The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to an application filed on 3/18/24. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1-20 are amended. Objections to Drawings removed upon correction. Claim Interpretation regarding 112(f) removed upon correction. The nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection is removed upon filing of the Terminal Disclaimer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claims 1-10 are directed to An apparatus for generating a route considering a traffic light waiting time (i.e., a machine). Therefore, claims 1-10 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
Claim 11-20 is directed to A method for generating a route considering a traffic light waiting time (i.e., a method). Therefore, claims 11-20 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (mental process and/or mathematical concepts) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejections. Independent claims 1 and 11 recite:
a computing device comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to set a first route for a destination input by a user through a navigation system; determine, on a lane-by-lane basis, a location of a user vehicle travelling on the first route by using satellite system information identify a first traffic signal to be subsequently entered on the first route based on the location of the user vehicle; detect entry of the user vehicle into a first waiting queue corresponding to a specific lane of the first traffic signal based on vehicle movement data; determine in real time a first traffic light waiting time expected after the user vehicle enters the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal based on linking data on a position of the user vehicle in the first waiting queue and signal change data of the first traffic signal: store the determined first traffic light waiting time in a waiting queue database; determine a first estimated arrival time for a destination of the user vehicle based on the first traffic light waiting time; and generate a second route including a second queue that provides a second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time and having a second estimated arrival time not later than the first estimated arrival time based on the waiting queue database.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation constitutes a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers a mental process and/or a mathematical concept. For example, “set a first route for a destination”, “determine a location of a user vehicle travelling on the first route”, “determine a first estimated arrival time for a destination of the user vehicle”, “detect entry of the user vehicle into a first waiting queue corresponding to a specific lane of the first traffic signal” , “determine in real time a first traffic light waiting time expected after the user vehicle enters the waiting queue of the first traffic signal” In the context of this claim the machine is simply determine the vehicle’s location on a route, a time of arrival based on the route determined, and waiting time of the vehicle based on traffic signals, all of which are simply comprising various mental steps of looking at a map to determine a path to take and/or computing time of arrival based on the map data. Essentially, this apparatus is collecting data of a map and making a determination to how the device should travel and/or determining the time it takes to arrive to a destination based on an observed map, which can all be done with the mental capability of a human with aid of pen and paper. Similarly, the claim mentions “generate a second route including a second queue that provides having a second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time and having a second estimated arrival time not later than the first estimated arrival time”, and “set a first route”. Essentially these limitations are generating paths of travel after obtaining data from a map which is something a human can do mentally with the aid of pen and paper. Lastly, “identify a first traffic signal to be subsequently entered on the first route” is a limitation that is merely identifying and thus perceiving a traffic signal on the route. This limitation is merely using observation to later generate a map which is something the human mind is capable of. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (Where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
a computing device comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to set a first route for a destination input by a user through a navigation system; determine, on a lane-by-lane basis, a location of a user vehicle travelling on the first route by using satellite system information identify a first traffic signal to be subsequently entered on the first route based on the location of the user vehicle; detect entry of the user vehicle into a first waiting queue corresponding to a specific lane of the first traffic signal based on vehicle movement data; determine in real time a first traffic light waiting time expected after the user vehicle enters the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal based on linking data on a position of the user vehicle in the first waiting queue and signal change data of the first traffic signal: store the determined first traffic light waiting time in a waiting queue database; determine a first estimated arrival time for a destination of the user vehicle based on the first traffic light waiting time; and generate a second route including a second queue that provides a second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time and having a second estimated arrival time not later than the first estimated arrival time based on the waiting queue database.
Regarding the additional limitations of “for a destination input by a user through a navigation system,”, “based on vehicle movement data”, “based on the location of the user vehicle”, “based on a signal change data for the first traffic signal and a vehicle movement data of vehicles having entered a waiting queue of the first traffic signal”, “by using satellite system information.”, “based on the first traffic light waiting time”, “based on the waiting queue database”, and “based on linking data on a position of the user vehicle in the first waiting queue and signal change data of the first traffic signal: store the determined first traffic light waiting time in a waiting queue database” These two limitations merely are insignificant extra-solution activities that merely use a computer (route generation apparatus) to perform the system’s configuration. In particular, the step of receiving information regarding action target information and movable space information are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of gathering environment data for use in the map generation step), and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Regarding the additional limitation of “a computing device comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to”. This limitation is merely an insignificant extra solution activity that merely uses a generic computer (“processor”) to automate the route generation and time to arrival calculations step, thus is considered as a computer that implements the abstract idea, which is a form of insignificant extra solution activity. The information processing device is recited at a high level of generality and merely automates the route generation step.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitations as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitations add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a “a route setting unit configured to”, “a traffic light waiting time prediction unit configured to”, “and a route generating unit configured to”, “ an estimated arrival time determining unit configured to”. to perform the data gathering and updating amounts to nothing more than applying the exception using a generic computer component. Generally applying an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. And as discussed above, the additional limitations of “…based on the …” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitations of “…based on the …” are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities because the background recites that the sensors are all conventional sensors mounted on the vehicle and the data transferring over a network is done through well understood and routine communication pathways. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network, as well as, transmitting data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner.
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-20 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claims to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Claim 2 and 12 mentions “…determine the location…” which would fail under Step 2A prong 1 for being an abstract idea mental process and would not allow claim 2 and 12 to be considered eligible subject matter. Claim 3 and 13 mentions “…collect information…” which would fail under Step 2A prong 2 for being mere data gathering and would not allow claim 3 and 13to be considered eligible subject matter. Claim 4 and 14 mentions “…waiting queue information… includes…” which would fail under Step 2A prong 2 for being mere data gathering and would not allow claim 4 and 14 to be considered eligible subject matter. Claim 5, 8, 15, and 18 mentions “…determine …” which would fail under Step 2A prong 1 for being an abstract idea mental process and would not allow claim 5, 8, 15, and 18 to be considered eligible subject matter. Claim 6 and 16 mentions, “…retrieve …” which would fail under Step 2A prong 2 for being mere data gathering would not allow claim 6 and 16 to be considered eligible subject matter. Claim 7 and 17 mentions, “…extract …” which would fail under 2A prong 2 for being mere data gathering would not allow claim 7 and 17 to be considered eligible subject matter. Claim 9 and 19 mentions, “…update the first estimated destination arrival time …” which would fail under Step 2A prong 1 for being a mental process that can be done with the aid of pen and paper and would not allow claim 9 and 19 to be considered eligible subject matter. Claim 9 mentions, “…action purpose information includes information…” which would fail under Step 2A prong 2 for being insignificant extra solution activities that is merely data gathering and would not allow claim 9 to be considered eligible subject matter. Claim 10 and 20 mention, “…provide a second notification…” which would fail under Step 2A prong 1 for being a mental process that can be done with the aid of pen and paper and would not allow claim 10 and 20 to be considered eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 8, 11-13, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi et al. (JP7645293B2) in view of Hyeong-cheol (KR20140132027A) and in view of Mortazavi et al. (US 2018/0096597 Al) and in further view of Seta et al. (US 2023/0373535 A1)
Regarding Claim 1 Taniguchi teaches An apparatus for generating a route considering a traffic light waiting time, (Pg. 12 – [0129] – “…the determination unit 42 determines a future movement route of the user U based on the location information and the behavior history information included in the user information acquired by the acquisition unit 41…” & See Also Pg. 12 – [0128] – “The determination unit 42 stores traffic light waiting information including information on the future traffic light waiting time of the user U in the user information storage unit 30, or transfers the information to the acquisition unit 41” (equates to An apparatus for generating a route considering a traffic light waiting time as the first quote shows the determination unit creating a route for the user and the second quote shows the waiting time being taken by the acquisition unit wherein the first quote the determination makes the route based on data from the acquisition unit.)) the apparatus comprising: a computing device comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to (Pg. 11 – [0111] – “The processing unit 22 is a controller, and is realized by a processor such as a CPU or an MPU, for example, executing various programs (corresponding to an example of an information processing program) stored in a storage device inside the information processing device 1” ) identify a first traffic signal to be subsequently entered on the first route based on the location of the user vehicle; (Pg. 18 – [0188] – “For example, the processing unit 22 acquires information about the user U, reward information, traffic signal status information, traffic-related information, etc., and stores the acquired information about the user U, reward information, traffic signal status information, traffic-related information, etc. in the storage unit 21.” & See Also Pg. 12 – [0124] – “For example, the determination unit 42 determines the location of the user U and the moving direction of the user U based on the location information and the behavior history information included in the user information acquired by the acquisition unit 41.” (equates to identify a first traffic signal to be subsequently entered on the first route based on the location of the user vehicle as the processor can identify traffic signal status information of the user based on information acquired about the user wherein the second quote shows the location being a part of that collected data.)) determine in real time a first traffic light waiting time (Pg. 18 – [0182] – “In addition, for example, when the traffic light waiting time of user U determined by the judgment unit” (equates to a traffic light waiting time prediction unit configured to determine in real time a first traffic light waiting time as the quote shows a judgement unit determining the traffic light waiting time)) expected after the user vehicle enters the waiting queue of the first traffic signal (Pg. 5 – [0042] – “For example, suppose that the allowable time indicated by the allowable time information for each pedestrian P is three minutes, the normal period during which the signal of traffic light 3 indicates a stop instruction is two minutes, and each pedestrian P starts waiting for the light to change at the moment when the signal of traffic light 3 changes from a state indicating permission to proceed to a state indicating a stop instruction.” & See Also Pg. 16 – [0164] – “Furthermore, the condition specified in the condition information may include, for example, a condition for the number of users waiting for a signal to change, which is a condition based on the number of users U waiting in the same area for a signal from the same traffic light 3.” (equates to expected after the user vehicle enters the waiting queue of the first traffic signal based on a signal change data for the first traffic signal and a vehicle movement data of vehicles having entered a waiting queue of the first traffic signal as the first quote shows the traffic signal change information being used once the user enters the area of the traffic light. Wherein the second quote contains the information of a number of users at the same traffic light all located within a region.) ) and store the first traffic light waiting time in a waiting queue database; (Pg. 11 – [0108] –“The traffic-related information storage unit 32 can also store control information instead of or in addition to the signal state information. The control information is control information for each traffic light 3, and includes, for example, information on the signal control pattern of the traffic light 3 and information on the signal control timing of the traffic light 3.”) based on the first traffic light waiting time; (Pg. 19 – [0201] – “The learning model is a model that inputs, for example, at least one of the location when waiting at a traffic light, the waiting time at a traffic light, the number of times waiting at a traffic light,” (equates to based on the first traffic light waiting time as the quote shows a learning model in which the traffic light waiting time is used as an input. ))
Taniguchi fails to teach the apparatus comprising: set a first route for a destination input by a user through a navigation system; determine on a lane-by-lane basis a location of a user vehicle travelling on the first route by using satellite system information, determine a first estimated arrival time for a destination of the user vehicle and generate a second route including a second queue that provides a second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time and having a second estimated arrival time not later than the first estimated arrival time based on the waiting queue database.
