DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filed 06/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, see Remarks, pgs. 11-12, that: In view of the above, Liu fails to disclose all of the features recited in claim 1, as amended, including "the control unit is configured to: ... determine a distance between a center of the laser light and a center of the photovoltaic panel based on a track result obtained by the laser light tracking the photovoltaic panel; determine to decrease a target ratio of a size of the laser light relative to a size of the photovoltaic panel, when the distance determined by the control unit is shorter than a predetermined distance threshold value during a predetermined period; determine to increase the target ratio, when the distance determined by the control unit is longer than the predetermined distance threshold value during the predetermined period; and control a beam diameter of the laser light such that a ratio of the size of the laser light relative to the size of the photovoltaic panel becomes the target ratio determined by the control unit" (emphasis added).
In response to item(s) 2 above, the examiner disagrees. The examiner is giving the claims their broadest reasonable interpretation. LIU et al. (US 20170183095 A1) discloses tracking a solar cell (310) on a moving object (300) for determining aiming of a laser (230) upon the solar cell (310) [0003] [0015] [0024] [0033] [0036-0037] [0039-0040] [0042].
LIU discloses that the percentage/ratio of the size of the beam to the size of the solar cell is controlled (beam diameter controlled) so that it is within a particular percentage (i.e. ratio of beam size to solar cell size) [0017].
Additionally, the beam center to solar cell center positional relationship (i.e. the distance between the centers of the beam and solar cell) is determined [0040] [0036]. Using this information LIU discloses the beam aiming/size is adjusted to match more closely the solar cell’s size (ratio of sizes to a predetermined ratio) [0040] [0036] [0017] (reference’s claims 6-7)
[0040 Note Camera 250 may capture light from … retroreflectors, and the aiming of laser beam 230 may be adjusted to maximize the amount of light reflected by the central retroreflector. Additionally, the aiming of laser beam 230 may be adjusted so that the light reflected by each of the perimeter retroreflectors is minimized; Note this implies aiming/minimizing beam size to fall within the perimeter retroflectors and to align (decrease distance between) the beam’ s center with the central solar cell retro reflector (maximize light reflected by the central retroreflector)];
[0036 Note laser beam 230 may be correctly aimed at an approximate center of the solar cells 310];
[0017 Note laser spot 240 having a dimension within a particular percentage of a corresponding dimension of solar cell 310A; Note within a particular percentage is equivalent to within a certain ratio/target ratio of beam size to solar cell size)],.
(reference’s claims 6-7)
(reference’s claim 7 Note 7. The system of claim 1, wherein the laser-aiming module is further configured to adjust a size or a shape of the laser beam incident on the solar cell to substantially match a size or a shape of the solar cell.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, AND 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LIU et al. (US 20170183095 A1).
Regarding claim 1, LIU discloses a laser device (fig. 1, 200) (abstract) comprising:
an output unit (210, 220) which outputs laser light (230);
a receiving unit (of 200, 270) which receives position information (150 from 360) indicating a position [0031-0032] of a moving object (UAV 300);
an image capture unit (250, 260) which captures an image of light [0038-0040] from the moving object; and
a control unit (270) which controls an output of the laser light such that more of the laser light is radiated to a photovoltaic panel (310a, 310b, 310c) mounted on the moving object, based on the position of the moving object indicated by the position information (150 from 360) and a captured image [0038-0040] that is captured by the image capture unit (250, 260) [0003] [0015] [0024] [0031] [0033] [0037] [0039-0040] [0042], wherein
the receiving unit (of 200, 270) further receives movement speed information indicating a movement speed of the moving object, and movement direction information indicating a movement direction of the moving object [0003] [0015] [0024] [0031] [0033] [0036-0037] [0039-0040] [0042] and
the control unit (270) is configured to:
control the output of the laser light (230) such that the laser light tracks [0003] [0015] [0024] [0033] [0036-0037] [0039-0040] [0042] the photovoltaic panel, further based on the movement speed of the moving object indicated by the movement speed information [0003] [0015] [0024] [0033] [0036-0037] [0039-0040] [0042] and the movement direction of the moving object indicated by the movement direction information [0003] [0015] [0024] [0033] [0036-0037] [0039-0040] [0042]:
determine a distance between a center [0039-0040] [0042] of the laser light (230) and a center [0039-0040] [0042] of the photovoltaic panel based on a track result [0003] [0015] [0033] [0036-0037] [0039-0040] [0042] obtained by the laser light tracking the photovoltaic panel:
