DETAILED ACTION
This is the first non-final office action on the merits. Claims 2-7 and 9-22 are currently pending.
Drawings
The drawings are accepted.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 14 be found allowable, claim 21 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2, 7, 9-10, 14-17, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 12666911 B2).
Regarding claim 2, Huang teaches (Fig. 1, 4, and 5A-5B): A semiconductor wafer transportation system (100), comprising: a suspended track (104, 106) disposed in an elevated position within a semiconductor manufacturing facility (Fig. 1 and 5A-5B); a first vehicle (108) configured to travel along the suspended track while carrying a semiconductor wafer (payload 109 having 4 wafers)(col. 5, lines 25-32; Fig. 1); a second vehicle (rescue vehicle 110) configured to travel along the suspended track (Fig. 1); a coupling device (connector 502) configured to physically and releasably couple the first vehicle (108) to the second vehicle (110) and maintain a connection therebetween while the second vehicle is towing the first vehicle along the suspended track (Fig. 5A; col. 6, lines 49-66); and a controller (112) configured to operate the second vehicle (110) to move along the suspended track while coupled to the first vehicle (108) with the coupling device (502) and thereby tow the first vehicle (col. 5, lines 25-32; Fig. 1 and 5A), wherein the first vehicle (108) includes a wheel (410) configured to freely rotate on an axle thereof while the second vehicle is towing the first vehicle (Fig. 4 and 5A).
Regarding claim 7, Huang further teaches (Fig. 1, 4, and 5A-5B): the wheel (410) includes a bearing configured to provide for free rotation of the wheel about the axle (it is well-known in the art for a wheel rotating on an axle to have a bearing for the wheel to spin freely with minimal friction).
Regarding claim 9, Huang teaches (Fig. 1, 4, and 5A-5B): A method, comprising: propelling a first vehicle (108) along a suspended track disposed at an elevated position within a semiconductor manufacturing facility (Fig. 1 and 5A-5B), wherein the first vehicle (108) is carrying a semiconductor wafer (109) therein; determining that the first vehicle (108) is impaired and unable to travel along the suspended track (col. 3, line 64 – col. 4, line 2; Fig. 1); coupling the first vehicle (108) to a second vehicle (110) with a coupling device (502)(Fig. 5A); and remotely operating the second vehicle (through controller 112) to propel the second vehicle along the suspended track while the first vehicle is coupled to the second vehicle with the coupling device (502)(Fig. 1 and 5A) and thereby tow the first vehicle (108) along the suspended track (Fig. 5A), wherein the first vehicle (108) includes a wheel (410) configured to freely rotate on an axle thereof while the second vehicle (110) is towing the first vehicle (Fig. 4 and 5A).
Regarding claim 10, Huang further teaches (Fig. 1, 4, and 5A-5B): propelling the second vehicle (110) about a curve in the suspended track (104, 106) while the first vehicle (108) is coupled to the second vehicle (Fig. 1 show a curved path), wherein movement about the curve in the suspended track causes pivoting of a first pivoting joint of the coupling device (a hook and socket connection is pivotable; col. 6, line 67 – col. 7, line 5).
Regarding claim 14, Huang further teaches (Fig. 1, 4, and 5A-5B): propelling the second vehicle (108) along the suspended track (104, 106) to be adjacent to the first vehicle (110) prior to coupling the first vehicle to the second vehicle with the coupling device (Fig. 1 and 5A-5B).
