DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The Amendment filed 08AUG2026 has been entered. No new matter has been entered. Applicant’s amendments have overcome each and every 103 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 11MAY2026.
Applicant's arguments filed 08AUG2026 have been fully considered. Note that the present claims do not claim “passive or automatically self-cleaning” per se or exclude backwashing. The self-cleaning aspect appears to be a result of an inclined filter, not claimed in the independent claim. See updated rejections below.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 line(s) 8-10 sets forth the limitation, “a screen filter . . . which filters the discharge liquid and separates at least one of the cutting chips from the discharge liquid . . . .” The term “at least one of” is interpreted as requiring at a minimum a single cutting chip to be separated, as opposed to a single item in a list of alternatives.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,4,9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ISHIHARA (US 20130319919) in view of THOMPSON (US 3834539).
Regarding claims 1,9-10, ISHIHARA teaches cutting fluid filtering device having filter washing function (title, Figs.) including a processing discharge liquid filtration device comprising:
a first tank (Fig. 1 #31);
a first tank pump (Fig. 1 #36);
a filter (filter of Fig. 1 #39); and
a cutting chip recovery container (container of Fig. 1 #39); and
a filter in the filter container (not shown; par. [0037]).
ISHIHARA is silent as to the details of the filter. However, THOMPSON teaches a trap for removing solid particles from a liquid circulating system (title, Figs.) including a screen filter (e.g. Figs. 4-5 #42) with a wire screen having stitches (or mesh as shown in the figures) installed at an angle (or inclination) at 45 degrees (C2/L38-42), which is capable of causing solids (e.g. chips) to automatically slip down the screen.
THOMPSON teaches that an angled screen is self-cleaning (C3/L15-17).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to specify the filter of ISHIHARA to be an angled wire mesh in order to provide a self-cleaning filter as is known in the art. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of filters. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Regarding claim 2, ISHIHARA teaches a discharge liquid agitation means (e.g. return conduit including valve Fig. 1 #8) capable of returning a part of the discharge liquid pumped up by the first tank pump into the discharge liquid in the first tank capable of agitating the discharge liquid in the first tank (discharge of fluid will agitate the contents in the tank).
Regarding claim 4, ISHIHARA teaches a sensor (e.g. Fig. 1 #53) that detects an amount of the discharge liquid in a second tank (Fig. 1 #33), and
a control unit (Fig. 1 #60) capable of controlling operation and stop of a second tank pump (Fig. 1 #49) on the basis of a signal from the sensor (see also ISHIHARA claim 5).
While ISHIHARA is silent as to a level sensor in the first tank and the control unit controlling to stop the first pump, it is obvious to provide the control capabilities of the second tank to the first tank as well (i.e. stop operation of the pump when the liquid level is too low).
Claim(s) 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ISHIHARA (US 20130319919) in view of THOMPSON (US 3834539) and MILLER (US 20090114609).
Regarding claim 5, ISHIHARA teaches:
a second tank (Fig. 1 #33); and,
a second tank pump (Fig. 1 #49).
ISHIHARA does not teach a back filter. However, MILLER apparatuses for filtering water from oil and gas wells (title, Figs.) including:
a first tank (Fig. 3A #510);
a first tank pump (Fig. 1 #521);
a first filter (Fig. 1 #522,524,526);
a second tank (Fig. 3A #550);
a second tank pump (Fig. 1 #540); and,
a second/back filter (Fig. 1 #552,554,556).
MILLER teaches that having multiple filters improve the filtering efficiency (par. [0090]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of ISHIHARA to with a back filter in order to improve the filtering efficiency as is known in the art. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of separations. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Regarding claim 6, ISHIHARA teaches a sensor (e.g. Fig. 1 #53) that detects an amount of the discharge liquid in a second tank (Fig. 1 #33), and
a control unit (Fig. 1 #60) capable of controlling operation and stop of a second tank pump (Fig. 1 #49) on the basis of a signal from the sensor (see also ISHIHARA ‘919 claim 5).
Regarding claim 7, ISHIHARA’s modified device teaches a discharge liquid return line (Fig. 1 #56) capable of returning the discharge liquid in the second tank to the first tank.
Regarding claim 8, MILLER teaches the back filter includes filters in a plurality of stages (Fig. 1 #552,554,556) that filter and sequentially pass the discharge liquid, and the filters in the stages are respectively configured to be independently replaceable (par. [0103]).
Telephonic Inquiries
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LIAM A. ROYCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1773
/Liam Royce/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773