Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. 2023/0292629 A1, hereinafter refer to Liu) in view of WU et al. (U.S. 2021/0385985 A1, hereinafter refer to Wu).
Regarding Claim 1: Liu discloses a magnetic memory device (see Liu, Fig.3I as shown below and ¶ [0014]) comprising:
a lower structure (146/145) (see Liu, Fig.3I as shown above);
a bottom electrode (150) provided on the lower structure (146/145) and formed of a conductive material (see Liu, Fig.3I as shown above and ¶ [0047]);
a top electrode (154) provided above the bottom electrode (150) (see Liu, Fig.3I as shown above and ¶ [0050]);
a magnetoresistance effect element (152) provided between the bottom electrode (150) and the top electrode (154) (see Liu, Fig.3I as shown above and ¶ [0048]- ¶ [0049]); and
an oxide insulating layer (160) including a first portion provided on a side surface of the bottom electrode (150) and a second portion provided on a side surface of the magnetoresistance effect element (152), and formed of an oxide of the conductive material (Fe, Co, other metal elements in the MTJ device) of electrode (see Liu, Fig.3I as shown above and ¶[0052]- ¶ [0053]).
Liu is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the conductive material of the bottom electrode contains an element selected from hafnium (Hf), aluminum (Al), silicon (Si), iron (Fe), cobalt (Co), magnesium (Mg) and gadolinium (Gd).
For support see WU, which teaches wherein the conductive material of the bottom electrode (261) contains an element selected from hafnium (Hf), aluminum (Al), silicon (Si), iron (Fe), cobalt (Co), magnesium (Mg) and gadolinium (Gd) (see WU, Fig.1, ¶ [0019], ¶ [0051], and ¶ [0053]).
Liu discloses the claimed invention except for the material of bottom electrode. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu and WU to enable iron (Fe), cobalt (Co), or magnesium (Mg), material for the Liu’s bottom electrode alternative to the bottom electrode materials of Liu’s as taught by WU in order to obtain a high-density memory cell array that keep fast memory speeds and to perform a reliable read/write operations and/or to achieve better performance, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Note: practicing the combination of Liu and Wu to modify the bottom electrode materials of Liu according to the teachings of WU necessary results the oxide insulating layer and the bottom electrode to be formed from conductive materials of iron (Fe), cobalt (Co), or magnesium (Mg).
Regarding Claim 2: Liu as modified teaches a magnetic memory device as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Liu and WU further teaches wherein the oxide insulating layer (160) further includes a third portion provided on the lower structure (145/146) and adjacent to the bottom electrode (150) (see Liu, Fig.3I as shown above).
Regarding Claim 3: Liu as modified teaches a magnetic memory device as set forth in claim 2 as above. The combination of Liu and WU further teaches wherein the lower structure (145/146) includes an interlayer insulating layer (142), and the third portion is provided on the interlayer insulating layer (142) (see Liu, Fig.3I as shown above).
Regarding Claim 4: Liu as modified teaches a magnetic memory device as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Liu and WU further teaches wherein the lower structure (145/146) includes a columnar electrode (145/146), and the bottom electrode (150) is connected to the columnar electrode (145/146) (see Liu, Fig.3I as shown above).
Regarding Claim 7: Liu as modified teaches a magnetic memory device as set forth in claim 4 as above. The combination of Liu and WU further teaches wherein the lower structure (145/146) further includes an interlayer insulating layer (142) surrounding a side surface of the columnar electrode (145/146) (see Liu, Fig.3I as shown above).
Regarding Claim 8: Liu as modified teaches a magnetic memory device as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Liu and WU further teaches wherein an upper surface of the bottom electrode (150) is planarized (see Liu, Fig.3I as shown above).
Regarding Claim 9: Liu as modified teaches a magnetic memory device as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Liu and WU further teaches wherein the conductive material contains an element selected from hafnium (Hf), aluminum (Al), silicon (Si), iron (Fe), cobalt (Co), tantalum (Ta), magnesium (Mg) and gadolinium (Gd) (see Liu, Fig.3I as shown above and ¶[0052]- ¶ [0053]).
