DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 7, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 6 recites “wherein the window is spaced apart from the outside surface of the display module”. This contradicts claim 1, which recites “the window being directly disposed on the display module”. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang (US 2020/0135063).
As to claim 1, Jang discloses in figure 4: a display module DM; a window WM including a transmission region (region that does not overlap the bezel layer BZL) and a bezel region (region that overlaps the bezel layer BZL) adjacent to the transmission region, the window being directly disposed on the display module and including a resin material (paragraph [0059], base layer BS may include a plastic substrate); and a light blocking pattern BZL (paragraph [0060], “the bezel layer BZL may include a black pigment or dye”) overlapping the bezel region, wherein an outside surface of the window protrudes further outward compared to an outside surface of the display module, and wherein a front surface of the window includes a curved portion, and the curved portion curves toward a rear surface of the window as a distance from the transmission region increases.
As to claim 2, Jang discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Jang further discloses in paragraph [0059] (“The base layer BS may include a glass substrate and a plastic film bonded to the glass substrate with an adhesive member”), a first window (plastic layer) directly disposed on the display module, the first window having a first modulus; and a second window (glass layer) directly disposed on the first window, the second window having a second modulus value greater than the first modulus value (glass has a higher modulus value than plastic).
As to claim 4, Jang discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Jang further discloses in figure 4, a first portion overlapping the transmission region, wherein a distance between a front surface and a rear surface of the first portion is constant, and a second portion overlapping the bezel region, wherein a distance between a front surface and a rear surface of the second portion decreases as the distance from the first portion increases.
As to claim 5, Jang discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Jang further discloses in figure 4, wherein the light blocking pattern BZL is directly disposed on the rear surface of the window.
As to claim 8, Jang discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Jang further discloses in figure 4, wherein a width of the window in a first direction is greater than a width of the display module in the first direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US 2020/0135063).
Jang discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the light blocking pattern has a thickness of 5 micrometers or less. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jang wherein the light blocking pattern has a thickness of 5 micrometers or less in order to enable use of conventional printing techniques, which were known to be cost effective and reliable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior art taught or fairly suggested a display device comprising the combination required by claim 3, wherein the light blocking pattern is directly disposed between the first window and the second window.
Conclusion
/DAVID Y CHUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871