DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 02/12/2026. The previous objections to the claims have been withdrawn. Claims 1, 4-13, and 16-20 remain pending for consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauerlein (US 3188827) in view of Moon (KR20130070995A).
Regarding claim 1, Bauerlein teaches a twist ice tray assembly (ice making apparatus 10 Fig. 1) for a refrigerator appliance (disclosed “household refrigerator” Col. 2 lines 3-14), the twist ice tray assembly comprising: a first ice tray (ice tray 12 Fig. 1) in downstream fluid communication with a fill tube of the refrigerator appliance (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Bauerlein), the first ice tray comprising a first tray surface (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Bauerlein), a first mold body (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Bauerlein), and an overflow spout (upper lip 28 Figs. 2-3), the first mold body extending downward from the first tray surface (Fig. 1) to define a first plurality of compartments (upper ice mold wells 26 Fig. 2) for receiving liquid water (disclosed “water” in Col. 2 lines 37-67) from the fill tube (Col. 2 lines 37-67), the overflow spout extending outward from the first tray surface (Figs. 2-3), the overflow spout defining an overflow channel (trough 27 Fig. 2) in fluid communication with the first plurality of compartments (Col. 2 lines 37-67 and Fig. 1); the first tray surface defining a first plurality of channels (troughs 33 Fig. 3 and Col. 2 lines 45-51), each channel of the first plurality of channels (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Bauerlein) being positioned between adjacent compartments of the first plurality of compartments (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Bauerlein) to fluidly couple the adjacent compartments (Col. 2 lines 51-57), the first plurality of compartments comprising a first starter compartment (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Bauerlein and Col. 2 lines 51-57) and an overflow compartment (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Bauerlein and Col. 2 lines 51-57), wherein the overflow compartment is in fluid communication with the first starter compartment via the first plurality of channels (Col. 2 lines 51-57), and wherein the overflow compartment is in fluid communication with the overflow channel (Col. 2 lines 51-57); and a second ice tray (ice tray 11 Fig. 1) comprising a second tray surface (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Bauerlein) and a second mold body (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Bauerlein), the second mold body extending downward from the second tray surface (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Bauerlein), the second mold body defining a second plurality of compartments (lower ice mold wells 26 Fig. 2), wherein the first ice tray and the second ice tray are positioned in a side-by-side arrangement (Fig. 3), and wherein the overflow spout is configured to selectively interface with the second tray surface (Figs. 3-4 where upper lip 28 selectively communicates with ice tray 11).
Bauerlein teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the overflow channel in downstream fluid communication with the first plurality of compartments, wherein the first starter compartment is in direct fluid communication with the fill tube”.
However, Moon teaches an overflow channel (Figs. 3 and 6 where the side opening of overflow prevention part 240 of first tray 210 corresponds to the overflow channel of Bauerlein) in downstream fluid communication with a first plurality of compartments (Figs. 3 and 6 where freezing spaces 201 of first tray 210 correspond to the first plurality of compartments of Bauerlein), wherein a first starter compartment (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Moon) is in direct fluid communication with a fill tube (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Moon) to uniformly supplied water to the ice trays (paragraph [0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Bauerlein to include “the overflow channel in downstream fluid communication with the first plurality of compartments, wherein the first starter compartment is in direct fluid communication with the fill tube” in view of the teachings of Moon to uniformly supplied water to the ice trays.
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach wherein the second tray surface defines a second plurality of channels (lower troughs 33 Figs. 2-3 of Bauerlein), and wherein each channel of the second plurality of channel (each lower trough 33 Figs. 2-3 of Bauerlein) is positioned between adjacent compartments of the second plurality of compartments (Figs. 2-3 of Bauerlein) to fluidly couple the adjacent compartments (Figs. 2-3 of Bauerlein).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach wherein the second plurality of compartments includes a second starter compartment (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Bauerlein and Col. 2 lines Col. 2 lines 51-57), wherein the second starter compartment (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Moon) is in direct fluid communication with the overflow channel (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Moon).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach wherein the first ice tray further comprises a first drive shaft (shaft 25 Figs. 3 and 6 of Bauerlein), wherein the first drive shaft extends through the first tray surface (Col. 2 lines 15-31 of Bauerlein), wherein the first drive shaft includes a first end (end of shaft 25 connected to tab 21 Fig. 2 of Bauerlein) and a second end (end of shaft 25 connected to tab 22 Fig. 2 of Bauerlein), wherein the first end of the first drive shaft is positioned at a first end of the first tray surface (Fig. 2 of Bauerlein), wherein the second end of the first drive shaft is positioned at a second end of the first tray surface (Fig. 2 of Bauerlein), wherein the second ice tray further comprises a second drive shaft (shaft 24 Figs. 2-3 of Bauerlein), wherein the second drive shaft extends through the second tray surface (Figs. 2-3 of Bauerlein), wherein the second drive shaft includes a first end (end of shaft 24 connected to tab 21 Fig. 2 of Bauerlein) and a second end (end of shaft 24 connected to tab 22 Fig. 2 of Bauerlein), wherein the first end of the second drive shaft is positioned at a first end of the second tray surface (Fig. 2 of Bauerlein), and wherein the second end of the second drive shaft is positioned at a second end of the second tray surface (Fig. 2 of Bauerlein).
