4B) and drive the fresh air (4) through (as illustrated by the air flow arrows in Figure 4B) the one or more data centers (data center positioned to the left of 1, as illustrated in Figure 4B), wherein
the exchangeable AC assembly (40) is a cooling technology (“chilling unit 40 may be a water chilling coil configured to chill a supply airflow”, Page 6, lines 26-27).
Although it is inherent Faig’s exchangeable AC assembly is removably coupled, Faig does not explicitly show that the exchangeable AC assembly is removably coupled to the exchangeable AC section, wherein the cooling technology of the exchangeable AC assembly is configured to be switched out and thereby exchanged for an additional cooling technology.
In the same field of endeavor of modular air handling units for a data center, Roy teaches (Figure 2D):
It is known in the air handling unit system (800) art for an exchangeable AC assembly (850) to be removably coupled (as illustrated in Figure 2D, there is an access door at 850 to remove and replace 850 as needed) to an exchangeable AC section (830).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the exchangeable AC assembly shown by Faig to be removably coupled to the exchangeable AC section by an access door in the housing, as taught by Roy, to facilitate easy repair and maintenance of the air handling unit system.
It is noted in combination, because Faig’s exchangeable AC assembly (40) is removable, the cooling technology (“chilling unit 40 may be a water chilling coil configured to chill a supply airflow”, Page 6, lines 26-27) of the exchangeable AC assembly (40) is configured to be switched out and thereby exchanged for an additional cooling technology (should the chilling coils need maintenance or repair, 40 is configured to be removable and replaced with an additional cooling technology).
Regarding Claim 10, Faig shows (Figures 1B, 4A, and 4B):
The cooling technology (“chilling unit 40 may be a water chilling coil configured to chill a supply airflow”, Page 6, lines 26-27) of the exchangeable AC assembly (40) comprises a chilled water-cooling assembly (“chilling unit 40 may be a water chilling coil configured to chill a supply airflow”, Page 6, lines 26-27).
Regarding Claim 11, Faig shows (Figures 1B, 4A, and 4B):
The direct expansion cooling assembly of the exchangeable AC assembly is exchanged with a chilled water-cooling assembly [as rejected and interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above, because Faig teaches the cooling technology of the exchangeable AC assembly is a chilled water-cooling assembly and not a direct expansion cooling assembly, the limitation of Claim 11 is moot].
Regarding Claim 12, Faig shows (Figures 1B, 4A, and 4B):
The air supply corridor (22) is positioned proximate to (as illustrated in Figure 1B) a front wall (12, as illustrated in Figure 4B, 12 is also a front wall of 10) of the plurality of sidewalls (11, 12, 13, 14, 15).
Regarding Claim 13, Faig shows (Figures 1B, 4A, and 4B):
The air return corridor (20) is positioned in (as illustrated in Figure 4B) a top portion (the top portion of 10 in which 20 is positioned, as illustrated in Figure 4B) of the housing (overall housing formed by the 10s, aligned side by side in Figure 4A).
Regarding Claim 14, Faig shows (Figures 1B, 4A, and 4B):
The air return corridor (20) is defined at least partially by (as illustrated in Figure 1B) a top sidewall (15) of the plurality of sidewalls (11, 12, 13, 14, 15) and an internal sidewall (as illustrated in Figure 1B, the horizontal internal sidewall of 10 partially defines 20) of the plurality of sidewalls (11, 12, 13, 14, 15).
Regarding Claim 15, Faig shows (Figures 1B, 4A, and 4B):
One or more service corridors (as illustrated in Figure 4A, the system includes service corridors adjacent the rows of racks).
Regarding Claim 17, Faig shows (Figures 1B, 4A, and 4B):
The one or more vent walls (21, 26) include one or more inlet louvers (26).
