DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7, 11-13, 16, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hon et al (2020/0067383). Hon et al teach (1) A hybrid-electric propulsion system comprising: a gas turbine engine comprising a high pressure system 34 and a low pressure system 36; an electric machine 80 coupled to one of the high pressure system 34 or the low pressure system 36; a thermal management system 134 defining one or more thermal management system flowpaths and operable to provide one or more heat exchange fluids to the electric machine 80 through the respective one or more thermal management system flowpaths 136; one or more sensing nodes 120, 122 connected to at least one of the one or more thermal management system flowpaths or the electric machine 80; and a controller 124 configured to: collect one or more signals from the one or more sensing nodes 120, 122; analyze the one or more signals to detect a thermal anomaly corresponding to at least one of the electric machine [¶ 0067 based on electrical sensors 120, 122] or the thermal management system; and responsive to detecting the thermal anomaly, perform at least one of: adjust 142 a flow of at least one heat exchange fluid of the one or more heat exchange fluids; or derate the electric machine [¶ 0083]. (2) wherein the one or more signals comprise at least one of: a temperature value corresponding to a stator coil of the electric machine 80; or an electrical parameter corresponding to the electric machine [¶ 0067 based on electrical sensors 120, 122]. (3) wherein the one or more thermal management system flowpaths 136 comprise a first thermal management system flowpath [Fig. 3, left of 142] and a second thermal management system flowpath 144, and wherein the controller 124 is configured to, responsive to detecting the thermal anomaly corresponding to the first thermal management system flowpath, increase the flow of the at least one heat exchange fluid flowing via the second thermal management system flowpath 144 [¶ 0080, 0083]. (6) wherein a first sensing node of the one or more sensing nodes 120, 122 indicates a temperature value corresponding to the electric machine, and responsive to a non-responsive condition of the first sensing node, the controller is configured to estimate a thermal condition of the electric machine based on at least one electrical parameter of the electric machine [¶ 0067 based on electrical sensors 120, 122]. (7) further comprising a power converter 118 electrically connected to the electric machine, and wherein at least one sensing node 122 of the one or more sensing nodes is connected to the power converter 118, and responsive to detecting the thermal anomaly corresponding to the power converter 118 based on the at least one sensing node 122 connected to the power converter, the controller is configured to adjust 142 the flow of the at least one heat exchange fluid to the electric machine [¶ 0067]. (11) A method for thermal management for a hybrid-electric propulsion system of an aircraft, the hybrid-electric propulsion system comprising a gas turbine engine having a high pressure system 34, a low pressure system 36, and an electric machine 80 coupled to one of the high pressure system 34 or low pressure system 36, the method comprising: flowing one or more heat exchange fluids via a thermal management system 134 defining one or more thermal management system flowpaths 136 to the electric machine 80; collecting, by a controller 124, one or more signals from one or more sensing nodes 120, 122 connected to at least one of the one or more thermal management system flowpaths or the electric machine 80; analyzing, by the controller 124, the one or more signals to detect a thermal anomaly corresponding to at least one of the electric machine or the thermal management system [¶ 0067 based on electrical sensors 120, 122]; and responsive to detecting the thermal anomaly, performing, by the controller 124, at least one of: adjusting 142 a flow of at least one heat exchange fluid of the one or more heat exchange fluids; or derating the electric machine. (12) further comprising, detecting, by the controller 124, the thermal anomaly based on at least one of: a temperature value corresponding to a stator coil of the electric machine 80; or an electrical parameter corresponding to the electric machine [¶ 0067 based on electrical sensors 120, 122]. (13) wherein the one or more thermal management system flowpaths 136 comprise a first thermal management system flowpath [left of 142 in Fig. 3]and a second thermal management system flowpath 144, and wherein, responsive to detecting the thermal anomaly corresponding to the first thermal management system flowpath, increasing, by