The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
This office action is in response to the application filed on 03/15/2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawing
The drawings filed on 03/15/2024 are acceptable.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/15/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claims 1-15 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: It appears that on line 2 of the claim “continuous structure or is formed” should be “continuous structure or is formed”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: It appears that on line 2 of the claim “other by butt-jointing or are connected” should be “other by butt-jointing or are connected”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: It appears that on line 2 of the claim “the single-phase module” should be “the single-phase module”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andreas et al. (DE 102019202902 A1), hereinafter ‘Andreas.
In re to claim 1, Andreas disclose a base plate (i.e. receiving plate 14, fig. 1, see p. [0034]) of a single-phase or multi-phase module of an inverter of an electric drive of an at least partially electrically driven vehicle (i.e. see p. [0014]), the base plate comprising: at least two sub-assemblies (i.e. 12 and 14 fig. 1), comprising: a first sub-assembly formed as a base structure of lightweight construction (i.e. mounting plate 14 is made of Aluminum, see p. [0022]); and a second sub-assembly formed as at least one heat-conducting element (i.e. 12 is a heat conducting element) which is integrated into the base structure and has one or more receiving regions for fastening in each case one semiconductor package (i.e. the fastening for each semiconductor packages 11, see fig. 1) on an upper side and a cooling structure (i.e. 18 and 21) on an underside opposite the upper side, wherein the cooling structure is arranged at least in a region of the receiving region (i.e. see fig. 1 and p.[0034]). Except, Andreas fail to explicitly disclose that a cooling structure on an underside opposite the upper side. However, Andreas disclose the claimed invention except for a cooling structure on an underside opposite the upper side. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the location of the cooling structure on a desired or appropriate location to satisfy the purpose of the element, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
In re to claims 2-3, Andreas disclose the base plate (i.e. receiving plate 14, fig. 1, see p. [0034]) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one heat-conducting element is formed as a continuous structure (i.e. 12 is a continuous structure, see fig. 1), or is formed as a plurality of individual structures arranged next to each other; wherein the base structure is formed from aluminum or a plastic with a predetermined specific density, and wherein the at least one heat-conducting element is formed from copper or aluminum (i.e. 12 and 14 are made of aluminum or an aluminum alloy. Alternatively, the mounting plate is made of copper coated with aluminum, see p. [0022]).
In re to claims 4, Andreas disclose the base plate (i.e. receiving plate 14, fig. 1, see p. [0034]) as claimed in claim 1. Except, Andreas fail to explicitly disclose that wherein the at least one heat-conducting element and the base structure are connected to each other by an integrally bonded or frictional connection and in a gas-tight manner. However. Andreas disclose the claimed invention. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it has been held that the term "integral" is sufficiently broad to embrace constructions united by such means as fastening and welding. In re Hotte, 177 USPQ 326, 328 (CCPA 1973).
In re to claims 5, Andreas disclose the base plate (i.e. receiving plate 14, fig. 1, see p. [0034]) as claimed in claim 1. Except, Andreas fail to explicitly disclose that wherein the at least one heat-conducting element and the base structure are connected to each other by butt-jointing or are connected to each other by a lap joint. However, Andreas disclose the claimed invention. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art a butt jointing is the simplest way to connect two pieces of material (like wood or metal) by placing their ends or edges directly against each other, relying on glue, fasteners (nails, screws, dowels, etc.), or welding for strength, since it was known in the art.
In re to claims 6-7, Andreas disclose the base plate (i.e. receiving plate 14, fig. 1, see p. [0034]) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the base structure comprises (i.e. 14, fig. 1): in a region in which a heat-conducting element (i.e. 12) is provided, an undercut on at least two opposing regions as a connection region (i.e. connections 19 and 20, fig. 1), wherein the at least one heat-conducting element (i.e. 12) has supports corresponding to the undercuts as a connection region in such a way that it bears against the undercuts of the base structure (i.e. 14) after assembly from an underside of the base plate (i.e. 12), and the supports and the undercuts are connected to each other (i.e. 12 and 14 are connected, see fig. 1); wherein the connection regions of the at least one heat-conducting element (i.e. 12) and base structure (i.e. 14) are formed in such a way that a region of the connection regions of a heat-conducting element on the underside of the base plate extends from the cooling structure (i.e. cooling fin 18 and flow blocker 21, fig. 1, see p. [0035]) in a predetermined length in a direction of the base structure (i.e. see fig. 1 and ps. [0025, 0034-0036]).
