Detailed Action
Election/Restriction
This application contains claims directed to the following patentably distinct species:
Species 1 Figs. 1A-5 and 7-11B.
Species 2 Figs. 6A-6C
The species are independent or distinct because the claims to the different species recite the mutually exclusive characteristics of such species. Species 1 has the characteristics of the grasping features prevent the user from contacting the housing wall portions (claim 1), the grasping features prevent a user that grasps the housing from contacting the wall outer surfaces (claim 16) and grasping features distance a user's skin from wall outer surfaces when a user grasps the housing (claim 24). Species 2 has the characteristics of an outer layer over the grasping features (where the outer layer rather than the grasping features prevents the user from contacting the housing wall portions or the wall outer surfaces or s distances a user's skin from wall outer surfaces when a user grasps the housing. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record.
Applicant is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 to elect a single disclosed species, or a single grouping of patentably indistinct species, for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. Currently, Claims 26-31 are generic.
There is a serious search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply: the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered nonresponsive unless accompanied by an election.
The election has been made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the election of species requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the species, or groupings of patentably indistinct species from which election is required, are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing them to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the species unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other species.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable generic claim as provided by 37 CFR 1.141.
During a telephone conversation with Karina Li, Reg. No. 80,887 on 1/15/26, a provisional election was made with traverse to prosecute Species I, claims 1-24 and 26-31. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claim 25 is withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “120” has been used to designate both prongs (¶[0037], l. 6) and imaginary dotted line (¶[0040], ll. 9-10). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Para. [0036], line 10, add ,”now issued as U.S. Patent No. 9,444,278;
Para. [0036], line 12, add “now issued as U.S. Patent No. 9,444357,”;
Para. [0046], line 15, “features204b” should be “features 204b”; and
Para. [0071], line 15, “and402d” should be “and 402d”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 requires “a first wall outer surface, the first wall outer surface comprising a plurality of first grasping features . . . a second wall outer surface, the second wall outer surface having a plurality of second grasping features . . . the plurality of first grasping features and plurality of second grasping features prevent a user that grasps the housing from contacting the first wall outer surface and the second wall outer surface.” If the first and second wall outer surfaces include the respective first and second grasping features, how do first and second grasping features prevent a user that grasps the housing from contacting the first wall outer surface and the second wall outer surface?
Claim 19, line 2 and Claim 17, line 5 each require “a fourth wall inner surface.” Are these the same or different a fourth wall inner surfaces?
Claim 19, lines 2-3 and Claim 17, lines 5-6 each require “a fourth wall outer surface.” Are these the same or different a fourth wall outer surfaces?
Claim 19, lines 6-7 and Claim 17, lines 5-6 require “a plurality of fourth grasping features.” Are these the same or different fourth grasping features?
Claim 24 requires “a first wall outer surface, the first wall outer surface comprising a plurality of first grasping features. . . a second wall outer surface, the second wall outer surface having a plurality of second grasping features . . . the plurality of first grasping features and plurality of second grasping features distance a user's skin from first wall outer surface and the second wall outer surface when a user grasps the housing.” If the first and second wall outer surfaces include the respective first and second grasping features, how do first and second grasping features distance a user's skin from first wall outer surface and the second wall outer surface when a user grasps the housing?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12, 13, 16-18, 20, 21, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCullough (US 6,547,001).
With respect to Claim 1, McCullough teaches a housing (fig. 1, 10) for containing at least one heat dissipating device (12, col. 1, ll. 9-10, based Applicant’s claims 23, 30, and 31, heat dissipating device is an electrical component), the housing configured to be grasped (user grasps outside of 18s), the housing comprising: a first housing wall portion (fig. 1, top wall of 10 [with label of 24]) with a first plurality of grasping features (fig. 1, 18s shown on top of 10) that protrude from the first housing wall portion; and a second housing wall portion (fig. 1, bottom wall of 10) with a second plurality of grasping features (fig. 1, 18s shown on bottom of 10) that protrude from the second housing wall portion, wherein the first plurality of grasping features and second plurality of grasping features prevent the user from contacting the first housing wall portion and the second housing wall portion (18s prevent user from contacting upper and bottom walls of 10).
