DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 3/18/2024.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore the gate of the fourth transistor being coupled to the gate, source, and drain terminal of the third transistor and the source and drain terminal of fourth transistor being coupled to a second source and drain terminal of the third transistor or claim 4, the source/drain of the first transistor being configured to receive the output voltage of the converter of claims 7 and 10, and the source and drain terminal of the first transistor being coupled to a source and drain terminal of the fourth transistor and the source and drain terminal of the second transistor being coupled to a source and drain terminal of the third transistor and a gate terminal of the fourth transistor or claim 12, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 16 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 16, the limitation “a sensing circuit configured modify or maintain a count of the counter” should be written as “a sensing circuit configured to modify or maintain a count of the counter. Regarding claim 18, the limitation “a sensing circuit configured modify or maintain a count of the counter” should be written as “a sensing circuit configured to modify or maintain a count of the counter. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 6-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 4, it’s not clear as to how the gate of the fourth transistor is coupled to the gate, source, and drain terminal of the third transistor. Furthermore, it’s not clear as to how the source and drain terminal of fourth transistor is coupled to a second source and drain terminal of the third transistor. Regarding claim 6, the limitation “the first transistor” lacks proper antecedent basis and should be written as “a first transistor”. Regarding claim 7, it’s not clear as to how the source and drain of the first transistor is configured to receive an output voltage of the converter. Dependent claims 8-9 inherits the deficiencies of dependent claim 7 and are therefore also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b). Regarding claim 10, it’s not clear as to how the source and drain of the first transistor is configured to receive an output voltage of the converter. Regarding claim 12, it’s not clear as to how the source and drain terminal of the first transistor is coupled to a source and drain terminal of the fourth transistor. Furthermore, it’s not clear as to how the source and drain terminal of the second transistor is coupled to a source and drain terminal of the third transistor and a gate terminal of the fourth transistor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (US 2006/0007713) in view of Chen et al. (US Patent 10075085). Regarding claim 1, Brown discloses (see fig. 1) a circuit for controlling dead-time of a converter, the circuit comprising: a counter (23/25) configured to modify or maintain a delay time of a delay cell (operation of 23/25 controlling the operation of delay cell 16); and a sensing circuit (15) configured to drive the counter (output from 15 used in controlling 23/25). Brown does not disclose a counter configured to minimize or eliminate the dead time of the converter. Chen et al. discloses (see fig. 1 and 4) a counter (412/420) configured to minimize or eliminate a dead time of a converter (operation of counter controlling the 414/416 and 422/424 to reduce a dead-time). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the circuit of Brown to include the features of Chen et al. because it provides for a transient control means to prevent unwanted fluctuations in operation, thus increasing operational efficiencies. Regarding claim 2, Brown discloses that the sensing circuit (15) is further configured to either modify or maintain a count of the counter (operation of 15 controlling the operation of 23/25). Regarding claim 15, Brown discloses (see fig. 1) circuit comprising: one or more delay cells (delay cell 16); and a counter (23/25) coupled to the one or more delay cells (connection to 16) and configured to modify or maintain a delay time of the one or more delay cells (operation of 23/25 controlling the operation of delay cell 16). Brown does not disclose a counter configured to minimize or eliminate the dead time of the converter. Chen et al. discloses (see fig. 1 and 4) a counter (412/420) configured to minimize or eliminate a dead time of a converter (operation of counter controlling the 414/416 and 422/424 to reduce a dead-time). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the circuit of Brown to include the features of Chen et al. because it provides for a transient control means to prevent unwanted fluctuations in operation, thus increasing operational efficiencies.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (US 2006/0007713) in view of Chen et al. (US Patent 10075085) and Guan et al. (US Patent 8542500). Regarding claim 5, Brown does not disclose a capacitor coupled between the sensing circuit and ground; and a switch coupled in parallel with the capacitor. Guan et al. discloses (see fig. 3) a capacitor (C11) coupled between a sensing circuit (332) and ground (ground); and a switch (M11) coupled in parallel with the capacitor (parallel connection between gate and source). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the circuit of Brown to include the features of Guan et al. because it allows for a specific design choice, which can provide a specific/desired type of operation, thus reducing operational variances and increasing operational efficiencies.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (US 2006/0007713) in view of Goodfellow et al. (US Patent 6559684). Regarding claim 11, Brown discloses (see fig. 1) a method comprising: determining, via a circuit, a first current (operation of 15); determining a count based on the first current (operation of 15 controlling counters 23/25); providing the count to a delay cell (output from counter to delay cell 16). Brown does not disclose providing a second current to a first transistor, wherein the first transistor is coupled to the circuit and has a gate terminal coupled to a reference voltage. Goodfellow et al. discloses (see fig. 3) a second current to a first transistor (current through transistor 302), wherein the first transistor is coupled to a circuit (connection to 308/306) and has a gate terminal coupled to a reference voltage (gate of 302 connected to ground). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the circuit of Brown to include the features of Goodfellow et al. because it allows for a specific design choice, which can provide a specific/desired type of operation, thus reducing operational variances and increasing operational efficiencies.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 13-14, and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 4 and 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Petrina et al. (US Patent 12155389) discloses methods and apparatus for adjusting a dead time. Brown et al. (US 2012/0105034) discloses controlling a dead time of a switching voltage regulator.
/JEFFREY A GBLENDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838