DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office action on the merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and addressed below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
“at an incline to for pulling and lifting” should be corrected to read “at an incline for pulling and lifting” or similar.
Claim 9 objected to because of the following informalities:
“grip at the one object at the target location” should be corrected to read “grip the one object at the target location” or similar.
Claim 18 objected to because of the following informalities:
“the EOAT includes movable and actuatable gripper interface” should be corrected to read “the EOAT includes a movable and actuatable gripper interface” or similar.
Claim 20 objected to because of the following informalities:
“at an incline to for pulling and lifting” should be corrected to read “at an incline for pulling and lifting” or similar.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the extended one or more gripping elements" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 3-5 inherit the problematic language and are therefore also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In line 21, the claim discusses “the bottom supporting object”. This is unclear as there is a scenario in the claim where this object does not exist as the displacement is done on “a bottom supporting object and/or a laterally adjacent object”. If the displacement separates from a laterally adjacent object then it is unclear how the object has also been separated from a bottom supporting object. Clarification on the record is earnestly solicited. Claims 10-17 inherit the problematic language and are therefore also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the container" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zoghzoghy et al. (US 20200377317 A1), hereinafter Zoghzoghy.
Regarding claim 18, Zoghzoghy teaches:
18. A robotic system, comprising:
a chassis; (Paragraph 0099, "FIGS. 2 and 3 respectively show front and rear perspective views of the robot 105. As can be seen, the robot 105 includes a base unit 205, a mast 210 extending from the base unit 205, and an End of Arm Tool (“EoAT”) 215 extending from the mast 210. To move and manipulate the EoAT 215, the robot 105 has a series of joints (i.e., J1, J2, J3, J4, and J5) that provide a number of degrees of freedom of movement. The base unit 205 is generally configured to provide power, move, and control the general operation of the robot 105. The mast 210 is designed to position the EoAT 215 as well as provide a pathway for conveying the cargo 125 between the base unit 205 and the EoAT 215. The EoAT 215 is configured to rapidly stack and unstack the cargo 125 in the cargo carrier 120. The EoAT 215 has a low profile to make picking or placing cargo 125 from the floor of the cargo carrier 120 or building 130 easier as well as in stacks of cargo 125. ")
a segment rotatably connected to the chassis and configured, via segment actuators, to move relative to the chassis; (Paragraph 0100, "As shown, the base unit 205 includes a transport system 220 that is configured to move the robot 105. The transport system 220 in the depicted example includes one or more wheels 225 that move the base unit 205. The cargo carrier 120 typically provides limited space in which the robot 105 is able to maneuver. The transport system 220 is configured to enhance the mobility of the base unit 205 so that the robot 105 is able to maneuver within the tight confines of the cargo carrier 120. In one form, the wheels 225 include omnidirectional wheels that not only move the base unit 205 in a longitudinal direction (i.e., back and forth), but also in a lateral direction (i.e., side to side). As will be explained in greater detail below, the mast 210 is retractable and extendable to facilitate ease of lateral movement of the robot 105 within the building 130 as well as elsewhere. The base unit 205 along with the rest of the robot 105 can be powered in any number of manners. In the illustrated example, the robot 105 is electrically powered by an external power source (e.g., power cable with a plug), but in other examples, the robot 105 can be self powered and/or powered in other ways, such as through batteries, solar cells, pneumatically through pneumatic tanks, hydraulically through hydraulic lines, and the like. The base unit 205 further has at least one controller 230 for controlling the operation of the robot 105 along with a mast actuator 240 that is configured to move the mast 210. In one form, the controller 230 includes one or more Programmable Logic Controllers (PLCs). The base unit 205 can include other components to enhance safety, such as lighting, safety scanners, as well as safety electronic (E) stop radiofrequency (RF) receivers. The base unit 205 also serves as a weighted counter balance to counterbalance the weight of the mast 210 and EoAT 215 as well any cargo 125 thereon." Please also see Paragraph 0104)
