DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s Amendment, filed 7/8/2026, has been entered. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hernandez et al. (US 20240181851) in view of Bruning (US 20070085383).
Regarding claim 1: Hernandez discloses an automotive door 12 (Fig. 1; [0047]). Hernandez discloses a door frame 100 and a door panel 200 coupled to the door frame comprising a reinforcement zone (zone containing reinforcement members 800) (Fig. 3; [0047]). Hernandez discloses a reinforcement member 800 disposed at the reinforcement zone (Fig. 3; [0047], [0050]).
Hernandez does not explicitly disclose that the reinforcement member is composed of solidified glue. Bruning discloses a reinforcement member composed of a solidified glue ([0001]-[0007] – Bruning discloses melted plastic beads to form the reinforcement; as the specification does not describe any particular type of glue and as many glues are composed of plastic, the examiner finds that Bruning discloses the generically claimed and described “glue”). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the benefit of the cited art to have configured Hernandez so that the reinforcement member is composed of solidified glue as taught by Bruning. As both Hernandez and Bruning are directed to vehicle doors, as the use of reinforcement members in vehicle doors are very well known in the art, and as Bruning explicitly discloses that reinforcement members may be composed of solidified glue, it would have been within routine skill to have selected a desired reinforcement member material from a finite selection of reinforcement member materials. Such a simple addition/substitution would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation for success and with no unexpected results.
Regarding claim 2: Hernandez, as modified by Bruning, discloses that the reinforcement member is a frequency attenuator (Hernandez – [0063], [0076], [0081]; Bruning – [0010]).
Regarding claim 3: Hernandez, as modified by Bruning, discloses an inner door panel 300 coupled to and spaced apart from the door panel to form a cavity therebetween (Hernandez – Figs. 3, 11; [0047]).
Regarding claim 4: Hernandez, as modified by Bruning, discloses that the reinforcement member is a frequency attenuator attenuating a resonance frequency with the cavity (Hernandez – [0063], [0076], [0081]; Bruning – [0010]).
Regarding claim 5: Hernandez, as modified by Bruning, discloses that the reinforcement zone comprises a first reinforcement zone and a second reinforcement zone and the reinforcement member comprises a first reinforcement member and a second reinforcement member (Hernandez – [0047] – multiple reinforcement members).
Regarding claim 6: Hernandez, as modified by Bruning, discloses that the first reinforcement member is a first frequency attenuator and the second reinforcement member is a second frequency attenuator (Hernandez – [0063], [0076], [0081]; Bruning – [0010]).
Regarding claim 7: Hernandez, as modified by Bruning, discloses an automotive vehicle (Hernandez – 10) comprising a vehicle body, a first door (Hernandez – 12) comprising the automotive door of claim 1 (Hernandez – Fig. 1; [0047]).
Regarding claim 8: Hernandez, as modified by Bruning, discloses a second door (Hernandez – 12) comprising the door of claim 1 (Hernandez – Fig. 1; [0047]).
Regarding claim 9: Hernandez, as modified by Bruning, discloses a method comprising determining a reinforcement zone for a door panel (Hernandez – Figs. 1, 3; [0047]). Hernandez, as modified by Bruning, discloses heating glue (see above; Bruning – [0001]-[0007] – Bruning discloses melted plastic beads to form the reinforcement; as the specification does not describe any particular type of glue and as many glues are composed of plastic, the examiner finds that Bruning discloses the generically claimed and described “glue”). Hernandez, as modified by Bruning, discloses applying the glue on an inside of the door panel (Hernandez – Fig. 3; [0047]; Bruning - [0001]-[0007]; Hernandez discloses the reinforcement member and Bruning substitutes the glue for Hernandez’s element 800). Hernandez, as modified by Bruning, discloses cooling the glue in the reinforcement zone to form a reinforcement member of the door panel (Hernandez discloses the reinforcement member and Bruning substitutes the glue for Hernandez’s element 800; as the claim is not specific regarding when/where the cooling and heating is done, the examiner finds that the combination of Hernandez and Bruning disclose the claims as recited).
Regarding claim 12: Hernandez, as modified by Bruning, discloses that cooling the glue comprises forming a resonance frequency attenuator (Bruning - [0001]-[0007]; as the claim is not specific regarding when/where the cooling is done, the examiner finds that Bruning disclose the claim as recited).
Regarding claim 14: Hernandez, as modified by Bruning, discloses that determining the reinforcement zone comprises determining a first reinforcement zone and a second reinforcement zone of the door panel (Hernandez – [0047] – multiple reinforcement members and thus multiple zones).