With respect to Claim 16 (as best understood), McCullough teaches a heat dissipating circuit (fig. 1, 12) and a housing (10) containing the heat dissipating circuit, the housing comprising: a first housing wall portion (fig. 1, top wall of 10) with a first wall inner surface (fig. 1, bottom of top wall of 10) and a first wall outer surface (fig. 1, top of top wall of 10 between 18s), the first wall outer surface comprising a plurality of first grasping features (fig. 1, 18s on top wall of 10) extending therefrom; and a second housing wall portion (fig. 1, bottom wall of 10) with a second wall inner surface (fig. 1, top of bottom wall of 10) and a second wall outer surface (fig. 1, bottom of bottom wall of 10 between 18s), the second wall outer surface having a plurality of second grasping features (fig. 1, 18s on bottom wall of 10) extending therefrom, wherein the plurality of first grasping features and plurality of second grasping features prevent (18s prevent contacting outer surface of 10 between 18s) a user that grasps (user grasps outside of 18s) the housing from contacting the first wall outer surface and the second wall outer surface.
With respect to Claim 24 (as best understood), McCullough teaches a heat dissipating circuit (fig. 1, 12) and a housing (10) containing the heat dissipating circuit, the housing comprising: a first housing wall portion (fig. 1, top wall of 10) with a first wall inner surface (fig. 1, bottom of top wall of 10) and a first wall outer surface (fig. 1, top of top wall of 10 between 18s), the first wall outer surface comprising a plurality of first grasping features (fig. 1, 18s on top wall of 10) extending therefrom; and a second housing wall portion (fig. 1, bottom wall of 10) with a second wall inner surface (fig. 1, top of bottom wall of 10) and a second wall outer surface (fig. 1, bottom of bottom wall of 10 between 18s), the second wall outer surface having a plurality of second grasping features (fig. 1, 18s on bottom wall of 10) extending therefrom, wherein the plurality of first grasping features and plurality of second grasping features distance a user's skin (18s prevent contacting outer surface of 10 between 18s by distancing the user’s skin) from first wall outer surface and the second wall outer surface when a user grasps the housing.
With respect to Claims 2-10, 12, 17, 18, 20, and 21, McCullough further teaches the first plurality of grasping features are protrusions (fig. 1, 18s on top of 10) and the first housing wall portion comprises a plurality of concavities (fig. 1, concavities between 18s on top of 10) between the first plurality of grasping features (claim 2), the second plurality of grasping features are protrusions (fig. 1, 18s on bottom of 10) and the second housing wall portion comprises a plurality of concavities (fig. 1, concavities between 18s on bottom of 10) between the second plurality of grasping features (claim 3), the first plurality of grasping features and the second plurality of grasping features are formed of a non-metallic material (col. 4, ll. 3-4) (claim 4), the first housing wall portion and the second housing wall portion are formed of a non-metallic material (col. 4, ll. 3-4) (claim 5), the first housing wall portion, the second housing wall portion, the first plurality of grasping features, and the second plurality of grasping features are a unitary structure (see fig. 1 and col. 4, l. 1) (claim 6), a third housing wall portion (fig. 1, left side wall of 10) and a fourth housing wall portion (fig. 1, right side wall of 10), wherein the first housing wall portion and the second housing wall portion are substantially perpendicular (see fig. 1) to the third housing wall portion and the fourth housing wall portion, and wherein the first housing wall portion and the second housing wall portion are substantially parallel (see fig. 1) (claim 7), the third housing wall portion comprises a third plurality of grasping features (fig. 1, 18s on left side of 10) that protrude from the third housing wall portion and the fourth housing wall portion comprises a fourth plurality of grasping features (fig. 1, 18s on right side of 10) that protrude from the fourth housing wall portion (claim 8), the first housing wall portion, second housing wall portion, third housing wall portion and fourth housing wall portion form a substantially rectangular enclosure (see fig. 1) for containing the at least one heat dissipating device (12) (claim 9), the first plurality of grasping features, the second plurality of grasping features, the third plurality of grasping features, and the fourth plurality of grasping features are substantially identical (see fig. 1) (claim 10), the first plurality of grasping features is comprised of 5 to 200 grasping features (see fig. 1, twelve of 18 on top) and wherein the second plurality of grasping features consists of 5-200 grasping features (see fig. 1, twelve of 18 on bottom) (claim 12), the first plurality of grasping features and the second plurality of grasping features form a substantially repetitive pattern (see fig. 1) on the first housing wall portion and the second housing wall portion (claim 13), the housing further comprising: a third housing wall portion (fig. 1, left wall of 