Hyeong-cheol teaches the apparatus comprising: set a first route (Pg. 17 – [Para. 8] – “Fig. 8 is the block diagram of the data broadcasting accepting station according to the preferred embodiment of the invention. The GPS receiver (100)" broadcasting receiver (110)" data broadcasting decoder (120)" traffic light status information extracting unit (130)" the road guidance (route guide) information generator” (equates to the apparatus comprising: a route setting unit configured to set a first route as the provided quote shows the inclusion of a route generation )) for a destination input by a user through a navigation system; (Pg. 2 – [para, 10] – “..the user and navigation terminal can select the route by considering signal coupling acceptance and rejection…” (equates to for a destination input by a user through a navigation system as the quote shows a route that would lead to a destination in which the user can select with the navigation terminal. )) by using satellite system information, (Pg. 2 – [para. 6] – “Moreover" the traffic control center and individual signal etc. are synchronized in the always for the accuracy of the signal change based on the GPS time.” (equates to by using satellite system information, as the quote shows the usage of a GPS system for collecting data about signal changes of traffic control signs.)) determine a first estimated arrival time for a destination of the user vehicle (Pg. 6 – [para. 1] – “current vehicle progress direction front extracted from the traffic light status information extracting unit and remaining time and nearby traffic signal and remaining time to the destination location and it is the velocity information inputted from GPS or the velocity of car group 0 and in case the present signal indication” (equates to estimated arrival time determining unit configured to determine a first estimated arrival time for a destination of the user vehicle as the quote shows an estimated arrival time to a destination being generated based on GPS signals.))
Yet both Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol fail to teach determine on a lane-by-lane basis a location of a user vehicle travelling on the first route; detect entry of the user vehicle into a first waiting queue corresponding to a specific lane of the first traffic signal based on vehicle movement data; based on linking data on a position of the user vehicle in the first waiting queue and signal change data of the first traffic signal: and generate a second route including a second queue that provides having a second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time and having a second estimated arrival time not later than the first estimated arrival time based on the waiting queue database.
Mortazavi teaches and a generate a second route including a second queue that provides having a second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time and having a second estimated arrival time not later than the first estimated arrival time based on the waiting queue database. (Pg. 18 – [0101] – “Accordingly, the vehicle 5200 proceeds along the path 5210, which is an alternate route that will allow the vehicle 5200 to arrive at the destination location in less time than if the vehicle 5200 waits for the red traffic signal time period to elapse and for the traffic signal 5300 to return to the green left turn traffic signal state 5310.” & See Also Pg. 18 – [0100] - “The traffic signal data indicates that the red traffic signal time period on traffic signal 5300 will have a duration of twenty seconds, which the vehicle 5200 determines will exceed the fifteen seconds of additional time that the vehicle 5200 will expend to arrive at the destination via the path 5210 instead of the path 5320.” (equates to and a generate a second route including a second queue that provide having a second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time and having a second estimated arrival time not later than the first estimated arrival time based on the waiting queue database as the first quote shows the vehicle utilizing a route that allows the vehicle to taken an alternative route that shortens the arrival time of the vehicle and the second quote shows how the vehicle can make this determination to save time from one route to another by way of waiting at traffic signs.)) based on linking data on a position of the user vehicle in the first waiting queue and signal change data of the first traffic signal: (Pg. 4 – Fig. 3 & See Also Pg. 15 – [0070] – “At step 3020, the vehicle 1000 may receive traffic signal data which includes a plurality of traffic signal states for a plurality of traffic signals on the plurality of paths. In an implementation, the traffic signal data may be: stored in the vehicle 1000 for use by a predictive algorithm which may be performed by the controller 1300 in vehicle 1000; received from a traffic management center such as the traffic management center 2400; or received from a server computing device such as the server computing device 2500. In an implementation, the plurality of traffic signal states includes an indication the state of the traffic signal at the time the traffic signal data was sent as well as an indication of the timing of the traffic signal states.” & See Also Pg. 16 – [0075] – “At step 3030, the vehicle 1000 determines a plurality of traffic queue delay times for the plurality of paths. The plurality of traffic queue delay times is based on a number of objects within a predetermined distance of the plurality of traffic signals or a velocity of the objects within the predetermined distance of the plurality of traffic signals. As an example, sensors in the vehicle 1000, such as the sensor 1360 illustrated in FIG. 1, or path condition data from the traffic signal, may provide an indication of the number and velocity of objects, such as vehicles or pedestrians, are within the predetermined distance.” (equates to based on linking data on a position of the user vehicle in the first waiting queue and signal change data of the first traffic signal: as the first figure shows the linking between the queue and signal change data wherein the first waiting queue is represented by 3030 and the signal change data by 3020, The first quote showing the signal change data as the quote shows the indication of traffic signal states and the second quote showing the first waiting queue information as the quote shows delay times from the user vehicle to the traffic signal based on the number or velocity of objects in between the user vehicle and the traffic signal. ))
All fail to teach determine on a lane-by-lane basis a location of a user vehicle travelling on the first route; detect entry of the user vehicle into a first waiting queue corresponding to a specific lane of the first traffic signal based on vehicle movement data.
Seta Teaches determine on a lane-by-lane basis a location of a user vehicle travelling on the first route (Pg. 1 – Abstract – “A vehicle controller detects a travel lane on which a vehicle is traveling” & See Also Pg. 14 – [0042] – “The GPS receiver 3 receives GPS signals from GPS satellites at predetermined intervals, and determines the position of the vehicle 10, based on the received GPS signal” & See Also Pg. 16 – [0055] – “The lane detection unit 31 then calculates the degree of matching between the features on or near the road detected from the image and the corresponding features represented in the high-precision map ( e.g., the inverse of the sum of squares” (equates to determine on a lane-by-lane basis a location of a user vehicle travelling on the first rout as the first quote shows the lane detection of the vehicle and allows the vehicle to be located on a lane by lane basis wherein the last quote shows the map matching done between lane detection and the high precision map being used wherein the second quote shows how satellite data from the GPS is taken.)) detect entry of the user vehicle into a first waiting queue corresponding to a specific lane of the first traffic signal based on vehicle movement data; (Pg. 15 – [0046] – “The high-precision map includes, for example, information indicating the number of lines, road markings such as lane dividing lines or stop lines, and traffic signs for each road included in a predetermined region represented in the map. The high-precision map may further include, for each road, information indicating control required of vehicles traveling on lanes of the road and control forbidden vehicles traveling on lanes of the road, on a lane-by-lane basis.” (equates to detect entry of the user vehicle into a first waiting queue corresponding to a specific lane of the first traffic signal based on vehicle movement data; as the quote shows a traffic sign being mapped and the control of vehicle being understood in relation to the traffic sign on a lane by lane basis and thus the first waiting queue is established as the vehicle control is understood in relation to the lane and traffic signal.) ) It would have been an advantageous addition to the apparatus as claimed by ---- to include determine on a lane-by-lane basis a location of a user vehicle travelling on the first route; detect entry of the user vehicle into a first waiting queue corresponding to a specific lane of the first traffic signal based on vehicle movement data as these limitations allow for specific lane by lane features to be detected and implemented in the travel plan for the user vehicle allowing for a more detailed understanding of the driving path to be understood and then implemented in the control of the user vehicle.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include determine on a lane-by-lane basis a location of a user vehicle travelling on the first route; detect entry of the user vehicle into a first waiting queue corresponding to a specific lane of the first traffic signal based on vehicle movement data this allows for location based navigation of the user vehicle to be implemented in which travel time of the vehicle based on the lane it is located within can be used to better estimate the time of travel.
Regarding Claim 2 Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi- Seta teaches The apparatus of claim 1, as previously mapped above.
Yet Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi fail to teach wherein determine the location of the user vehicle on a lane-by-lane basis through precise positioning and a map matching method based on the satellite system information.
Seta teaches determine the location of the user vehicle travelling on the first route by using the satellite system information, the instructions further cause the processor to: (pg. 1 – Abstract – “A vehicle controller detects a travel lane on which a vehicle is traveling” & See Also Pg. 14 – [0042] – “The GPS receiver 3 receives GPS signals from GPS satellites at predetermined intervals, and determines the position of the vehicle 10, based on the received GPS signal” & See Also Pg. 16 – [0055] – “The lane detection unit 31 then calculates the degree of matching between the features on or near the road detected from the image and the corresponding features represented in the high-precision map ( e.g., the inverse of the sum of squares” & See Also Pg. 14 – [0043] – “The navigation device 4 can use, for example, the position of the vehicle 10 based on the latest result of determination received from the GPS receiver 3 as the current position of the vehicle 10. Upon determining a travel route of the vehicle 10, the navigation device 4 outputs information indicating the travel route to the ECU 8 via the in-vehicle network” (equates to determine the location of the user vehicle travelling on the first route by using the satellite system information, as the quote shows the use of GPs for determining the route the vehicle is traveling upon and thus a first route.)) determine the location of the user vehicle on a lane-by-lane basis through precise positioning and a map matching method based on the satellite system information. (Pg. 1 – Abstract – “A vehicle controller detects a travel lane on which a vehicle is traveling” & See Also Pg. 14 – [0042] – “The GPS receiver 3 receives GPS signals from GPS satellites at predetermined intervals, and determines the position of the vehicle 10, based on the received GPS signal” & See Also Pg. 16 – [0055] – “The lane detection unit 31 then calculates the degree of matching between the features on or near the road detected from the image and the corresponding features represented in the high-precision map ( e.g., the inverse of the sum of squares” (equates to wherein the vehicle location determining unit is configured to determine the location of the user vehicle on a lane-by-lane basis through precise positioning and a map matching method based on the satellite system information as the first quote shows the lane detection of the vehicle and allows the vehicle to be located on a lane by lane basis wherein the last quote shows the map matching done between lane detection and the high precision map being used wherein the second quote shows how satellite data from the GPS is taken.)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi to include determine the location of the user vehicle on a lane-by-lane basis through precise positioning and a map matching method based on the satellite system information as this limitation allows for precision positioning of the vehicle being route to be understood and then better give waiting times based on the lane by lane basis of detection and positioning.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include determine the location of the user vehicle on a lane-by-lane basis through precise positioning and a map matching method based on the satellite system information as this limitation allows for more precise mapping to take place and thus the arrival times generated from the mapping will better reflect the lane and state of lane the vehicle is travelling within.
Regarding Claim 3 Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi- Seta teaches The apparatus of claim 1, as mapped above.
Yet Taniguchi fails to teach wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: collect in the waiting queue database information on a plurality of traffic signals on the first route and the second route, collect in the waiting queue database waiting queue information on each of the plurality of traffic signals from a plurality of vehicles, and store in the waiting queue database the collected information on the plurality of traffic signals and the waiting queue information in real time.
