DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on 12/8/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 20 has been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/8/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 16 recite “shallow trays”. It is not clear what the metes and bounds of the term “shallow” are intended to be.
Claim 7 recites that the flow direction in the second tray is opposite the second direction. However, claim 6, from which claim 7 depends, recites that the flow direction in the second tray is the same as the second direction. It is not clear how both can be true at the same time.
Claim 11 recites that the flow direction in the second tray is opposite the first direction. However, claim 10, from which claim 11 depends, recites that the flow direction in the second tray is the same as the first direction. It is not clear how both can be true at the same time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 15-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sando et al. (US 4,182,140).
Claim 1: Sando teaches a method for treating a length of fabric (Abst.), the method comprising the steps of: providing a chemical bath divided among a plurality of shallow trays (8) positioned on a frame (3) (Fig. 1; 2:7-42); feeding a first end of said fabric over a first roller (7) and into said chemical bath in the first tray (8) (Fig. 1; 2:7-42) wherein guide rolls (10) prevent the cloth from sagging (i.e. claimed keeping said fabric from contacting the tray while the fabric traverses the tray) (2:29-30; Fig. 1); directing the first end of the fabric over a second roller (the next 7 in Fig. 1) and into said chemical bath in a second tray (the next 8 in Fig. 1) (Fig. 1; 2:7-42) wherein guide rolls (10) prevent the cloth from sagging (i.e. claimed keeping said fabric from contacting the tray while the fabric traverses the tray) (2:29-30; Fig. 1); and directing said first end over a third roller (7) (Fig. 1).
Claims 2-6: Sando teaches that the liquid flows down from the tank (9) and into each of the trays (8) (Fig. 1; 2:7-41) and that the fluid then flows out from each tray toward the middle of the apparatus and then the bottom (Fig. 1; 2:7-41). This means that the fluid flows from right to left in the first uppermost tray (i.e. claimed first direction) and from left to right in the second tray (i.e. claimed second direction).
Claims 8-10: Sando teaches that the liquid flows down from the tank (9) and into each of the trays (8) (Fig. 1; 2:7-41). This downward direction is generally perpendicular to the back and forth direction of the fabric.
Claim 15: Sando teaches that each of the trays are in the same space and are fed from the same tank (2:7-41). Thus, it is implicit that the temperature of fluid in each tray is generally the same.
Claim 16: Sando teaches a method for treating a length of fabric (Abst.), comprising the steps of: providing a roll of fabric (4) and a plurality of reactors (A, A’) each including a plurality of trays (7) positioned on a frame (3) (Fig. 5; 2:7-41, 4:53-68); directing the first end of the fabric into the first reactor (Fig. 5), while in the first reactor: feeding a first end of said fabric over a first roller (7) and into said chemical bath in the first tray (8) (Fig. 1; 2:7-42) wherein guide rolls (10) prevent the cloth from sagging (i.e. claimed keeping said fabric from contacting the tray while the fabric traverses the tray) (2:29-30; Fig. 1); directing the first end of the fabric over a second roller (the next 7 in Fig. 1) and into said chemical bath in a second tray (the next 8 in Fig. 1) (Fig. 1; 2:7-42) wherein guide rolls (10) prevent the cloth from sagging (i.e. claimed keeping said fabric from contacting the tray while the fabric traverses the tray) (2:29-30; Fig. 1); directing the fabric over a third roller and into the second reactor (Fig. 5), while in the second reactor: feeding a first end of said fabric over a first roller (7) and into said chemical bath in the first tray (8) (Fig. 1; 2:7-42) wherein guide rolls (10) prevent the cloth from sagging (i.e. claimed keeping said fabric from contacting the tray while the fabric traverses the tray) (2:29-30; Fig. 1); directing the first end of the fabric over a second roller (the next 7 in Fig. 1) and into said chemical bath in a second tray (the next 8 in Fig. 1) (Fig. 1; 2:7-42) wherein guide rolls (10) prevent the cloth from sagging (i.e. claimed keeping said fabric from contacting the tray while the fabric traverses the tray) (2:29-30; Fig. 1); and directing the fabric into a later process (4:53-68).
Claim 17: Sando teaches that each of the trays are in the same space and are fed from the same tank (2:7-41). Thus, it is implicit that the temperature of fluid in each tray is generally the same.
Claim 18: Sando teaches that each of the reactors (A, A’) are the same as the reactor described in example 1 (4:53-68). Accordingly, each tank (9) is supplied with fluid from the same source.
Claim 19: Sando teaches that the later process includes pressing the fabric to remove excess fluid (i.e. claimed drying) (4:53-68).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sando in light of Fisher et al. (US 2021/0372044).
Claim 12: Sando teaches treating the fabric, but does not teach metalizing the fabric. Fisher teaches a process of treating a fabric in baths and explains that the treatment fluid can be used to metalize the fabric (Abst.; ¶¶ 0038-0041). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have utilized the trays of Sando to metalize the fabric as the treatment depending on the desired fabric treatment with the predictable expectation of success.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sando in light of Chappell et al. (US 2015/0218748).
Claim 13: Sando fails to teach that the ends of the fabric are joined to make a loop. Chappell teaches a process of treating a fabric in a bath (Abst.) and explains that the ends of the fabric can be joined to form a loop in order to run the process continuously (¶ 0022). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have joined the ends of the fabric in Sando as a loop when it was desired to run the process continuously.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sando in light of Tomibe et al. (US 3,998,585).
Claim 14: Sando fails to teach a particular flow regime. Tomibe teaches a method of treating fabric in a bath and explains that the fluid is in a laminar flow in order to more uniformly treat the fabric (3:28-41). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected a laminar flow in Sando in order to have treated the fabric uniformly.
Conclusion
/ROBERT A VETERE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712