10) comprising a third wall inner surface (fig. 1, right side of left wall of 10) and a third wall outer surface (fig. 1, left side of left wall of 10 in between 18s), wherein the third wall outer surface comprises a plurality of third grasping features (fig. 1, 18s on left wall of 10) extending therefrom; and a fourth housing wall portion (fig. 1, right wall of 10) comprising a fourth wall inner surface (fig. 1, left side of right wall of 10) and a fourth wall outer surface (fig. 1, right side of right wall of 10 in between 18s), wherein the fourth wall outer surface comprises a plurality of fourth grasping features (fig. 1, 18s on right wall of 10) extending therefrom, wherein the first wall inner surface and the second wall inner surface are substantially perpendicular (see fig. 1) to the third wall inner surface and the fourth wall inner surface, and wherein the first wall inner surface and the second wall inner surface are substantially parallel (see fig. 1) (claim 17), the plurality of first grasping features, plurality of second grasping features, plurality of third grasping features, and plurality of fourth grasping features form a substantially repetitive pattern (see fig. 1) on the first wall outer surface, the second wall outer surface, the third wall outer surface, and the fourth wall outer surface (claim 18), the first grasping features, second grasping features, third grasping features, and fourth grasping features are formed of a non-metallic material (col. 4, ll. 3-4) (claim 20) and the plurality of first grasping features, plurality of second grasping features, plurality of third grasping features, and plurality of fourth grasping features are substantially identical (see fig. 1) (claim 21).
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fathi (US 4,656,559).
With respect to Claim 16 (as best understood), Fathi teaches a heat dissipating circuit (see title) and a housing (fig. 1, 10) containing the heat dissipating circuit, the housing comprising: a first housing wall portion (fig. 1, 14) with a first wall inner surface (fig. 1, bottom of 14) and a first wall outer surface (fig. 1, 14 between 77s), the first wall outer surface comprising a plurality of first grasping features (fig. 1, 77s on 14) extending therefrom; and a second housing wall portion (fig. 1, 16) with a second wall inner surface (fig. 1, top of 16) and a second wall outer surface (fig. 1, bottom of 16 between 77s), the second wall outer surface having a plurality of second grasping features (fig. 1, 77s on 16) extending therefrom, wherein the plurality of first grasping features and plurality of second grasping features prevent (77s prevent contacting outer surface of 10 between 77s) a user that grasps (user grasps outside of 77s) the housing from contacting the first wall outer surface and the second wall outer surface.
With respect to Claims 17-19 (as best understood), Fathi further teaches the housing further comprising: a third housing wall portion (fig. 1, 20) comprising a third wall inner surface (fig. 1, right side of 20) and a third wall outer surface (fig. 1, left side of 20 in between 77s), wherein the third wall outer surface comprises a plurality of third grasping features (fig. 1, 77s on 20) extending therefrom; and a fourth housing wall portion (fig. 1, 18) comprising a fourth wall inner surface (fig. 1, left side of 18) and a fourth wall outer surface (fig. 1, right side of 18 in between 77s), wherein the fourth wall outer surface comprises a plurality of fourth grasping features (fig. 1, 77s on right wall of 18) extending therefrom, wherein the first wall inner surface and the second wall inner surface are substantially perpendicular (see fig. 1) to the third wall inner surface and the fourth wall inner surface, and wherein the first wall inner surface and the second wall inner surface are substantially parallel (see fig. 1) (claim 17), the plurality of first grasping features, plurality of second grasping features, plurality of third grasping features, and plurality of fourth grasping features form a substantially repetitive pattern (see fig. 1) on the first wall outer surface, the second wall outer surface, the third wall outer surface, and the fourth wall outer surface (claim 18), a fifth housing wall portion (fig. 1, 44 on near side of 10) comprising a fourth wall inner surface (fig. 1, far side of 44 on near side of 10) and a fourth wall outer surface (fig. 1, near side of 44 on near side of 10 in between 104s), wherein the fifth wall outer surface comprises a plurality of fifth grasping features (fig. 1, 104s on near side 44 of 10) extending therefrom; and a sixth housing wall portion (fig. 1, 44 on far side of 10) comprising a sixth wall inner surface (fig. 1, near side of 44 on far side of 10) and a sixth wall outer surface (fig. 1, far side of 44 on far side of 10 in between 104s), wherein the sixth wall outer surface comprises a plurality of fourth grasping features (fig. 1, 104s on far side 44 of 10) extending therefrom, wherein the fifth wall inner surface and the sixth wall inner surface are substantially perpendicular (see fig. 1) to the first wall inner surface, the second wall inner surface, the third wall inner surface and the fourth wall inner surface.