Claim(s) 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. 2023/0292629 A1, hereinafter refer to Liu) and WU et al. (U.S. 2021/0385985 A1, hereinafter refer to Wu) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of SUH et al. (U.S. 2017/0069684 A1, hereinafter refer to SUH).
Regarding Claim 5: Liu as modified teaches a magnetic memory device as applied to claim 4 above. The combination of Liu and WU is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the bottom electrode has a recess based on an upper portion of the columnar electrode.
For support see SUH, which teaches wherein the bottom electrode (222) has a recess based on an upper portion of the columnar electrode (212) (see SUH, Fig.7 as shown below and ¶ [0004]- ¶ [0005]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, WU, and SUH to enable the Liu’s bottom electrode to have a recess based on an upper portion of the columnar electrode as taught by SUH in order to obtain magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM) devices having good characteristics.
Regarding Claim 6: Liu as modified teaches a magnetic memory device as applied to claim 4 above. The combination of Liu and WU is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the bottom electrode has a portion protruding toward an upper surface of the columnar electrode.
For support see SUH, which teaches wherein the bottom electrode (222) has a portion protruding toward an upper surface of the columnar electrode (212) (see SUH, Fig.7 as shown above and ¶ [0004]- ¶ [0005]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, WU, and SUH to enable the Liu’s bottom electrode to have a portion protruding toward an upper surface of the columnar electrode as taught by SUH in order to obtain magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM) devices having good characteristics.
Claim(s) 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. 2023/0292629 A1, hereinafter refer to Liu) and WU et al. (U.S. 2021/0385985 A1, hereinafter refer to Wu) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kanaya (U.S. 2021/0257413 A1, hereinafter refer to Kanaya).
Regarding Claim 10: Liu as modified teaches a magnetic memory device as applied to claim 1 above. The combination of Liu and WU is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the magnetoresistance effect element includes a first magnetic layer having a variable magnetization direction, a second magnetic layer having a fixed magnetization direction, and a nonmagnetic layer provided between the first magnetic layer and the second magnetic layer.
For support see Kanaya, which teaches wherein the magnetoresistance effect element (50) includes a first magnetic layer (45) having a variable magnetization direction, a second magnetic layer having a fixed magnetization direction (47), and a nonmagnetic layer (46) provided between the first magnetic layer (45) and the second magnetic layer (47) (see Kanaya, Figs.3-4 as shown below, ¶ [0026], ¶ [0029], ¶ [0070], and ¶ [0047]- ¶ [0052]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, WU, and Kanaya to enable the Liu’s magnetoresistance effect element to include a first magnetic layer having a variable magnetization direction, a second magnetic layer having a fixed magnetization direction, and a nonmagnetic layer to be provided between the first magnetic layer and the second magnetic layer as taught by Kanaya in order to directly rewriting the magnetization of the MTJ element by causing electrons whose magnetization direction is polarized in one direction to flow into the MTJ element and to obtain a semiconductor memory device capable of performing stable writing and reading operations.
Regarding Claim 11: Liu as modified teaches a magnetic memory device as applied to claim 1 above. The combination of Liu and WU is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the lower structure includes a switching element connected to the magnetoresistance effect element via the bottom electrode.
For support see Kanaya, which teaches wherein the lower structure (20/50/70) includes a switching element (50) connected to the magnetoresistance effect element (50) via the bottom electrode (62) (see Kanaya, Figs.3-4 as shown above, ¶ [0026], ¶ [0029], ¶ [0036], and ¶ [0070]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, WU, and Kanaya to enable the lower structure to include a switching element connected to the magnetoresistance effect element via the bottom electrode as taught by Kanaya in order to directly rewriting the magnetization of the MTJ element by causing electrons whose magnetization direction is polarized in one direction to flow into the MTJ element and to obtain a semiconductor memory device capable of performing stable writing and reading operations.
Regarding Claim 12: Liu as modified teaches a magnetic memory device as set forth in claim 11 as above. The combination of Liu, WU, and Kanaya further teaches wherein a first wiring line (20) extending along a first direction and connected to the switching element (50) (see Kanaya, Figs.3-4 as shown above and Fig.2); and
a second wiring line (10) extending along a second direction intersecting the first direction and connected to the magnetoresistance effect element (40) via the top electrode (64) (see Kanaya, Figs.3-4 as shown above).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812