DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 03/15/2024, 09/04/2024, 05/01/2025 and 07/31/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by CN107104245A to Wang et al. (Google Translation)
With respect to claims 1 and 2, Wang et al. teach a lithium secondary battery comprising: a positive electrode; a negative electrode; a separator interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and a non-aqueous electrolyte, wherein the positive electrode includes a positive electrode active material, the positive electrode material includes 0.25Li2MnO3·0.75Li(Ni0.5Mn0.5)O2 (a perlithium manganese-rich oxide) containing about 62.5% (50 mol % or more) of Mn based on all metal elements excluding lithium, and having a molar ratio of lithium to transition metal of 1.25 (exceeding about 1), the non-aqueous electrolyte includes a lithium ion and an organic solvent, the organic solvent includes a first organic solvent and a second organic solvent, the first organic solvent includes ethylene carbonate, and the second organic solvent includes diethyl carbonate and propyl propionate (Wang et al.: Page 8; Example 12).
With respect to claim 3, Wang et al. teach the lithium secondary battery, wherein mass ratio of the first organic solvent and the second organic solvent is about 15:41 or a calculated volume ratio of 17:83 (a volume ratio of the first organic solvent and the second organic solvent is about 10:90 to 50:50) (Wang et al.: Page 8; Example 12).
With respect to claim 4, Wang et al. teach the lithium secondary battery, wherein a volume ratio of the diethyl carbonate and the propyl propionate is about 28:72 (about 1:99 to 99:1) (Wang et al.: Page 8; Example 12).
With respect to claim 5, Wang et al. teach the lithium secondary battery, wherein a volume ratio of the diethyl carbonate and the propyl propionate is about 28:72 (about 12:88 to 88:12) (Wang et al.: Page 8; Example 12).
With respect to claim 6, Wang et al. teach the lithium secondary battery, wherein the organic solvent includes about 15% by mass or about 15% by volume (10% by volume to 50% by volume) of the ethylene carbonate, about 15% by mass or 21% by volume (5% by volume to 80% by volume) of the diethyl carbonate, and about 36% by mass or 54% by volume (5% by volume to 80% by volume) of the propyl propionate (about 12:88 to 88:12) (Wang et al.: Page 8; Example 12).
With respect to claim 7, Wang et al. teach the lithium secondary battery, wherein the second organic solvent further includes ethyl methyl carbonate (Wang et al.: Page 4, Paragraph 9).
With respect to claim 8, Wang et al. teach the lithium secondary battery, wherein the second organic solvent further includes ethyl methyl carbonate (Wang et al.: Page 4, Paragraph 9).
With respect to claim 9, Wang et al. teach the lithium secondary battery, wherein the non-aqueous electrolyte further includes an additive, and the additive includes vinylene carbonate (Wang et al.: Page 4, Paragraph 9).
With respect to claim 10, Wang et al. teach the lithium secondary battery, wherein the lithium salt includes LiPF6 (Wang et al.: Page 8; Example 12).
With respect to claim 11, Wang et al. teach the lithium secondary battery, wherein the lithium salt is included in the non-aqueous electrolyte in a molar concentration of 1.2 M (about 0.5 M to 5.0 M) (Wang et al.: Page 8; Example 12).
With respect to claim 12, Wang et al. teach the lithium secondary battery, wherein the negative electrode includes a negative electrode active material, and the negative electrode active material includes pure silicon nano wire or native graphite (Wang et al.: Page 8; Example 12).
With respect to claims 13 and 14, Wang et al. teach a method of manufacturing a lithium secondary battery, comprising: storing, in a battery case, an electrode assembly including a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and injecting a non-aqueous electrolyte into the battery case in which the electrode assembly is stored, wherein the positive electrode includes a positive electrode active material, the positive electrode material includes 0.25Li2MnO3·0.75Li(Ni0.5Mn0.5)O2 (a perlithium manganese-rich oxide) containing about 62.5% (50 mol % or more) of Mn based on all metal elements excluding lithium, and having a molar ratio of lithium to transition metal of 1.25 (exceeding about 1), the non-aqueous electrolyte includes a lithium ion and an organic solvent, the organic solvent includes a first organic solvent and a second organic solvent, the first organic solvent includes ethylene carbonate, and the second organic solvent includes diethyl carbonate and propyl propionate (Wang et al.: Page 8; Example 12).
With respect to claim 15, Wang et al. teach the method, wherein mass ratio of the first organic solvent and the second organic solvent is about 15:41 or a calculated volume ratio of 17:83 (a volume ratio of the first organic solvent and the second organic solvent is about 10:90 to 50:50) (Wang et al.: Page 8; Example 12).
With respect to claim 16, Wang et al. teach the method, wherein a volume ratio of the diethyl carbonate and the propyl propionate is about 28:72 (about 1:99 to 99:1) (Wang et al.: Page 8; Example 12).
With respect to claim 17, Wang et al. teach the method, wherein a volume ratio of the diethyl carbonate and the propyl propionate is about 28:72 (about 12:88 to 88:12) (Wang et al.: Page 8; Example 12).
With respect to claim 18, Wang et al. teach the method, wherein the organic solvent includes about 15% by mass or about 15% by volume (10% by volume to 50% by volume) of the ethylene carbonate, about 15% by mass or 21% by volume (5% by volume to 80% by volume) of the diethyl carbonate, and about 36% by mass or 54% by volume (5% by volume to 80% by volume) of the propyl propionate (about 12:88 to 88:12) (Wang et al.: Page 8; Example 12).
Conclusion
/LINGWEN R ZENG/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 9/23/2026