determine to decrease a target ratio of a size (reference’s claims 6-7) [0040] [0017] [0040] of the laser light (230) relative to a size of the photovoltaic panel [0017] [0040], when the distance determined by the control unit is shorter than a predetermined distance threshold value during a predetermined period (i. e. during device operation period):
determine to increase the target ratio (reference’s claims 6-7) [0040] [0017] [0040] when the distance determined by the control unit is longer [0017] [0040] than the predetermined distance threshold value during the predetermined period (i. e. during device operation period):; and
control a beam diameter [0017] [0040] of the laser light (230) such that a ratio of the size of the laser light relative to the size of the photovoltaic panel becomes the target ratio determined by the control unit (reference’s claims 6-7) [0040] [0017]
[0040 Note Camera 250 may capture light from … retroreflectors, and the aiming of laser beam 230 may be adjusted to maximize the amount of light reflected by the central retroreflector. Additionally, the aiming of laser beam 230 may be adjusted so that the light reflected by each of the perimeter retroreflectors is minimized; Note this implies aiming/minimizing beam size to fall within the perimeter retroflectors and to align (decrease distance between) the beam’ s center with the central solar cell retro reflector (maximize light reflected by the central retroreflector)];
[[0036 Note laser beam 230 may be correctly aimed at an approximate center of the solar cells 310];
0017 Note laser spot 240 having a dimension within a particular percentage of a corresponding dimension of solar cell 310A; Note within a particular percentage is equivalent to within a certain ratio/target ratio of beam size to solar cell size)],.
(reference’s claims 6-7)
(reference’s claim 7 Note 7. The system of claim 1, wherein the laser-aiming module is further configured to adjust a size or a shape of the laser beam incident on the solar cell to substantially match a size or a shape of the solar cell.).
(fig. 1, UAV 300, photovoltaic panels 310a, 310b, 310c; laser 210, 220; camera 250, 260; controller 270;
(fig. 3, 392, 394, 396)
[0003]
[0012-0013]
[0015] [0017]
[0024]
[0031-0033]
[0036-0042].
(reference’s claims 6-7).
Regarding claim 18, LIU discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon a program for causing a computer to function (fig. 4; 400) [0044] as:
an output unit (210, 220) which outputs laser light (230);
a receiving unit (of 200, 270) which receives position information (150 from 360) indicating a position [0031-0032] of a moving object (UAV 300);
an image capture unit (250, 260) which captures an image of light [0038-0040] from the moving object; and
a control unit (270) which controls an output of the laser light such that more of the laser light is radiated to a photovoltaic panel (310a, 310b, 310c) mounted on the moving object, based on the position of the moving object indicated by the position information (150 from 360) and a captured image [0038-0040] that is captured by the image capture unit (250, 260) [0003] [0015] [0024] [0031] [0033] [0037] [0039-0040] [0042], wherein
the receiving unit (of 200, 270) further receives movement speed information indicating a movement speed of the moving object, and movement direction information indicating a movement direction of the moving object [0003] [0015] [0024] [0031] [0033] [0036-0037] [0039-0040] [0042] and
the control unit (270) is configured to:
control the output of the laser light (230)such that the laser light tracks [0003] [0015] [0024] [0033] [0036-0037] [0039-0040] [0042] the photovoltaic panel, further based on the movement speed of the moving object indicated by the movement speed information [0003] [0015] [0024] [0033] [0036-0037] [0039-0040] [0042] and the movement direction of the moving object indicated by the movement direction information [0003] [0015] [0024] [0033] [0036-0037] [0039-0040] [0042]:
determine a distance between a center [0039-0040] [0042] of the laser light (230)and a center [0039-0040] [0042] of the photovoltaic panel based on a track result [0003] [0015] [0033] [0036-0037] [0039-0040] [0042] obtained by the laser light tracking the photovoltaic panel:
determine to decrease a target ratio of a size (reference’s claims 6-7) [0040] [0017] [0040] of the laser light (230) relative to a size of the photovoltaic panel [0017] [0040], when the distance determined by the control unit is shorter than a predetermined distance threshold value during a predetermined period (i. e. during device operation period):
determine to increase the target ratio (reference’s claims 6-7) [0040] [0017] [0040] when the distance determined by the control unit is longer [0017] [0040] than the predetermined distance threshold value during the predetermined period (i. e. during device operation period):; and
control a beam diameter [0017] [0040] of the laser light (230) such that a ratio of the size of the laser light relative to the size of the photovoltaic panel becomes the target ratio determined by the control unit (reference’s claims 6-7) [0040] [0017]
(fig. 1, UAV 300, photovoltaic panels 310a, 310b, 310c; laser 210, 220; camera 250, 260; controller 270;
(fig. 3, 392, 394, 396)
[0003]
[0012-0013]
[0015] [0017]
[0024]
[0031-0033]
[0036-0042].