Regarding claim 15, Huang teaches (Fig. 1, 4, and 5A-5B): A method, comprising: propelling a first vehicle (108) on a first wheel assembly (410) thereof along a suspended track (104, 106) disposed at an elevated position within a semiconductor manufacturing facility (Fig. 1), wherein the first vehicle (108) is configured to carry a semiconductor wafer (109) therein (Fig. 1); determining that the first vehicle (108) is impaired and unable to travel along the suspended track (col. 3, line 64 – col. 4, line 2; Fig. 1); modifying the first vehicle (108) such that the first vehicle is movable along the suspended track (104, 106)(inherent with the vehicle movable on the track); coupling the first vehicle (108) to a second vehicle (110) with a coupling device (502)(Fig. 5A);and remotely operating the second vehicle (through controller 112) to propel the second vehicle along the suspended track while the first vehicle is coupled to the second vehicle with the coupling device (502)(Fig. 1 and 5A) and thereby tow the first vehicle (108) along the suspended track (Fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 16, Huang further teaches (Fig. 1, 4, and 5A-5B): modifying the first vehicle includes configuring a wheel (410) of the first vehicle (108) to freely rotate on an axle of the first vehicle (inherent with the first vehicle being towed by the second vehicle 110; Fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 17, Huang further teaches (Fig. 1, 4, and 5A-5B): propelling the second vehicle (110) about a curve in the suspended track (104, 106) while the first vehicle (108) is coupled to the second vehicle (Fig. 1 show a curved path), wherein movement about the curve in the suspended track causes pivoting of a first pivoting joint of the coupling device (a hook and socket connection is pivotable; col. 6, line 67 – col. 7, line 5).
Regarding claim 21, Huang further teaches (Fig. 1, 4, and 5A-5B): propelling the second vehicle (108) along the suspended track (104, 106) to be adjacent to the first vehicle (110) prior to coupling the first vehicle to the second vehicle with the coupling device (Fig. 1 and 5A-5B).
Regarding claim 22, Huang further teaches (Fig. 1, 4, and 5A-5B): the first vehicle (108) and the second vehicle (110) are each configured to hang below the suspended track (104, 106) and include wheel assemblies (410) configured to roll on top of and along the suspended track (Fig. 4 and 5A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 11, 13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 12666911 B2), in view of Albert (US 7549378 B2).
Regarding claim 3, Huang further teaches (Fig. 1, 4, and 5A-5B): the coupling device (connector 502) includes: a first attachment member (a socket) configured to secure to the first vehicle (108); and a second attachment member (hook) configured to secure to the second vehicle (110)(col. 6, line 67 – col. 7, line 5), Huang does not teach at least two pivoting joints disposed between the first attachment member and the second attachment member each configured to pivot relative to the first attachment member or the second attachment member.
However, Albert teaches alternate vehicles (carriages 6, 7) traveling on a track, wherein (Fig. 1 and 3): The carriages (6, 7) have a coupling device (connecting element 2) and two pivoting joints (ball and socket joints 3, 4) disposed between a first attachment member and a second attachment member each configured to pivot relative to the first attachment member or the second attachment member (attachment members of the carriages 6, 7 pivot relative to each other; Fig. 1 and 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Huang to modify the coupling device to have two pivoting joints, connected to the first vehicle and the second vehicle respectively for pivoting, as disclosed by Albert, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would “permit turning movements of the carriages about the vertical axis when the vehicle travels through a bend” (Albert, col. 2, lines 61-64).
Regarding claim 4, the reference Albert further teaches (Fig. 1 and 3): the coupling device (2) includes an elongated member (2) configured to couple at a first end thereof to the first attachment member to define a first pivoting joint (3) of the at least two pivoting joints and couple at a second end thereof oppositely disposed from the first end to the second attachment member to define a second pivoting joint (4) of the at least two pivoting joints (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Huang to modify the coupling device to have an elongated member coupled to the first and second attachment members to define two pivoting joints, connected to the first vehicle and the second vehicle respectively for pivoting, as disclosed by Albert, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would “permit turning movements of the carriages about the vertical axis when the vehicle travels through a bend” (Albert, col. 2, lines 61-64).
Regarding claim 11, Huang does not explicitly teach that the movement about the curve in the suspended track causes pivoting of a second pivoting joint of the coupling device.
However, Albert teaches alternate vehicles (carriages 6, 7) traveling on a track, wherein (Fig. 1 and 3): The carriages (6, 7) have a coupling device (connecting element 2) and two pivoting joints (ball and socket joints 3, 4) therebetween (Fig. 1 and 3), wherein a movement about a curve in the track (as the vehicle travels through a bend) causes pivoting of a second pivoting joint (4) of the coupling device (Fig. 1 and 3; col. 2, line 61 – col. 3, line 6).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Huang to modify the coupling device to have two pivoting joints, connected to the first vehicle and the second vehicle respectively, as disclosed by Albert, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would “permit turning movements of the carriages about the vertical axis when the vehicle travels through a bend” (Albert, col. 2, lines 61-64).