Hyeong-cheol teaches wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: collect in the waiting queue database information on a plurality of traffic signals on the first route (Pg. 1 – Abstract – “…information of the multiple traffic lights installed in road as the real-time status information transmission and reception apparatus of the traffic light and method thereof through the data broadcasting at a time and multiple operators aurally confirm the information through the data broadcasting receiver installed in the vehicle with the visual and it is done by the purpose reducing the risk of accident and the time" the fuel consumption" the traffic jam" the environmental contamination utilizing the information for the road guidance function of the navigation terminal and arrives in the destination location but hangs and is positioned at the front of the vehicle driver.” & See Also Pg. 4 – [tech solution] – “traffic light status information HTTP server providing the traffic light status information to the HTTP protocol"” (equates to collect in the waiting queue database information on a plurality of traffic signals on the first route as the first quote shows how the multiple traffic lights information is used for road guidance, and the second quote shows the waiting queue database via the server used for data extraction.)) collect in the waiting queue database waiting queue information on each of the plurality of traffic signals from a plurality of vehicles, (Pg. 1 – Technical Field - “road guidance this in the multiple vehicle terminals the status information like the indication of the multiple traffic lights which is from time to time changed to the several tens second interval in the several second (sec) and is installed in road and signal maintenance time are transmitted through the data broadcasting at a time.” & See Also Pg. 4 – [tech solution] – “traffic light status information HTTP server providing the traffic light status information to the HTTP protocol"” (equates to collect waiting queue information on each of the plurality of traffic signals from a plurality of vehicles as the quote shows multiple vehicles interaction with a plurality of traffic lights and the indication of waiting is changed when certain vehicles approach these traffic lights thus waiting queue information is collected based on the plurality of vehicles.)) and store in the waiting queue database the collected information on the plurality of traffic signals and the waiting queue information in real time. (Pg. 1 – title – “AN APPARATUS FOR TRANSMITTING AND RECEIVING A REAL-TIME TRAFFIC LIGHT STATUS INFORMATION AND THE METHOD THEREOF” & See Also Pg. 1 – Abstract – “The invention provides an apparatus and method for sending and receiving on a real time basis in addition to the multiple data broadcasting signals the status information of the traffic signal” & See Also Pg. 5 – [Para. 2 ] – “invention stores this in the traffic signal information DB or in case the traffic light status information” & See Also Pg. 4 – [tech solution] – “traffic light status information HTTP server providing the traffic light status information to the HTTP protocol"” (equates to store the collected information in real time as the first two quotes show the real time information being used in the method wherein the last quote shows storage of traffic light information. ) )
Yet both Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol fail to teach and the second route.
Mortazavi teaches and the second route (Pg. 18 – [0101] – “Accordingly, the vehicle 5200 proceeds along the path 5210, which is an alternate route that will allow the vehicle 5200 to arrive at the destination location in less time than if the vehicle 5200 waits for the red traffic signal time period to elapse and for the traffic signal 5300 to return to the green left turn traffic signal state 5310. ” (equates to the second route as the quote shows an alternative route where the arrival time is shorter than the first and thus the traffic light information is considered within this path to ensure the lessen arrival time)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol to include and the second route as this limitation allows for more than one route to be considered when extracting traffic light information and thus allows for multiple paths to be generated to ensure faster arrival times.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include and the second route as this allows for faster arrival time to be had by considering more than one route within the traffic signal waiting time collection.
Regarding Claim 7 Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi-Seta teaches The apparatus of claim 1, as previously mapped above.
Yet Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol fails to teach wherein generate the second route including the second queue that provides the second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time and having the second estimated arrival time not later than the first estimated arrival time based on the waiting queue database, the instructions further cause the processor to: extract a plurality of second traffic signals having a particular traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time for the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal, on a plurality of routes to the destination; and provide a route to subsequently enter one second traffic signal of the plurality of second traffic signals located on the second route providing the second estimated arrival time.
Mortazavi teaches generate the second route including the second queue that provides the second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time and having the second estimated arrival time not later than the first estimated arrival time based on the waiting queue database, the instructions further cause the processor to: (Pg. 18 – [0101] – “Accordingly, the vehicle 5200 proceeds along the path 5210, which is an alternate route that will allow the vehicle 5200 to arrive at the destination location in less time than if the vehicle 5200 waits for the red traffic signal time period to elapse and for the traffic signal 5300 to return to the green left turn traffic signal state 5310.” & See Also Pg. 18 – [0100] - “The traffic signal data indicates that the red traffic signal time period on traffic signal 5300 will have a duration of twenty seconds, which the vehicle 5200 determines will exceed the fifteen seconds of additional time that the vehicle 5200 will expend to arrive at the destination via the path 5210 instead of the path 5320.”) the instructions further cause the processor to: extract a plurality of second traffic signals having a particular traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time for the waiting queue of the first traffic signal, (Pg. 18 – [0101] – “Accordingly, the vehicle 5200 proceeds along the path 5210, which is an alternate route that will allow the vehicle 5200 to arrive at the destination location in less time than if the vehicle 5200 waits for the red traffic signal time period to elapse and for the traffic signal 5300 to return to the green left turn traffic signal state 5310.” & See Also Pg. 18 – [0100] - “The traffic signal data indicates that the red traffic signal time period on traffic signal 5300 will have a duration of twenty seconds, which the vehicle 5200 determines will exceed the fifteen seconds of additional time that the vehicle 5200 will expend to arrive at the destination via the path 5210 instead of the path 5320.” (equates to extract a plurality of second traffic signals having the second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time for the waiting queue of the first traffic signal as the quotes show the vehicle traveling straight and thus reducing the time it takes to get to the destination based on using the second traffic light signal being shorter than waiting at the first signal of the stopped left turn. )) on a plurality of routes to the destination; (Pg. 18 – [0098] – “The vehicle 4200 determines travel times for path 1, path 2, and path 3, based on travel time factors including: the distances of path 1, path 2, and path 3”) and provide a route to subsequently enter one second traffic signal of the plurality of second traffic signals located on the second route providing the second estimated arrival time ( Pg. 17 – [0098] – “The vehicle 4200 determines travel times for path 1, path 2, and path 3, based on travel time factors including: the distances of path 1, path 2, and path 3” & See Also Pg. 18 – [0098] – “The vehicle 4200 determines travel times for path 1, path 2, and path 3, based on travel time factors including: the distances of path 1, path 2, and path 3 (path 1 is the shortest path); the state of: the traffic signal 4310, the traffic signal 4320, the traffic signal 4350, the traffic signal 4360, and the traffic signal 4340 (path 2 has the shortest aggregate red traffic signal time period); turning differentials (path 3 has the fewest turns and adds the least time due to turning the vehicle 4200); and path condition data which indicates that traffic signal 4310 and traffic signal 4320 have the lowest amount of vehicular and pedestrian congestion. Based on the travel time factors, the vehicle 4200 determines that path 3 is the path with the shortest travel time and selects path 3 as the optimal or optimized path.” (equates to provide a route to subsequently enter one second traffic signal located on the second route providing the second estimated arrival time among the extracted the plurality of second traffic signals as the quote shows a path three which is equivalent to containing a second traffic signal on a second route wherein a plurality of traffic signals is extracted throughout the region as seen in the quote and the figure the quote is mapping to.) ) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol to include extract a plurality of second traffic signals having the second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time for the waiting queue of the first traffic signal, on a plurality of routes to the destination; and provide a route to subsequently enter one second traffic signal located on the second route providing the second estimated arrival time among the extracted the plurality of second traffic signals as these limitations allow for multiple routes and multiple traffic signals to be considered among the plurality of routes thus allowing for better route generation and guidance in general.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include extract a plurality of second traffic signals having the second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time for the waiting queue of the first traffic signal, on a plurality of routes to the destination; and provide a route to subsequently enter one second traffic signal located on the second route providing the second estimated arrival time among the extracted the plurality of second traffic signals as more routes and travel times are provided and thus the user can better navigate to the destination based on the availability of more data.
Regarding Claim 8 Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi-Seta teaches (Taniguchi discloses the following limitations:) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to determine the first estimated arrival time for the destination of the user vehicle based on the first traffic light waiting time, (Pg. 6 – [para. 1] – “current vehicle progress direction front extracted from the traffic light status information extracting unit and remaining time and nearby traffic signal and remaining time to the destination location and it is the velocity information inputted from GPS or the velocity of car group 0 and in case the present signal indication”) the instructions further cause the processor to: wherein the in response to the first traffic light waiting time being greater than a reference traffic light waiting time by a preset criterion, (Pg. 14 – [0143] – “Also, if the signal waiting time of the user U indicated in the signal waiting information is equal to or greater than the first threshold Tth1 and less than the second threshold” (equates to in response to the determined first traffic light waiting time being greater than a reference traffic light waiting time by a preset criterion as the quote shows a preset criterion being defined by a threshold value and the waiting time at the traffic signal being greater than this threshold.))
Yet Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol fails to disclose, determine that a delay time has occurred in the first waiting queue, and determine the first estimated arrival time by including the delay time.
Mortazavi teaches determine that a delay time has occurred in the first waiting queue, (Pg. 4 – Fig. 3 – 3030 & See Also Pg. 16 – [0075] – “At step 3030, the vehicle 1000 determines a plurality of traffic queue delay times for the plurality of paths. The plurality of traffic queue delay times is based on a number of objects within a predetermined distance of the plurality of traffic signals or a velocity of the objects within the predetermined distance of the plurality of traffic signals.” (equates to wherein the estimated arrival time determining unit is configured to, determine that a delay time has occurred in the waiting queue as the quote shows a delay being determined and it based on the objects or vehicles in the waiting queue and the velocity in which they are all traveling.)) and determine the first estimated arrival time by including the delay time (Pg. 19 – [0111] – “queue will result in a queue delay time of thirty seconds. Further, the traffic signal data determined by the prediction algorithm, or received by the vehicle 8200 from the traffic signal 8210 indicates, that the traffic signal 8210 is in a non-red traffic signal state 8440, and that the red traffic signal time period will begin in ten seconds. The vehicle 8200 determines that proceeding on a path 8450 will result in a lower or shorter travel time to the destination than continuing on the path 8340. Accordingly, the vehicle 8200 proceeds on the path 8450.” (equates to determine the first estimated arrival time by including the delay time as the quote shows how a delay will occur in path 8340 wherein it calculates another path time from 8450 and chooses the path without the delay as shown.)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol to include wherein the estimated arrival time determining unit is configured to, determine that a delay time has occurred in the waiting queue, and determine the first estimated arrival time by including the delay time as this allows for a better time estimation system to be had wherein the delays encountered can be incorporated in the time estimation unit.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the estimated arrival time determining unit is configured to, determine that a delay time has occurred in the waiting queue, and determine the first estimated arrival time by including the delay time as these limitations allow for a time of arrival estimation unit to be utilized as well as incorporating unexpected delay into the travel times ensuring up to date understanding of the situation for the user based on the changed time.
