DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 03/15/24.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. IN 202341071005A, filed on 10/18/2023.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stattenfield et al. (US 20170347227 A1) hereinafter Stattenfield in view of Verma et al. (US 20210286758 A1) hereinafter Verma.
Regarding claim 1, Stattenfield discloses
A system, comprising: a computing device comprising a processor and a memory; and machine-readable instructions stored in the memory that, when executed by the processor, cause the computing device to at least: (Stattenfield [0036] discloses processor, memory interface and [0050] discloses the memory storing instructions);
generate a prompt to select one or more preferred features from the plurality of state features; (Stattenfield [0004] and [0019] discloses a user may select data in an application on a first device and then a user can copy the selected data using a menu of a GUI of the first device);
receive a selection of one or more preferred features; (Stattenfield [0004] and [0019] discloses the second device my learn of the data on the first device’s pasteboard and receive the data to copy over to the second device);
and push the one or more preferred features to a second device. (Stattenfield [0019] discloses using the paste command on the second device, which would copy the data from the first device and download it on the second device).
Stattenfield lacks explicitly
obtain a device state of a first device, the device state including a plurality of state features;
Verma teaches
obtain a device state of a first device, the device state including a plurality of state features; (Verma [0032] – [0033] discloses the second device receiving a migration data file from first device, the migration data consisting policy rules, software packages, user accounts, and personal settings).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Stattenfield to incorporate the teachings of Verma to “obtain a device state of a first device, the device state including a plurality of state features” in order to efficiently gather all the information needed for the transfer to the second device.
Regarding claim 2, Stattenfield discloses
The system of claim 1, wherein the machine-readable instructions cause the computing device to obtain the device state in response to receipt of a clone request to clone the device state onto the second device. (Stattenfield [0027] - [0028] discloses that the second device determines all types of available data that are to be requested. Then, the second device may send a request for the determined data to first device. Further, the second device may send a request for pasteboard data of a specific type, as described previously as the select features and device state of the first device. The first device may receive this request and in response to the request, initiate transfer of requested data from the pasteboard).
Regarding claim 3, Stattenfield discloses
The system of claim 1, wherein the machine-readable instructions further cause the computing device to at least:
Stattenfield lacks explicitly
receive a registration request for the second device, the registration request comprising at least a client identifier; and
register the second device to a client account associated with the client identifier and the first device.
Verma discloses
receive a registration request for the second device, the registration request comprising at least a client identifier; and (Verma [0007] and [0029] – [0030] discloses establishing a connection in order for a user to initiate a device migration. The portal application can cause the second device to prepare to receive a direct connection request from the first device where then the second device can receive device migration user credentials, thus demonstrating a client identifier);
register the second device to a client account associated with the client identifier and the first device. (Verma [0007] and [0030] discloses after the connection is established, the first device encrypts a password/pin and sends it to the second device. After the second device can authenticate using the user credentials, the second device is then recognized as belong to the same user and unencrypts the password/pin using the encryption key. This process enrolls the second user device for the portal application).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Stattenfield to incorporate the teachings of Verma to “receive a registration request for the second device, the registration request comprising at least a client identifier; and register the second device to a client account associated with the client identifier and the first device” in order to efficiently pair the devices together under the same account to perform the cloning of the devices.
Regarding claim 4, Stattenfield discloses
The system of claim 1, wherein the machine-readable instructions further cause the computing device to at least send to the first device the prompt to select one or more preferred features. (Stattenfield [0018] – [0019] discloses a user interacting with a tablet to select data. The selection may prompt the tablet to present a menu with options for the user to select data for the pasteboard. This is done by using a menu of the GUI of the first device).
Regarding claim 5, Stattenfield discloses
The system of claim 1, wherein the machine-readable instructions further cause the computing device to at least send to the second device the prompt to select one or more preferred features. (Stattenfield [0018] – [0019] discloses after the data is copied on the first device, the first device advertises the availability of the data, where the second device may receive the advertisement and generate a prompt asking the user whether the data should be pasted onto the second device),
Regarding claim 6, Stattenfield discloses
The system of claim 1 wherein the machine-readable instructions further cause the computing device to at least:
Stattenfield lacks explicitly
receive an installation success notification indicating that the one or more preferred features were successfully installed on the second device; and
send a cloning success notification to the first device.
Verma teaches
receive an installation success notification indicating that the one or more preferred features were successfully installed on the second device; and (Verma [0064] discloses the second device can notify server of the successful enrollment and migration)
send a cloning success notification to the first device. (Verma [0064] discloses after successfully installing all applications and copying all data files from the migration data file, second device can notify first device and then terminate the connection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Stattenfield to incorporate the teachings of Verma to “receive an installation success notification indicating that the one or more preferred features were successfully installed on the second device; and send a cloning success notification to the first device” in order to ensure the cloning process was successful, avoiding potential errors on the new device.
Regarding claim 7, Stattenfield discloses
The system of claim 1,
wherein the one or more preferred features comprises one or more applications, profiles, or certificates identified in the device state of the first device. (Stattenfield [0017] and [0020] discloses copying data from an application on the first device and placing it in the pasteboard ready to be pasted onto the second device).
Regarding claim 8, it’s directed to a method having similar limitations cited in claim 1. Thus claim 8 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 9, it’s directed to a method having similar limitations cited in claim 2. Thus claim 9 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 10, it’s directed to a method having similar limitations cited in claim 3. Thus claim 10 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 11, it’s directed to a method having similar limitations cited in claim 4. Thus claim 11 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 12, it’s directed to a method having similar limitations cited in claim 5. Thus claim 12 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 13, it’s directed to a method having similar limitations cited in claim 6. Thus claim 13 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 14, it’s directed to a method having similar limitations cited in claim 7. Thus claim 14 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 15, it’s directed to a non-transitory medium having similar limitations cited in claim 1. Thus claim 15 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 16, it’s directed to a non-transitory medium having similar limitations cited in claim 2. Thus claim 16 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 17, it’s directed to a non-transitory medium having similar limitations cited in claim 3. Thus claim 17 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 18, it’s directed to a non-transitory medium having similar limitations cited in claim 4. Thus claim 18 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 19, it’s directed to a non-transitory medium having similar limitations cited in claim 5. Thus claim 19 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 20, it’s directed to a non-transitory medium having similar limitations cited in claim 6. Thus claim 20 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 6 above.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J SALLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2193
/Chat C Do/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2193