Claims 7-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauerlein and Moon as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Yoon et al. (US 20070283714 A1, herein after referred to as Yoon).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising: a gear assembly coupled to the first drive shaft and the second drive shaft to transmit rotation between the first drive shaft to the second drive shaft; and a motor coupled to the gear assembly to selectively drive rotation of the first ice tray and the second ice tray”.
However, Yoon teaches further comprising: a gear assembly (connecting gears 410 and 420 Fig. 1) coupled to a first drive shaft (the disclosed “shaft” of lower ice tray 210 in paragraph [0069] corresponds to the first drive shaft of Bauerlein) and a second drive shaft (the disclosed “shaft” of upper ice tray 210 in paragraph [0069] corresponds to the second drive shaft of Bauerlein) to transmit rotation between the first drive shaft to the second drive shaft (paragraphs [0068] and [0069]); and a motor (lever 300 Fig. 1 can be replaced by a motor as disclosed in paragraph [0065]) coupled to the gear assembly to selectively drive rotation of the first ice tray and the second ice tray (paragraph [0065]) to enable a plurality of the ice trays to rotate in the same direction of the rotational direction of the motor (paragraph [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising: a gear assembly coupled to the first drive shaft and the second drive shaft to transmit rotation between the first drive shaft to the second drive shaft; and a motor coupled to the gear assembly to selectively drive rotation of the first ice tray and the second ice tray” in view of the teachings of Yoon to enable a plurality of the ice trays to rotate in the same direction of the rotational direction of the motor.
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings teach wherein the gear assembly comprises a first gear (lower connecting gear 410 Fig. 1 of Yoon), a second gear (upper connecting gear 410 Fig. 1 of Yoon), and a third gear (connecting gear 420 Fig. 1 of Yoon), wherein the first gear is coupled directly to the first drive shaft (Fig. 1 of Yoon), wherein the second gear is coupled directly to the second drive shaft (Fig. 1 of Yoon), and wherein the third gear is disposed between the first gear and the second gear (Fig. 1 of Yoon) to transmit rotation between the first gear and the second gear (paragraph [0071] of Yoon).
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach wherein the motor is coupled directly to the first end of the first drive shaft (Fig. 1 of Yoon), wherein the first gear is coupled directly to the first end of the first drive shaft (Fig. 1 of Yoon), wherein the first gear is positioned between the first end of the first tray surface and the motor (Fig. 1 of Yoon where the tray surface of lower ice tray 210 corresponds to the first tray surface of Bauerlein), wherein the second gear is coupled directly to the first end of the second drive shaft (Fig. 1 of Yoon where the end of the drive shaft of upper ice tray 210 corresponds to the first end of the second drive shaft of Bauerlein), and wherein the third gear is disposed between the first gear and the second gear to transmit rotation from the first gear to the second gear (Fig. 1 of Yoon).
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauerlein, Moon, and Yoon as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Yamamoto et al. (JPH09310946A, herein after referred to as Yamamoto).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach wherein the third gear is disposed between the first gear and the second gear to transmit rotation from the first gear to the second gear (Fig. 1 of Yoon).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the motor is coupled directly to the first end of the first drive shaft, wherein the first gear is coupled directly to the second end of the first drive shaft, wherein the second gear is coupled directly to the second end of the second drive shaft”.