Regarding Claim 11 Taniguchi teaches A method for generating a route considering a traffic light waiting time, ( Pg. 12 – [0129] – “…the determination unit 42 determines a future movement route of the user U based on the location information and the behavior history information included in the user information acquired by the acquisition unit 41…” & See Also Pg. 12 – [0128] – “The determination unit 42 stores traffic light waiting information including information on the future traffic light waiting time of the user U in the user information storage unit 30, or transfers the information to the acquisition unit 41” & See Also Pg. 1 – [0005] – “The present application has been made in consideration of the above, and aims to provide an information processing device, an information processing method” (equates to A method for generating a route considering a traffic light waiting time as the first quote shows the determination unit creating a route for the user and the second quote shows the waiting time being taken by the acquisition unit wherein the first quote the determination makes the route based on data from the acquisition unit and the last quote shows that this can be implemented into a method.))) determining a location of a user vehicle travelling on the first route (Pg. 12 – [0129] – “Pg. 12 – [0124] – “For example, the determination unit 42 determines the location of the user U and the moving direction of the user U based on the location information and the behavior history information included in the user information acquired by the acquisition unit 41.” & See Also Pg. 13 – [0134] – “user U (e.g., an occupant O of a vehicle V or a pedestrian P waiting at a traffic light)” Pg. 12 – [0129] – “the determination unit 42 determines a future movement route of the user U based on the location information and the behavior history information” (equates to determining a location of a user vehicle travelling on the first route as the first quote shows the determination of the location of the user and the last quote shows the route that the user travels on in which the location can be determined from. ) ) identifying a first traffic signal to be subsequently entered on the first route based on the location of the user vehicle; (Pg. 18 – [0188] – “For example, the processing unit 22 acquires information about the user U, reward information, traffic signal status information, traffic-related information, etc., and stores the acquired information about the user U, reward information, traffic signal status information, traffic-related information, etc. in the storage unit 21.” & See Also Pg. 12 – [0124] – “For example, the determination unit 42 determines the location of the user U and the moving direction of the user U based on the location information and the behavior history information included in the user information acquired by the acquisition unit 41.” (equates to identify a first traffic signal to be subsequently entered on the first route based on the location of the user vehicle as the processor can identify traffic signal status information of the user based on information acquired about the user wherein the second quote shows the location being a part of that collected data.)) determining in real time a first traffic light waiting time expected after the user vehicle enters the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal (Pg. 18 – [0182] – “In addition, for example, when the traffic light waiting time of user U determined by the judgment unit” (equates to a traffic light waiting time prediction unit configured to determine in real time a first traffic light waiting time as the quote shows a judgement unit determining the traffic light waiting time)) waiting queue of the first traffic signal; (Pg. 5 – [0042] – “For example, suppose that the allowable time indicated by the allowable time information for each pedestrian P is three minutes, the normal period during which the signal of traffic light 3 indicates a stop instruction is two minutes, and each pedestrian P starts waiting for the light to change at the moment when the signal of traffic light 3 changes from a state indicating permission to proceed to a state indicating a stop instruction.” & See Also Pg. 16 – [0164] – “Furthermore, the condition specified in the condition information may include, for example, a condition for the number of users waiting for a signal to change, which is a condition based on the number of users U waiting in the same area for a signal from the same traffic light 3.” (equates to based on signal change data for the first traffic signal and a vehicle movement data of vehicles having entered a waiting queue of the first traffic signal as the first quote shows the traffic signal change information being used once the user enters the area of the traffic light. Wherein the second quote contains the information of a number of users at the same traffic light all located within a region.) ) storing the determined first traffic light waiting time in a waiting queue database; (Pg. 11 – [0108] –“The traffic-related information storage unit 32 can also store control information instead of or in addition to the signal state information. The control information is control information for each traffic light 3, and includes, for example, information on the signal control pattern of the traffic light 3 and information on the signal control timing of the traffic light 3.”) based on the first traffic light waiting time; (Pg. 19 – [0201] – “The learning model is a model that inputs, for example, at least one of the location when waiting at a traffic light, the waiting time at a traffic light, the number of times waiting at a traffic light,” (equates to based on the first traffic light waiting time as the quote shows a learning model in which the traffic light waiting time is used as an input. )) determining a first estimated arrival time for the destination of the user vehicle based on the first traffic light waiting time; and generating a second route having a second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time and a second estimated arrival time not later than the first estimated arrival time based on the waiting queue database.
Taniguchi fails to the method comprising: determining, on a lane-by-lane basis, setting a first route for a destination input by a user through a navigation system; by using satellite system information, detecting entry of the user vehicle into a first waiting queue corresponding to a specific lane of the first traffic signal based on vehicle movement data; based on linking data on a position of the user vehicle in the first waiting queue and signal change data of the first traffic signal, determining a first estimated arrival time for the destination of the user vehicle based on the first traffic light waiting time; and generating a second route having a second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time and a second estimated arrival time not later than the first estimated arrival time based on the waiting queue database.
Hyeong-cheol teaches the method comprising: setting a first route (Pg. 17 – [Para. 8] – “Fig. 8 is the block diagram of the data broadcasting accepting station according to the preferred embodiment of the invention. The GPS receiver (100)" broadcasting receiver (110)" data broadcasting decoder (120)" traffic light status information extracting unit (130)" the road guidance (route guide) information generator” (equates to the method comprising: setting a first route as the provided quote shows the inclusion of a route generation )) for a destination input by a user through a navigation system; (Pg. 2 – [para, 10] – “..the user and navigation terminal can select the route by considering signal coupling acceptance and rejection…” (equates to for a destination input by a user through a navigation system as the quote shows a route that would lead to a destination in which the user can select with the navigation terminal. )) by using satellite system information, (Pg. 2 – [para. 6] – “Moreover" the traffic control center and individual signal etc. are synchronized in the always for the accuracy of the signal change based on the GPS time.” (equates to by using satellite system information, as the quote shows the usage of a GPS system for collecting data about signal changes of traffic control signs.)) determining a first estimated arrival time for the destination of the user vehicle based on the first traffic light waiting time (Pg. 6 – [para. 1] – “current vehicle progress direction front extracted from the traffic light status information extracting unit and remaining time and nearby traffic signal and remaining time to the destination location and it is the velocity information inputted from GPS or the velocity of car group 0 and in case the present signal indication” (equates to estimated arrival time determining unit configured to determine a first estimated arrival time for a destination of the user vehicle as the quote shows an estimated arrival time to a destination being generated based on GPS signals.))
Yet both Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol fail to teach determining, on a lane-by-lane basis, detecting entry of the user vehicle into a first waiting queue corresponding to a specific lane of the first traffic signal based on vehicle movement data; based on linking data on a position of the user vehicle in the first waiting queue and signal change data of the first traffic signal; generating a second route having a second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time and a second estimated arrival time not later than the first estimated arrival time based on the waiting queue database.
Mortazavi teaches based on linking data on a position of the user vehicle in the first waiting queue and signal change data of the first traffic signal, (Pg. 4 – Fig. 3 & See Also Pg. 15 – [0070] – “At step 3020, the vehicle 1000 may receive traffic signal data which includes a plurality of traffic signal states for a plurality of traffic signals on the plurality of paths. In an implementation, the traffic signal data may be: stored in the vehicle 1000 for use by a predictive algorithm which may be performed by the controller 1300 in vehicle 1000; received from a traffic management center such as the traffic management center 2400; or received from a server computing device such as the server computing device 2500. In an implementation, the plurality of traffic signal states includes an indication the state of the traffic signal at the time the traffic signal data was sent as well as an indication of the timing of the traffic signal states.” & See Also Pg. 16 – [0075] – “At step 3030, the vehicle 1000 determines a plurality of traffic queue delay times for the plurality of paths. The plurality of traffic queue delay times is based on a number of objects within a predetermined distance of the plurality of traffic signals or a velocity of the objects within the predetermined distance of the plurality of traffic signals. As an example, sensors in the vehicle 1000, such as the sensor 1360 illustrated in FIG. 1, or path condition data from the traffic signal, may provide an indication of the number and velocity of objects, such as vehicles or pedestrians, are within the predetermined distance.”)generating a second route having a second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time and a second estimated arrival time not later than the first estimated arrival time based on the waiting queue database. (Pg. 18 – [0101] – “Accordingly, the vehicle 5200 proceeds along the path 5210, which is an alternate route that will allow the vehicle 5200 to arrive at the destination location in less time than if the vehicle 5200 waits for the red traffic signal time period to elapse and for the traffic signal 5300 to return to the green left turn traffic signal state 5310.” & See Also Pg. 18 – [0100] - “The traffic signal data indicates that the red traffic signal time period on traffic signal 5300 will have a duration of twenty seconds, which the vehicle 5200 determines will exceed the fifteen seconds of additional time that the vehicle 5200 will expend to arrive at the destination via the path 5210 instead of the path 5320.” (equates to and a route generating unit configured to generate a second route having a second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time and having a second estimated arrival time not later than the first estimated arrival time based on the waiting queue database as the first quote shows the vehicle utilizing a route that allows the vehicle to taken an alternative route that shortens the arrival time of the vehicle and the second quote shows how the vehicle can make this determination to save time from one route to another by way of waiting at traffic signs.))
Yet all fail to teach determining, on a lane-by-lane basis, detecting entry of the user vehicle into a first waiting queue corresponding to a specific lane of the first traffic signal based on vehicle movement data;
Seta Teaches determine on a lane-by-lane basis (Pg. 1 – Abstract – “A vehicle controller detects a travel lane on which a vehicle is traveling” & See Also Pg. 14 – [0042] – “The GPS receiver 3 receives GPS signals from GPS satellites at predetermined intervals, and determines the position of the vehicle 10, based on the received GPS signal” & See Also Pg. 16 – [0055] – “The lane detection unit 31 then calculates the degree of matching between the features on or near the road detected from the image and the corresponding features represented in the high-precision map ( e.g., the inverse of the sum of squares” (equates to determine on a lane-by-lane basis a location of a user vehicle travelling on the first rout as the first quote shows the lane detection of the vehicle and allows the vehicle to be located on a lane by lane basis wherein the last quote shows the map matching done between lane detection and the high precision map being used wherein the second quote shows how satellite data from the GPS is taken.)) detecting entry of the user vehicle into a first waiting queue corresponding to a specific lane of the first traffic signal based on vehicle movement data; (Pg. 15 – [0046] – “The high-precision map includes, for example, information indicating the number of lines, road markings such as lane dividing lines or stop lines, and traffic signs for each road included in a predetermined region represented in the map. The high-precision map may further include, for each road, information indicating control required of vehicles traveling on lanes of the road and control forbidden vehicles traveling on lanes of the road, on a lane-by-lane basis.” (equates to detect entry of the user vehicle into a first waiting queue corresponding to a specific lane of the first traffic signal based on vehicle movement data; as the quote shows a traffic sign being mapped and the control of vehicle being understood in relation to the traffic sign on a lane by lane basis and thus the first waiting queue is established as the vehicle control is understood in relation to the lane and traffic signal.) ) It would have been an advantageous addition to the apparatus as claimed by ---- to include determine on a lane-by-lane basis a location of a user vehicle travelling on the first route; detect entry of the user vehicle into a first waiting queue corresponding to a specific lane of the first traffic signal based on vehicle movement data as these limitations allow for specific lane by lane features to be detected and implemented in the travel plan for the user vehicle allowing for a more detailed understanding of the driving path to be understood and then implemented in the control of the user vehicle.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include determine on a lane-by-lane basis a location of a user vehicle travelling on the first route; detect entry of the user vehicle into a first waiting queue corresponding to a specific lane of the first traffic signal based on vehicle movement data this allows for location based navigation of the user vehicle to be implemented in which travel time of the vehicle based on the lane it is located within can be used to better estimate the time of travel.
