DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on March 14, 2024
Drawings
The drawings were filed on March 14, 2024. These drawings are accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-9, 17, 20-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thompson et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0136401 A1).
In re claim 1, Thompson discloses a method (Fig. 1) comprising:
generating a turbo mode operation instruction based on a plurality of operating conditions (CPU 12 initiates turbo mode with its associated increase in clock speed and current draw, external power port 32 cannot draw adequate power for power supply 22 to maintain voltage constraints of CPU 12 at the increased current draw, Para. 0021);
based on the turbo mode operation instruction, adjusting a system limit of a power supply so as to provide excess power to a load coupled to the power supply (using turbo power increases power consumption, and the power supply provides regulated power to the processor and meets increased power draw in turbo mode by applying current from an external power source when the system load allows for excess external power, Para. 0008);
detecting at least one operating parameter to obtain a detected operating parameter (battery voltage and state of charge is measured among other parameters, Para. 0029-0030);
determining whether the detected operating parameter exceeds a predetermined threshold (Figs. 4-5, Para. 0029-0031); and
reducing the system limit of the power supply so that the detected operating parameter drops below the predetermined threshold (once the battery is charged, the operation of the system returns to normal, Figs. 4-5, Para. 0029-0031).
In re claim 6, Thompson discloses wherein: the system limit is a predetermined current limit, and wherein the predetermined current limit is dynamically adjustable in response to the turbo mode operation instruction and the detected operating parameter (Para. 0029-0031).
In re claim 7, Thompson discloses adjusting the predetermined current limit so as to provide excess power to the load; detecting a system temperature; determining whether the system temperature exceeds a predetermined temperature threshold; and reducing the predetermined current limit of the power supply so that the system temperature drops below the predetermined threshold (Para. 0031).
In re claim 8, Thompson discloses wherein: the system limit is a predetermined temperature limit, and wherein the predetermined temperature limit is dynamically adjustable in response to the turbo mode operation instruction and the detected operating parameter (Para. 0029-0031).
In re claim 9, Thompson discloses wherein: the system limit is a predetermined voltage limit across one power switch of the power supply, and wherein the predetermined voltage limit across the one power switch of the power supply is dynamically adjustable in response to the turbo mode operation instruction and the detected operating parameter (Para. 0029-0031).
In re claim 17, Thompson discloses (Fig. 1) a system (10) comprising:
a power supply (22) configured to provide power to a load (system load);
and a system control (18) apparatus configured to control the power supply, wherein the system apparatus is configured to:
generate a turbo mode operation instruction based on a plurality of operating conditions (CPU 12 initiates turbo mode with its associated increase in clock speed and current draw, external power port 32 cannot draw adequate power for power supply 22 to maintain voltage constraints of CPU 12 at the increased current draw, Para. 0021);
based on the turbo mode operation instruction, adjust a system limit of the power supply so as to provide excess power to the load (using turbo power increases power consumption, and the power supply provides regulated power to the processor and meets increased power draw in turbo mode by applying current from an external power source when the system load allows for excess external power, Para. 0008);
detect at least one operating parameter to obtain a detected operating parameter (battery voltage and state of charge is measured among other parameters, Para. 0029-0030);
determine whether the detected operating parameter exceeds a predetermined threshold (Figs. 4-5, Para. 0029-0031); and
reduce the system limit of the power supply so that the detected operating parameter drops below the predetermined threshold (once the battery is charged, the operation of the system returns to normal, Figs. 4-5, Para. 0029-0031).
In re claim 20, Thompson discloses wherein: the system limit is a predetermined current limit, and wherein the predetermined current limit is dynamically adjustable in response to the turbo mode operation instruction and the detected operating parameter (Para. 0029-0031).