an end-of-arm tool (EOAT) rotatably connected to the segment and configured via EOAT actuators to move relative to the segment, (Paragraph 0109, "The EoAT mast section 510 further includes an EoAT actuator drive 1020 mounted along the frame 1015. The EoAT actuator drive 1020 is designed to control the pitch and/or tilt of the EoAT 215 relative to the mast 210. As shown, the EoAT actuator drive 1020 includes one or more motors 1025 with one or more gearboxes 1030 that drive one or more EoAT drive belts 1035. The motors 1025 and gearboxes 1030, which tend to be heavy, are positioned proximal to the base mast section 505 in the illustrated example to reduce torque and conserve energy required to move the mast 210. At the end proximal to the EoAT 215, the EoAT actuator drive 1020 has one or more EoAT drive pulleys 1040 around which the EoAT drive belts 1035 are looped. As can be seen, the EoAT drive belts 1035 generally extend the full length of the EoAT mast section 510 between the gearboxes 1030 and the EoAT drive pulleys 1040 of the EoAT actuator drive 1020. Looking back at FIGS. 6 and 7, the motors 1025 and gearboxes 1030 are designed to extend through and move within the EoAT drive motor slots 720 in the frame 705 of the base mast section 505.") wherein the EOAT includes movable and actuatable gripper interface configured to grasp vertical surfaces of objects; (Paragraph 0119, "The gripper mechanism 2125 includes one or more suction cups 2130 for securing the cargo 125 to the gripper mechanism 2125 via a vacuum or suction. Alternatively or additionally, other types of devices (e.g., magnets, clamps, hooks, etc.) on the gripper mechanism 2125 can be used to secure or grip the cargo 125 to the gripper mechanism 2125. The suction cups 2130 are secured to a gripper member 2135 of the gripper mechanism 2125. As can be seen, both the proximal conveyor belt 2115 and distal conveyor belt 2120 extend substantially across the entire bed width of the EoAT 215. As such, the proximal conveyor 2105 and distal conveyor 2110 are able to provide a relatively large contact area for the cargo 125. The larger contact area not only improves frictional engagement but also allows the EoAT 215 to handle a wide variety of sized and shaped cargo 125. The gripper member 2135 of the gripper mechanism 2125 is designed to span across the distal conveyor belt 2120 as the gripper member 2135 moves to allow the EoAT 215 to have the wider distal conveyor 2110. This also allows the gripper member 2135 to be wider so as to incorporate more and/or larger suction cups 2130. The gripper mechanism 2125 is designed to move in the retracted direction 430 and extended direction 435 along the distal conveyor 2110. As shown, the EoAT 215 has a carriage gap 2140 between the proximal conveyor 2105 and distal conveyor 2110 where the gripper member 2135 is able to nest below the level of the conveyor beds of the proximal conveyor 2105 and distal conveyor 2110 so that the cargo 125 can travel over the gripper member 2135 nested in the carriage gap 2140.")
a first sensor located between the EOAT and the chassis, wherein the first sensor is configured to obtain three-dimensional (3D) and/or two-dimensional (2D) depictions of space beyond the EOAT; (Paragraph 0161, "“Vision System” generally refers to one or more devices that collect data and form one or more images by a computer and/or other electronics to determine an appropriate position and/or to “see” an object. The vision system typically, but not always, includes an imaging-system that incorporates hardware and software to generally emulate functions of an eye, such as for automatic inspection and robotic guidance. In some cases, the vision system can employ one or more video cameras, Analog-to-Digital Conversion (ADC), and Digital Signal Processing (DSP) systems. By way of a non-limiting example, the vision system can include a charge-coupled device for inputting one or more images that are passed onto a processor for image processing. A vision system is generally not limited to just the visible spectrum. Some vision systems image the environment at infrared (IR), visible, ultraviolet (UV), and/or X-ray wavelengths. In some cases, vision systems can interpret three-dimensional surfaces, such as through binocular cameras.")