the controller 124, the flow of the at least one heat exchange fluid flowing via the second thermal management system flowpath 144 [¶ 0080, 0083]. (16) wherein a first sensing node of the one or more sensing nodes 120, 122 indicates a temperature value corresponding to the electric machine, and responsive to a non-responsive condition of the first sensing node, estimating, by the controller, a thermal condition of the electric machine based on at least one electrical parameter of the electric machine [¶ 0067 based on electrical sensors 120, 122]. (18) A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising computer-executable instructions, which when executed by a processor associated with an electronic controller 124 for a gas turbine engine, cause the electronic controller 124 to perform a method for thermal management for a hybrid-electric propulsion system of an aircraft, the hybrid-electric propulsion system comprising a gas turbine engine having a high pressure system 34, a low pressure system 36, and an electric machine 80 coupled to one of the high pressure system 34 or low pressure system 36, the method comprising: flowing one or more heat exchange fluids via a thermal management system 134 defining one or more thermal management system flowpaths 136 to an electric machine 80, the electric machine 80 operable to provide power to the gas turbine engine; collecting one or more signals from one or more sensing nodes 120, 122 connected to at least one of the one or more thermal management system flowpaths or the electric machine; analyzing the one or more signals to detect a thermal anomaly corresponding to at least one of the electric machine or the thermal management system; and responsive to detecting the thermal anomaly, performing at least one of: adjusting 142 a flow of at least one heat exchange fluid of the one or more heat exchange fluids; or derating the electric machine. (19) comprising further computer-executable instructions, which when executed by the processor, cause the electronic controller 124 to further perform the method of detecting the thermal anomaly based on at least one of: a temperature value corresponding to a stator coil of the electric machine; or an electrical parameter corresponding to the electric machine [¶ 0067 based on electrical sensors 120, 122].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 12, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hon et al (2020/0067383) in view of Stridsberg (2013/0342049). Hon et al teach the (2) wherein the one or more signals comprise at least one of: a temperature value corresponding to a stator coil of the electric machine 80; or an electrical parameter corresponding to the electric machine [¶ 0067 based on electrical sensors 120, 122]. (12) further comprising, detecting, by the controller 124, the thermal anomaly based on at least one of: a temperature value corresponding to a stator coil of the electric machine 80; or an electrical parameter corresponding to the electric machine [¶ 0067 based on electrical sensors 120, 122]; (19) comprising further computer-executable instructions, which when executed by the processor, cause the electronic controller 124 to further perform the method of detecting the thermal anomaly based on at least one of: a temperature value corresponding to a stator coil of the electric machine; or an electrical parameter corresponding to the electric machine [¶ 0067 based on electrical sensors 120, 122]... For an alternate treatment of these limitations, Stridsberg teaches (2) wherein the one or more signals comprise at least one of: a temperature value 1602 corresponding to a stator coil of the electric machine [¶ 0022; 0089] or an electrical parameter corresponding to the electric machine. (12) further comprising, detecting, by the controller, the thermal anomaly based on at least one of: a temperature value 1602 corresponding to a stator coil [¶ 0022; 0089] of the electric machine; or an electrical parameter corresponding to the electric machine. (19) comprising further computer-executable instructions, which when executed by the processor, cause the electronic controller to further perform the method of detecting the thermal anomaly based on at least one of: a temperature value 1602 corresponding to a stator coil [¶ 0022; 0089] of the electric machine; or an electrical parameter corresponding to the electric machine. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a temperature value 1602 corresponding to a stator coil of the electric machine [¶ 0022; 0089], as taught by Stridsberg, as a way to directly detect the temperature value of the electrical machine and consistent with Hon’s desire to know the temperature of the electrical machine.