In re claim 21, Thompson discloses a method (Fig. 1) comprising:
generating a turbo mode operation instruction based on a plurality of operating conditions (CPU 12 initiates turbo mode with its associated increase in clock speed and current draw, external power port 32 cannot draw adequate power for power supply 22 to maintain voltage constraints of CPU 12 at the increased current draw, Para. 0021);
based on the turbo mode operation instruction, adjusting a system limit of a power supply so as to provide excess power to a load coupled to the power supply (using turbo power increases power consumption, and the power supply provides regulated power to the processor and meets increased power draw in turbo mode by applying current from an external power source when the system load allows for excess external power, Para. 0008);
detecting at least one operating parameter to obtain a detected operating parameter (battery voltage and state of charge is measured among other parameters, Para. 0029-0030);
determining whether the detected operating parameter exceeds a predetermined threshold (Figs. 4-5, Para. 0029-0031); and
reducing power consumption of the load through reducing an operating frequency of a processor so that the detected operating parameter drops below the predetermined threshold (once the battery is charged, the operation of the system returns to normal, Figs. 4-5, Para. 0029-0031).
In re claim 23, Thompson discloses wherein: the system limit is a predetermined current limit; and the at least one operating parameter is a system temperature (Para. 0029-0031).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 10-16, 18-19, 22 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding to claim 2, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest “wherein: the load comprises a crypto mining machine” in combination with other limitations of the claim.
Regarding to claim 10, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest “wherein: the system limit is a predetermined voltage limit across a hold-up capacitor of the power supply, and wherein the predetermined voltage limit across the hold-up capacitor of the power supply is dynamically adjustable in response to the turbo mode operation instruction and the detected operating parameter” in combination with other limitations of the claim.
Regarding to claim 11, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest “wherein: the system limit is a predetermined magnetic flux density saturation limit of the power supply, and wherein the predetermined magnetic flux density saturation limit is dynamically adjustable in response to the turbo mode operation instruction and the detected operating parameter” in combination with other limitations of the claim.
Regarding to claim 12, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest “wherein: the system limit is a combination of a predetermined current limit, a predetermined temperature limit, a predetermined voltage limit across one power switch of the power supply, a predetermined voltage limit across a hold-up capacitor of the power supply and a predetermined magnetic flux density saturation limit of the power supply, and wherein the system limit is dynamically adjustable in response to the turbo mode operation instruction and the detected operating parameter” in combination with other limitations of the claim.
Regarding to claim 13, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest “wherein: the system limit is a combination of a predetermined current limit, a predetermined temperature limit, a predetermined voltage limit across one power switch of the power supply, a predetermined voltage limit across a hold-up capacitor of the power supply and a predetermined magnetic flux density saturation limit of the power supply, and wherein in response to the turbo mode operation instruction and the detected operating parameter, the predetermined current limit, the predetermined temperature limit, the predetermined voltage limit across the one power switch of the power supply, the predetermined voltage limit across the hold-up capacitor of the power supply and the predetermined magnetic flux density saturation limit of the power supply are dynamically adjusted in a sequential manner” in combination with other limitations of the claim.
Regarding to claim 14, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest “detecting an air flow passing through the power supply; determining whether the air flow exceeds a predetermined air flow threshold; and generating the turbo mode operation instruction once the air flow exceeds the predetermined air flow threshold” in combination with other limitations of the claim.
Regarding to claim 15, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest “monitoring a cryptocurrency price; determining whether the cryptocurrency price exceeds a predetermined cryptocurrency price; and generating the turbo mode operation instruction once the cryptocurrency price exceeds the predetermined cryptocurrency price” in combination with other limitations of the claim.
Regarding to claim 16, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest “monitoring a utility price from an adjacent utility provider, wherein the adjacent utility provider is configured to provide power to the load through the power supply; determining whether the utility price drops below a predetermined utility price; and generating the turbo mode operation instruction once the utility price drops below the predetermined utility price” in combination with other limitations of the claim.
Regarding to claim 18, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest “wherein: the load comprises a crypto mining machine; and the power supply comprises a non-isolated power factor correction device and an isolated dc/dc converter connected in cascade between a power source and the load” in combination with other limitations of the claim. Claim 19 depends directly from claim 18 and is, therefore, also objected at least for the same reasons set above.
Regarding to claim 22, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest “wherein: the load comprises an artificial intelligence processor” in combination with other limitations of the claim.
Regarding to claim 24, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest “wherein: the power supply comprises a non-isolated power factor correction device and an isolated dc/dc converter connected in cascade between a power source and the load” in combination with other limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
/RAFAEL O DE LEON DOMENECH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838