However, Yamamoto teaches wherein a motor (motor 40 Fig. 7 corresponds to the motor of Yoon) is coupled directly to a first end of a first drive shaft (Fig. 11 where the end of drive shaft 24 that is connected to the motor corresponds to the first end of the first drive shaft of Bauerlein), wherein a first gear (lower power transmission gear 27 Fig. 11 corresponds to the first gear of Yoon) is coupled directly to a second end of the first drive shaft (Fig. 11 where the end of drive shaft 24 that is connected opposite the motor corresponds to the second end of the first drive shaft of Bauerlein), wherein a second gear (upper power transmission gear 27 Fig. 11 corresponds to the second gear of Yoon) is coupled directly to a second end of a second drive shaft (Fig. 11 where the end of upper drive shaft 24 that is connected to upper power transmission gear 27 corresponds to the second end of the second drive shaft of Bauerlein) to provide a more compact unit (paragraph [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the motor is coupled directly to the first end of the first drive shaft, wherein the first gear is coupled directly to the second end of the first drive shaft, wherein the second gear is coupled directly to the second end of the second drive shaft” in view of the teachings of Yamamoto to provide a more compact unit.
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the motor is coupled directly to the third gear, wherein the first gear is coupled directly to the first end of the first drive shaft, wherein the second gear is coupled directly to the first end of the second drive shaft, and wherein the third gear is disposed between the first gear and the second gear to transmit rotation to the first gear and the second gear”.
However, Yamamoto teaches wherein a motor (motor 40 Fig. 7 corresponds to the motor of Yoon) is coupled directly to a third gear (Fig. 12 where power transmission gear 33 corresponds to the third gear of Yoon), wherein a first gear (left power transmission gear 27 Fig. 12 corresponds to the first gear of Yoon) is coupled directly to a first end of a first drive shaft (Fig. 12 where the end of left drive shaft 24 that is connected to left power transmission gear 27 corresponds to the first end of the first drive shaft of Bauerlein), wherein a second gear (right power transmission gear 27 Fig. 12 corresponds to the second gear of Yoon) is coupled directly to a first end of a second drive shaft Fig. 12 where the end of right drive shaft 24 that is connected to right power transmission gear 27 corresponds to the first end of the second drive shaft of Bauerlein), and wherein the third gear is disposed between the first gear and the second gear (Fig. 12) to transmit rotation to the first gear and the second gear (Fig. 12) to rotate the plurality of ice trays in the same direction (paragraph [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the motor is coupled directly to the third gear, wherein the first gear is coupled directly to the first end of the first drive shaft, wherein the second gear is coupled directly to the first end of the second drive shaft, and wherein the third gear is disposed between the first gear and the second gear to transmit rotation to the first gear and the second gear” in view of the teachings of Yamamoto to rotate the plurality of ice trays in the same direction.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauerlein and Moon as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Castrellon et al. (US 20050241329 A1, herein after referred to as Castrellon).
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “further comprising: one or more stop tabs, wherein the one or more stop tabs extend from the first tray surface or the second tray surface, and wherein the one or more stop tabs are configured to interface with one or more stop blocks positioned within a door of the refrigerator appliance to inhibit rotation of the first ice tray or the second ice tray beyond a predetermined amount”.
However, Castrellon teaches further comprising: one or more stop tabs (rear limiting 53 and front limiting pin 55 Fig. 5), wherein the one or more stop tabs extend from a first tray surface (Figs. 1 and 5 where the surface of top ice-cube tray 50 corresponds to the first tray surface of Bauerlein) or a second tray surface (Figs. 1 and 5 where the surface of bottom ice-cube tray 50 corresponds to the second tray surface of Bauerlein), and wherein the one or more stop tabs are configured to interface with one or more stop blocks (arcuate slides 26 and 28 Fig. 4c) positioned within a door of a refrigerator appliance (door 210 Fig. 1) to inhibit rotation of the first ice tray or the second ice tray beyond a predetermined amount (paragraph [0060]) to twist the ice tray during ice harvesting (paragraph [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising: one or more stop tabs, wherein the one or more stop tabs extend from the first tray surface or the second tray surface, and wherein the one or more stop tabs are configured to interface with one or more stop blocks positioned within a door of the refrigerator appliance to inhibit rotation of the first ice tray or the second ice tray beyond a predetermined amount” in view of the teachings of Castrellon to twist the ice tray during ice harvesting.
Claims 13 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauerlein, in view of Castrellon, and in further view of Moon.
