DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plurality of mutually spaced silicon photonic chips, each having a top surface, a bottom surface and side surfaces and incorporating an optical signal processing element, wherein a port connected to the optical signal processing element is provided on one of the side surfaces; transparent cushioning material layers, which are provided on said side surfaces of the respective silicon photonic chip so as to cover the respective ports; and a plastic encapsulation layer, which is filled in gaps around each silicon photonic chip to electrically isolate these silicon photonic chips, wherein grooves for receiving fiber optics therein are provided in the plastic encapsulation layer, each of the grooves extending towards the port of a respective one of the silicon photonic chips and one end of each groove terminating within a respective one of the transparent cushioning material layers, thereby allowing the ports of the respective silicon photonic chips to be optically connected to the respective fiber optics through the respective transparent cushioning material layers and to receive optical signals must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkatesan (US 11,686,906 B1) and Chern (US 2025/0062300 A1).
Venkatesan teaches:
1. A silicon photonic chip package module (Figs. 30C-D), comprising:
a silicon photonic chip (3002) having a top surface, a bottom surface and side surfaces (see Figs. 30C-D) and incorporating an optical signal processing element (3020), wherein a port (right end of each 3044) connected to the optical signal processing element (3020) is provided on one of the side surfaces (right);
an outer layer (not labeled) that surrounds the side surfaces of the chip (3002) (see Fig. 30D, the outer layer) and thus circumferentially surrounds the chip (3002);
a transparent cushioning material layer (SSCs) provided on said side surface of the silicon photonic chip (3002) so as to cover the port (right ends of 3044); and
wherein a groove (3050) for receiving a fiber optic therein is provided in the layer (see Fig. 3D, 3050 is within the overall footprint formed by the outer layer), the groove (3050) extending towards the port (ends of 3044) and one end of the groove terminating within the transparent cushioning material layer (SSCs) (see Fig. 3B), thereby allowing the port to be optically connected to the fiber optic (part of 350) through the transparent cushioning material (SSCs) layer and to receive an optical signal (C87 L37-55).
10. A silicon photonic chip package module (Figs. 30C-D), comprising:
a plurality of mutually spaced silicon photonic chips (3002 with 3020), each having a top surface, a bottom surface and side surfaces and incorporating an optical signal processing element (laser devices) (C87 L37-55), wherein a port (right ends of 3044) connected to the optical signal processing element (part of 3020) is provided on one of the side surfaces (see Fig. 30D);
transparent cushioning material layers (SSCs), which are provided on said side surfaces of the respective silicon photonic chip (3002, 3020) so as to cover the respective ports (see Fig 30D); and
an outer layer (not labeled), which is filled in gaps around each silicon photonic chip (3020) to electrically isolate these silicon photonic chips (see Fig 30D),
wherein grooves (3050) for receiving fiber optics therein are provided in the outer layer, each of the grooves (3050) extending towards the port of a respective one of the silicon photonic chips (3020) and one end of each groove terminating within a respective one of the transparent cushioning material layers (SSCs), thereby allowing the ports of the respective silicon photonic chips (3020) to be optically connected to the respective fiber optics through the respective transparent cushioning material layers (SSCs) and to receive optical signals (C87 L37-55).
Venkatesan does not teach expressly a plastic encapsulation layer, which at least surrounds the side surfaces of the silicon photonic chip and thus at least circumferentially encapsulates the silicon photonic chip. Venkatesan shows the PIC having material surrounding each device (3020, 3030), the optics (3044, SSCs) and fiber optic cable mounting block (3050) (see Fig. 30D), but does not say it is a plastic encapsulation layer.
Chern teaches a silicon photonic chip package module (600, Figs. 6, 14) with an epoxy plastic encapsulation layer (318) that surrounds side surfaces of photonic chips (106) (P0047, 0067, 0083).
Venkatesan and Chern are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, silicon photonic chip package modules.
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the module of Venkatesan to have the outer layer surrounding the chip shown in Fig. 30D to be an epoxy plastic encapsulation layer as taught by Chern.
The motivation for doing so would have been to protect the chips while providing support for coupled optics (Chern, P0047, 0083).
Regarding claims 2-3 and 11-14: Venkatesan and Chern do not state wherein the transparent cushioning material layer has a light transmittance of 95% or higher or a thickness of 50-100 microns or the chips are spaced 50-100 microns from each other. Venkatesan does teach the cushioning material layer being spot size converters (SSCs). Spot size converters facilitate coupling signals through the PIC (C24 L30-35), therefore a person of ordinary skill the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to try having the cushioning material layer to have 95% plus light transmittance, since it has been held that “it is obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success” is a rationale for arriving at a conclusion of obviousness. In re KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. Again, Venkatesan teaches this layer being spot size converters, which are for signal coupling so near 100% light transmittance would be predicable and would succeed because there is no case for low transmittance this this layer.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to try a thickness of the spot size converters of Venkatesan of 50-100 microns, since it has been held that “it is obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success” is a rationale for arriving at a conclusion of obviousness. In re KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. Applicant’s own cushioning layer is also a spot size converter and therefore it would have been predictable for a person of ordinary skill in the art that the thickness of a spot size converter be in a range of known converters such as 50-100 microns.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to try having the chips spaced from each other 50-100 microns from each other, since it has been held that “it is obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success” is a rationale for arriving at a conclusion of obviousness. In re KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. Venkatesan show the chips being spaced from each other, yet four provided on the chip (see Fig. 30D), therefore it would have been predictable to try spacing the chips 50-100 microns from each other since this is consistent with known dimensions of these types of photonic package modules.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to try having the V-groove width be 10 microns to 1 mm, since it has been held that “it is obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success” is a rationale for arriving at a conclusion of obviousness. In re KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. Venkatesan the V-grooves housing optical fibers therefore one of ordinary skill the art would identify a groove width of 10 microns to 1 mm since this range would accommodate known fiber optics.