Regarding claim 15: Hernandez, as modified by Bruning, discloses applying glue to the first reinforcement zone and the second reinforcement zone (Hernandez – Fig. 3; [0047]; Bruning - [0001]-[0007]; Hernandez discloses the reinforcement member and Bruning substitutes the glue for Hernandez’s element 800).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hernandez et al. (US 20240181851) and Bruning (US 20070085383), as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Yamato et al. (US 20170113633).
Hernandez and Bruning disclose the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above.
Regarding claim 10: Hernandez, as modified by Bruning, does not explicitly disclose determining a resonance frequency of the door panel. Yamato discloses determining a resonance frequency of the door panel ([0051]-[0052]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the benefit of the cited art to have configured Hernandez, as modified by Bruning, to determine a resonance frequency of the door panel as taught by Yamato. As Hernandez, Bruning, and Yamato are directed to vehicle door noise suppression, as the use of vehicle noise suppression is very well known in the art, and as Yamato explicitly discloses determining a resonance frequency of the door panel, it would have been within routine skill to have selected to perform desired noise creation testing on a door panel from a finite selection of door panel noise tests. Such a simple addition/substitution and selection would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation for success and with no unexpected results.
Regarding claim 11: Hernandez, as modified by Bruning and Yamato, discloses determining the reinforcement zone to reduce the resonance frequency (Hernandez – [0063], [0076], [0081]; Bruning – [0010]; Yamato – [0053]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Reinforcement members and noise suppression in automobile doors, including the various structures, structural positioning, positioning relationships, and method steps are well known in the arts. Representative art which appears close to the claimed invention includes Hernandez et al. (US 20240181851), Bruning (US 20070085383), Yamato et al. (US 20170113633), Kovie et al. (US 20230101929), Kovie et al. (US 20230077789), Iozzo et al. (US 20200384834), Muta et al. (US 20200248488), Hummer et al. (US 10603990), and Hanley et al. (US 20180171087). In general, this art, alone or in combination, discloses various recited features, including but not limited to, automotive doors, door frames, door panels, reinforcement members within a reinforcement zone created by the door and door panel, using a solidified glue to form the reinforcement member, and heating and cooling the glue to form the reinforcement member. However, this art fails to disclose or fairly suggest the specifically combined operational steps and positional interconnection relationships. Specifically, the art does not disclose some of the specific method steps of creating the reinforcement member when combined with other recited operational steps. It could be argued that as the individual structure is generally known in the art, such could just be assembled to disclose the claimed invention. However, the instant invention clearly and specifically recites structural relationships, steps, and combinations, which require a greater effort than just cobbling together known structures. Further, the claimed structures are sufficiently detailed to be distinguishable when configured as claimed. The examiner can find no motivation to combine or modify the references which would define a fully functioning apparatus as claimed in the instant application. Thus, it would not have been within routine skill to glean the specifically combined limitations of the instant invention, from the art, without the benefit of hindsight reasoning or extensive experimentation.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ amendments and arguments, filed 7/8/2026, with respect to the previous rejections of claims 1-15 have been fully considered and they are at least partially persuasive. The objections/rejections that have been withdrawn are not repeated herein.
Applicants argue that Bruning does not disclose "solidified glue" as recited by claim 1 or the heating, applying, and cooling of "glue" as recited by claim 9. Applicants bolster this assertion by quoting how the Bruning reinforcement is made (i.e. in a mold). Applicants further assert that the plastic pellets of Brunning are “welded” together as opposed to being brought together through adhesion. Further applicants assert that Brunings liquid plastic is not a glue as glue is an adhesive material applied to bond surfaces together. Applicants conclude that there would be no motivation to substitute Bruning's welded foam beads for Hernandez's reinforcement member 800 to arrive at a "reinforcement member disposed at the reinforcement zone composed of solidified glue" as recited by claim 1.
The examiner disagrees with applicants’ assertions and arguments. Although some of applicants’ arguments have merit, it should be noted that claims 1 and 9 are extremely broad and are therefore easily disclosed by the teachings of Hernandez and Bruning. Among other broadness issues, applicants’ claims do not recite:
when/where the reinforcement member is made;
any definition of what constitutes the glue (i.e. so as to differentiate the recited glue from any other type of common glue or the glue made by the Bruning process); and
that the glue is used to adhere any parts of the vehicle to each other.
Regarding applicants’ arguments directed to claims 10-11, it is noted that Yamato was not cited for that already disclosed by Hernandez and Bruning.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Taras P Bemko/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672
8/17/2026