a second sensor located on the EOAT and configured to obtain at least depictions of sensed space below and/or beyond the EOAT; (Paragraph 0121, "Looking at FIGS. 23, 24, and 25, the distal end of the shoehorn member 2150 is bent in an inwards direction so that when the cargo 125 is unloaded from the EoAT 215, the cargo 125 is pressed against the location member 2155. This helps to locate the cargo 125 so that the cargo 125 can be more precisely located and stacked. The location member 2155 in essence acts as a probe for locating the cargo 125. As shown in FIGS. 24 and 25, shoehorn member 2150 has a guide rail body 2405 that helps to retain the cargo 125 when transported on the EoAT 215. Again, at the distal end, the shoehorn member 2150 has a fan section 2410 that extends from the guide rail body 2405 in a fan like manner so as to be wider than the guide rail body 2405. Having the fan section 2410 being wider, the shoehorn member 2150 helps to properly center and retain the cargo 125. The shoehorn member 2150 can also act like a shoehorn for placing cargo 125 into tight packing arrangements such as next to a wall. The fan section 2410 further has a beveled edge 2415 to prevent the shoehorn member 2150 from catching when the EoAT 215 is angled.")
a processor communicatively coupled to the segment actuators, the EOAT actuators, the first sensor, the second sensor, and the EOAT, wherein the processor is configured to (1) receive outputs from the first and second sensors and (2) generate instructions for the segment actuators, the EOAT actuators, and the EOAT. (Paragraph 0140, "“Controller” generally refers to a device, using mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic electronic techniques, and/or a microprocessor or computer, which monitors and physically alters the operating conditions of a given dynamical system. In one nonlimiting example, the controller can include an Allen Bradley brand Programmable Logic Controller (PLC). A controller may include a processor for performing calculations to process input or output. A controller may include a memory for storing values to be processed by the processor or for storing the results of previous processing. A controller may also be configured to accept input and output from a wide array of input and output devices for receiving or sending values. Such devices include other computers, keyboards, mice, visual displays, printers, industrial equipment, and systems or machinery of all types and sizes. For example, a controller can control a network or network interface to perform various network communications upon request. The network interface may be part of the controller, or characterized as separate and remote from the controller. A controller may be a single, physical, computing device such as a desktop computer or a laptop computer, or may be composed of multiple devices of the same type such as a group of servers operating as one device in a networked cluster, or a heterogeneous combination of different computing devices operating as one controller and linked together by a communication network. The communication network connected to the controller may also be connected to a wider network such as the Internet. Thus a controller may include one or more physical processors or other computing devices or circuitry and may also include any suitable type of memory. A controller may also be a virtual computing platform having an unknown or fluctuating number of physical processors and memories or memory devices. A controller may thus be physically located in one geographical location or physically spread across several widely scattered locations with multiple processors linked together by a communication network to operate as a single controller. Multiple controllers or computing devices may be configured to communicate with one another or with other devices over wired or wireless communication links to form a network. Network communications may pass through various controllers operating as network appliances such as switches, routers, firewalls or other network devices or interfaces before passing over other larger computer networks such as the Internet. Communications can also be passed over the network as wireless data transmissions carried over electromagnetic waves through transmission lines or free space. Such communications include using WiFi or other Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN) or a cellular transmitter/receiver to transfer data." as well as Paragraph 0100, "The base unit 205 along with the rest of the robot 105 can be powered in any number of manners. In the illustrated example, the robot 105 is electrically powered by an external power source (e.g., power cable with a plug), but in other examples, the robot 105 can be self powered and/or powered in other ways, such as through batteries, solar cells, pneumatically through pneumatic tanks, hydraulically through hydraulic lines, and the like. The base unit 205 further has at least one controller 230 for controlling the operation of the robot 105 along with a mast actuator 240 that is configured to move the mast 210. In one form, the controller 230 includes one or more Programmable Logic Controllers (PLCs). The base unit 205 can include other components to enhance safety, such as lighting, safety scanners, as well as safety electronic (E) stop radiofrequency (RF) receivers. The base unit 205 also serves as a weighted counter balance to counterbalance the weight of the mast 210 and EoAT 215 as well any cargo 125 thereon.")
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zoghzoghy in view of Girtman et al. (US 20180072517 A1), hereinafter Girtman.
