DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 5, 6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
4. Claim 5 recites the limitation "the 2n-th battery pack " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "a 2n-th battery pack ".
5. Claim 6 recites the limitation "the 2n-th battery pack " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "a 2n-th battery pack ".
6. Claim 10 recites the limitation "the circuit board" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "a circuit board".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 10, 15, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ahn et al. (US2020/0358146) as cited in IDS dated 7/7/25.
Regarding claim 1, Ahn discloses a battery sampling assembly(abstract, [0061]-[0075], Figs. 1 & 12), comprising: a carrier part(insulating base board SB of wiring board S, [0075]); a first sampling part(the second end portions L2 of the conductive lines L may correspond to contacts between the bus bars 15 and the conductive lines L, and voltage signals of the battery cells 10 may be input through the second end portions L2 of the conductive lines L [0069]); and
a second sampling part ( the second end portions L2 of the conductive lines L may correspond to input points of the conductive lines L through which temperature signals of the battery cells 10 are input [0070]); wherein: the first sampling part and the second sampling part are fixed to the carrier part(Figs. 1 & 12, [0067]); the first sampling part is configured to sample a first structure of a battery([0069]); and the second sampling part is configured to sample a second structure of the battery([0070]).
Regarding claim 4, Ahn discloses the first sampling part is one of N first sampling parts and the second sampling part is one of N second sampling parts, wherein N is a positive integer equal to or greater than 2(Figs. 1 & 12).
Regarding claim 7, Ahn discloses further comprising: a circuit board(wiring board S [0075]); wherein the circuit board is electrically connected to the first sampling part through a first line and electrically connected to the second sampling part through a second line([0075], Fig. 1 & 12).
Regarding claim 10, Ahn discloses further comprising: a connector([0077]); wherein the connector connects a circuit board and the carrier part(Figs. 1 & 12).
Regarding claim 15, Ahn discloses a battery([0061]), comprising: the battery sampling assembly according to claim 1(Figs. 1 & 12).
Regarding claim 16, Ahn discloses further comprising: a battery pack([0061]), comprising two battery cells connected in series([0064]); wherein the battery pack is electrically connected to the battery sampling assembly(Figs. 1 & 12).
Regarding claim 18, Ahn discloses an electric device, comprising: the battery according to claim 15([0002]-[0003]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (US2020/0358146) as cited in IDS dated 7/7/25 as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, Ahn discloses the first structure comprises two poles of opposite polarities of adjacent battery cells (bus bar 15 connecting battery cells 10 in series to each other by connecting opposite polarities together [0064], [0069], Fig. 1) but does not explicitly disclose the battery comprises a plurality of battery packs, and the first structure comprises two poles of opposite polarities of adjacent battery packs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the battery comprises a plurality of battery packs, and the first structure comprises two poles of opposite polarities of adjacent battery packs in order to provide more output and capacity, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
13. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (US2020/0358146) as cited in IDS dated 7/7/25 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Waldschutz et al. (US 2022/0247026).
Regarding claim 3, Ahn does not explicitly disclose the battery comprises a plurality of battery packs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the battery comprises a plurality of battery packs in order to provide more output and capacity, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Continuing with claim 3, Ahn does not explicitly disclose the second structure comprises a housing of a battery cell in a battery pack.
Waldschutz teaches a device with a carrier (3) having an opening (1) for receiving a battery cell (2) on the casing side, which carrier (3) has a measuring channel (5) extending between a carrier outer wall (4) and the opening (1) for a measuring head (6) which has a locking device for a measuring position set against the battery cell casing (7) (abstract). Waldschutz teaches the measuring head 6 comprises a galvanic contact point 12 of a voltage sensor, which contacts the battery cell casing 7 once the measuring head 6 has been locked in measuring position([0022], Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery sampling assembly of Ahn with the second structure comprises a housing of a battery cell in a battery pack as taught by Waldschutz as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
14. Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (US2020/0358146) as cited in IDS dated 7/7/25 as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Waldschutz et al. (US 2022/0247026).