(reference’s claims 6-7).
Regarding claim 20, LIU discloses a method which is executed by a computer (fig. 1; 270) (fig. 4; 400) [0044], the method comprising:
receiving (via 270, 200) position information (150 from 360) indicating a position [0031-0032] of a moving object (UAV 300);
capturing (via 250, 260) an image of light [0038-0040] from the moving object;
controlling (270) an output of laser light such that more of the laser light is radiated to a photovoltaic panel (310a, 310b, 310c) mounted on the moving object, based on the position of the moving object indicated by the position information (150 from 360) and a captured image [0038-0040] that is captured in the capturing (250, 260) [0003] [0015] [0024] [0031] [0033] [0037] [0039-0040] [0042], wherein
receiving movement speed information indicating a movement speed of the moving object, and movement direction information indicating a movement direction of the moving object [0003] [0015] [0024] [0031] [0033] [0037] [0039-0040] [0042] and
controlling the output of the laser light (230) such that the laser light tracks [0003] [0015] [0024] [0033] [0036-0037] [0039-0040] [0042] the photovoltaic panel, further based on the movement speed of the moving object indicated by the movement speed information [0003] [0015] [0024] [0033] [0036-0037] [0039-0040] [0042] and the movement direction of the moving object indicated by the movement direction information [0003] [0015] [0024] [0033] [0036-0037] [0039-0040] [0042]:
determining a distance between a center [0039-0040] [0042] of the laser light (230) and a center [0039-0040] [0042] of the photovoltaic panel based on a track result [0003] [0015] [0033] [0036-0037] [0039-0040] [0042] obtained by the laser light tracking the photovoltaic panel:
determining to decrease a target ratio of a size (reference’s claims 6-7) [0040] [0017] of the laser light (230) relative to a size of the photovoltaic panel [0017] [0040], when the distance determined is shorter than a predetermined distance threshold value during a predetermined period (i. e. during device operation period):
determining to increase the target ratio (reference’s claims 6-7) [0040] [0017] [0040] when the distance determined is longer [0017] [0040] than the predetermined distance threshold value during the predetermined period (i. e. during device operation period):; and
controlling a beam diameter [0017] [0040] of the laser light (230) such that a ratio of the size of the laser light relative to the size of the photovoltaic panel becomes the target ratio (reference’s claims 6-7) [0040] [0017]
(fig. 1, UAV 300, photovoltaic panels 310a, 310b, 310c; laser 210, 220; camera 250, 260; controller 270;
(fig. 3, 392, 394, 396)
[0003]
[0012-0013]
[0015] [0017]
[0024]
[0031-0033]
[0036-0042].
(reference’s claims 6-7).
Regarding claim 2, LIU discloses that the image capture unit (250, 260) captures an image [0038-0040] of the light emitted by a light source [0040 Note retroreflectors] installed at a position corresponding to the photovoltaic panel (310a, 310b, 310c) .
Regarding claim 3, LIU discloses that the image capture unit (250, 260) captures an image [0038-0040] of the light obtained by a reflection plate [0040] installed around the photovoltaic panel (310a, 310b, 310c) , reflecting the laser light.
Regarding claim 4, LIU discloses that the image capture unit (250, 260) captures an image [0038-0040] of the light obtained by a reflection plate [0040] installed around the photovoltaic panel (310a, 310b, 310c) [0040], reflecting the laser light.
Regarding claim 6, LIU discloses that the control unit (270) controls a radiation direction of the laser light such that a distance between a center of the laser light and a center [0040] of the photovoltaic panel (310a, 310b, 310c) becomes shorter [0040].
Regarding claim 7, LIU discloses that the control unit (270) controls the radiation direction of the laser light, by analyzing the image of the captured image [0038-0040] , and specifying a position of the center [0040] of the photovoltaic panel (310a, 310b, 310c) .
Regarding claim 8, LIU discloses that the control unit (270) controls a shape [0017] of the laser light such that a shape error [0017] between the shape of the laser light and a shape of the photovoltaic panel (310a, 310b, 310c) becomes smaller [0017 Note match the shape/dimension to within a certain percentage].