Regarding Claim 12 Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi- Seta teaches The method of claim 11, as previously mapped above.
Yet Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol fail to teach wherein the determining the location of the user vehicle comprises determining the location of the user vehicle and the second route on the lane-by-lane basis through precise positioning and a map matching method based on the satellite system information.
Mortzavi teaches and the second route (Pg. 18 – [0101] – “Accordingly, the vehicle 5200 proceeds along the path 5210, which is an alternate route that will allow the vehicle 5200 to arrive at the destination location in less time than if the vehicle 5200 waits for the red traffic signal time period to elapse and for the traffic signal 5300 to return to the green left turn traffic signal state 5310. ” (equates to the second route as the quote shows an alternative route where the arrival time is shorter than the first and thus the traffic light information is considered within this path to ensure the lessen arrival time))
Yet all fail to teach wherein the determining the location of the user vehicle comprises determining the location of the user vehicle on the lane-by-lane basis through precise positioning and a map matching method based on the satellite system information.
Seta teaches wherein the determining the location of the user vehicle comprises determining the location of the user vehicle on the on the lane-by-lane basis through precise positioning and a map matching method based on the satellite system information.. (Pg. 1 – Abstract – “A vehicle controller detects a travel lane on which a vehicle is traveling” & See Also Pg. 14 – [0042] – “The GPS receiver 3 receives GPS signals from GPS satellites at predetermined intervals, and determines the position of the vehicle 10, based on the received GPS signal” & See Also Pg. 16 – [0055] – “The lane detection unit 31 then calculates the degree of matching between the features on or near the road detected from the image and the corresponding features represented in the high-precision map ( e.g., the inverse of the sum of squares” (equates to wherein the determining the location of the user vehicle comprises determining the location of the user vehicle on a lane-by-lane basis through precise positioning and a map matching method based on the satellite system information.as the first quote shows the lane detection of the vehicle and allows the vehicle to be located on a lane by lane basis wherein the last quote shows the map matching done between lane detection and the high precision map being used wherein the second quote shows how satellite data from the GPS is taken.)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi to include wherein the vehicle location determining unit is configured to determine the location of the user vehicle on a lane-by-lane basis through precise positioning and a map matching method based on the satellite system information as this limitation allows for precision positioning of the vehicle being route to be understood and then better give waiting times based on the lane by lane basis of detection and positioning.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the vehicle location determining unit is configured to determine the location of the user vehicle on a lane-by-lane basis through precise positioning and a map matching method based on the satellite system information as this limitation allows for more precise mapping to take place and thus the arrival times generated from the mapping will better reflect the lane and state of lane the vehicle is travelling within.
Regarding Claim 13 Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi-Seta teaches The method of claim 11, as mapped above.
Yet Taniguchi-Seta fails to teach collecting information on a plurality of traffic signals on the first route and the second route; collecting waiting queue information on each of the plurality of traffic signals from a plurality of vehicles; and storing the waiting queue information
Hyeong-cheol teaches collecting information on a plurality of traffic signals on the first route (Pg. 1 – Abstract – “…information of the multiple traffic lights installed in road as the real-time status information transmission and reception apparatus of the traffic light and method thereof through the data broadcasting at a time and multiple operators aurally confirm the information through the data broadcasting receiver installed in the vehicle with the visual and it is done by the purpose reducing the risk of accident and the time" the fuel consumption" the traffic jam" the environmental contamination utilizing the information for the road guidance function of the navigation terminal and arrives in the destination location but hangs and is positioned at the front of the vehicle driver.” (equates to configured to collect information on a plurality of traffic signals on the first route as the quote shows how the multiple traffic lights information is used for road guidance. )) collect waiting queue information on each of the plurality of traffic signals from a plurality of vehicles, (Pg. 1 – Technical Field - “road guidance this in the multiple vehicle terminals the status information like the indication of the multiple traffic lights which is from time to time changed to the several tens second interval in the several second (sec) and is installed in road and signal maintenance time are transmitted through the data broadcasting at a time.” (equates to collect waiting queue information on each of the plurality of traffic signals from a plurality of vehicles as the quote shows multiple vehicles interaction with a plurality of traffic lights and the indication of waiting is changed when certain vehicles approach these traffic lights thus waiting queue information is collected based on the plurality of vehicles.)) and storing the waiting queue information. (Pg. 1 – title – “AN APPARATUS FOR TRANSMITTING AND RECEIVING A REAL-TIME TRAFFIC LIGHT STATUS INFORMATION AND THE METHOD THEREOF” & See Also Pg. 1 – Abstract – “The invention provides an apparatus and method for sending and receiving on a real time basis in addition to the multiple data broadcasting signals the status information of the traffic signal” & See Also Pg. 5 – [Para. 2 ] – “invention stores this in the traffic signal information DB or in case the traffic light status information” (equates to store the collected information in real time as the first two quotes show the real time information being used in the method wherein the last quote shows storage of traffic light information. ) )
Yet all Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol-Seta fail to teach and the second route.
Mortazavi teaches and the second route (Pg. 18 – [0101] – “Accordingly, the vehicle 5200 proceeds along the path 5210, which is an alternate route that will allow the vehicle 5200 to arrive at the destination location in less time than if the vehicle 5200 waits for the red traffic signal time period to elapse and for the traffic signal 5300 to return to the green left turn traffic signal state 5310. ” (equates to the second route as the quote shows an alternative route where the arrival time is shorter than the first and thus the traffic light information is considered within this path to ensure the lessen arrival time)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol-Seta to include and the second route as this limitation allows for more than one route to be considered when extracting traffic light information and thus allows for multiple paths to be generated to ensure faster arrival times.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include and the second route as this allows for faster arrival time to be had by considering more than one route within the traffic signal waiting time collection.
Regarding Claim 17 Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol- Mortazavi-Seta teaches The method of claim 11, as previously mapped above.
Yet Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol fails to teach wherein generating the second route comprises: extracting a plurality of second traffic signals having a particular traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time for the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal, on a plurality of routes to the destination; and providing a route to subsequently enter one second traffic signal located on the second route providing the second estimated arrival time extracted the plurality of second traffic signals.
Mortazavi teaches wherein generating the second route comprises: extracting a plurality of second traffic signals having a particular traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time for the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal (Pg. 18 – [0101] – “Accordingly, the vehicle 5200 proceeds along the path 5210, which is an alternate route that will allow the vehicle 5200 to arrive at the destination location in less time than if the vehicle 5200 waits for the red traffic signal time period to elapse and for the traffic signal 5300 to return to the green left turn traffic signal state 5310.” & See Also Pg. 18 – [0100] - “The traffic signal data indicates that the red traffic signal time period on traffic signal 5300 will have a duration of twenty seconds, which the vehicle 5200 determines will exceed the fifteen seconds of additional time that the vehicle 5200 will expend to arrive at the destination via the path 5210 instead of the path 5320.” (equates to extract a plurality of second traffic signals having the second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time for the waiting queue of the first traffic signal as the quotes show the vehicle traveling straight and thus reducing the time it takes to get to the destination based on using the second traffic light signal being shorter than waiting at the first signal of the stopped left turn. )) on a plurality of routes to the destination; (Pg. 18 – [0098] – “The vehicle 4200 determines travel times for path 1, path 2, and path 3, based on travel time factors including: the distances of path 1, path 2, and path 3”) and provide a route to subsequently enter one second traffic signal located on the second route providing the second estimated arrival time extracted the plurality of second traffic signals. ( Pg. 17 – [0098] – “The vehicle 4200 determines travel times for path 1, path 2, and path 3, based on travel time factors including: the distances of path 1, path 2, and path 3” & See Also Pg. 18 – [0098] – “The vehicle 4200 determines travel times for path 1, path 2, and path 3, based on travel time factors including: the distances of path 1, path 2, and path 3 (path 1 is the shortest path); the state of: the traffic signal 4310, the traffic signal 4320, the traffic signal 4350, the traffic signal 4360, and the traffic signal 4340 (path 2 has the shortest aggregate red traffic signal time period); turning differentials (path 3 has the fewest turns and adds the least time due to turning the vehicle 4200); and path condition data which indicates that traffic signal 4310 and traffic signal 4320 have the lowest amount of vehicular and pedestrian congestion. Based on the travel time factors, the vehicle 4200 determines that path 3 is the path with the shortest travel time and selects path 3 as the optimal or optimized path.” (equates to provide a route to subsequently enter one second traffic signal located on the second route providing the second estimated arrival time among the extracted the plurality of second traffic signals as the quote shows a path three which is equivalent to containing a second traffic signal on a second route wherein a plurality of traffic signals is extracted throughout the region as seen in the quote and the figure the quote is mapping to.) ) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol to include wherein the route generating unit is configured to: extract a plurality of second traffic signals having the second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time for the waiting queue of the first traffic signal, on a plurality of routes to the destination; and provide a route to subsequently enter one second traffic signal located on the second route providing the second estimated arrival time among the extracted the plurality of second traffic signals as these limitations allow for multiple routes and multiple traffic signals to be considered among the plurality of routes thus allowing for better route generation and guidance in general.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the route generating unit is configured to: extract a plurality of second traffic signals having the second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time for the waiting queue of the first traffic signal, on a plurality of routes to the destination; and provide a route to subsequently enter one second traffic signal located on the second route providing the second estimated arrival time among the extracted the plurality of second traffic signals as more routes and travel times are provided and thus the user can better navigate to the destination based on the availability of more data.
Regarding Claim 18 Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol- Mortazavi-Seta teaches (Taniguchi discloses the following limitations:) The method of claim 11, wherein determining the first estimated arrival time comprises: determining, in response to the first traffic light waiting time being greater than a reference traffic light waiting time by a preset criterion, (Pg. 14 – [0143] – “Also, if the signal waiting time of the user U indicated in the signal waiting information is equal to or greater than the first threshold Tth1 and less than the second threshold” (equates to The method of claim 11, wherein the determining the first estimated arrival time comprises: determining, in response to the determined first traffic light waiting time being greater than a reference traffic light waiting time by a preset criterion as the quote shows a preset criterion being defined by a threshold value and the waiting time at the traffic signal being greater than this threshold.))
Yet Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol fails to disclose that a delay time has occurred in the first waiting queue; and determining the first estimated arrival time by including the delay time.
