Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-10, 12, 14-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benjaminson et al., US20190371577 (hereinafter referred to as Benjaminson), in view of Koshimizu et al., US8425791 (hereinafter referred to as Koshimizu).
In regards to claim 1, Benjaminson teaches a method of processing (processed on; [0019]) a substrate (substrate; [0019]) on a substrate support (body of substrate support assembly; [0007] & [0019]) disposed on a cooling base (cooling base of substrate support assembly; [0019] & [0031]), the method comprising: obtaining (is measured; [0010]) a temperature value (temperature; [0010]) at a bottom of the substrate support (bottom surface of the ESC; [0010]) (Examiner’s Note: It is understood that the temperature sensors are across the bottom of the ESC where the resistive heaters are.); obtaining (is measured; [0010]) a temperature value (temperature value from temperature sensor in the fluid distributor; [0032]) (Examiner’s Note: It is inherent that the temperature controlled cooling base would have a temperature sensor. The information from the transfer fluid source is tied to the controller 148 as shown in Fig. 1. Therefore, it is understood that the temperature sensor is within the fluid distributor for temperature controlling the cooling base.) associated with the cooling base; determining a substrate temperature based on: the temperature value (temperature; [0010]) of the bottom of the substrate support (Examiner’s Note: Fig. 3 provides steps for creating temperature uniformity. Therefore, the collection of the temperatures near the heaters is part of the determining the substrate temperature.), and the temperature value (temperature value from temperature sensor in the fluid distributor; [0031-0032]) associated with the cooling base (Examiner’s Note: It is understood that the temperature sensor in the fluid distributor is part of the substrate temperature calculation because the fluid distributor “assists in controlling the lateral temperature profile” [0031]); and processing (etching; [0019]) the substrate while disposed on (processed on; [0019]) the substrate support.
Benjaminson does not teach determining the substrate temperature based on: a thermal resistivity characteristic of the substrate support.
Koshimizu teaches determining the substrate temperature based on: a thermal resistivity (resistivity of a heated object; [Abstract] & [Col. 9, Ln. 48-54]) characteristic of the substrate support (in-chamber member or semiconductor; [Abstract] & [Col. 9, Ln. 48-54]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Benjaminson in order to incorporate determining a substrate temperature based on: a thermal resistivity characteristic of the substrate support as taught by Koshimizu. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the estimation of the temperature of the substrate support.
In regards to claim 3, Benjaminson teaches wherein obtaining the temperature value at a bottom of the substrate support is obtained from a temperature probe (resistance thermometers; [Fig. 3]) disposed on (formed on; [0010]) a backside of an electrostatic chuck (bottom surface of the ESC; [0010]).
In regards to claim 4, Benjaminson teaches wherein the temperature value associated with the cooling base is obtained from a temperature measurement device (temperature sensor in the fluid distributor which is temperature controlled; [0032]) coupled to a temperature regulating (temperature controlled; [0032]) fluid (fluidly coupled; [0032]) configured to flow through the cooling base (implicit since the cooling channels are through the cooling base).
In regards to claim 7, Benjaminson teaches wherein the substrate temperature is accurate (uniformity; [0039]) within 2.8 degrees Celsius (about 0.3C and about 0.7C; [0039]).
In regards to claim 8, Benjaminson teaches wherein the substrate support is disposed in an etch or deposition (etching; [0050]) semiconductor chamber (closed loop chamber; [0054]).
In regards to claim 9, Benjaminson teaches wherein the determined substrate temperature is used in a closed loop control (closed loop chamber temperature controller; [0054]) to process the substrate (across the substrate; [0054]).
In regards to claim 10, Benjaminson teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium has stored instructions, which, when executed by a processor (controller 148; [Fig. 1]), causes the processor to perform a method of processing (processed on; [0019]) a substrate (substrate; [0019]) on a substrate support (body of substrate support assembly; [0007] & [0019]) disposed on a cooling base (cooling base of substrate support assembly; [0019] & [0031]), the method comprising: obtaining (is measured; [0010]) a temperature value (temperature; [0010]) at a bottom of the substrate support (bottom surface of the ESC; [0010]) (Examiner’s Note: It is understood that the temperature sensors are across the bottom of the ESC where the resistive heaters are.); obtaining (is measured; [0010]) a temperature value (temperature value from temperature sensor in the fluid distributor; [0032]) (Examiner’s Note: It is inherent that the temperature controlled cooling base would have a temperature sensor. The information from the transfer fluid source is tied to the controller 148 as shown in Fig. 1. Therefore, it is understood that the temperature sensor is within the fluid distributor for temperature controlling the cooling base.) associated with the cooling base; determining a substrate temperature based on: the temperature value (temperature; [0010]) of the bottom of the substrate support (Examiner’s Note: Fig. 3 provides steps for creating temperature uniformity. Therefore, the collection of the temperatures near the heaters is part of the determining the substrate temperature.), and the temperature value (temperature value from temperature sensor in the fluid distributor; [0031-0032]) associated with the cooling base (Examiner’s Note: It is understood that the temperature sensor in the fluid distributor is part of the substrate temperature calculation because the fluid distributor “assists in controlling the lateral temperature profile” [0031]); and processing (etching; [0019]) the substrate while disposed on (processed on; [0019]) the substrate support.