Regarding claim 5, Ahn discloses the first sampling part is configured to sample a first pole of a battery cell and a second pole of another battery cell ([0064], [0069]) but does not explicitly disclose the n-th first sampling part is configured to sample a first pole of a 2n-th battery pack and a second pole of the (2n−1)-th battery pack; wherein n is a positive integer less than or equal to N.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have 2n-th battery pack wherein n is a positive integer less than or equal to N in order to provide more output and capacity, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Continuing with claim 5, Ahn does not explicitly disclose the n-th second sampling part is configured to sample a housing of the (2n−1)-th battery pack.
Waldschutz teaches a device with a carrier (3) having an opening (1) for receiving a battery cell (2) on the casing side, which carrier (3) has a measuring channel (5) extending between a carrier outer wall (4) and the opening (1) for a measuring head (6) which has a locking device for a measuring position set against the battery cell casing (7) (abstract). Waldschutz teaches the measuring head 6 comprises a galvanic contact point 12 of a voltage sensor, which contacts the battery cell casing 7 once the measuring head 6 has been locked in measuring position([0022], Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery sampling assembly of Ahn with the n-th second sampling part is configured to sample a housing of the (2n−1)-th battery pack as taught by Waldschutz as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 6, Ahn discloses the first sampling part is configured to sample a first pole of a battery cell and a second pole of another battery cell ([0064], [0069]); wherein the second pole and the first pole are opposite in polarity ([0064]) but does not explicitly disclose the n-th first sampling part is configured to sample a first pole of a 2n-th battery pack and a second pole of the (2n−1)-th battery pack; wherein n is a positive integer less than or equal to N.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have 2n-th battery pack wherein n is a positive integer less than or equal to N in order to provide more output and capacity, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Continuing with claim 6, Ahn does not explicitly disclose the n-th second sampling part is configured to sample a housing of the (2n−1)-th battery pack.
Waldschutz teaches a device with a carrier (3) having an opening (1) for receiving a battery cell (2) on the casing side, which carrier (3) has a measuring channel (5) extending between a carrier outer wall (4) and the opening (1) for a measuring head (6) which has a locking device for a measuring position set against the battery cell casing (7) (abstract). Waldschutz teaches the measuring head 6 comprises a galvanic contact point 12 of a voltage sensor, which contacts the battery cell casing 7 once the measuring head 6 has been locked in measuring position([0022], Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery sampling assembly of Ahn with the n-th second sampling part is configured to sample a housing of the (2n−1)-th battery pack as taught by Waldschutz as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
15. Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (US2020/0358146) as cited in IDS dated 7/7/25 as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (CN214754432U) as cited in IDS dated 3/14/24 with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action.
Regarding claim 8, Ahn does not explicitly disclose the circuit board is a flexible printed circuit board, and the flexible printed circuit board and the carrier part are integrally formed into an integrated structure.
Huang teaches the battery module acquisition integration component includes a quick-connect locking socket, an FPC component, an upper insulating film 7, and a lower insulating film 8 (n0027], Fig. 3). Huang teaches the FPC component includes a flexible circuit board FPC 4, a connecting conductive busbar 5, and a conductive strip 6(Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery sampling assembly of Ahn with the circuit board is a flexible printed circuit board, and the flexible printed circuit board and the carrier part are integrally formed into an integrated structure as taught by Huang as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 9, Ahn does not explicitly disclose the first sampling part comprises: a first metal sheet, electrically connected to the first line; and a second metal sheet, laser welded to the first metal sheet and used for electrical connection with two poles of opposite polarities of adjacent battery packs.
Huang teaches the battery module acquisition integration component includes a quick-connect locking socket, an FPC component, an upper insulating film 7, and a lower insulating film 8 (n0027], Fig. 3). Huang teaches the FPC component includes a flexible circuit board FPC 4, a connecting conductive busbar 5, and a conductive strip 6(Fig. 3). The instant claim includes a recitation describing the manner in which the first sampling part is formed: by laser welding. Said recitation appears to be product-by-process language. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. MPEP 2113.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery sampling assembly of Ahn with the first sampling part comprises: a first metal sheet, electrically connected to the first line; and a second metal sheet, laser welded to the first metal sheet and used for electrical connection with two poles of opposite polarities of adjacent battery packs as taught by Huang as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
16. Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (US2020/0358146) as cited in IDS dated 7/7/25 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (CN212810471U) as cited in IDS dated 3/14/24 with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action.