Mortazavi teaches determine that a delay time has occurred in the first waiting queue, (Pg. 4 – Fig. 3 – 3030 & See Also Pg. 16 – [0075] – “At step 3030, the vehicle 1000 determines a plurality of traffic queue delay times for the plurality of paths. The plurality of traffic queue delay times is based on a number of objects within a predetermined distance of the plurality of traffic signals or a velocity of the objects within the predetermined distance of the plurality of traffic signals.” (equates to wherein the estimated arrival time determining unit is configured to, determine that a delay time has occurred in the waiting queue as the quote shows a delay being determined and it based on the objects or vehicles in the waiting queue and the velocity in which they are all traveling.)) and determine the first estimated arrival time by including the delay time (Pg. 19 – [0111] – “queue will result in a queue delay time of thirty seconds. Further, the traffic signal data determined by the prediction algorithm, or received by the vehicle 8200 from the traffic signal 8210 indicates, that the traffic signal 8210 is in a non-red traffic signal state 8440, and that the red traffic signal time period will begin in ten seconds. The vehicle 8200 determines that proceeding on a path 8450 will result in a lower or shorter travel time to the destination than continuing on the path 8340. Accordingly, the vehicle 8200 proceeds on the path 8450.” (equates to determine the first estimated arrival time by including the delay time as the quote shows how a delay will occur in path 8340 wherein it calculates another path time from 8450 and chooses the path without the delay as shown.)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol to include wherein the estimated arrival time determining unit is configured to, determine that a delay time has occurred in the waiting queue, and determine the first estimated arrival time by including the delay time as this allows for a better time estimation system to be had wherein the delays encountered can be incorporated in the time estimation unit.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the estimated arrival time determining unit is configured to, determine that a delay time has occurred in the waiting queue, and determine the first estimated arrival time by including the delay time as these limitations allow for a time of arrival estimation unit to be utilized as well as incorporating unexpected delay into the travel times ensuring up to date understanding of the situation for the user based on the changed time.
Claims 4, 5, 6, 14, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi-Hyeong-cheol-Mortazavi-Seta and in further view of Haixia et al. (WO2022116361A1)
Regarding Claim 4 Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi-Seta teaches The apparatus of claim 3, as mapped above.
Yet Taniguchi fails to teach wherein the waiting queue information includes straight light waiting queue information, left-turn light waiting queue information, and right-turn light waiting queue information of each of the plurality of traffic signals.
Hyeong-cheol teaches the waiting queue information (Pg. 5 – [Para. 2 ] – “In the meantime" multiple traffic light status information are extracted from the inputted broadcast signal” & See Also Pg. 7 – [para. 2 ] – “traffic light status information in the display device or it outputs in the speaker and of" the signal waiting time is reflected” (equates to waiting queue information on each of the plurality of traffic signals as the first quote shows multiple traffic signals being taken and the second quote shows the information including the waiting time. )) includes left-turn light waiting queue information, (Pg. 20 – [para. 3] – “For example" before the most up-to-date information is received since the validity of the received information is not any more guaranteed after 02 minutes 03 second in 13 if the traffic signal ID 100" 00 minutes 00 second in the reference time 13" go right on 10 second" 1 second including yellow etc" left turn 10 second" 1 second including yellow etc" pause 100 second"” (equates to left-turn light waiting queue information as the quote includes the left turn time it remains green – 10s, yellow – 1s, and red – 100s for the system to transmit to the traffic light status information encoder. )) and right-turn light waiting queue information (Pg. 8 – Advantageous effects – “The present invention relates to real-time status information transmission and reception apparatus of the traffic light and method thereof" and it prepares to be the driving change including the indication (the go right on" left / rotate right" turnaround" stop light lamp)” & See Also Pg. 7 – [para. 2 ] – “traffic light status information in the display device or it outputs in the speaker and of" the signal waiting time is reflected” (equates to and right-turn light waiting queue information as the first quote shows the right turn traffic light being under consideration for the art and the second quote furthering that each traffic light includes the waiting queue time.)) to determine in real time the first traffic light waiting time expected after the user vehicle enters the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal, (Pg. 4 – [tech solution] – “The real-time status information transmission device of the traffic light according to the present invention for achieving the above-described purpose comprises the traffic light status information encoder producing record data of the multiple individual signal etc using the reference time information provided from the apparatus for providing time of date including the traffic signal information DB:" storing the fixed information and status information of the traffic signal including the traffic signal information input unit: multiple ID including the individual signal etc" receiving the traffic signal information including the indication and signal maintenance time including the individual signal etc. from the traffic signal” & See Also Pg. 2 – [BG Art ] – “The time of arrival to the front traffic light the automatic calculation and this is compared in the navigation terminal in which the operator can do in person and such determination is installed in the vehicle through the distance calculation to the traveling speed and front traffic light with the signal remaining time and the stop or not can be guided to the operator.” (equates to determine in real time the first traffic light waiting time expected after the user vehicle enters the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal as the first quote shows the determination in real time of first traffic signal waiting time via the multiple traffic lights that are under consideration and thus a first one is under consideration and the second quote shows the vehicle traveling the traffic signal waiting time being considered based on a proximity to the traffic signal, )) the instructions further cause the processor to: determine in real time the first traffic light waiting time for the first waiting queue guided on the first route among a left-turn light waiting queue, (Pg. 20 – [para. 3] – “For example" before the most up-to-date information is received since the validity of the received information is not any more guaranteed after 02 minutes 03 second in 13 if the traffic signal ID 100" 00 minutes 00 second in the reference time 13" go right on 10 second" 1 second including yellow etc" left turn 10 second" 1 second including yellow etc" pause 100 second"” & See Also Pg. 4 – [tech solution] – “The real-time status information transmission device of the traffic light according to the present invention for achieving the above-described purpose comprises the traffic light status information encoder producing record data of the multiple individual signal etc using the reference time information provided from the apparatus for providing time of date including the traffic signal information DB:" storing the fixed information and status information of the traffic signal including the traffic signal information input unit: multiple ID including the individual signal etc" receiving the traffic signal information including the indication and signal maintenance time including the individual signal etc. from the traffic signal” (equates to the instructions further cause the processor to: determine in real time the first traffic light waiting time for the first waiting queue guided on the first route among a left-turn light waiting queue, as the first quote shows the extraction of a traffic signal pertaining to the left turn signal and the second quote shows the real time extraction of the traffic signal data among a plurality of traffic signal and thus a first traffic signal is contained within said data.)) and a right-turn light waiting queue of the first traffic signal. (Pg. 8 – Advantageous effects – “The present invention relates to real-time status information transmission and reception apparatus of the traffic light and method thereof" and it prepares to be the driving change including the indication (the go right on" left / rotate right" turnaround" stop light lamp)” & See Also Pg. 7 – [para. 2 ] – “traffic light status information in the display device or it outputs in the speaker and of" the signal waiting time is reflected” & See Also Pg. 4 – [tech solution] – “The real-time status information transmission device of the traffic light according to the present invention for achieving the above-described purpose comprises the traffic light status information encoder producing record data of the multiple individual signal etc using the reference time information provided from the apparatus for providing time of date including the traffic signal information DB:" storing the fixed information and status information of the traffic signal including the traffic signal information input unit: multiple ID including the individual signal etc" receiving the traffic signal information including the indication and signal maintenance time including the individual signal etc. from the traffic signal”)
Yet all fail to specifically mention straight line waiting queue information, among a straight light waiting queue,
Haixia teaches straight line waiting queue information (Pg. 2 – [0013] – “According to the initial traffic light cycle, calculate the maximum queuing length of vehicles in the straight lane during the straight red light period…” (equates to straight line waiting queue information as the time detected at the stop light of the straight going lane is calculated. ) ) among a straight light waiting queue, (Pg. 2 – [0013] – “According to the initial traffic light cycle, calculate the maximum queuing length of vehicles in the straight lane during the straight red light period…”It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol - Mortazavi to include straight line waiting queue information among a straight light waiting queue, as this ensures each right, left and straight going lanes are all taken under consideration for the route planning.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include straight line waiting queue information among a straight light waiting queue, as this ensures each lane in traffic is specifically covered by the route generation and time estimation system disclosed.
Regarding Claim 5 Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi-Seta-Haixia teaches The apparatus of claim 4, as previously mapped above
Yet Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol-Seta-Haixia fail to teach wherein, to generate the second route including the second queue that provides the second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time and having the second estimated arrival time not later than the first estimated arrival time based on the waiting queue database, the instructions further cause the processor to: retrieve the second traffic light waiting time with respect to remaining waiting queues excluding the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal from the waiting queue database and compare the second traffic light waiting time with the first traffic light waiting time.
Mortazavi teaches wherein, to generate the second route including the second queue that provides the second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time and having the second estimated arrival time not later than the first estimated arrival time based on the waiting queue database, (Pg. 18 – [0101] – “Accordingly, the vehicle 5200 proceeds along the path 5210, which is an alternate route that will allow the vehicle 5200 to arrive at the destination location in less time than if the vehicle 5200 waits for the red traffic signal time period to elapse and for the traffic signal 5300 to return to the green left turn traffic signal state 5310.” & See Also Pg. 18 – [0100] - “The traffic signal data indicates that the red traffic signal time period on traffic signal 5300 will have a duration of twenty seconds, which the vehicle 5200 determines will exceed the fifteen seconds of additional time that the vehicle 5200 will expend to arrive at the destination via the path 5210 instead of the path 5320.”) the instructions further cause the processor to: retrieve the second traffic light waiting time with respect to remaining waiting queues excluding the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal from the waiting queue database and compare the second traffic light waiting time with the first traffic light waiting time. (Pg. 18 – [0101] – “Accordingly, the vehicle 5200 proceeds along the path 5210, which is an alternate route that will allow the vehicle 5200 to arrive at the destination location in less time than if the vehicle 5200 waits for the red traffic signal time period to elapse and for the traffic signal 5300 to return to the green left turn traffic signal state 5310.” & See Also Pg. 18 – [0100] - “The traffic signal data indicates that the red traffic signal time period on traffic signal 5300 will have a duration of twenty seconds, which the vehicle 5200 determines will exceed the fifteen seconds of additional time that the vehicle 5200 will expend to arrive at the destination via the path 5210 instead of the path 5320.” (equates to the instructions further cause the processor to: retrieve the second traffic light waiting time with respect to remaining waiting queues excluding the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal from the waiting queue database and compare the second traffic light waiting time with the first traffic light waiting time as the first quote shows the waiting queue and thus the arrival time of use of the second path to be shorter than if taking the first path, and thus a comparison is made between the waiting queues (as shown in the second quote ) )) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by __ to include wherein, to generate the second route including the second queue that provides the second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time and having the second estimated arrival time not later than the first estimated arrival time based on the waiting queue database, the instructions further cause the processor to: retrieve the second traffic light waiting time with respect to remaining waiting queues excluding the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal from the waiting queue database and compare the second traffic light waiting time with the first traffic light waiting time as this allows for a simple comparison between two different paths and waiting queue times ensuring a path is selected that lessens the travel time of the user vehicle.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein, to generate the second route including the second queue that provides the second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time and having the second estimated arrival time not later than the first estimated arrival time based on the waiting queue database, the instructions further cause the processor to: retrieve the second traffic light waiting time with respect to remaining waiting queues excluding the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal from the waiting queue database and compare the second traffic light waiting time with the first traffic light waiting time as these limitations ensure the shortest path and least amount of waiting time is experienced by the user vehicle ensuring a faster method of transit.
Regarding Claim 14 Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi teaches The method of claim 13, as mapped above.
