DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the claim amendments filed 7/31/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claim(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,5-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., US 2017,0179084, in view of Ukawa et al., US 2020/0251617.
Regarding claim 1, Kim (figure 12) teaches an LED device package structure, comprising:
an LED device 130 mounted on a top surface of a substrate 110;
a convex wing-lens 171 placed over the LED device 130 and on the top surface of the substrate 110, wherein the convex wing-lens 171 comprises:
a convex lens 171, a platform-shaped extruded extension structure 175 formed around the convex lens 171 and near a bottom edge of the convex lens 171, and a recess area (filled by 150) being surrounded by three surfaces: a bottom surface of the platform-shaped extruded extension structure 175, and the top surface of the substrate 110, and a sidewall surface of the convex lens 171 at the bottom edge of the convex lens 171; and
an adhesive material 150 applied in the recess area (filled by150) between a surface of the coating layer and the top surface of the substrate 110 to seal the convex wing-lens 171 to the substrate 110.
Kim fails to teach a coating layer disposed at the bottom surface of the platform-shaped extruded extension structure and the sidewall surface of the convex lens at the bottom edge of the convex lens.
Ukawa (figure 1B) teaches a coating layer 50 disposed at the bottom surface of the platform-shaped extruded extension structure 72 and the sidewall surface of the convex lens 71 at the bottom edge of the convex lens 72.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the coating layer of Ukawa in the invention of Kim because Ukawa teaches it improves light extraction and light distribution (paragraph 0063).
With respect to claim 5, Kim (figure 11) teaches the platform-shaped extruded extension structure 175 around the lens 171 comprises one of a ring shape, a square shape, and a polygon shape.
As to claim 6, Ukawa (paragraph 0052) teaches the LED device 40 emits ultraviolet (UV) light.
In re claim 7, Kim (paragraph 0086) teaches the convex wing-lens 70 comprises one of fused silica (quartz) or other UV transparent materials.
Concerning claim 8, Ukawa teaches a material in the coating layer 50 comprises a metal (paragraph 0060) or a combination of metals, for example, aluminum (Al), copper (Cu), or gold (Au), which are reflective to UV light.
Though Ukawa fails to teach the coating layer 50 comprises Al, Cu, or Au, the use of the phrase “for example” is indefinite and therefore only representative of possible metals and not actually further limiting (see MPEP 2173.05(d)).
But, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use these metals in the invention of Ukawa because they are conventionally known and used metals. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Further, though Ukawa fails to teach the coating layer is deposited via one of techniques, including but not limited to, physical vapor deposition (PVD), chemical vapor deposition (CVD), electroplating, or plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD), etc: (1) these are process limitations in a product claim and therefore are not given any patentable weight. Even though product-by- process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); and (2) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use these processes in the invention of Shih because they are conventionally known and used in the art. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Pertaining to claim 9, though Ukawa, which only broadly teaches metals can be used (paragraph 0060), fails to teach a material in the coating layer 50 comprises a metal or a combination of metals, for example, tungsten (W), platinum (Pt), nickel (Ni), iron (Fe) or chromium (Cr), which are absorptive to UV light, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use these metals in the invention of Ukawa because they are conventionally known and used metals. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Though Ukawa fails to teach the coating layer 50 comprises W, Pt, Ni, Fe or Cr, the use of the phrase “such as” is indefinite and therefore only representative of possible metals and not actually further limiting (see MPEP 2173.05(d)).
But, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use these metals in the invention of Ukawa because they are conventionally known and used metals. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Further, though Ukawa fails to teach the coating layer is deposited via one of techniques, including but not limited to, physical vapor deposition (PVD), chemical vapor deposition (CVD), electroplating, or plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD), etc: (1) these are process limitations in a product claim and therefore are not given any patentable weight. Even though product-by- process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); and (2) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use these processes in the invention of Shih because they are conventionally known and used in the art. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
In claim 10, though Ukawa teaches resin materials that are resistant to light (paragraph 0060), fails to teach a material in the coating layer 50 comprises inorganic materials, such as silicon oxide that absorbs or blocks UV photons.
Though Ukawa fails to teach the resin materials comprises silicon dioxide, the use of the phrase “such as” is indefinite and therefore only representative of possible metals and not actually further limiting (see MPEP 2173.05(d)).
But, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use silicon dioxide in the invention of Ukawa because they are conventionally known and used equivalent materials. The substitution of one known equivalent technique for another may be obvious even if the prior art does not expressly suggest the substitution (Ex parte Novak 16 USPQ 2d 2041 (BPAI 1989); In re Mostovych 144 USPQ 38 (CCPA 1964); In re Leshin 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960); Graver Tank & Manufacturing Co. V. Linde Air Products Co. 85 USPQ 328 (USSC 1950).
Regarding claim 11, though Kim, which teaches it is higher than the tallest LED and lower than the top of the lens 171 (paragraph 0073), fails to specifically teach a height of the platform-shaped extruded extension structure above the substrate is arranged to be in a range of 1 micron to 1 millimeter, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the height through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art teach various aspects of the invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID A ZARNEKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891 8/21/26