In re to claims 8-9, Andreas disclose the base plate (i.e. receiving plate 14, fig. 1, see p. [0034]) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the base structure comprises: in a region in which a heat-conducting element (i.e. 12) is provided, a support on at least two opposing regions as a connection region (i.e. 19 and 20), wherein the at least one heat-conducting element has undercuts corresponding to the supports as a connection region in such a way that it rests on the supports of the base structure after assembly from an upper side of the base plate (i.e. supported by the receiving plate 14, see fig. 1), and the undercuts and the supports are connected to each other (i.e. see fig. 1); wherein the connection regions of the at least one heat-conducting element (i.e. 12) and base structure are (i.e. 14) formed in such a way that a region of the connection regions of a heat-conducting element on the underside of the base plate extends from the cooling structure (i.e. fin 18 and flow blocker 21 fig. 1, see p. [0035])) in a predetermined length in a direction of the base structure (i.e. see fig. 1).
In re to claim 10, Andreas disclose the base plate (i.e. receiving plate 14, fig. 1, see p. [0034]) as claimed in claim 1. Except, Andreas fail to explicitly disclose that wherein the base structure and the at least one heat-conducting element are connected by a tongue-and-groove joint as connection regions, wherein either the base structure has a groove and the heat-conducting element has a tongue, or wherein the base structure has a tongue, and the heat-conducting element has a groove. However, Andreas disclose the claimed invention; before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art a tongue and groove joint is a strong technique where a protruding "tongue" on the edge of one board fits snugly into a corresponding "groove" (or dado) cut into the edge of another board, creating a seamless, interlocking connection providing stability and large glue surface area.
In re to claim 11, Andreas disclose the base plate (i.e. receiving plate 14, fig. 1, see p. [0034]) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one heat-conducting element (i.e. 12) is formed in such a way that it is flush with the base structure or projects beyond the base structure by a predetermined height (i.e. flash connected to the base plate 14, see fig. 1).
In re to claim 12, Andreas disclose a single-phase module or multi-phase module (i.e. see p. [0014]), comprising: the base plate (i.e. receiving plate 14, fig. 1, see p. [0034]) as claimed in claim 1; at least one half-bridge arranged on the base plate per phase (i.e. the three phases 11, see fig. 1), which half-bridge is formed from at least two semiconductor packages fixed on two heat-conducting elements arranged opposite each other (i.e. the semiconductor packages 11 are half-bridge semiconductor modules, see fig. 1 and p. [0029]), or which half-bridge is formed as a single semiconductor package (i.e. 11) fixed on a single heat-conducting element (i.e. 12); and DC and AC busbars arranged stacked on the at least one half bridge and electrically contacted with associated power connections (i.e. see p. [0029])..
In re to claim 13, Andreas disclose power electronics for operating a three-phase electric motor of a vehicle (i.e. see p. [0014]) , the power electronics comprising: an inverter comprising the single phase module or multi-phase module as claimed in claim 12; and at least one ECU, which is connected to the electric motor for open-loop and closed-loop control thereof and to the inverter (i.e. see p. [0014]).
In re to claim 14, Andreas disclose an electric drive of a vehicle, comprising: a three-phase electric motor; an accumulator; and the power electronics as claimed in claim 13 connected to the three-phase electric motor and the accumulator (i.e. see p. [0004]).
In re to claim 15, Andreas disclose a vehicle, comprising: the electric drive as claimed in claim 14, which is formed as an electric axle drive (i.e. see ps. [0004 and [0014]).
Remarks
The examiner has cited columns, line numbers, paragraph numbers, references, or
figures in the references applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses to fully consider the reference in entirety, as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2141.02 and § 2123.
Contact Information
/YEMANE MEHARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838