Regarding claim 1, Zoghzoghy teaches:
1. A method for operating a robotic system, the method comprising:
obtaining sensor data representative of an object at a start location; (Paragraph 0161, "“Vision System” generally refers to one or more devices that collect data and form one or more images by a computer and/or other electronics to determine an appropriate position and/or to “see” an object. The vision system typically, but not always, includes an imaging-system that incorporates hardware and software to generally emulate functions of an eye, such as for automatic inspection and robotic guidance. In some cases, the vision system can employ one or more video cameras, Analog-to-Digital Conversion (ADC), and Digital Signal Processing (DSP) systems. By way of a non-limiting example, the vision system can include a charge-coupled device for inputting one or more images that are passed onto a processor for image processing. A vision system is generally not limited to just the visible spectrum. Some vision systems image the environment at infrared (IR), visible, ultraviolet (UV), and/or X-ray wavelengths. In some cases, vision systems can interpret three-dimensional surfaces, such as through binocular cameras.") and
generating one or more commands for operating one or more segments and an End-of-Arm-Tool (EOAT) (Paragraph 0100, "The base unit 205 along with the rest of the robot 105 can be powered in any number of manners. In the illustrated example, the robot 105 is electrically powered by an external power source (e.g., power cable with a plug), but in other examples, the robot 105 can be self powered and/or powered in other ways, such as through batteries, solar cells, pneumatically through pneumatic tanks, hydraulically through hydraulic lines, and the like. The base unit 205 further has at least one controller 230 for controlling the operation of the robot 105 along with a mast actuator 240 that is configured to move the mast 210. In one form, the controller 230 includes one or more Programmable Logic Controllers (PLCs). The base unit 205 can include other components to enhance safety, such as lighting, safety scanners, as well as safety electronic (E) stop radiofrequency (RF) receivers. The base unit 205 also serves as a weighted counter balance to counterbalance the weight of the mast 210 and EoAT 215 as well any cargo 125 thereon.") to transfer the object from the start location toward a target location along a set of frame conveyors that are over the EOAT and the one or more segments robotic arm, (Paragraph 0004, "The EoAT includes an extendable-retractable gripper mechanism that is configured to grip the cargo items. In one form, the gripper mechanism includes one or more vacuum cups to grip the cargo items. The gripper mechanism is able to extend the vacuum cups above the conveyor system on the EoAT in order to pull cargo onto the conveyor system. Once the cargo item is pulled onto the conveyor system, the vacuum cups are retracted below the conveyor system so that the cargo item is able to travel over the gripper mechanism.") wherein generating the one or more commands includes:
positioning the EOAT to grip the object with one or more gripping elements, (Paragraph 0004, "The EoAT is able to move in yaw (side-to-side) and pitch (tilt) directions relative to the mast so that it is properly positioned to pick or place the cargo items. Some cargo items, such as boxes, can tip over so as to not be level. The EoAT has been further configured to twist or roll so that the EoAT is able to handle and move any tilted cargo items. Moreover, the EoAT now includes several unique guiding structures that enhance the ability of the EoAT to load and unload cargo items.") wherein the EOAT is positioned … to for pulling and lifting the gripped object during an initial portion of the transfer. (Paragraph 0119, "The proximal conveyor 2105 further includes a proximal conveyor belt 2115, and the distal conveyor 2110 includes a distal conveyor belt 2120. The EoAT 215 includes a gripper mechanism 2125 configured to move along the frame 1720 to pull cargo 125 onto the distal conveyor 2110 of the EoAT 215 and to push the cargo 125 off the distal conveyor 2110. The gripper mechanism 2125 includes one or more suction cups 2130 for securing the cargo 125 to the gripper mechanism 2125 via a vacuum or suction. Alternatively or additionally, other types of devices (e.g., magnets, clamps, hooks, etc.) on the gripper mechanism 2125 can be used to secure or grip the cargo 125 to the gripper mechanism 2125. The suction cups 2130 are secured to a gripper member 2135 of the gripper mechanism 2125. As can be seen, both the proximal conveyor belt 2115 and distal conveyor belt 2120 extend substantially across the entire bed width of the EoAT 215. As such, the proximal conveyor 2105 and distal conveyor 2110 are able to provide a relatively large contact area for the cargo 125. The larger contact area not only improves frictional engagement but also allows the EoAT 215 to handle a wide variety of sized and shaped cargo 125. The gripper member 2135 of the gripper mechanism 2125 is designed to span across the distal conveyor belt 2120 as the gripper member 2135 moves to allow the EoAT 215 to have the wider distal conveyor 2110. This also allows the gripper member 2135 to be wider so as to incorporate more and/or larger suction cups 2130. The gripper mechanism 2125 is designed to move in the retracted direction 430 and extended direction 435 along the distal conveyor 2110. As shown, the EoAT 215 has a carriage gap 2140 between the proximal conveyor 2105 and distal conveyor 2110 where the gripper member 2135 is able to nest below the level of the conveyor beds of the proximal conveyor 2105 and distal conveyor 2110 so that the cargo 125 can travel over the gripper member 2135 nested in the carriage gap 2140.")