Regarding Claim 18, Faig shows (Figures 1B, 4A, and 4B):
A method (method illustrated by air flow arrows in Figure 4B) comprising:
receiving (as illustrated by the air flow arrows in Figure 4B) used air (2) from one or more data centers (data center positioned to the left of 1, as illustrated in Figure 4B) through an air return (20) via one or more vent walls (21, 26) of an air handling unit system (system illustrated in Figures 4A and 4B), wherein the one or more data centers (data center positioned to the left of 1, as illustrated in Figure 4B) are positioned proximate to (as illustrated in Figure 4B) the air handling unit system (system illustrated in Figures 4A and 4B);
providing (as illustrated by the air flow arrows in Figure 4B) the used air (2) to a set (set of 1s illustrated in Figure 4A) of cooling unit building blocks (1) including an exchangeable air-conditioning section (section of 10 which houses 40 and 31, as illustrated in Figure 1B) to generate (via 31) fresh air (4) using an exchangeable AC assembly (40) of the exchangeable AC section (section of 10 which houses 40 and 31, as illustrated in Figure 1B); and
providing (as illustrated by the air flow arrows in Figure 4B) the fresh air (4) generated (via 31) by the exchangeable AC assembly (40) to the one or more (data center positioned to the left of 1, as illustrated in Figure 4B) through an air supply corridor (20) via an array of supply fans (31).
Although it is inherent Faig’s exchangeable AC assembly is removably coupled and therefore exchangeable, Faig does not explicitly show that the exchangeable AC assembly is removably coupled to the exchangeable AC section.
In the same field of endeavor of modular air handling units for a data center, Roy teaches (Figure 2D):
It is known in the air handling unit system (800) art for an exchangeable AC assembly (850) to be removably coupled (as illustrated in Figure 2D, there is an access door at 850 to remove and replace 850 as needed) to an exchangeable AC section (830).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the exchangeable AC assembly shown by Faig to be removably coupled to the exchangeable AC section by an access door in the housing, as taught by Roy, to facilitate easy repair and maintenance of the air handling unit system.
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Faig (Figures 1B, 4A, and 4B) and Roy (Figure 2D) teaches:
Exchanging [it is noted in combination, because Faig’s exchangeable AC assembly (40) is removable, the cooling technology (“chilling unit 40 may be a water chilling coil configured to chill a supply airflow”, Page 6, lines 26-27) of the exchangeable AC assembly (40) is configured to be switched out and thereby exchanged for an additional cooling technology (should the chilling coils need maintenance or repair, 40 is configured to be removable and replaced with an additional cooling technology] a cooling technology (Faig: “chilling unit 40 may be a water chilling coil configured to chill a supply airflow”, Page 6, lines 26-27) pf the exchangeable AC assembly (Faig: 40) of the exchangeable AC section (Faig: section of 10 which houses 40 and 31, as illustrated in Figure 1B) to adjust a functionality of (should the coil require maintenance or repair, exchanging the existing coil with a new coil increases functionality of the system) of the air handling unit system (system illustrated in Figures 4A and 4B).
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faig et al. (WO2014/191533, listed on Applicant’s IDS dated 01/15/2025) and Roy (U.S. Patent No. 11,452,242), as recited in Claims 1 and 9 above, further in view of Morales et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,151,578).
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, the combination of Faig and Roy teaches the claimed combination except the air return corridor further comprises one or more return fans, wherein the air return corridor is configured to received used air through the one or more return fans.
In the same field of endeavor of data center air handing unit systems, Morales teaches (Figure 1):
It is known in the air handling unit system (102) art for an air return corridor (110) to comprise one or more return fans (144), wherein the air return corridor (110) is configured to receive (as illustrated by the air flow arrows in Figure 1) used air (return air) through the one or more return fans (144).
It is notes the air handling unit system (102) further comprises one or more supply fans (138).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the air return corridor shown by Faig to include one or more return fans, wherein the air return corridor is configured to receive the used air through the one or more return fans, as taught by Morales, to add a redundant fan within the system should the array of supply fans fail, ensuring the system stay operational to cool the data center.
Regarding Claim 20, Faig shows (Figures 1B, 4A, and 4B):
The cooling technology (“chilling unit 40 may be a water chilling coil configured to chill a supply airflow”, Page 6, lines 26-27) of the exchangeable AC assembly (40) comprises a chilled water-cooling assembly (“chilling unit 40 may be a water chilling coil configured to chill a supply airflow”, Page 6, lines 26-27).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided in the Notice of References Cited.
The following prior art teaches related data center air handling unit systems:
Bailey et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,925,185): see Figure 3
Siessman et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,814,160): see Figure 4
/DANA K TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/AVINASH A SAVANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762