DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are
persuasive. Upon further consideration, and in view of applicant’s amendments, a new grounds of
rejection is made in view of newly cited reference Owen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bijani et al (US 20170017505 A1) hereafter Bijani in view of Campbell et al (US 20210012254 A1) hereafter Campbell in view of Owen et al (US 20160047940 A1) hereafter Owen
Regarding claim 1, Bijani teaches a computer-implemented method for visualizing application vitals, the method comprising: receiving, by one or more processors, a structured data set (Para 0008, Based on the instruction code, the processor is configured to receive information that specifies a server to analyze); querying, by the one or more processors, the structured data set for a person of interest (Para 0040, Staffing - employees includes dedicated help desk , Staffing - contractor Licensing/asp/maintenance fees); querying, by the one or more processors, a cloud infrastructure and/or an enterprise database in parallel, wherein the querying includes: (i) retrieving a plurality of application vitals from a plurality of enterprise applications with respect to the cloud infrastructure (Para 0080, the decommissioning system 105 may communicate with the cloud computing system 115 via, for example, a web services interface, instructions to have the cloud computing system 115 generate the desired template and cloud model on the cloud computing system)(“template and cloud models” teaches “application vitals”), and (ii) retrieving a plurality of application vitals from the plurality of enterprise applications with respect to the enterprise database, wherein, the application vitals include a plurality of health statistics with respect to the plurality of enterprise applications (Para 0032, performing an analysis of the applications running on the server 110)(“analysis of the application” teaches “retrieving a plurality of application vitals”); storing, by an enterprise memory server, the plurality of application vitals from the plurality of enterprise applications (Para 0090, The memory 1210 and the processor 1205 also may include computer-readable media as discussed above); synchronizing, by the one or more processors, the plurality of application vitals from the plurality of enterprise applications with the enterprise memory server (Para 0057, the decommissioning system 105 may receive the information 135 from the discovery tool 130 and generate a recommendation)(“receiving the information” teaches “synchronizing the plurality of application vitals”); comparing, by the one or more processors, the plurality of application vitals with a plurality of cloud-ready assessment parameters (Para 0057, the properties of the application under evaluation, as determined by the discovery tool 130, may be compared with the properties of applications stored in the training data store 107); generating one or more cloud categories corresponding to the enterprise applications by processing the application vitals and the cloud-ready assessment parameters using a trained classification model (Para 0095, the decommissioning system may be configured to send notifications to stakeholders pertaining to various stages of the decommissioning and cloud migration process, such as “Being Assessed”, “Ready to Deploy”, “Deployed,” etc.); receiving, requested data from a user device (Para 0096, the decommissioning system may be configured to request approvals/reverse sign offs etc. from various stakeholders related to a particular application).
Bijani does not appear to explicitly teach causing a user device to display a view including: (i) the person of interest, and (ii) at least a portion of the structured data set corresponding to employees subordinate to the person of interest; and updating, by the one or more processors, the view to include the requested data; and causing the user device to display the view.
In analogous art, Campbell teaches causing a user device to display a view including: (i) the person of interest, and (ii) at least a portion of the structured data set corresponding to employees subordinate to the person of interest (Para 0025, client-user interface employment compliance monitoring dashboard which aggregates and displays employee and staffing compliance and risk assessments); and updating, by the one or more processors, the view to include the requested data (Para 0009, The system is designed with an algorithm that is programmed to, either automatically or by request, scrape the web for certain information and data); and causing the user device to display the view (Para 0009, The algorithm then pulls certain information from the relational database service and places the information on a dashboard). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bijani to include the teaching of Campbell. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to implement this modification in order to perform a compliance and auditing process, as taught by Campbell (Abs, A safety compliance and auditing process is provided).
Bijani in view of Campbell does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the querying in parallel includes utilizing a plurality of threads within a process, a plurality of processes executing on different cores, shared-memory parallelism in which multiple processors share a single address space and directly access and modify the same data, or any combination thereof.
In analogous art, Owen teaches wherein querying the cloud infrastructure and/or the enterprise database in parallel includes establishing a plurality of processes executing on different cores including a first child process assigned to query the cloud infrastructure and a second child process assigned to query the enterprise database, wherein the first and second child processes execute concurrently on different cores (Para 0028, processing the geodetic data comprises concurrently using a plurality of processors of the on-premise and cloud-based system infrastructures) and aggregate the queried application vitals in respective memory spaces (Para 0098, the data products may be stored in cloud object stores 420). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bijani in view of Campbell to include the teaching of Owen. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to implement this modification in order to efficiently process large amount of data, as taught by Owen (Para 0055, the HySDS may be used to efficiently analyze this voluminous data, and provide users with tools to access data products for their regions of interest).