Zoghzoghy does not specifically teach setting the conveyors at an incline. However, Girtman, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… with the set of frame conveyors of the EOAT at an incline (Paragraph 0337, "Cartons picked from the carton pile may be rapidly picked, released onto the inclined front-end shelf conveyor 6412, and rapidly conveyed down and away from the robotic arm 6002, 6404 etc. The angle and height of the front-end shelf conveyor 6412 may be varied as required as the carton wall height is decreased by rapidly removing the upper row of cartons. Carton throughput may be increased when the up and down movements of the front-end shelf conveyor 6412 are substantially minimized, and the robotic arm 6002, 6404 doesn't have to wait for the shelf conveyor 6412 to move up and down when conveying cartons from the pick site to the conveying surface of the center conveyor 6412. When front-end shelf conveyor 6412 is used as a powered slide, cartons may drop a safe distance onto the front-end shelf conveyor 6412, or drop a safe distance onto the conveying surface of the center conveyor 6412.") …
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic system and control methods as taught by Zoghzoghy with the inclined conveyor as taught by Girtman. This would provide a stable conveyor surface which may catch the objects from a safe distance for efficient movement of the packages towards/away from the stack of items depending on whether the system is stacking or unloading.
Regarding claim 2, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Zoghzoghy further teaches:
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more commands are for operating one or more pivotable links of the EOAT, the one or more pivotable links operably coupled to the one or more gripping elements (Paragraph 0126, "Referring to FIGS. 29, 30, and 31, the linkage assemblies 2720 each include one or more linkages 2905 that pivotally connect the carriage sliders 2705 to the cam followers 2725. In the depicted example, each of the linkage assemblies 2720 have two (2) linkages 2905 that connect the carriage sliders 2705 to the cam followers 2725 in a parallelogram shaped arrangement. The gripper member 2135 has one or more vacuum ports 2910 for supplying a vacuum or suction to the suction cups 2130. In other words, the vacuum ports 2910 form a vacuum manifold between the suction cups 2130 and the vacuum ports 2910 so that the suction cups 2130 are able to draw a vacuum in order to grip the cargo 125. To prevent disengagement of the cam followers 2725 from the cam rails 2730, each of the cam followers 2725 have at least a pair of cam rollers 2915 positioned on opposite sides of each of the cam rails 2730, as is for example depicted in FIG. 31.") and configured to:
position the one or more gripping elements in a first position toward the object,
grip the object using the extended one or more gripping elements,
rotatably retract the one or more pivotable link to a second position for raising the one or more gripping elements and the gripped object. (Paragraph 0004, "The EoAT includes an extendable-retractable gripper mechanism that is configured to grip the cargo items. In one form, the gripper mechanism includes one or more vacuum cups to grip the cargo items. The gripper mechanism is able to extend the vacuum cups above the conveyor system on the EoAT in order to pull cargo onto the conveyor system. Once the cargo item is pulled onto the conveyor system, the vacuum cups are retracted below the conveyor system so that the cargo item is able to travel over the gripper mechanism. When unloading or stacking the cargo items, the gripper mechanism can operate in a reverse fashion and accurately push the cargo items from the conveyor system and onto the cargo stack. The EoAT is able to move in yaw (side-to-side) and pitch (tilt) directions relative to the mast so that it is properly positioned to pick or place the cargo items. Some cargo items, such as boxes, can tip over so as to not be level. The EoAT has been further configured to twist or roll so that the EoAT is able to handle and move any tilted cargo items. Moreover, the EoAT now includes several unique guiding structures that enhance the ability of the EoAT to load and unload cargo items. The mast is attached to a mobile base unit. The mobile base unit is able to move the EoAT by moving the mast. In addition, large or major movements of the EoAT can be accomplished by moving and/or steering the mobile base unit. For example, the mobile base unit is configured to move in and out of a trailer as well as in side-to-side directions. The moveable mast minimizes the distance the base unit needs to move in order to load or unload the cargo items from the cargo container. The base unit is able to adjust the yaw and pitch of the mast. The base unit is also able to extend and retract the mast so that the base unit does not need to move as the EoAT moves vertically and horizontally along a row of stacked cargo items. The mast and base unit have conveyors for transporting the cargo items to and from the EoAT.")
