DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 6, 9, 13, 16, 22, and 58 have been amended. Claims 5, 10, 15, and 18 have been cancelled. Claims 74-77 have been added. Therefore, claims 1, 6-9, 11-14, 16-17, 19-22, 58, and 74-77 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification and Claims, in view of Applicant’s Remarks filed October 5, 2026, have overcome a majority of objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed July 15, 2026. Unaddressed objections are maintained and are as set forth below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 126 and 2160. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 1710. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature of "applied by the tool during installation of the core bolt" must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 6, line 2, “from the from” should read “from the”
In claim 11, line 3, “the tool during the installation” should read “a tool during installation”
In claim 21, line 2, “a central base area” should read “the central base area”
In claim 76, line 2, “the frangible element” should read “the frangible drive element”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-9, 11-14, 16-17, 19-22, 58, and 74-77 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O'Sullivan (US20140033494A1), hereinafter "O'Sullivan".
Regarding claim 1, O’Sullivan teaches a core bolt (Fig 1, fastener 100) of a fastener system (see Fig 8) [for joining (see Fig 8) multiple substrates (Fig 8, connectors 20, 30) of a workpiece (Fig 8, assembly 10) with a working side (see Fig 8, Examiner notes a side of connector 30 adjacent fastener 100 as a working side) and a blind side (see Fig 8, Examiner notes a side of connector 20 distal fastener 100 as a blind side)], the core bolt (100) comprising:
a head portion (Fig 4, head 120) comprising a recessed torquing feature (Fig 4, cavity 122);
a shank portion (Fig 4, shaft 112) axially extending (see Fig 4) from the head portion (120) along a central longitudinal axis (Fig 1, axis A-A) to a distal end (Fig 1, end 100B) of the core bolt (100), the shank portion (112) comprising a threaded portion (Fig 4, thread 116) between (see Fig 4) the distal end (100B) and the head portion (120); and
a frangible drive element (Fig 4, portion 162) extending (see Fig 1) from the recessed torquing feature (122) of the head portion (120) and protruding outward (see Fig 1) along the central longitudinal axis (A-A) to define a proximal end (Fig 1, end 100A) of the core bolt (100), the frangible drive element (162) comprising:
an interface portion (Fig 4, section 160) extending (see Fig 6) from the head portion (120) toward (see Fig 6) the proximal end (100A) of the core bolt (100); and
a stem portion (Fig 4, section 158) axially extending (see Fig 6) from the interface portion (160) toward (see Fig 1) the proximal end (100A).
Claim language set in brackets set forth above and below in this office action are considered by the Examiner to be intended use that fails to further limit the structure of the claimed invention. Since the claimed invention is directed solely to that of a core bolt, the prior art must only be capable of performing the functional recitations in order to be applicable, and in the instant case, the Examiner maintains that the controlled torque fasteners and methods for using same disclosed by O’Sullivan, is indeed capable of the intended use statements. Note that it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations.
Regarding claim 6, O’Sullivan teaches the core bolt (100) of Claim 1 and further teaches wherein after (see Fig 7) the frangible drive element (162) separates (see Fig 7) from the from head portion (120), the recessed torquing feature (122) of the head portion (120) facilitates rotation (Paragraph 0024) of the core bolt (100).
Regarding claim 7, O’Sullivan teaches the core bolt (100) of Claim 1 and further teaches wherein the shank portion (112) opposes (see Fig 1) the recessed torquing feature (122) of the head portion (120).
Regarding claim 8, O’Sullivan teaches the core bolt (100) of Claim 1 and further teaches wherein the shank portion (112) comprises at least one (see Fig 1) of a cylindrical body (see Fig 1) and a frustoconical body.
Regarding claim 9, O’Sullivan teaches the core bolt (100) of Claim 1 and further teaches wherein the frangible drive element (162) extends (see Fig 6) from the head portion (120) at a central base area (see Fig 6) of the recessed torquing feature (122).
Regarding claim 11, O’Sullivan teaches the core bolt (100) of Claim 9 and further teaches wherein the frangible drive element (162) is separable (see Fig 7) from the head portion (120) at the central base area (see Fig 6) of the recessed torquing feature (122) in response (Paragraphs 0041-0045) to a predetermined torque (Paragraphs 0041-0045, Examiner notes prescribed installation torque as a predetermined torque) being applied (Paragraphs 0041-0045) by the tool (Fig 8, driver 40) during the installation (Paragraphs 0041-0045) of the core bolt (100).
Regarding claim 12, O’Sullivan teaches the core bolt (100) of Claim 11 and further teaches wherein the predetermined torque (Paragraphs 0041-0045) is based at least in part on at least one of a diameter (Paragraph 0047) of the core bolt (100), a finish coat on internal threads of a nut member into which the core bolt is to be installed, a friction level for the internal threads of the nut member, a friction level between the shank portion of the core bolt and a joining bore through the multiple substrates into which the core bolt is to be installed, a friction level between the shank portion of the core bolt and a sleeve member into which the core bolt is to be inserted, an effect of lubricants on frictions encountered by the core bolt during installation and a preload tension within the core bolt at the proximal end of the frangible drive element.