Claims 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (US 8,054,629).
With respect Claim 26, Li teaches an enclosure (fig. 1, 50) containing a dissipating device (col. 2, ll. 27-28 and col. 9, ll. 2-3), the enclosure comprising: an enclosure wall (fig. 3, 107) at a periphery (col. 9, l. 34) of the enclosure, the enclosure wall having a minimum (fig. 2, thickness of 107) and maximum (fig. 2, 202 and thickness of 107) thickness, the maximum thickness existing for a percentage (see fig. 2) of the periphery of the enclosure in at least one sectional plane (fig, 2, top of 50) of the enclosure, wherein said percentage is less than 33% (see fig. 2, ratio of width 204 to spacing 208 is for example .1 mm [col. 6, ll. 57-60] to 1.35 mm [col. 7, ll. 19-22] which is less than 33% coverage), wherein a difference in the minimum and maximum wall thickness is in the range from 0.75 millimeters (mm) to 4.0 mm (202 and col. 6, ll. 36-39) and wherein a minimum distance between points (206 and col.. 7, ll. 10-13) having a maximum wall thickness is less than 350% of the difference (for example .45 mm [col. 7, l. 13]* 350% = 1.575 mm is less than 4. 5 mm [col. 6, ll. 38-39]) between the minimum and maximum wall thickness. (.15 mm - .45 mm to .1 mm – 4.5 mm).
With respect to Claims 27-30, Li further teaches regions of maximum and minimum thickness form a substantially repetitive pattern (col. 7, l. 30) around the periphery of the enclosure in at least one sectional plane (52) of the enclosure (50) (claim 27), the maximum thickness percentages of the periphery of the enclosure are variable (see fig. 3 and col. 8, l. 66) around the periphery of the enclosure in at least one sectional plane of the enclosure (claim 28), regions having substantially the maximum wall thickness form substantially continuous ridges (fig. 2, 200) on the periphery of the enclosure, the ridges separated by grooves (fig, 2, in between 200s), and wherein at least a portion of the grooves define (see fig. 2) the minimum wall thickness (claim 29) and the dissipating device is a power converter circuit (col . 2, ll. 27-28) (claim 30).
Alternately, with respect to Claim 28, Li discloses the claimed invention including temperatures of tips of the maximum wall thickness (col. 8, ll. 21-26) and among other characteristics the change in temperature over height 202 (col 8, ll. 27-45). Therefore, the difference in the minimum and maximum wall thickness are variable around the periphery of the enclosure in at least one sectional plane of the enclosure if the desired change in temperature is different (therefore, variable) in different portions around the periphery of the enclosure in at least one sectional plane of the enclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 23 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCullough (US 6,547,001).
With respect to Claim 11, McCullough discloses the claimed invention including the at least one heat dissipating device (12) contained within the housing. McCullough fails to disclose the at least one heat dissipating device is one or more components of a power converter. It would have been an obvious matter of choice for the heat dissipating device to be any type of heat dissipating device including one or more components of a power converter that requires thermal management for reliable operation, since applicant has not disclosed that one or more components of a power converter solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with any type of device that heat dissipating device that requires thermal management.
With respect to Claim 23, McCullough discloses the claimed invention including the at least one heat dissipating device (12). McCullough fails to disclose the at least one heat dissipating device is a power converter circuit. It would have been an obvious matter of choice for the heat dissipating device to be any type of heat dissipating device including a power converter circuit that requires thermal management for reliable operation, since applicant has not disclosed that one or more components of a power converter solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with any type of device that heat dissipating device that requires thermal management.
Claims 14, 15, and 22 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCullough (US 6,547,001) and Li (US 8,054,629).
With respect to Claims 14 and 15, McCullough discloses the same invention except for the first plurality of grasping features form a randomized or non-repetitive pattern on the first housing wall portion (claim 14) and the second plurality of grasping features form a randomized or non-repetitive pattern on the second housing wall portion (claim 15). Li teaches the plurality of grasping features (51) form a randomized or non-repetitive pattern (see fig. 3 and col. 7, l. 28) on the housing wall portion (53). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the first and second grasping features of McCullough for the grasping features of Li for the purpose of “the microfin arrays of different densities are located over heat sources having varying intensity in the enclosure 50” (col 9, ll. 1-3). Li fails to disclose first and second grasping features. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to duplicate the grasping features of Li for increased quantity of grasping features for increased thermal management of the electrical component of Li, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. The combination of McCullough and Li would result in both the first and second grasping features of McCullough to each have a randomized or non-repetitive pattern.