Regarding claim 9, LIU discloses that the control unit (270) controls the shape [0017] of the laser light to be an ellipse [0017], and an aspect ratio and an orientation of the ellipse are able to be controlled by the control unit [0017 Note ellipse’s major and minor axis controlled to match solar panel shape’s dimensions and orientation].
Regarding claim 10, LIU discloses that the control unit (270) controls an intensity distribution [0017-0018] of the laser light such that the intensity distribution of the laser light becomes “more” uniform [0017-0018] on the photovoltaic panel (i.e. the laser covers more area of the panel) (310a, 310b, 310c)
[0017-0018 Note the laser intensity distribution/beam is aimed to irradiate within an intensity distribution/area on the photovoltaic panel to match its shape/dimensions to within a certain percentage].
Regarding claim 11, LIU discloses that the control unit (270) controls at least one of a shape [0017] or an intensity distribution [0040] of the laser light such that electric power generated by the photovoltaic panel (310a, 310b, 310c) which has received the laser light, is maximized (Note in [0017] and [0042] the laser is aimed/shaped to maximize laser (intensity distribution ) received by the solar panel).
Regarding claim 19, LIU discloses the laser device (fig. 1, 200) (abstract) and the moving object (300).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (US 20170183095 A1) in view of TAO et al. (CN 112117835 A).
Regarding claim 5, LIU discloses the image capture unit (250, 260) captures an image [0038-0040] of the light that has passed through a
But LIU fails to disclose a
TAO, however, discloses use of a band-pass filter which passes only light in a wavelength band in a predetermined range including a wavelength of the laser light (PG. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of LIU, with a laser detector with a bandpass filter, as taught by TAO, to for removing other light and reducing impurity of a detected laser light image to improve accuracy (pg.4)
2. Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (US 20170183095 A1) in view of KARE et al. (US 20180123403 A1).
Regarding claim 15, LIU discloses wherein the receiving unit (of 200, 270) receives
But LIU fails to disclose receives environmental information indicating an environment around the object.
KARE, however, discloses a laser power beaming system with a laser (fig. 1, 14, 12) (fig. 3, 102, 104) that locates a laser receiver (20, 18) (108, 128, 178, 170) [0033] and that
receives environmental information indicating an environment around the object (108) [0040] , and the control unit (122) controls the output of the laser light, further based on the environmental information [0040].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of LIU, with controlling the laser based upon operating environment, as taught by KARE, to minimize harmful irradiation of people/urban environments [0040].
2. Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (US 20170183095 A1) in view of GOLLAKOTA et al. (US 11159059 B2).
Regarding claim 15, LIU discloses wherein the receiving unit (of 200, 270) receives
Regarding claim 16, LIU discloses wherein the control unit (270) controls a timing (270 turns on/off laser 210) of outputting the laser light [0017-0018] [0033] [0024] [0031] [0038-0040] such that the laser light is
Regarding claim 17, LIU discloses wherein
But LIU fails to disclose receives environmental information indicating an environment around the object;
controls outputting the laser light such that the laser light is not radiated to an object which exists around a path of the laser light; and
wherein when an object exists behind the object, controlling a beam diameter of the laser light such that a size of the laser light is smaller.
GOLLAKOTA, however, discloses a wireless laser beam power transmission system (abstract0 (figs. 1 and 3) with a laser transmitter (102) and receiving object (104) with a receiver (104, 122) for the high power laser (114); and
a receiving unit (134 of 102) receives environmental information indicating an environment around the receiving object (104), and the control unit (of 102) controls the output of the laser light, further based on the environmental information (from 130, 134). ;
wherein the control unit (of 102) controls a timing (col. 8, line to col. 9, line 15).of outputting the laser light such that the laser light is not radiated to an object (fig. 3, 300) which exists around a path of the laser light (114) ; and .
wherein when an object (300) exists behind/relative in space to the receiving object, (104) the control unit (of 102) controls a beam diameter of the laser light such that a size of the laser light becomes smaller than a size of the photovoltaic panel by a predetermined ratio (controller of 102 turns off the laser 114, therefore its diameter becomes zero) (col. 8, line to col. 9, line 15).
(figs, 1 and 3; 102, 104, 114, 116, 134, 136, 300)
(col. 8, line to col. 9, line 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of LIU, with detecting environmental objects and controlling the laser beam in response thereto, as taught by GOLLAKOTA, to prevent harmful irradiation of people in the operating environment (col. 8, line to col. 9, line 15).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW SMYTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878