Regarding claim 13, O’Sullivan teaches the core bolt (100) of Claim 1 and further teaches
wherein the interface portion (160) extends (see Fig 6) from the head portion (120) and protrudes outward (see Fig 6), the frangible drive element (162) further comprising:
a torquing portion (Fig 4, head 144) comprising a rotation feature (Fig 1, faces 145) at the proximal end (100A) of the core bolt (100), and
wherein the stem portion (158) axially extends (see Fig 4) between (see Fig 4) the interface portion (160) and the torquing portion (144) along the central longitudinal axis (A-A) of the core bolt (100).
Regarding claim 14, O’Sullivan teaches the core bolt (100) of Claim 13 and further teaches wherein the interface portion (160) of the frangible drive element (162) extends (see Fig 6) from the head portion (120) at a central base area (see Fig 6) of the recessed torquing feature (122).
Regarding claim 16, O’Sullivan teaches the core bolt (100) of Claim 13 and further teaches wherein the rotation feature (145) of the torquing portion (144) facilitates rotation (Paragraph 0027, Examiner notes six driver engagement and load transfer faces as facilitates rotation) of the core bolt (100).
Regarding claim 17, O’Sullivan teaches the core bolt (100) of Claim 13 and further teaches wherein the stem portion (158) opposes (see Fig 4) the rotation feature (145) of the torquing portion (144).
Regarding claim 19, O’Sullivan teaches the core bolt (100) of Claim 13 and further teaches the interface portion (160) defining a breakneck groove (Fig 4, groove 160A) disposed (see Fig 6) proximate the head portion (120) at a central base area (see Fig 6) of the recessed torquing feature (122) to facilitate separation (see Fig 7) of the frangible drive element (162) from the core bolt (100) in response (Paragraphs 0041-0045) to a predetermined torque (Paragraphs 0041-0045, Examiner notes prescribed installation torque as a predetermined torque) being applied (Paragraphs 0041-0045) at the torquing portion (144) during installation (Paragraphs 0041-0045) of the core bolt (100).
Regarding claim 20, O’Sullivan teaches the core bolt (100) of Claim 13 and further teaches the interface portion (160) comprising:
an interface body (see Fig 4, Examiner notes a body of section 160 as an interface body) that tapers (see Fig 4) from the stem portion (158) to the head portion (120) at a central base area (see Fig 6) of the recessed torquing feature (122) to facilitate separation (see Fig 7) of the frangible drive element (162) from the core bolt (100) in response (Paragraphs 0041-0045) to a predetermined torque (Paragraphs 0041-0045, Examiner notes prescribed installation torque as a predetermined torque) being applied (Paragraphs 0041-0045) at the torquing portion (144) during installation (Paragraphs 0041-0045) of the core bolt (100).
Regarding claim 21, O’Sullivan teaches the core bolt (100) of Claim 20 and further teaches the interface body (see Fig 4) defining a breakneck groove (Fig 4, groove 160A) disposed (see Fig 6) proximate the head portion (120) at a central base area (see Fig 6) of the recessed torquing feature (122) to further facilitate separation (see Fig 7) of the frangible drive element (162) from the core bolt (100) in response (Paragraphs 0041-0045) to the predetermined torque (Paragraphs 0041-0045, Examiner notes prescribed installation torque as a predetermined torque) being applied (Paragraphs 0041-0045) at the torquing portion (144) during the installation (Paragraphs 0041-0045) of the core bolt (100).
Regarding claim 22, O’Sullivan teaches a fastener system (see Fig 8) [for joining (see Fig 8) multiple substrates (Fig 8, connectors 20, 30) of a workpiece (Fig 8, assembly 10) with a working side (see Fig 8, Examiner notes a side of connector 30 adjacent fastener 100 as a working side) and a blind side (see Fig 8, Examiner notes a side of connector 20 distal fastener 100 as a blind side)], the fastener system (see Fig 8) comprising:
a nut member (Fig 8, lug 24) comprising a nut bore (Fig 8, bore 24A) with internal threads (see Fig 8, Paragraph 0040, Examiner notes threaded coupling bore as with internal threads); and
a core bolt (Fig 1, fastener 100) comprising:
a head portion (Fig 4, head 120) comprising a recessed torquing feature (Fig 4, cavity 122);
a shank portion (Fig 4, shaft 112) axially extending (see Fig 4) from the head portion (120) along a central longitudinal axis (Fig 1, axis A-A) to a distal end (Fig 1, end 100B) of the core bolt (100), the shank portion (112) comprising a threaded portion (Fig 4, thread 116) between (see Fig 4) the distal end (100B) and the head portion (120); and
a frangible drive element (Fig 4, portion 162) extending (see Fig 1) from the head portion (120) and protruding outward (see Fig 1) along the central longitudinal axis (A-A) to define a proximal end (Fig 1, end 100A) of the core bolt (100), the frangible drive element (162) comprising:
an interface portion (Fig 4, section 160) extending (see Fig 6) from the head portion (120) toward (see Fig 6) the proximal end (100A) of the core bolt (100); and
a stem portion (Fig 4, section 158) axially extending (see Fig 6) from the interface portion (160) toward (see Fig 1) the proximal end (100A).