Regarding claim 13, Bauerlein teaches a refrigerator appliance (disclosed “household refrigerator” Col. 2 lines 3-14) comprising: a fill tube (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Bauerlein) for delivering a fill of liquid water (disclosed “water” in Col. 2 lines 37-67); an ice storage bin (collection tray 18 Fig. 1) for holding ice pieces (disclosed “ice blocks” in Col. 2 lines 3-14); and a twist ice tray assembly (ice making apparatus 10 Fig. 1) positioned above the ice storage bin (Fig. 1), the twist ice tray assembly comprising: a first ice tray (ice tray 12 Fig. 1) in downstream fluid communication with the fill tube (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Bauerlein), the first ice tray comprising a first tray surface (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Bauerlein), a first mold body (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Bauerlein), and an overflow spout (upper lip 28 Figs. 2-3), the first mold body extending downward from the first tray surface (Fig. 1), the first mold body defining a first plurality of compartments (upper ice mold wells 26 Fig. 2) for receiving the liquid water delivered from the fill tube (Col. 2 lines 37-67), the overflow spout extending outward from the first tray surface (Figs. 2-3), the overflow spout defining an overflow channel (trough 27 Fig. 2) in fluid communication with the first plurality of compartments (Col. 2 lines 37-67 and Fig. 1); the first tray surface defining a first plurality of channels (troughs 33 Fig. 3 and Col. 2 lines 45-51), each channel of the first plurality of channels (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Bauerlein) being positioned between adjacent compartments of the first plurality of compartments (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Bauerlein) to fluidly couple the adjacent compartments (Col. 2 lines 51-57), the first plurality of compartments comprising a first starter compartment (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Bauerlein and Col. 2 lines 51-57) and an overflow compartment (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Bauerlein and Col. 2 lines 51-57), wherein the overflow compartment is in fluid communication with the first starter compartment via the first plurality of channels (Col. 2 lines 51-57), and wherein the overflow compartment is in fluid communication with the overflow channel (Col. 2 lines 51-57); and a second ice tray (ice tray 11 Fig. 1) comprising a second tray surface (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Bauerlein) and a second mold body (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Bauerlein), the second mold body extending downward from the second tray surface (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Bauerlein), the second mold body defining a second plurality of compartments (lower ice mold wells 26 Fig. 2), wherein the first ice tray and the second ice tray are positioned in a side-by-side arrangement (Fig. 3), and wherein the overflow spout is configured to interface with the second tray surface (Figs. 3-4 where upper lip 28 communicates with ice tray 11).
Bauerlein teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the refrigerator appliance comprising: a cabinet defining a chilled chamber; a door rotatably hinged to an edge of the cabinet for selectively accessing the chilled chamber, the door defining an icebox, the door comprising the fill tube, the ice storage bin disposed within the icebox, the twist ice tray assembly positioned within the icebox”.
However, Castrellon teaches a refrigerator appliance (the disclosed “refrigerator” in paragraph [0050] corresponds to the appliance of Bauerlein) comprising: a cabinet (paragraph [0031]) defining a chilled chamber (disclosed “freezer” in paragraph [0031]); a door (door 210 Fig. 1) rotatably hinged to an edge of the cabinet (paragraph [0071]) for selectively accessing the chilled chamber (paragraph [0071]), the door defining an icebox (case 10 Fig. 1), the door comprising a fill tube (Fig. 15 where hose 208 corresponds to the fill tube of Bauerlein), an ice storage bin (ice-cube drawer 120 Fig. 15 corresponds to the bin of Bauerlein) disposed within the icebox (Fig. 15), a twist ice tray assembly positioned within the icebox (Fig. 15 where ice-cube making device 220 corresponds to the assembly of Bauerlein).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Bauerlein to include “the refrigerator appliance comprising: a cabinet defining a chilled chamber; a door rotatably hinged to an edge of the cabinet for selectively accessing the chilled chamber, the door defining an icebox, the door comprising the fill tube, the ice storage bin disposed within the icebox, the twist ice tray assembly positioned within the icebox” in view of the teachings of Castrellon to provide a compact unit and provide more storage space in the freezer compartment.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the overflow channel in downstream fluid communication with the first plurality of compartments, wherein the first starter compartment is in direct fluid communication with the fill tube”.