Regarding claim 6, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Zoghzoghy further teaches:
6. The method of claim 1, wherein:
the obtained sensor data represents one or more depictions of the object from a laterally-facing sensor; (Paragraph 0101, "At least one base unit conveyor 235, which is located on the top of the base unit 205, conveys the cargo 125 between the mast 210 and the extendable conveyor 110. The base unit conveyor 235 is able to extend and retract in a fashion similar to the mast 210. This configuration provides stable support as the cargo 125 transitions between the mast 210 and the extendable conveyor 110. The base unit 205 further includes a base unit housing 245 that covers and protects the various components of the base unit 205. The base unit 205 further includes one or more safety sensors 250 that senses objects, individuals, and/or structures located around the robot 105. In one example, the sensors 250 are in the form of light curtains for sensing the relative location of the robot 105. For instance, the sensors 250 can sense when personnel get too close to the robot 105 such that operation of the robot 105 can cease or enter a safe operational mode. The sensors 250 can also sense the walls of the cargo carrier 120 so that the robot 105 is properly positioned within the cargo carrier 120.")
the represented object is (1) within a cargo storage room or a container (Paragraphs 0138-0139, "“Cargo” or “Cargo Items” generally refer to goods or other physical objects that are typically carried or otherwise transported on vehicles, such as on trucks, ships, aircraft, spacecraft, and/or motor vehicles. The cargo items can be unpackaged or packaged, such as in boxes, bags, bales, containers, barrels, and tanks, to name just a few examples.
“Cargo Carrier” generally refers to any structure used to transport and/or store cargo items, such as flatbed trailers, trailers, semitrailers, trucks, intermodal containers, refrigerated trailers, and railcars, to just name a few examples. The cargo carrier can be transported in any number of ways, such as over land, sea, space, and/or air. Certain type of cargo carriers, like intermodal containers, are designed to be transported in a number of manners, such as via a truck, in a ship, and via rail. The cargo carrier can be fully enclosed, such as when in the form of a semi-trailer or cargo container, or open to the outside environment, such as with a flatbed trailer.") and (2) stacked on top of and/or adjacent to one or more objects that each have exposed surfaces within a threshold distance from each other and relative to the laterally-facing sensor; (Paragraph 0097, "FIG. 1 shows a perspective view of a robotic system 100 according to one example. The robotic system 100 includes a robot 105 and an extendable conveyor 110 operatively positioned between the robot 105 and a main conveyer system 115, which is typically (but not always) found in a warehouse and/or manufacturing plant. As shown, the robot 105 is configured to move in and out of a cargo carrier 120, such as a semi-trailer or flatbed trailer, in a progressive manner. Alternatively or additionally, the robot 105 is able to move between various dock doors as well as other cargo carriers 120. As the robot 105 progressively moves in and out of the cargo carrier 120, the extendable conveyor 110 extends or retracts, depending on the movement of the robot 105 in the cargo carrier 120 as well as elsewhere. The extendable conveyor 110 can for example include connectors, cabling, and/or tubing for supplying electrical power, air, and/or communication pathways to the robot 105. The robot 105 is configured to load and/or unload cargo 125 from the cargo carrier 120. In the illustrated example, the cargo 125 is in the form of boxes, but in other examples, other types of cargo 125, such as bags, drums, cases, etc., can be loaded and/or unloaded from the cargo carrier 120 with the robot 105. As will be explained in greater detail below, the robot 105 is configured to load and/or unload the cargo 125 within the cargo carrier 120 in a continuous or near continuous fashion. As a result, the robot 105 is able to quickly service the cargo carrier 120. The robot 105 is designed to rapidly stack and unstack the cargo 125 within the cargo carrier 120 as well as unstack or unload the cargo 125 from the cargo carrier 120 with minimal movement. Consequently, the cargo carrier 120 can be rapidly loaded and unloaded automatically without any (or minimal) human interaction. As can be also seen in FIG. 1, the robot 105 is able to pack or unpack the cargo 125 from the bottom and nearly to the top and sides of the cargo carrier 120 so as to efficiently almost fill the entire space inside the cargo carrier 120, if needed.") and
the one or more generated commands are for operating the one or more segments and the EOAT to remove the object out from the cargo storage room or the container and along a continuous path over the EOAT and the one or more segments. (Paragraph 0004, "The EoAT includes an extendable-retractable gripper mechanism that is configured to grip the cargo items. In one form, the gripper mechanism includes one or more vacuum cups to grip the cargo items. The gripper mechanism is able to extend the vacuum cups above the conveyor system on the EoAT in order to pull cargo onto the conveyor system. Once the cargo item is pulled onto the conveyor system, the vacuum cups are retracted below the conveyor system so that the cargo item is able to travel over the gripper mechanism.")
