DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The use of the terms “Versamine" and "Priamine”, which are a trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the terms.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service
marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Examiner notes “Priamine” and “Versamine” in paragraphs 30 and 48 seem to have an attempted “®” for the registered trademarks but are shown as “(R)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 - 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoshiki et al. (JP-2021147610 A, machine translation), hereafter referred to as Yoshiki.
Regarding Claim 1, Yoshiki teaches the formation of a polyimide by imidizing a polyamic acid. Polyamic acid is advantageous due to its excellent solubility ([0086]-[0087], lines 615-621, 637-641, pgs. 25-26). In the alternative, the polymer may be only partially imidized ([0091], line 668, pg. 27). The product of partial imidization reads on the claimed polyamic acid.
The polyamic acid is obtained via reaction between a tetracarboxylic acid dianhydride and a diamine component ([0010], lines 60-61, pg. 4), where the diamine component can be comprised of a dimer diamine ([0014], lines 98-103, pg. 5) and a diamine having a fluorene skeleton ([0067], lines 495-500, pg. 20). In one example taught, Yoshiki reacts the tetracarboxylic dianhydride 3,3',4,4'-benzophenonetetracarboxylic dianhydride (BTDA), a dimer diamine (trade name Priamine 1074, see pg. 2, [0066], lines 484-491), and bisaniline fluorene (BAFL, also known as 9,9-Bis(4-aminophenyl)fluorene) with N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone (NMP) and xylene to produce polyamic acid ([0086], [0163], lines 615-621, 1406-1408, pgs. 25,51). Altogether, the example reads on a tetracarboxylic dianhydride and two diamines, comprised of a dimer diamine and a diamine with a fluorene skeleton.
Regarding Claim 2, Yoshiki teaches the reaction described above to obtain the polyamic acid according to Claim 1, wherein the diamine having a fluorene skeleton is BAFL, which has a matching structure to the claimed diamine with a fluorene skeleton (0067, 0163, lines 495-500, 1406-1408, pg. 20, 51).
Regarding Claim 3, Yoshiki teaches the previously described reaction using NMP as an organic solvent (0086, 0163, lines 618-621, 1406-1408, pgs. 25,51).
Regarding Claim 4, Yoshiki teaches a polyimide obtained by imidizing the polyamic acid obtained by the reaction described above, which is heat imidized with additional xylene (0163, lines 1409-1411, pg. 51).
Regarding Claim 5, Yoshiki discloses a film comprised of the polyimide mentioned above, applied in a coating to and then peeled off of a substrate such as PET (product used in example 1: HY-S05) as a film 25 microns thick (0119, 167, lines 969-972, 1420-1425, pgs. 37, 53-54)
Regarding Claim 6, Yoshiki discloses previously discussed polyimide film can be used in copper clad laminates and as an adhesive insulation in multilayer circuit boards as adhesive layer 20 in Figures 7 and 8 (0146, 180, lines 1229-1234, 1486-1489, pgs. 45, 56).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Radu et al. (US 20240317940 A1) teaches a polyimide resin with one or more tetracarboxylic acid component residues; (b) one or more diamine component residues for use in electronics.
Yushi et al. (JP 2023041626 A) teaches a polyimide resin with one or more tetracarboxylic acid component residues; multiple diamine component residues including a dimer diamine and one with a fluorene skeleton.
Ebisawa (JP 2022190618 A) teaches polyamic acid and polyimide resin using dimer and/or fluorene skeleton diamines and a tetracarboxylic dianhydride for photolithographic processing.
/A.M.F./ Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762