However, Moon teaches an overflow channel (Figs. 3 and 6 where the side opening of overflow prevention part 240 of first tray 210 corresponds to the overflow channel of Bauerlein) in downstream fluid communication with a first plurality of compartments (Figs. 3 and 6 where freezing spaces 201 of first tray 210 correspond to the first plurality of compartments of Bauerlein), wherein a first starter compartment (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Moon) is in direct fluid communication with a fill tube (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Moon) to uniformly supplied water to the ice trays (paragraph [0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the overflow channel in downstream fluid communication with the first plurality of compartments, wherein the first starter compartment is in direct fluid communication with the fill tube” in view of the teachings of Moon to uniformly supplied water to the ice trays.
Regarding claim 16, the combined teachings teach wherein the second tray surface defines a second plurality of channels (lower troughs 33 Figs. 2-3 of Bauerlein), and wherein each channel of the second plurality of channel (each lower trough 33 Figs. 2-3 of Bauerlein) is positioned between adjacent compartments of the second plurality of compartments (Figs. 2-3 of Bauerlein) to fluidly couple the adjacent compartments (Figs. 2-3 of Bauerlein).
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings teach wherein the second plurality of compartments includes a second starter compartment (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Bauerlein and Col. 2 lines Col. 2 lines 51-57), wherein the second starter compartment (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Moon) is in direct fluid communication with the overflow channel (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Moon).
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings teach wherein the first ice tray further comprises a first drive shaft (shaft 25 Figs. 3 and 6 of Bauerlein), wherein the first drive shaft extends through the first tray surface (Col. 2 lines 15-31 of Bauerlein), wherein the first drive shaft includes a first end (end of shaft 25 connected to tab 21 Fig. 2 of Bauerlein) and a second end (end of shaft 25 connected to tab 22 Fig. 2 of Bauerlein), wherein the first end of the first drive shaft is positioned at a first end of the first tray surface (Fig. 2 of Bauerlein), wherein the second end of the first drive shaft is positioned at a second end of the first tray surface (Fig. 2 of Bauerlein), wherein the second ice tray further comprises a second drive shaft (shaft 24 Figs. 2-3 of Bauerlein), wherein the second drive shaft extends through the second tray surface (Figs. 2-3 of Bauerlein), wherein the second drive shaft includes a first end (end of shaft 24 connected to tab 21 Fig. 2 of Bauerlein) and a second end (end of shaft 24 connected to tab 22 Fig. 2 of Bauerlein), wherein the first end of the second drive shaft is positioned at a first end of the second tray surface (Fig. 2 of Bauerlein), and wherein the second end of the second drive shaft is positioned at a second end of the second tray surface (Fig. 2 of Bauerlein).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauerlein, Castrellon and Moon as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Yoon.
Regarding claim 19, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “further comprising: a gear assembly coupled to the first drive shaft and the second drive shaft to transmit rotation between the first drive shaft to the second drive shaft; and a motor coupled to the gear assembly to selectively drive rotation of the first ice tray and the second ice tray”.
However, Yoon teaches further comprising: a gear assembly (connecting gears 410 and 420 Fig. 1) coupled to a first drive shaft (the disclosed “shaft” of lower ice tray 210 in paragraph [0069] corresponds to the first drive shaft of Bauerlein) and a second drive shaft (the disclosed “shaft” of upper ice tray 210 in paragraph [0069] corresponds to the second drive shaft of Bauerlein) to transmit rotation between the first drive shaft to the second drive shaft (paragraphs [0068] and [0069]); and a motor (lever 300 Fig. 1 can be replaced by a motor as disclosed in paragraph [0065]) coupled to the gear assembly to selectively drive rotation of the first ice tray and the second ice tray (paragraph [0065]) to enable a plurality of the ice trays to rotate in the same direction of the rotational direction of the motor (paragraph [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising: a gear assembly coupled to the first drive shaft and the second drive shaft to transmit rotation between the first drive shaft to the second drive shaft; and a motor coupled to the gear assembly to selectively drive rotation of the first ice tray and the second ice tray” in view of the teachings of Yoon to enable a plurality of the ice trays to rotate in the same direction of the rotational direction of the motor.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauerlein, Castrellon, Moon, and Yoon as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Yamamoto.
Regarding claim 20, the combined teachings teach wherein the gear assembly comprises a first gear (lower connecting gear 410 Fig. 1 of Yoon), a second gear (upper connecting gear 410 Fig. 1 of Yoon), and a third gear (connecting gear 420 Fig. 1 of Yoon), and wherein the third gear is disposed between the first gear and the second gear (Fig. 1 of Yoon) to transmit rotation from the first gear to the second gear (Fig. 1 of Yoon).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the motor is coupled directly to the first end of the first drive shaft, wherein the first gear is coupled directly to the second end of the first drive shaft, wherein the second gear is coupled directly to the second end of the second drive shaft”.
