Detailed Office Action
Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 4, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Straeussnigg et al. (US Patent Number 11,139,820).
Regarding claim 1, Straeussnigg et al. disclose an interface output (figs. 1 – 4) for a capacitive sensor (MEMS 102, fig. 1) comprising: a circuit to sample (106, fig. 1) an input signal from the capacitive sensor (MEMS), convert the sampled input signal to a digital signal (114, fig. 1) and having an adjustable gain (digital gains) (col. 2, lines 56 – 59).
Regarding claim 2, Straeussnigg et al. disclose a circuit (figs. 1 – 4) wherein the capacitive sensor is a MEMs sensor (102, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Straeussnigg et al. disclose a circuit (figs. 1 – 4) wherein circuit comprises: an analog to digital converter (ADC) (106, fig. 1) receiving the sampled input signal; an output(108, 110, 112A, fig. 1) coupled to the ADC applying a gain correction (digital gains)to generate an amplified digital output signal (114, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Straeussnigg et al. disclose a circuit (figs. 1 – 4) , wherein circuit comprises a sampling circuit (106, fig. 1) coupled to the capacitive sensor (102, fig. 1) taking a sample of the input signal and amplifying (digital gains) the sample of the input signal (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Straeussnigg et al. disclose a circuit (figs. 1 – 4) to convert charge information input from a Micro Electro Mechanical (MEM) capacitive sensor (102, fig. 1) comprising: a sampling circuit (106, fig. 1) sampling an input signal from the MEM capacitive sensor(102, fig. 1) and converting the sampled input signal to amplified charge information (fig. 1); an analog to digital converter (ADC) (106, fig. 1) receiving the amplified charge information; an output (108, 220, 112A, fig. 1) coupled to the ADC applying a gain correction (digital gains) to generate an amplified digital output signal (114, fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Straeussnigg et al. (US Patent Number 11,139,820) in view of Xu et al. (US Patent Number 11,606,100).
Regarding claim 8, Straeussnigg et al. disclose all the limitations discussed above except the circuit wherein the output device comprises a digital range scaling and reconstruction block, the controller sending the output to the digital range scaling and reconstruction block to adjust the gain of the amplified sample. However, Xu et al., in a related field, disclose a circuit (figs. 3, 4) wherein the output device comprises a digital range scaling and reconstruction block (908, fig. 9) , the controller (102) sending the output to the digital range scaling and reconstruction block to adjust the gain of the amplified sample (figs. 3, 4, 9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Straeussnigg et al.’s circuit with that of Xu et al. for the purpose of improving the circuit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Straeussnigg et al. (US Patent Number 11,139,820) in view of Fon et al. (USPGPUB 2022/0385299).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Straeussnigg et al. disclose all the limitations discussed above except the circuit wherein the ADC is a Nyquist rate ADC. However, Nyquist rate ADC is well known in the art; Fon et al. disclose a system where a Nyquist rate ADC is used (see paragraph 0047). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Straeussnigg et al.’s system with that of Fon et al. in order to improve the performance of the circuit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 – 12 are allowable.
Claims 5 – 7, 14 - 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JEAN B JEANGLAUDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845