Regarding claim 13, Huang further teaches (Fig. 1, 4, and 5A-5B): coupling the first vehicle (108) to the second vehicle (110) with the coupling device (502), but does not explicitly teach releasably coupling a first end of an elongated member of the coupling device to a first attachment member of the first vehicle with a first pin to define a first pivoting joint; and releasably coupling a second end of the elongated member of the coupling device oppositely disposed the first end to a second attachment member of the second vehicle with a second pin to define a second pivoting joint.
However, the reference Albert further teaches (Fig. 1 and 3): the coupling device (2) includes an elongated member (2) configured to couple at a first end thereof to the first attachment member to define a first pivoting joint (3) of the at least two pivoting joints and couple at a second end thereof oppositely disposed from the first end to the second attachment member to define a second pivoting joint (4) of the at least two pivoting joints (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Huang to modify the coupling device to have an elongated member coupled to the first and second attachment members to define two pivoting joints, connected to the first vehicle and the second vehicle respectively for pivoting, as disclosed by Albert, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would “permit turning movements of the carriages about the vertical axis when the vehicle travels through a bend” (Albert, col. 2, lines 61-64).
Regarding claim 18, Huang does not explicitly teach that the movement about the curve in the suspended track causes pivoting of a second pivoting joint of the coupling device.
However, Albert teaches alternate vehicles (carriages 6, 7) traveling on a track, wherein (Fig. 1 and 3): The carriages (6, 7) have a coupling device (connecting element 2) and two pivoting joints (ball and socket joints 3, 4) therebetween (Fig. 1 and 3), wherein a movement about a curve in the track (as the vehicle travels through a bend) causes pivoting of a second pivoting joint (4) of the coupling device (Fig. 1 and 3; col. 2, line 61 – col. 3, line 6).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Huang to modify the coupling device to have two pivoting joints, connected to the first vehicle and the second vehicle respectively, as disclosed by Albert, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would “permit turning movements of the carriages about the vertical axis when the vehicle travels through a bend” (Albert, col. 2, lines 61-64).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 12, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claims and if all claim objections are overcome.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 5 and 20, the prior art fails to teach the first end of the elongated member is releasably coupled to the first attachment member at the first pivoting joint with a first pin and the second end of the elongated member is releasably coupled to the second attachment member at the second pivoting joint with a second pin. While the secondary reference Albert teaches (Fig. 1 and 3): the coupling device (2) includes an elongated member (2) configured to couple at a first end thereof to the first attachment member to define a first pivoting joint (3) of the at least two pivoting joints and couple at a second end thereof oppositely disposed from the first end to the second attachment member to define a second pivoting joint (4)(Fig. 1), the examiner finds no obvious reason to modify the first ball and socket pivoting joint and the second ball and socket pivoting joint to be pins. Such a modification would require improper hindsight reasoning and modifications to a modifying reference.
Regarding claims 6, 12, and 19, the prior art fails to teach an anti-oversteering member configured to limit pivoting of the pivoting joint while towing the first vehicle with the second vehicle and thereby limit an angle between the first and second members. While the reference Albert further teaches (Fig. 1 and 3): the coupling device (2) includes first and second members (members attached to the carriages 6, 7 respectively), a pivoting joint (3, 4) coupling the first and second members (Fig. 1 and 3), the examiner finds no obvious reason to modify the coupling device of Albert to have an anti-oversteering member configured to limit pivoting of the pivoting joint while towing the first vehicle with the second vehicle and thereby limit an angle between the first and second members. Such a modification would require improper hindsight reasoning and modifications to a modifying reference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure of transporting a suspended carriage on a track and a pivotable coupling mechanism between carriages: US-3906864-A, US-5052707-A, US-20170197794-A1, US-11332309-B2, US-12272582-B2, FI 124938 B, RU 2394709 C1, DE 19708990 A1, DE 3920344 A1, WO 9000996 A1, FR 2603855 A1.
/CHENG LIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3615