However, Yamamoto teaches wherein a motor (motor 40 Fig. 7 corresponds to the motor of Yoon) is coupled directly to a first end of a first drive shaft (Fig. 11 where the end of drive shaft 24 that is connected to the motor corresponds to the first end of the first drive shaft of Bauerlein), wherein a first gear (lower power transmission gear 27 Fig. 11 corresponds to the first gear of Yoon) is coupled directly to a second end of the first drive shaft (Fig. 11 where the end of drive shaft 24 that is connected opposite the motor corresponds to the second end of the first drive shaft of Bauerlein), wherein a second gear (upper power transmission gear 27 Fig. 11 corresponds to the second gear of Yoon) is coupled directly to a second end of a second drive shaft (Fig. 11 where the end of upper drive shaft 24 that is connected to upper power transmission gear 27 corresponds to the second end of the second drive shaft of Bauerlein) to provide a more compact unit (paragraph [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the motor is coupled directly to the first end of the first drive shaft, wherein the first gear is coupled directly to the second end of the first drive shaft, wherein the second gear is coupled directly to the second end of the second drive shaft” in view of the teachings of Yamamoto to provide a more compact unit.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 02/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant's arguments on pages 7-10 that the referenced prior art teaches away from “the first tray surface defining a first plurality of channels, each channel of the first plurality of channels being positioned between adjacent compartments of the first plurality of compartments to fluidly couple the adjacent compartments, the first plurality of compartments comprising a first starter compartment and an overflow compartment, wherein the first starter compartment is in direct fluid communication with the fill tube, wherein the overflow compartment is in fluid communication with the first starter compartment via the first plurality of channels, and wherein the overflow compartment is in fluid communication with the overflow channel” as recited by amended claims 1 and 13, Examiner disagrees.
For clarity purposes, Bauerlein teaches the first tray surface defining a first plurality of channels (troughs 33 Fig. 3 and Col. 2 lines 45-51), each channel of the first plurality of channels (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Bauerlein) being positioned between adjacent compartments of the first plurality of compartments (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Bauerlein) to fluidly couple the adjacent compartments (Col. 2 lines 51-57), the first plurality of compartments comprising a first starter compartment (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Bauerlein and Col. 2 lines 51-57) and an overflow compartment (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Bauerlein and Col. 2 lines 51-57), wherein the overflow compartment is in fluid communication with the first starter compartment via the first plurality of channels (Col. 2 lines 51-57), and wherein the overflow compartment is in fluid communication with the overflow channel (Col. 2 lines 51-57).
The apparatus of Bauerlein is modified by the teachings of Moon to suggest an arrangement of parts by disclosing an overflow channel (Figs. 3 and 6 where the side opening of overflow prevention part 240 of first tray 210 corresponds to the overflow channel) in downstream fluid communication with a first plurality of compartments (Figs. 3 and 6 where freezing spaces 201 of first tray 210 correspond to the first plurality of compartments), wherein a first starter compartment (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Moon) is in direct fluid communication with a fill tube (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Moon) to uniformly supplied water to the ice trays (paragraph [0022]).
Furthermore, Applicant is also reminded that a reference "teaches away" when it states that something cannot be done. See In re Gurley, 27 F.3d 551, 553, 31 USPQ2d 1130, 1130 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
In the case at hand, although Bauerlein discloses in Col. 2 lines 62-67 that “In many ice trays interconnecting weirs are provided to direct the water from one mold well to another during filling of the tray but a distinct disadvantage of such weirs lies in the fact that the ice frozen therein interconnects adjacent ice blocks with one another and hinders ice blocks ejection”, it is the Examiner’s position that this statement does not teach away from the present disclosure. Here, the term “weir” is interpreted as a “raised edge or overflow barrier” that permits water to pass into adjacent mold wells once the water level reaches a predetermined height.
Bauerlein does not teach away from the use of a plurality of channels to fluidly couple adjacent ice making compartments. In fact, Bauerlein discloses the used of passages (troughs 33 Fig. 3 and Col. 2 lines 45-51) to allow water to flow from one ice making compartment to the next neighboring ice making compartment (Col. 2 lines 45-51).
Therefore, Applicant's arguments are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763