Regarding claim 11, Ahn does not explicitly disclose the carrier part comprises: a first opening, aligned with a connection region of the first sampling part; and a second opening, aligned with a connection region of the second sampling part.
Chen teaches the carrier part (battery bracket 20, Figs. 1, 3, &5) comprises: a first opening(electrode lead out hole 27, Fig. 5), aligned with a connection region of the first sampling part(electrode connection piece 36, Fig. 5); and a second opening(receiving groove 21, Fig. 2-4), aligned with a connection region of the second sampling part(temperature sampling unit 31, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery sampling assembly of Ahn with the carrier part comprises: a first opening, aligned with a connection region of the first sampling part; and a second opening, aligned with a connection region of the second sampling part as taught by Chen as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
17. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (US2020/0358146) as cited in IDS dated 7/7/25 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wartenberg (US2015/0311480) as cited in IDS dated 7/7/25.
Regarding claim 12, Ahn does not explicitly disclose the carrier part comprises a hot pressing film, and the hot pressing film is used to fix, by hot pressing, the first sampling part and the second sampling part.
Wartenberg teaches a battery module having a battery module cover in which conductor tracks for sensors are integrated, and to a method for producing a battery module cover of a battery module([0001]). Wartenberg teaches the circuit carrier is then additively metalized, as a result of which the conductor tracks 13 are achieved in the battery module cover blank(Fig. 3, [0041]). Wartenberg teaches this can be done, for example by hot foil stamping([0041]). The instant claim includes a recitation describing the manner in which the carrier part is formed: by hot pressing. Said recitation appears to be product-by-process language. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. MPEP 2113.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery sampling assembly of Ahn with the carrier part comprises a hot pressing film, and the hot pressing film is used to fix, by hot pressing, the first sampling part and the second sampling part as taught by Wartenberg as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
18. Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (US2020/0358146) as cited in IDS dated 7/7/25 further in view of Wartenberg (US2015/0311480) as cited in IDS dated 7/7/25 as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (CN214754432U) as cited in IDS dated 3/14/24 with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action.
Regarding claim 13, Ahn does not explicitly disclose the hot pressing film comprises: a first film layer and a second film layer; wherein the first sampling part and the second sampling part are hot pressed between the first film layer and the second film layer.
Huang teaches the battery module acquisition integration component includes a quick-connect locking socket, an FPC component, an upper insulating film 7, and a lower insulating film 8 (n0027], Fig. 3). Huang teaches the FPC component includes a flexible circuit board FPC 4, a connecting conductive busbar 5, and a conductive strip 6(Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery sampling assembly of modified Ahn with the hot pressing film comprises: a first film layer and a second film layer; wherein the first sampling part and the second sampling part are hot pressed between the first film layer and the second film layer as taught by Huang as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
19. Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (US2020/0358146) as cited in IDS dated 7/7/25 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Huang (US2018/0250705) as cited in IDS dated 7/7/25 hereinafter referred to as Huang ‘705.
Regarding claim 14, Ahn does not explicitly disclose one surface of the carrier part is provided with an adhesive layer and a protective layer covering a surface of the adhesive layer; and the adhesive layer is used to fix the battery sampling assembly.
Huang ‘705 teaches a hot-press protection release colloid for applying on a surface of an object to be hot-pressed is provided(abstract). Huang ‘705 teaches the hot-press protection release films are respectively superimposed onto the surfaces of a copper-clad, a gum rubber material (a rubber-containing epoxy resin adhesive material), an epoxy resin, and a stainless material([0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery sampling assembly of Ahn with one surface of the carrier part is provided with an adhesive layer and a protective layer covering a surface of the adhesive layer; and the adhesive layer is used to fix the battery sampling assembly as taught by Huang ‘705 as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
20. Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (US2020/0358146) as cited in IDS dated 7/7/25 as applied to claims 1, 15, and 16 above, and further in view of Wartenberg (US2015/0311480) as cited in IDS dated 7/7/25.