Regarding claim 58, O’Sullivan teaches a method (see Fig 8, Paragraphs 0041-0045) for joining (see Fig 8) multiple substrates (Fig 8, washer 17, lug 34) of a workpiece (Fig 8, assembly 10) with a working side (see Fig 8, Examiner notes a side of connector 30 adjacent fastener 100 as a working side) and a blind side (see Fig 8, Examiner notes a side of connector 30 distal fastener 100 as a blind side), the method (see Fig 8) comprising:
securing (see Fig 8, Paragraphs 0041-0045) a nut member (Fig 8, lug 24) over a joining bore (Fig 8, bore 34A) through the multiple substrates (17, 34) on the blind side (see Fig 8) of the workpiece (10), the nut member (24) comprising a nut bore (Fig 8, bore 24A) with internal threads (see Fig 8, Paragraph 0040, Examiner notes threaded coupling bore as with internal threads);
inserting (see Fig 8, Paragraphs 0041-0045) a core bolt (Fig 1, fastener 100) in the joining bore (34A) from the working side (see Fig 8) of the workpiece (10) until a distal end (Fig 4, end 100B) of the core bolt (100) contacts (see Fig 8, Paragraphs 0041-0045) the nut member (24), the core bolt (100) comprising a head portion (Fig 4, head 120) with a recessed torquing feature (Fig 4, cavity 122) and a shank portion (Fig 4, shaft 122) axially extending (see Fig 4) from the head portion (120) along a central longitudinal axis (Fig 1, axis A-A) to the distal end (100B) of the core bolt (100), the shank portion (112) comprising a threaded portion (Fig 4, thread 116) between (see Fig 4) the distal end (100B) and the head portion (120), the core bolt (100) further comprising a frangible drive element (Fig 4, portion 160) extending (see Fig 1) from the head portion (120) and protruding outward (see Fig 1) along the central longitudinal axis (A-A) to define a proximal end (Fig 1, end 100A) of the core bolt (100), the frangible drive element (162) comprising an interface portion (Fig 4, section 160) extending (see Fig 6) from the head portion (120) toward (see Fig 6) the proximal end (100A) of the core bolt (100) and a stem portion (Fig 4, section 158) axially extending (see Fig 6) from the interface portion (160) toward (see Fig 6) the proximal end (100A);
rotating (see Fig 8, Paragraphs 0041-0045) the core bolt (100) to engage (see Fig 8, Paragraphs 0041-0045) the threaded portion (116) with the internal threads (see Fig 8) of the nut member (24); and
further rotating (see Fig 8, Paragraphs 0041-0045) the core bolt (100) for further engagement (see Fig 8, Paragraphs 0041-0045) with the nut member (24) until the frangible drive element (162) separates (see Fig 8, Paragraphs 0041-0045) from the core bolt (100) to achieve installation (see Fig 8, Paragraphs 0041-0045).
Regarding claim 74, O’Sullivan teaches the core bolt (100) of Claim 1 and further teaches wherein the interface portion (160) is tapered (see Figs 4 and 6) from the stem portion (158) to the head portion (120).
Regarding claim 75, O’Sullivan teaches the fastener system (see Fig 8) of Claim 22 and further teaches wherein the interface portion (160) is tapered (see Figs 4 and 6) from the stem portion (158) to the head portion (120).
Regarding claim 76, O’Sullivan teaches the fastener system (see Fig 8) of Claim 22 and further teaches wherein the interface portion (160) extends (see Fig 6) from the head portion (120) and protrudes outward (see Fig 6), the frangible element (162) further comprising:
a torquing portion (Fig 4, head 144) comprising a rotation feature (Fig 1, faces 145) at the proximal end (100A) of the core bolt (100), and
wherein the stem portion (158) axially extends (see Fig 4) between (see Fig 4) the interface portion (160) and the torquing portion (144) along the central longitudinal axis (A-A) of the core bolt (100).
Regarding claim 77, O’Sullivan teaches the method (see Fig 8) of Claim 58 and further teaches wherein the interface portion (160) is tapered (see Figs 4 and 6) from the stem portion (158) to the head portion (120).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 22, and 58 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675