Regarding claim 20, where all the limitations of claim 18 are discussed above, Zoghzoghy further teaches:
20. The robotic system of claim 18, wherein:
… and includes a local conveyor on a top portion thereof; (Paragraph 0004, "he system includes a mobile robot that has a unique End of Arm Tool (EoAT) attached to a moveable mast. The EoAT incorporates a conveyor system that is able to rapidly transport the cargo items on a near continuous basis. The EoAT includes an extendable-retractable gripper mechanism that is configured to grip the cargo items. In one form, the gripper mechanism includes one or more vacuum cups to grip the cargo items. The gripper mechanism is able to extend the vacuum cups above the conveyor system on the EoAT in order to pull cargo onto the conveyor system. Once the cargo item is pulled onto the conveyor system, the vacuum cups are retracted below the conveyor system so that the cargo item is able to travel over the gripper mechanism. When unloading or stacking the cargo items, the gripper mechanism can operate in a reverse fashion and accurately push the cargo items from the conveyor system and onto the cargo stack. The EoAT is able to move in yaw (side-to-side) and pitch (tilt) directions relative to the mast so that it is properly positioned to pick or place the cargo items. Some cargo items, such as boxes, can tip over so as to not be level. The EoAT has been further configured to twist or roll so that the EoAT is able to handle and move any tilted cargo items. Moreover, the EoAT now includes several unique guiding structures that enhance the ability of the EoAT to load and unload cargo items. The mast is attached to a mobile base unit. The mobile base unit is able to move the EoAT by moving the mast. In addition, large or major movements of the EoAT can be accomplished by moving and/or steering the mobile base unit. For example, the mobile base unit is configured to move in and out of a trailer as well as in side-to-side directions. The moveable mast minimizes the distance the base unit needs to move in order to load or unload the cargo items from the cargo container. The base unit is able to adjust the yaw and pitch of the mast. The base unit is also able to extend and retract the mast so that the base unit does not need to move as the EoAT moves vertically and horizontally along a row of stacked cargo items. The mast and base unit have conveyors for transporting the cargo items to and from the EoAT. In one form, an extendable conveyor is coupled to the base unit so as to form a link between the robot and main conveyor system in a facility. The mast is also internally extendable or retractable so that the length of the mast is able to be adjusted and still be able to transport cargo items. This ability to further retract the mast allows the robot to move in tight spaces such as in between support columns. This robot system can rapidly load and unload cargo carriers automatically with no or little human interaction. This system design eliminates the need for forklift operators which in turn reduces the risk of injury and expense associated with the operators as well as reduces loading and unloading times.") and
the generated one or more commands are for positioning the EOAT (Paragraph 0100, "The base unit 205 along with the rest of the robot 105 can be powered in any number of manners. In the illustrated example, the robot 105 is electrically powered by an external power source (e.g., power cable with a plug), but in other examples, the robot 105 can be self powered and/or powered in other ways, such as through batteries, solar cells, pneumatically through pneumatic tanks, hydraulically through hydraulic lines, and the like. The base unit 205 further has at least one controller 230 for controlling the operation of the robot 105 along with a mast actuator 240 that is configured to move the mast 210. In one form, the controller 230 includes one or more Programmable Logic Controllers (PLCs). The base unit 205 can include other components to enhance safety, such as lighting, safety scanners, as well as safety electronic (E) stop radiofrequency (RF) receivers. The base unit 205 also serves as a weighted counter balance to counterbalance the weight of the mast 210 and EoAT 215 as well any cargo 125 thereon." as well as Paragraph 0004, "The EoAT is able to move in yaw (side-to-side) and pitch (tilt) directions relative to the mast