Regarding claim 17, Ahn discloses the battery pack (Figs. 1 & 12); the battery sampling assembly comprises a first battery sampling assembly (abstract, [0061]-[0075], Figs. 1 & 12), the first battery sampling assembly comprises S first sampling parts (the second end portions L2 of the conductive lines L may correspond to contacts between the bus bars 15 and the conductive lines L, and voltage signals of the battery cells 10 may be input through the second end portions L2 of the conductive lines L [0069]) and S second sampling parts ( the second end portions L2 of the conductive lines L may correspond to input points of the conductive lines L through which temperature signals of the battery cells 10 are input [0070]); but does not explicitly disclose
the battery pack is one of 2S battery packs of the battery, wherein S is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2; the battery sampling assembly comprises a second battery sampling assembly;
the second battery sampling assembly comprises S−1 first sampling parts and S−1 second sampling parts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the battery of Ahn with the battery pack is one of 2S battery packs of the battery, wherein S is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2; the battery sampling assembly comprises a second battery sampling assembly; the second battery sampling assembly comprises S−1 first sampling parts and S−1 second sampling parts in order to provide more output and capacity, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI).
Continuing with claim 17, Ahn does not explicitly disclose the second sampling parts of the first battery sampling assembly each are electrically connected to a housing of an odd-numbered battery pack, and the second sampling parts of the second battery sampling assembly each are electrically connected to a housing of an even-numbered battery pack.
Waldschutz teaches a device with a carrier (3) having an opening (1) for receiving a battery cell (2) on the casing side, which carrier (3) has a measuring channel (5) extending between a carrier outer wall (4) and the opening (1) for a measuring head (6) which has a locking device for a measuring position set against the battery cell casing (7) (abstract). Waldschutz teaches the measuring head 6 comprises a galvanic contact point 12 of a voltage sensor, which contacts the battery cell casing 7 once the measuring head 6 has been locked in measuring position([0022], Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery of Ahn
with the second sampling parts of the first battery sampling assembly each are electrically connected to a housing of an odd-numbered battery pack, and the second sampling parts of the second battery sampling assembly each are electrically connected to a housing of an even-numbered battery pack as taught by Waldschutz as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
21. Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (US2020/0358146) as cited in IDS dated 7/7/25 in view of Wartenberg (US2015/0311480) as cited in IDS dated 7/7/25.
Regarding claim 19, Ahn discloses a method for manufacturing battery sampling assembly(abstract, [0061]-[0075], Figs. 1 & 12), comprising: arranging a first sampling part (the second end portions L2 of the conductive lines L may correspond to contacts between the bus bars 15 and the conductive lines L, and voltage signals of the battery cells 10 may be input through the second end portions L2 of the conductive lines L [0069]) and a second sampling part( the second end portions L2 of the conductive lines L may correspond to input points of the conductive lines L through which temperature signals of the battery cells 10 are input [0070]); but does not explicitly disclose fixing, by hot pressing, the first sampling part and the second sampling part to a carrier part.
Wartenberg teaches a battery module having a battery module cover in which conductor tracks for sensors are integrated, and to a method for producing a battery module cover of a battery module([0001]). Wartenberg teaches the circuit carrier is then additively metalized, as a result of which the conductor tracks 13 are achieved in the battery module cover blank(Fig. 3, [0041]). Wartenberg teaches this can be done, for example by hot foil stamping([0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Ahn with fixing, by hot pressing, the first sampling part and the second sampling part to a carrier part as taught by Wartenberg as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 20, modified Ahn discloses further comprising, before fixing the first sampling part and the second sampling part to the carrier part: electrically connecting a first line of a circuit board and the first sampling part(Ahn [0069], Figs. 1 & 12); and electrically connecting a second line of the circuit board and the second sampling part(Ahn [0070], Figs. 1 & 12).
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724