Yet Taniguchi fails to teach wherein the waiting queue information includes straight light waiting queue information, left-turn light waiting queue information, and determining in real time the first traffic light waiting time comprises determining the first traffic light waiting time for the first waiting queue guided on the first route among a straight light waiting queue, a left-turn light waiting queue, and a right-turn light waiting queue of the first traffic signal
Hyeong-cheol teaches the waiting queue information (Pg. 5 – [Para. 2 ] – “In the meantime" multiple traffic light status information are extracted from the inputted broadcast signal” & See Also Pg. 7 – [para. 2 ] – “traffic light status information in the display device or it outputs in the speaker and of" the signal waiting time is reflected” (equates to waiting queue information on each of the plurality of traffic signals as the first quote shows multiple traffic signals being taken and the second quote shows the information including the waiting time. )) includes left-turn light waiting queue information, (Pg. 20 – [para. 3] – “For example" before the most up-to-date information is received since the validity of the received information is not any more guaranteed after 02 minutes 03 second in 13 if the traffic signal ID 100" 00 minutes 00 second in the reference time 13" go right on 10 second" 1 second including yellow etc" left turn 10 second" 1 second including yellow etc" pause 100 second"” (equates to left-turn light waiting queue information as the quote includes the left turn time it remains green – 10s, yellow – 1s, and red – 100s for the system to transmit to the traffic light status information encoder. )) and right-turn light waiting queue information (Pg. 8 – Advantageous effects – “The present invention relates to real-time status information transmission and reception apparatus of the traffic light and method thereof" and it prepares to be the driving change including the indication (the go right on" left / rotate right" turnaround" stop light lamp)” & See Also Pg. 7 – [para. 2 ] – “traffic light status information in the display device or it outputs in the speaker and of" the signal waiting time is reflected” (equates to and right-turn light waiting queue information as the first quote shows the right turn traffic light being under consideration for the art and the second quote furthering that each traffic light includes the waiting queue time.)) a left-turn light waiting queue (Pg. 20 – [para. 3] – “For example" before the most up-to-date information is received since the validity of the received information is not any more guaranteed after 02 minutes 03 second in 13 if the traffic signal ID 100" 00 minutes 00 second in the reference time 13" go right on 10 second" 1 second including yellow etc" left turn 10 second" 1 second including yellow etc" pause 100 second"”) and a right-turn light waiting queue of the first traffic signal (Pg. 8 – Advantageous effects – “The present invention relates to real-time status information transmission and reception apparatus of the traffic light and method thereof" and it prepares to be the driving change including the indication (the go right on" left / rotate right" turnaround" stop light lamp)” & See Also Pg. 7 – [para. 2 ] – “traffic light status information in the display device or it outputs in the speaker and of" the signal waiting time is reflected”)
Yet all fail to specifically mention straight line waiting queue information determining in real time the first traffic light waiting time comprises determining the first traffic light waiting time for the first waiting queue guided on the first route among a straight light waiting queue
Haixia teaches straight line waiting queue information (Pg. 2 – [0013] – “According to the initial traffic light cycle, calculate the maximum queuing length of vehicles in the straight lane during the straight red light period…” (equates to straight line waiting queue information as the time detected at the stop light of the straight going lane is calculated. ) ) determining in real time the first traffic light waiting time comprises determining the first traffic light waiting time for the first waiting queue guided on the first route among a straight light waiting queue (Pg. 2 – [0013] – “According to the initial traffic light cycle, calculate the maximum queuing length of vehicles in the straight lane during the straight red light period…”) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol - Mortazavi to include straight line waiting queue information, determining in real time the first traffic light waiting time comprises determining the first traffic light waiting time for the first waiting queue guided on the first route among a straight light waiting queue as this ensures each right, left and straight going lanes are all taken under consideration for the route planning.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include straight line waiting queue information, determining in real time the first traffic light waiting time comprises determining the first traffic light waiting time for the first waiting queue guided on the first route among a straight light waiting queue as this ensures each lane in traffic is specifically covered by the route generation and time estimation system disclosed.
Regarding Claim 15 Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi-Haixia teaches (Taniguchi discloses the following limitations:) The method of claim 14, as previously mapped above.
Yet Taniguchi fails to mention generating the second route comprises: retrieving the second traffic light waiting time with respect to remaining waiting queues excluding the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal from the waiting queue database; and comparing the second traffic light waiting time with the first traffic light waiting time.
Mortazavi teaches wherein, to generating the second route comprises: retrieving the second traffic light waiting time with respect to remaining waiting queues excluding the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal from the waiting queue database; (Pg. 18 – [0101] – “Accordingly, the vehicle 5200 proceeds along the path 5210, which is an alternate route that will allow the vehicle 5200 to arrive at the destination location in less time than if the vehicle 5200 waits for the red traffic signal time period to elapse and for the traffic signal 5300 to return to the green left turn traffic signal state 5310.” & See Also Pg. 18 – [0100] - “The traffic signal data indicates that the red traffic signal time period on traffic signal 5300 will have a duration of twenty seconds, which the vehicle 5200 determines will exceed the fifteen seconds of additional time that the vehicle 5200 will expend to arrive at the destination via the path 5210 instead of the path 5320.”) and comparing the second traffic light waiting time with the first traffic light waiting time. (Pg. 18 – [0101] – “Accordingly, the vehicle 5200 proceeds along the path 5210, which is an alternate route that will allow the vehicle 5200 to arrive at the destination location in less time than if the vehicle 5200 waits for the red traffic signal time period to elapse and for the traffic signal 5300 to return to the green left turn traffic signal state 5310.” & See Also Pg. 18 – [0100] - “The traffic signal data indicates that the red traffic signal time period on traffic signal 5300 will have a duration of twenty seconds, which the vehicle 5200 determines will exceed the fifteen seconds of additional time that the vehicle 5200 will expend to arrive at the destination via the path 5210 instead of the path 5320.” (equates to the instructions further cause the processor to: retrieve the second traffic light waiting time with respect to remaining waiting queues excluding the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal from the waiting queue database and compare the second traffic light waiting time with the first traffic light waiting time as the first quote shows the waiting queue and thus the arrival time of use of the second path to be shorter than if taking the first path, and thus a comparison is made between the waiting queues (as shown in the second quote ) )) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by __ to include wherein, to generate the second route including the second queue that provides the second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time and having the second estimated arrival time not later than the first estimated arrival time based on the waiting queue database, the instructions further cause the processor to: retrieve the second traffic light waiting time with respect to remaining waiting queues excluding the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal from the waiting queue database and compare the second traffic light waiting time with the first traffic light waiting time as this allows for a simple comparison between two different paths and waiting queue times ensuring a path is selected that lessens the travel time of the user vehicle.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein, to generate the second route including the second queue that provides the second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time and having the second estimated arrival time not later than the first estimated arrival time based on the waiting queue database, the instructions further cause the processor to: retrieve the second traffic light waiting time with respect to remaining waiting queues excluding the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal from the waiting queue database and compare the second traffic light waiting time with the first traffic light waiting time as these limitations ensure the shortest path and least amount of waiting time is experienced by the user vehicle ensuring a faster method of transit.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi-Hyeong-cheol-Mortazavi-Seta- Haixia and in further view of Yong (KR 10-2700953 B1)
Regarding Claim 6 Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi-Seta-Haixia teaches (Taniguchi discloses the following limitations: ) The apparatus of claim 5, the instructions further cause the processor to: determine a signal change period of the first traffic signal (Pg. 4 - [0030] – “The information processing device 1 can also determine a future traffic light waiting state of the vehicle V” ) remaining waiting queues during the signal change period respectively: and predict the first traffic light waiting time and the second traffic light waiting time based on the signal change period ((Pg. 14 – [0141 & 0142] – “…it is assumed that the multiple condition information includes first time information indicating that the traffic light waiting time… Also, it is assumed that the content information associated with the first time information is information on a point of a first value P1, the content information associated with the second time information is information on a second point of a second value P2, and the content information associated with the third time information is information on a third point of a third value” & See Also Pg. 17 – [0179] – “the normal period during which the signal of traffic light 3 indicates a stop instruction is two minutes,” ) (equates to remaining waiting queues during the signal change period respectively: and predict the first traffic light waiting time and the second traffic light waiting time based on the signal change period as the first quote shows how multiple points of waiting time are considered and thus a first and second traffic stop are considered for the user to be waiting at, and the last quote showing how the signal change period of the traffic light is considered.))
Yet Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol-Seta-Haixia fail to teach to determine in real time the first traffic light waiting time expected after the user vehicle enters the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal based on the linking data on the position of the user vehicle in the first waiting queue and the signal change data of the first traffic signal, the instructions further cause the processor to: and an average movement distance of vehicles in the first waiting queue and the average movement distance of the vehicles.
Mortazavi teaches to determine in real time the first traffic light waiting time expected after the user vehicle enters the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal based on the linking data on the position of the user vehicle in the first waiting queue and the signal change data of the first traffic signal, (Pg. 4 – Fig. 3 & See Also Pg. 15 – [0070] – “At step 3020, the vehicle 1000 may receive traffic signal data which includes a plurality of traffic signal states for a plurality of traffic signals on the plurality of paths. In an implementation, the traffic signal data may be: stored in the vehicle 1000 for use by a predictive algorithm which may be performed by the controller 1300 in vehicle 1000; received from a traffic management center such as the traffic management center 2400; or received from a server computing device such as the server computing device 2500. In an implementation, the plurality of traffic signal states includes an indication the state of the traffic signal at the time the traffic signal data was sent as well as an indication of the timing of the traffic signal states.” & See Also Pg. 16 – [0075] – “At step 3030, the vehicle 1000 determines a plurality of traffic queue delay times for the plurality of paths. The plurality of traffic queue delay times is based on a number of objects within a predetermined distance of the plurality of traffic signals or a velocity of the objects within the predetermined distance of the plurality of traffic signals. As an example, sensors in the vehicle 1000, such as the sensor 1360 illustrated in FIG. 1, or path condition data from the traffic signal, may provide an indication of the number and velocity of objects, such as vehicles or pedestrians, are within the predetermined distance.”) excluding the one waiting queue of the first traffic signal, from the waiting queue database and compare the retrieved second traffic light waiting time with the first traffic light waiting time. (Pg. 18 – [0098] – “The vehicle 4200 determines travel times for path 1, path 2, and path 3, based on travel time factors including: the distances of path 1, path 2, and path 3 (path 1 is the shortest path); the state of: the traffic signal 4310, the traffic signal 4320, the traffic signal 4350, the traffic signal 4360, and the traffic signal 4340 (path 2 has the shortest aggregate red traffic signal time period); turning differentials (path 3 has the fewest turns and adds the least time due to turning the vehicle 4200); and path condition data which indicates that traffic signal 4310 and traffic signal 4320 have the lowest amount of vehicular and pedestrian congestion. Based on the travel time factors, the vehicle 4200 determines that path 3 is the path with the shortest travel time and selects path 3 as the optimal or optimized path.” (equates to excluding the one waiting queue of the first traffic signal, from the waiting queue database and compare the retrieved second traffic light waiting time with the first traffic light waiting time as the quote shows how path 1 is excluded due to waiting queue times based on the large amount of turns and traffic signs included in the path. And the waiting queue times at each light experienced along the route is considered and is why path 3 is chosen in this instance as the optimized paths as a low waiting time of the traffic lights is considered relative to each path. ))
Yet all fail to teach and an average movement distance of vehicles in the first waiting queue and the average movement distance of the vehicles.