Benjaminson does not teach determining the substrate temperature based on: a thermal resistivity characteristic of the substrate support.
Koshimizu teaches determining the substrate temperature based on: a thermal resistivity (resistivity of a heated object; [Abstract] & [Col. 9, Ln. 48-54]) characteristic of the substrate support (in-chamber member or semiconductor; [Abstract] & [Col. 9, Ln. 48-54]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Benjaminson in order to incorporate determining a substrate temperature based on: a thermal resistivity characteristic of the substrate support as taught by Koshimizu. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the estimation of the temperature of the substrate support.
In regards to claim 12, Benjaminson teaches wherein obtaining the temperature value at a bottom of the substrate support is obtained from a temperature probe (resistance thermometers; [Fig. 3]) disposed on (formed on; [0010]) a backside of an electrostatic chuck (bottom surface of the ESC; [0010]).
In regards to claim 14, Benjaminson teaches wherein the substrate support is disposed in an etch or deposition (etching; [0050]) semiconductor chamber (closed loop chamber; [0054]).
In regards to claim 15, Benjaminson teaches wherein the determined substrate temperature is used in a closed loop control (closed loop chamber temperature controller; [0054]) to process the substrate (across the substrate; [0054]).
In regards to claim 16, Benjaminson teaches a controller (controller 148; [Fig. 1]) that stores a non-transitory computer readable medium has stored instructions, which, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform a method of processing (processed on; [0019]) a substrate (substrate; [0019]) on a substrate support (body of substrate support assembly; [0007] & [0019]) disposed on a cooling base (cooling base of substrate support assembly; [0019] & [0031]), the method comprising: obtaining (is measured; [0010]) a temperature value (temperature; [0010]) at a bottom of the substrate support (bottom surface of the ESC; [0010]) (Examiner’s Note: It is understood that the temperature sensors are across the bottom of the ESC where the resistive heaters are.); obtaining (is measured; [0010]) a temperature value (temperature value from temperature sensor in the fluid distributor; [0032]) (Examiner’s Note: It is inherent that the temperature controlled cooling base would have a temperature sensor. The information from the transfer fluid source is tied to the controller 148 as shown in Fig. 1. Therefore, it is understood that the temperature sensor is within the fluid distributor for temperature controlling the cooling base.) associated with the cooling base; determining a substrate temperature based on: the temperature value (temperature; [0010]) of the bottom of the substrate support (Examiner’s Note: Fig. 3 provides steps for creating temperature uniformity. Therefore, the collection of the temperatures near the heaters is part of the determining the substrate temperature.), and the temperature value (temperature value from temperature sensor in the fluid distributor; [0031-0032]) associated with the cooling base (Examiner’s Note: It is understood that the temperature sensor in the fluid distributor is part of the substrate temperature calculation because the fluid distributor “assists in controlling the lateral temperature profile” [0031]); and processing (etching; [0019]) the substrate while disposed on (processed on; [0019]) the substrate support.
Benjaminson does not teach determining the substrate temperature based on: a thermal resistivity characteristic of the substrate support.
Koshimizu teaches determining the substrate temperature based on: a thermal resistivity (resistivity of a heated object; [Abstract] & [Col. 9, Ln. 48-54]) characteristic of the substrate support (in-chamber member or semiconductor; [Abstract] & [Col. 9, Ln. 48-54]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Benjaminson in order to incorporate determining a substrate temperature based on: a thermal resistivity characteristic of the substrate support as taught by Koshimizu. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the estimation of the temperature of the substrate support.
In regards to claim 18, Benjaminson teaches wherein obtaining the temperature value at a bottom of the substrate support is obtained from a temperature probe (resistance thermometers; [Fig. 3]) disposed on (formed on; [0010]) a backside of an electrostatic chuck (bottom surface of the ESC; [0010]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benjaminson et al., US20190371577 (hereinafter referred to as Benjaminson), in view of Koshimizu et al., US8425791 (hereinafter referred to as Koshimizu), and in further view of Yamada et al., US20170372928 (hereinafter referred to as Yamada).
In regards to claim 2, 11, & 17, Benjaminson and Koshimizu do not teach wherein determining the substrate temperature is further based on a temperature value of a backside gas configured to flow under a backside of the substrate.