Venkatesan further teaches:
4/15. The silicon photonic chip package module of claim 1/10, wherein the transparent cushioning material layer (SSCs) has a height (part of 3058, so that height, see Fig. 30C) less than a height of the silicon photonic chip (3002) (see Fig. 30C, the height of the waveguide core layer is far less than the height of the overall chip).
5/16. The silicon photonic chip package module of claim 1/10, wherein the transparent cushioning material layer (SSCs) is configured as an optical element for modifying an optical signal from the fiber optic (spot size converting).
Regarding claims 6 and 17: Venkatesan and Chern do not state the spot size converters are is configured as an optical element in the form of a frustum of a cone, the frustum having a large base coupled to the side surface with the port provided therein, the frustum having a smaller base configured to be coupled to the fiber optic.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to try making the cushioning layer of Venkatesan and Chern in the shape of a frustum of a cone, the frustum having a large base coupled to the side surface with the port provided therein, the frustum having a smaller base configured to be coupled to the fiber optic, since it has been held that “it is obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success” is a rationale for arriving at a conclusion of obviousness. In re KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. This shape described a spot size converter and Venkatesan teaches this layer is a spot size converter, so the claimed shape would have been predictable to use in Venkatesan with an expectation of success since a spot size converter is the exact component used as this layer.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkatesan and Chern as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yu et al (CN 110488434 A1) and the corresponding machine translation.
Venkatesan and Chern teach the silicon photonic chip package module previously discussed.
Venkatesan and Chern do not teach expressly:
7. The silicon photonic chip package module of claim 1, wherein: solder pads are provided on the top surface of the silicon photonic chip; the plastic encapsulation layer comprises: a first surface located on the same side of the silicon photonic chip package module as the top surface of the first surface and the silicon photonic chip; and a plurality of through holes, which extend through the plastic encapsulation layer in a direction of a thickness of the plastic encapsulation layer; and the silicon photonic chip package module further comprises a metal interconnect layer, which covers the first surface and part of the top surface and is electrically connected to the solder pads.
8. The silicon photonic chip package module of claim 1, further comprising first and second passivation layers for isolating the metal interconnect layer, the first passivation layer covering the first surface and the top surface and partially covered by the metal interconnect layer, the second passivation layer covering the metal interconnect layer and the first passivation layer.
9. The silicon photonic chip package module of claim 8, wherein first and second via holes are provided in the first passivation layer, and a conductive material is filled in the first and second via holes, one end of the conductive material filled in the first and second via holes electrically connected to the metal interconnect layer, the other end of the conductive material filled in the first and second via holes electrically connected to the conductive material filled in the through holes and the solder pads on the silicon photonic chip, thereby accomplishing electrical connection of the silicon photonic chip package module on the first surface, and wherein via holes are provided in the second passivation layer, and a conductive material is filled in the via holes to form a number of solder pads, one end of the solder pads are connected to the metal interconnect layer and the other end of the solder pads are exposed by the second passivation layer, thereby allowing the metal interconnect layer to be connected to an external circuit.
Yu teaches a silicon photonic chip package module (Figs. 1-3) wherein the module is the same disclosed by applicant. See the currently applicant’s drawings Figs. 1, 2 and 4 are the same as Yu Figs. 1-3 with the same reference numbers. Therefore, Yu clearly teaches : solder pads (at 500) are provided on the top surface of the silicon photonic chip (100); the plastic encapsulation layer comprises: a first surface located on the same side of the silicon photonic chip package module as the top surface of the first surface and the silicon photonic chip (see Fig. 3); and a plurality of through holes, which extend through the plastic encapsulation layer in a direction of a thickness of the plastic encapsulation layer (steps S6 and S7 in the translation); and the silicon photonic chip package module further comprises a metal interconnect layer (400), which covers the first surface and part of the top surface and is electrically connected to the solder pads (see Fig. 3);
first and second passivation layers (310, 320) for isolating the metal interconnect layer (400), the first passivation layer (310) covering the first surface and the top surface and partially covered by the metal interconnect layer (400), the second passivation layer (320) covering the metal interconnect layer (400) and the first passivation layer (310) (Fig. 3);
wherein first and second via holes are provided in the first passivation layer (310) (step S6 and S7), and a conductive material is filled in the first and second via holes (steps S6-S7), one end of the conductive material filled in the first and second via holes electrically connected to the metal interconnect layer (400), the other end of the conductive material filled in the first and second via holes electrically connected to the conductive material filled in the through holes and the solder pads on the silicon photonic chip (100), thereby accomplishing electrical connection of the silicon photonic chip package module on the first surface, and wherein via holes are provided in the second passivation layer (320), and a conductive material is filled in the via holes to form a number of solder pads, one end of the solder pads are connected to the metal interconnect layer (400) and the other end of the solder pads are exposed by the second passivation layer (320), thereby allowing the metal interconnect layer to be connected to an external circuit (see steps S6-S10).
Venkatesan, Chern and Yu are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, photonic chip package modules.
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the module taught by Venkatesan and Chern to use the solder pads, metal interconnector layers, passivation layers and via holes as taught by Yu.
The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce cost and complexity by using a known electrical chip layers already described by Yu.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references teach photonic chip package modules with particular fiber coupling with an integrated PIC: US 2003/0021551, US 7657136, US 8818114, US 2016/0070074, US 2018/0180808, US 10162139, US 2020/0057216, US 10777430, US 10866373, US 11105989, US 11209598, US 11415761, US 11422322, US 20230228953, US 20240027710, US 2024/0111090, US 11966090, US 12061371, US 2024/0337799, US 12411291.
Contact Information
/RYAN A LEPISTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874