Regarding claim 2, Bijani in view of Campbell in view of Owen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein querying the cloud infrastructure and/or the enterprise database in parallel includes querying the cloud infrastructure and/or the enterprise database (i) in batches, (ii) on a periodic basis, and/or (iii) on a scheduled basis (Bijani, Para 0051, The mail application utilized 20% of the processing power during the analysis period).
Regarding claim 3, Bijani in view of Campbell in view of Owen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: pre-training a large language model wherein the training includes processing a set of data that can be included in the view (Bijani, Para 0060, machine learning algorithms of the decommissioning system will record the override and subsequent recommendations will take into consideration the overrides that were made to re-evaluate whether there is a need to fine tune the recommendation).
Regarding claim 4, Bijani in view of Campbell in view of Owen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 3, further comprising: receiving, by the one or more processors, a desired view in a text query from the user input; processing, by the pre-trained large language model, the text query from the user input to generate a predicted desired view based on an intent of the text query from the user input; updating, by the one or more processors, the view to include a predicted desired view; and displaying the view (Bijani, Para 0060, The user may be able to can override the recommendations in which case machine learning algorithms of the decommissioning system will record the override and subsequent recommendations will take into consideration the overrides that were made to re-evaluate whether there is a need to fine tune the recommendation).
Regarding claim 5, Bijani in view of Campbell in view of Owen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the cloud categories include a number and a percentage of at least one of: (i) total applications, (ii) cloud hosted applications, (iii) cloud capable applications, (iv) future cloud implemented applications, (v) applications to be retained, (vi) applications to be retired; or (vii) uncategorized applications (Bijani, Para 0049, Other Information collected by the first module may include the amount of processor usage associated with a given application and/or a number of users that utilize the application. In this regard, the first module may be left to run on the server for a predetermined amount of time, such as a week, month, etc. to provide a better assessment as to the overall usage of the application).
Regarding claim 6, Bijani in view of Campbell in view of Owen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the structured data set is representative of an enterprise/organizational hierarchy (Bijani, Para 0022, The embodiments described in this application put into play intelligent decision making through data and analytics to achieve simplification of IT estate by accelerating cloud adoption through selection of the right cloud model & solution using artificial intelligence and thereby decommissioning applications, processes and data centers and their associated Infrastructure).
Regarding claim 7, Bijani in view of Campbell in view of Owen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the requested data includes at least one of: (i) the person of interest, (ii) an application of interest, (iii) an application vital of interest, (iv) an enterprise cloud category of interest; or (v) a cloud-ready assessment parameter of interest (Bijani, Para 0022, Using artificial intelligence, the embodiments detect applications that are candidates for decommissioning owing to low business value or duplication).
Claim 8 is the system claim corresponding to method claim 1, and is analyzed and rejected
accordingly.
Claim 9 is the system claim corresponding to method claim 2, and is analyzed and rejected
accordingly.
Claim 10 is the system claim corresponding to method claim 3, and is analyzed and rejected
accordingly.
Claim 11 is the system claim corresponding to method claim 4, and is analyzed and rejected
accordingly.
Claim 12 is the system claim corresponding to method claim 5, and is analyzed and rejected
accordingly.
Claim 13 is the system claim corresponding to method claim 6, and is analyzed and rejected
accordingly.
Claim 14 is the system claim corresponding to method claim 7, and is analyzed and rejected
accordingly.
Claim 15 is the system claim corresponding to method claim 1, and is analyzed and rejected
accordingly.
Claim 16 is the system claim corresponding to method claim 2, and is analyzed and rejected
accordingly.
Claim 17 is the system claim corresponding to method claim 3, and is analyzed and rejected
accordingly.
Claim 18 is the system claim corresponding to method claim 4, and is analyzed and rejected
accordingly.
Claim 19 is the system claim corresponding to method claim 5, and is analyzed and rejected
accordingly.
Claim 20 is the system claim corresponding to method claim 6, and is analyzed and rejected
accordingly.
Conclusion
/B.T.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2166
/SANJIV SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2166