Yamada teaches wherein determining the substrate temperature is further based on a temperature value (Examiner’s Note: One ordinarily skilled in the art would know there is at least one temperature sensor in a mass flow controller. Therefore, the temperature value comes from the temperature in the MFC.) of a backside gas (gas supply source 15; [0046]) configured to flow under a backside of the substrate (mass flow controller (MFC) 15a; [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Benjaminson and Koshimizu in order to incorporate wherein determining the substrate temperature is further based on a temperature value of a backside gas configured to flow under a backside of the substrate as taught by Yamada. The motivation for doing so would be an engineering design choice to use a gas cooling substance over a fluid one as taught by Benjaminson.
In regards to claim 11, Benjaminson and Koshimizu do not teach wherein determining the substrate temperature is further based on a temperature value of a backside gas configured to flow under a backside of the substrate.
Yamada teaches wherein determining the substrate temperature is further based on a temperature value (Examiner’s Note: One ordinarily skilled in the art would know there is at least one temperature sensor in a mass flow controller. Therefore, the temperature value comes from the temperature in the MFC.) of a backside gas (gas supply source 15; [0046]) configured to flow under a backside of the substrate (mass flow controller (MFC) 15a; [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Benjaminson and Koshimizu in order to incorporate wherein determining the substrate temperature is further based on a temperature value of a backside gas configured to flow under a backside of the substrate as taught by Yamada. The motivation for doing so would be an engineering design choice to use a gas cooling substance over a fluid one as taught by Benjaminson.
In regards to claim 17, Benjaminson and Koshimizu do not teach wherein determining the substrate temperature is further based on a temperature value of a backside gas configured to flow under a backside of the substrate.
Yamada teaches wherein determining the substrate temperature is further based on a temperature value (Examiner’s Note: One ordinarily skilled in the art would know there is at least one temperature sensor in a mass flow controller. Therefore, the temperature value comes from the temperature in the MFC.) of a backside gas (gas supply source 15; [0046]) configured to flow under a backside of the substrate (mass flow controller (MFC) 15a; [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Benjaminson and Koshimizu in order to incorporate wherein determining the substrate temperature is further based on a temperature value of a backside gas configured to flow under a backside of the substrate as taught by Yamada. The motivation for doing so would be an engineering design choice to use a gas cooling substance over a fluid one as taught by Benjaminson.
Claim(s) 5 & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benjaminson et al., US20190371577 (hereinafter referred to as Benjaminson), in view of Koshimizu et al., US8425791 (hereinafter referred to as Koshimizu), and in further view of Irie et al., JP2003239074 (hereinafter referred to as Irie).
In regards to claim 5, Benjaminson and Koshimizu do not teach wherein determining the substrate temperature is further based on a rate of heat transfer of a substrate support heater.
Irie teaches wherein determining the substrate temperature (temperature of the substrate; [0003]) is further based on (controlled; [0003]) a rate of heat transfer (perform heat transfer; [0003]) of a substrate support heater (support base; [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Benjaminson and Koshimizu in order to incorporate wherein determining the substrate temperature is further based on a rate of heat transfer of a substrate support heater as taught by Irie. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the efficiency of controlling the temperature of the substrate.
In regards to claim 19, Benjaminson and Koshimizu do not teach wherein determining the substrate temperature is further based on a rate of heat transfer of a substrate support heater.
Irie teaches wherein determining the substrate temperature (temperature of the substrate; [0003]) is further based on (controlled; [0003]) a rate of heat transfer (perform heat transfer; [0003]) of a substrate support heater (support base; [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Benjaminson and Koshimizu in order to incorporate wherein determining the substrate temperature is further based on a rate of heat transfer of a substrate support heater as taught by Irie. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the efficiency of controlling the temperature of the substrate.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benjaminson et al., US20190371577 (hereinafter referred to as Benjaminson), in view of Koshimizu et al., US8425791 (hereinafter referred to as Koshimizu), and in further view of Parkhe et al., US20170215230 (hereinafter referred to as Parkhe).
In regards to claim 13, Benjaminson and Koshimizu do not teach wherein determining the substrate temperature is further based on a duty value of a substrate support heater.
Parkhe teaches wherein determining the substrate temperature is further based on (temperature sensor may be independently coupled to the tuning heater controller; [0077]) a duty value (duty cycle; [0077]) of a substrate support heater (heater controller; [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Benjaminson and Koshimizu in order to incorporate wherein determining the substrate temperature is further based on a duty value of a substrate support heater as taught by Parkhe. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the efficiency of controlling the temperature of the substrate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 & 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
SAMANTHA LYNETTE FAUBERT
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838