Claim(s) 4, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hon et al (2020/0067383) view of Sercombe et al (20200381985) and Peace et al (11,383,853). Hon et al do not teach (4) wherein a first sensing node of the one or more sensing nodes indicates a temperature value corresponding to the electric machine, and responsive to a non-responsive condition of the first sensing node, the controller is configured to derate the electric machine immediately or after a predetermined time period. (14) wherein a first sensing node of the one or more sensing nodes indicates a temperature value corresponding to the electric machine, and responsive to a non-responsive condition of the first sensing node, derating, by the controller, the electric machine. Sercombe et al teach wherein a first sensing node of the one or more sensing nodes indicates a temperature value corresponding to the electric machine 125 [Figs. 4, 5], and responsive to fault conditions, including a non-responsive condition of the first sensing node [see ¶ 0029 which teaches the sensor non-responsiveness, e.g. checking the sensors, including temperature sensors], the controller 150 is configured to take safety measures [end of ¶ 0029] immediately or after a predetermined time period [e.g. immediately or after cross checking with the other of the two controllers 150]; (14) wherein a first sensing node of the one or more sensing nodes indicates a temperature value corresponding to the electric machine, and responsive to a non-responsive condition of the first sensing node, taking safety measures, by the controller 124 for the electric machine [¶ 0029]. Sercombe et al teach using multiple controllers and redundancy to check the sensor data and allow the system to be operational even if one sensor fails [¶ 0029]. Peace et al teach (4) wherein a first sensing node of the one or more sensing nodes indicates a temperature value corresponding to the electric machine, and responsive to a non-responsive condition of the first sensing node, the controller is configured to derate the electric machine immediately or after a predetermined time period [see col. 5, lines 27-37]; (14) wherein a first sensing node of the one or more sensing nodes indicates a temperature value corresponding to the electric machine, and responsive to a non-responsive condition of the first sensing node, derating, by the controller, the electric machine [see col. 5, lines 27-37]. Pearce et al teach should the heat exchanger 510 or 514 become damaged or the thermal management system 506, 511 become inoperable, the cooling is done by the other secondary cooling circuit and the electric machine derated [see col. 5, lines 27-37]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ (4) wherein a first sensing node of the one or more sensing nodes indicates a temperature value corresponding to the electric machine, and responsive to a non-responsive condition of the first sensing node, the controller is configured to take safety measures for the electric machine immediately or after a predetermined time period; (14) wherein a first sensing node of the one or more sensing nodes indicates a temperature value corresponding to the electric machine, and responsive to a non-responsive condition of the first sensing node, taking safety measures, by the controller, for the electric machine, as taught by Sercombe et al, as using multiple controllers and redundancy to check the sensor data and allow the system to be operational even if one sensor fails [¶ 0029]. It would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the controller configured to derate the electric machine immediately or after a predetermined time period and derating, by the controller, the electric machine [see col. 5, lines 27-37], as taught by Perce et al, so that should the heat exchanger 510 or 514 become damaged or the thermal management system 506, 511 become inoperable, the cooling is done by the other secondary cooling circuit and the electric machine derated [see col. 5, lines 27-37].
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hon et al (2020/0067383) in view of Stridsberg (2013/0342049), as applied above, and further in view of either Patel et al (2009/0189561) or Gemassmer et al (20210036652). Hon et al do not teach (5) wherein the controller is configured to determine a time period for the thermal anomaly to reach a maximum value, and wherein the controller is configured to derate the electric machine in response to an expiration of the time period; (15) further comprising determining, by the controller, a time period for the thermal anomaly to reach a maximum value, and further comprising derating, by the controller, the electric machine in response to an expiration of the time period. Patel et al teach [Fig. 7] (5) wherein the controller is configured to determine a time period for the thermal anomaly 710 to reach a maximum value, and wherein the controller is configured to derate the electric machine in response to an expiration of the time period [see ¶ 0064-0666] such that the controller provides protection against overheating of the electric machine / motor [see abstract]; (15) further comprising determining, by the controller, a time period for the thermal anomaly 710 to reach a maximum value, and further comprising derating, by the controller, the electric machine in response to an expiration of the time period [see ¶ 0064-0666]. Alternately, Gemassmer et al teach (5) wherein the controller is configured to determine a time period for the thermal anomaly to reach a maximum value, and wherein the controller is configured to derate the electric machine in response to an expiration of the time period 40 [see ¶ 0080-0084, 0007, note time 40 starts the derating period] such that the controller provides protection against overheating of the electric machine / motor [see abstract]; (15) further comprising determining, by the controller, a time period for the thermal anomaly to reach a maximum value, and further comprising derating [starting at time 40], by the controller, the electric machine in response to an expiration of the time period [see ¶ 0080-0084, 0007, note time 40 starts the derating period] such that the controller provides protection against overheating of the electric machine / motor [see abstract]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have wherein the controller is configured to determine a time period for the thermal anomaly to reach a maximum value, and wherein the controller is configured to derate the electric machine in response to an expiration of the time period and determining, by the controller, a time period for the thermal anomaly to reach a maximum value, and further comprising derating, by the controller, the electric machine in response to an expiration of the time period, as taught by either Patel et al or Gemassmer et al, such that the controller provides protection against overheating of the electric machine / motor.