so that it is properly positioned to pick or place the cargo items. Some cargo items, such as boxes, can tip over so as to not be level. The EoAT has been further configured to twist or roll so that the EoAT is able to handle and move any tilted cargo items. Moreover, the EoAT now includes several unique guiding structures that enhance the ability of the EoAT to load and unload cargo items.") … to for pulling and lifting the gripped object during an initial portion of the transfer. (Paragraph 0119, "The proximal conveyor 2105 further includes a proximal conveyor belt 2115, and the distal conveyor 2110 includes a distal conveyor belt 2120. The EoAT 215 includes a gripper mechanism 2125 configured to move along the frame 1720 to pull cargo 125 onto the distal conveyor 2110 of the EoAT 215 and to push the cargo 125 off the distal conveyor 2110. The gripper mechanism 2125 includes one or more suction cups 2130 for securing the cargo 125 to the gripper mechanism 2125 via a vacuum or suction. Alternatively or additionally, other types of devices (e.g., magnets, clamps, hooks, etc.) on the gripper mechanism 2125 can be used to secure or grip the cargo 125 to the gripper mechanism 2125. The suction cups 2130 are secured to a gripper member 2135 of the gripper mechanism 2125. As can be seen, both the proximal conveyor belt 2115 and distal conveyor belt 2120 extend substantially across the entire bed width of the EoAT 215. As such, the proximal conveyor 2105 and distal conveyor 2110 are able to provide a relatively large contact area for the cargo 125. The larger contact area not only improves frictional engagement but also allows the EoAT 215 to handle a wide variety of sized and shaped cargo 125. The gripper member 2135 of the gripper mechanism 2125 is designed to span across the distal conveyor belt 2120 as the gripper member 2135 moves to allow the EoAT 215 to have the wider distal conveyor 2110. This also allows the gripper member 2135 to be wider so as to incorporate more and/or larger suction cups 2130. The gripper mechanism 2125 is designed to move in the retracted direction 430 and extended direction 435 along the distal conveyor 2110. As shown, the EoAT 215 has a carriage gap 2140 between the proximal conveyor 2105 and distal conveyor 2110 where the gripper member 2135 is able to nest below the level of the conveyor beds of the proximal conveyor 2105 and distal conveyor 2110 so that the cargo 125 can travel over the gripper member 2135 nested in the carriage gap 2140.")
Zoghzoghy does not specifically teach setting the conveyors at an incline. However, Girtman, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… the EOAT has a side-profile shape of a wedge … with its local conveyor at an incline (Paragraph 0337, "Cartons picked from the carton pile may be rapidly picked, released onto the inclined front-end shelf conveyor 6412, and rapidly conveyed down and away from the robotic arm 6002, 6404 etc. The angle and height of the front-end shelf conveyor 6412 may be varied as required as the carton wall height is decreased by rapidly removing the upper row of cartons. Carton throughput may be increased when the up and down movements of the front-end shelf conveyor 6412 are substantially minimized, and the robotic arm 6002, 6404 doesn't have to wait for the shelf conveyor 6412 to move up and down when conveying cartons from the pick site to the conveying surface of the center conveyor 6412. When front-end shelf conveyor 6412 is used as a powered slide, cartons may drop a safe distance onto the front-end shelf conveyor 6412, or drop a safe distance onto the conveying surface of the center conveyor 6412.") …
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic system and control methods as taught by Zoghzoghy with the inclined conveyor as taught by Girtman. This would provide a stable conveyor surface which may catch the objects from a safe distance for efficient movement of the packages towards/away from the stack of items depending on whether the system is stacking or unloading.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 10-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the referencesapplied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations arerepresentative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed Invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
/H.J.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657