With respect to Claim 22, McCullough discloses the claimed invention including each of the first grasping features comprises a first grasping surface (fig. 1, top of 18s on top of 10) at an end thereof, each of the second grasping features comprises a second grasping surface (fig. 1, bottom of 18s on bottom of 10) at an end thereof, each of the third grasping features comprises a third grasping surface (fig. 1, left side of 18s on left of 10) at an end thereof, and each of the fourth grasping features comprises a fourth grasping surface (fig. 1, right side of 18s on right of 10) at an end thereof. McCullough fails to disclose the first grasping surface, second grasping surface, fourth grasping surface and fourth grasping surface have a minor dimension from 0.75 millimeters (mm) to 2.0 mm. Li teaches the first grasping surface, second grasping surface, fourth grasping surface and fourth grasping surface have a minor dimension (fig. 2, 204) from 0.75 millimeters (mm) to 2.0 mm (col. 6, ll. 59-60, 0.9 mm). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to substitute the grasping surfaces of McCullough for that of Li for the purpose of “withstand[ing] application of a large force (load) without deforming or fracturing (cracking or breaking)” (col. 5, ll. 55-57).
Claim 19 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCullough (US 6,547,001) and Fathi (US 4,656,559).
As best understood, McCullough discloses the claimed invention except for a fifth housing wall portion and a sixth housing wall portion. Fathi teaches a fifth housing wall portion (fig. 1, 44 on near side of 10) comprising a fourth wall inner surface (fig. 1, far side of 44 on near side of 10) and a fourth wall outer surface (fig. 1, near side of 44 on near side of 10 in between 104s), wherein the fifth wall outer surface comprises a plurality of fifth grasping features (fig. 1, 104s on near side 44 of 10) extending therefrom; and a sixth housing wall portion (fig. 1, 44 on far side of 10) comprising a sixth wall inner surface (fig. 1, near side of 44 on far side of 10) and a sixth wall outer surface (fig. 1, far side of 44 on far side of 10 in between 104s), wherein the sixth wall outer surface comprises a plurality of fourth grasping features (fig. 1, 104s on far side 44 of 10) extending therefrom, wherein the fifth wall inner surface and the sixth wall inner surface are substantially perpendicular (see fig. 1) to the first wall inner surface, the second wall inner surface, the third wall inner surface and the fourth wall inner surface. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the housing of McCullough with the fifth and sixth wall portions of Fathi to increase the surface area with grasping features for increased thermal management of the electrical component within the housing.
Claim 31 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 8,054,629).
Li discloses the claimed invention including the dissipating device is a power supply circuit (col. 2, ll. 27-28). Li fails to disclose the dissipating device is a switched mode power supply circuit. It would have been an obvious matter of choice to for the power supply circuit to be any type of power supply circuit including a switched mode power supply circuit that has high efficiency, compact size, light weight, and lower heat, since applicant has not disclosed that the switched mode power supply circuit solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with any type of power supply circuit that requires thermal management.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 5,086,509, 6,303,209 (fig. 5), 7,450,390, 7,957,131, 9,165,854, 12,285,929, 2005/0259385, 2011/0228486 and CN 106507645 disclose a housing with grasping features to provide a touch surface with reduced temperature at the end of the grasping features.
US 7,289,320, 7,436,661, 7,733,647, 7,843,683, 2008/0212292, D283,318 and D339,103 disclose a housing for a power supply, the housing having grasping features.
US 3,359,461, 4,656,559, 6,529,374, 6,961,241, 7,136,286, 7,272,001, 8,004,844, 9,578,782, 10,383,253, 10,779,438, 11,252,307, 11,503,741, and CN 115933822 disclose a housing with grasping features on many of its surfaces.
US 5,089,935 (fig. 3), 9,861,015 discloses a housing with grasping features and an outer layer over the grasping features.
US 8,482,922 is in the same patent family as US 8,054,629.
RJH 1/26/2026
/ROBERT J HOFFBERG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835