Claim(s) 10, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hon et al (2020/0067383) in view of Choe et al (20210253117). Hon et al do not teach (10) wherein the controller is configured to inject one or more frequency signals to the electric machine to generate the one or more signals collected by the controller (17) further comprising injecting, by the controller, one or more frequency signals to the electric machine to generate the one or more signals collected by the controller. (20) comprising further computer-executable instructions, which when executed by the processor, cause the electronic controller to further perform the method of injecting one or more frequency signals to the electric machine to generate the one or more signals collected by the electronic controller. Choe et al [see ¶ 0019-0023] teach (10) wherein the controller is configured to inject one or more frequency signals 205 to the electric machine 218 to generate the one or more signals collected by the controller [connected after 218 to either 221 or 219] (17) further comprising injecting, by the controller, one or more frequency signals 205 to the electric machine 218 to generate the one or more signals collected by the controller [connected after 218 to either 221 or 219]. (20) comprising further computer-executable instructions, which when executed by the processor, cause the electronic controller to further perform the method of injecting one or more frequency signals 205 to the electric machine 218 to generate the one or more signals collected by the electronic controller [connected after 218 to either 221 or 219]. Choe et al teach the injecting the frequency signals allows determining a health of the turbomachine and the electric machine shaft [see ¶ 0007]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ (10) wherein the controller is configured to inject one or more frequency signals to the electric machine to generate the one or more signals collected by the controller (17) further comprising injecting, by the controller, one or more frequency signals to the electric machine to generate the one or more signals collected by the controller. (20) comprising further computer-executable instructions, which when executed by the processor, cause the electronic controller to further perform the method of injecting one or more frequency signals to the electric machine to generate the one or more signals collected by the electronic controller, to aid in determining health of the turbomachine or electric machine shaft.
Claim(s) 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hon et al (2020/0067383) in view of Kim (2024/0066947). Hon et al do not teach (8) wherein at least one sensing node of the one or more sensing nodes is configured to determine at least one of an ambient thermal condition or a load condition of the gas turbine engine, and wherein the controller is configured to adjust flow of the at least one heat exchange fluid to the electric machine based on at least one of the ambient condition or the load condition. (9) wherein the controller is configured to precondition the thermal management system prior to a predicted occurrence of the ambient thermal condition or the load condition. Kim teaches (8) wherein at least one sensing node of the one or more sensing nodes is configured to determine at least one of an ambient thermal condition [see ¶ 0120] or a load condition of the gas turbine engine, and wherein the controller is configured to adjust flow of the at least one heat exchange fluid to the electric machine 51 [¶ 0041] based on at least one of the ambient condition or the load condition. (9) wherein the controller is configured to precondition the thermal management system prior to a predicted occurrence of the ambient thermal condition or the load condition [see abstract, ¶ 0106, ¶ 0141, precooling of the electric motors and powertrain]. Kim teaches the sensing node and preconditioning of the thermal management system prior to a predicted occurrence facilitates preventing overheating and extending operating range of the electric machine. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ (8) wherein at least one sensing node of the one or more sensing nodes is configured to determine at least one of an ambient thermal condition or a load condition of the gas turbine engine, and wherein the controller is configured to adjust flow of the at least one heat exchange fluid to the electric machine based on at least one of the ambient condition or the load condition. (9) wherein the controller is configured to precondition the thermal management system prior to a predicted occurrence of the ambient thermal condition or the load condition, prior to predicted occurrence facilitates preventing overheating and extending operating range of the electric machine.
Contact Information
The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Ted Kim/
Telephone
571-272-4829
Primary Examiner
Fax
571-273-8300
July 22, 2026