Yong teaches and an average movement distance of vehicles in the first waiting queue (Pg. 6 – “For example, in the case of conventional point observation technology, only the traffic volume, average speed, and average movement within a unit time of vehicles passing the installation location could be observed” & See Also Pg. 9 – “In addition, the vehicle detection device (20) counts the number of vehicles passing within the link detection area for each display period, and when calculating the waiting line, it can collect information on vehicles waiting for a signal based on the moving speed of the vehicle finally detected within the link detection area.” (equates to and an average movement distance of vehicles in the first waiting queue as the first quote shows how the average movement distance of the group of vehicle sis detected in location and the second quote showing how the waiting queue can be a place a wherein the information is collected upon the group of vehicles.)) and the average movement distance of the vehicles (Pg. 6 – “For example, in the case of conventional point observation technology, only the traffic volume, average speed, and average movement within a unit time of vehicles passing the installation location could be observed” & See Also Pg. 9 – “In addition, the vehicle detection device (20) counts the number of vehicles passing within the link detection area for each display period, and when calculating the waiting line, it can collect information on vehicles waiting for a signal based on the moving speed of the vehicle finally detected within the link detection area.”) It would have been an advantageous addition the system disclosed by Taniguchi-Hyeong-cheol-Mortazavi-Seta- Haixia to include and an average movement distance of vehicles in the first waiting queue and the average movement distance of the vehicles as this gives more insight into how far the vehicles within the waiting area are traveling and thus ensuring not only signal change time is considered but actual movement data of the vehicle sin front of the user vehicle is considered.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include and an average movement distance of vehicles in the first waiting queue and the average movement distance of the vehicles as these limitations allow for actual movement of the vehicle surrounding the user vehicle to be considered allowing another metric than expected signal change time to be used for the path estimation.
Regarding Claim 16 Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi-Seta-Haixia teaches The method of claim 15, as previously mapped above.
Yet all fail to teach generating the second route comprises: retrieving the second traffic light waiting time with respect to remaining waiting queues excluding the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal from the waiting queue database; and comparing the second traffic light waiting time with the first traffic light waiting time. determining in real time the first traffic light waiting time expected after the user vehicle enters the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal based on the linking data on the position of the user vehicle in the first waiting queue and the signal change data of the first traffic signal comprises: determining a signal change period of the first traffic signal and an average movement distance of vehicles in the first waiting queue and the remaining waiting queues during the signal change period respectively; and predicting the first traffic light waiting time and the second traffic light waiting time based on the signal change period and the average movement distance of the vehicles.
Mortzavi teaches generating the second route comprises: retrieving the second traffic light waiting time with respect to remaining waiting queues excluding the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal from the waiting queue database; and comparing the second traffic light waiting time with the first traffic light waiting time. (Pg. 18 – [0101] – “Accordingly, the vehicle 5200 proceeds along the path 5210, which is an alternate route that will allow the vehicle 5200 to arrive at the destination location in less time than if the vehicle 5200 waits for the red traffic signal time period to elapse and for the traffic signal 5300 to return to the green left turn traffic signal state 5310.” & See Also Pg. 18 – [0100] - “The traffic signal data indicates that the red traffic signal time period on traffic signal 5300 will have a duration of twenty seconds, which the vehicle 5200 determines will exceed the fifteen seconds of additional time that the vehicle 5200 will expend to arrive at the destination via the path 5210 instead of the path 5320.”) determining in real time the first traffic light waiting time expected after the user vehicle enters the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal based on the linking data on the position of the user vehicle in the first waiting queue and the signal change data of the first traffic signal comprises: (Pg. 4 – Fig. 3 & See Also Pg. 15 – [0070] – “At step 3020, the vehicle 1000 may receive traffic signal data which includes a plurality of traffic signal states for a plurality of traffic signals on the plurality of paths. In an implementation, the traffic signal data may be: stored in the vehicle 1000 for use by a predictive algorithm which may be performed by the controller 1300 in vehicle 1000; received from a traffic management center such as the traffic management center 2400; or received from a server computing device such as the server computing device 2500. In an implementation, the plurality of traffic signal states includes an indication the state of the traffic signal at the time the traffic signal data was sent as well as an indication of the timing of the traffic signal states.” & See Also Pg. 16 – [0075] – “At step 3030, the vehicle 1000 determines a plurality of traffic queue delay times for the plurality of paths. The plurality of traffic queue delay times is based on a number of objects within a predetermined distance of the plurality of traffic signals or a velocity of the objects within the predetermined distance of the plurality of traffic signals. As an example, sensors in the vehicle 1000, such as the sensor 1360 illustrated in FIG. 1, or path condition data from the traffic signal, may provide an indication of the number and velocity of objects, such as vehicles or pedestrians, are within the predetermined distance.”) determining a signal change period of the first traffic signal in the first waiting queue and the remaining waiting queues during the signal change period respectively; and predicting the first traffic light waiting time and the second traffic light waiting time based on the signal change and the average movement distance of the vehicles. (Pg. 4 – Fig. 3 & See Also Pg. 15 – [0070] – “At step 3020, the vehicle 1000 may receive traffic signal data which includes a plurality of traffic signal states for a plurality of traffic signals on the plurality of paths. In an implementation, the traffic signal data may be: stored in the vehicle 1000 for use by a predictive algorithm which may be performed by the controller 1300 in vehicle 1000; received from a traffic management center such as the traffic management center 2400; or received from a server computing device such as the server computing device 2500. In an implementation, the plurality of traffic signal states includes an indication the state of the traffic signal at the time the traffic signal data was sent as well as an indication of the timing of the traffic signal states.” & See Also Pg. 16 – [0075] – “At step 3030, the vehicle 1000 determines a plurality of traffic queue delay times for the plurality of paths. The plurality of traffic queue delay times is based on a number of objects within a predetermined distance of the plurality of traffic signals or a velocity of the objects within the predetermined distance of the plurality of traffic signals. As an example, sensors in the vehicle 1000, such as the sensor 1360 illustrated in FIG. 1, or path condition data from the traffic signal, may provide an indication of the number and velocity of objects, such as vehicles or pedestrians, are within the predetermined distance.”)
Yet all fail to specifically mention and an average movement distance of vehicles and the average movement distance of the vehicles.
Yong teaches and an average movement distance of vehicles in the first waiting queue (Pg. 6 – “For example, in the case of conventional point observation technology, only the traffic volume, average speed, and average movement within a unit time of vehicles passing the installation location could be observed” & See Also Pg. 9 – “In addition, the vehicle detection device (20) counts the number of vehicles passing within the link detection area for each display period, and when calculating the waiting line, it can collect information on vehicles waiting for a signal based on the moving speed of the vehicle finally detected within the link detection area.” (equates to and an average movement distance of vehicles in the first waiting queue as the first quote shows how the average movement distance of the group of vehicle sis detected in location and the second quote showing how the waiting queue can be a place a wherein the information is collected upon the group of vehicles.)) and the average movement distance of the vehicles (Pg. 6 – “For example, in the case of conventional point observation technology, only the traffic volume, average speed, and average movement within a unit time of vehicles passing the installation location could be observed” & See Also Pg. 9 – “In addition, the vehicle detection device (20) counts the number of vehicles passing within the link detection area for each display period, and when calculating the waiting line, it can collect information on vehicles waiting for a signal based on the moving speed of the vehicle finally detected within the link detection area.”) It would have been an advantageous addition the system disclosed by Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi-Seta-Haixia to include and an average movement distance of vehicles in the first waiting queue and the average movement distance of the vehicles as this gives more insight into how far the vehicles within the waiting area are traveling and thus ensuring not only signal change time is considered but actual movement data of the vehicle sin front of the user vehicle is considered.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include and an average movement distance of vehicles in the first waiting queue and the average movement distance of the vehicles as these limitations allow for actual movement of the vehicle surrounding the user vehicle to be considered allowing another metric than expected signal change time to be used for the path estimation.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi-Hyeong-cheol-Mortazavi-Seta and in further view of Huq et al. (US 2023/0076621 A1)
Regarding Claim 9 Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi-Seta teaches The apparatus of claim 8, (Taniguchi teaches: ) wherein, to determine the first estimated arrival time for the destination of the user vehicle based on the first traffic light waiting time, the instructions further cause the processor to: (Pg. 6 – [para. 1] – “current vehicle progress direction front extracted from the traffic light status information extracting unit and remaining time and nearby traffic signal and remaining time to the destination location and it is the velocity information inputted from GPS or the velocity of car group 0 and in case the present signal indication”)
Yet Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol-Seta fails to teach update a destination arrival time by using the first destination arrival time, and provide a first notification about the first waiting queue and the delay time occurring in the first waiting queue to the user through the navigation system.
Mortazavi teaches update a destination arrival time by using the first estimated arrival time, (Pg. 4 – Fig. 3 – 3030 & See Also Pg. 16 – [0075] – “At step 3030, the vehicle 1000 determines a plurality of traffic queue delay times for the plurality of paths. The plurality of traffic queue delay times” & See Also Pg. 16 – [0076] – “the vehicle 1000 may determine how the queue of vehicles will affect the ability of the vehicle 1000 to proceed” & See Also Pg. 16 – [0077] – “In an implementation, the vehicle 1000 reduces or prunes a predetermined portion of the plurality of paths to include the plurality of paths corresponding to the plurality of traffic signals with a traffic queue delay time that is less than a predetermined traffic queue delay threshold” & See Also Pg. 16 – [0078] – “At step 3040, the vehicle 1000 determines a plurality of travel times corresponding to a predetermined portion of the plurality of paths based on the plurality of distances and the plurality of traffic signal states” & See Also Pg. 16 – [0078] – “In an implementation, the vehicle 1000 estimates a travel time for each of the plurality of paths.”(equates to wherein the estimated arrival time determining unit is configured to update the first estimated destination arrival time by using the determined estimated destination arrival time as the quotes shows the delay being factored into the generation of paths as seen from the first three quotes, wherein the third quote updates the arrival time by ensuring the paths then selected aren’t above the threshold including the traffic light delay time. And the last quote shows how the paths that are filtered out by the exceeding of the threshold are then given an estimated time of arrival if the driver selects one.)) and the delay time occurring in the first waiting queue (Pg. 16 – [0077] – “traffic signals with a traffic queue delay time that is less than a predetermined traffic queue delay threshold.” (equates to delay time occurring in the waiting queue as the system can readily observe the waiting time based on the delay in traffic ))
Yet all fail to mention and provide a first notification about the first waiting queue to the user through the navigation system.
Huq teaches and provide a first notification about the first waiting queue to the user through the navigation system. (Pg. 4 – [0005] – “Therefore, a need exists to give alert to a driver of a vehicle stopped at a traffic light and/or in a traffic jam or similar situation with stopped vehicle in front.” & See Also Pg. 5 – [0015] – “The present invention, a system and method for stopped vehicle driver alert,” (equates to and provide first notification about the waiting queue to the user through the navigation system as the first quote shows the notification system alerting the driver of a waiting queue and in this case it is of a traffic jam and the second quote shows this invention comprising an alert system being integrated in a physical system.)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol - Mortazavi to include provide first notification about the waiting queue to the user through the navigation system as this limitation allows for an interaction to be had between the user and navigation system wherein the system can alert the driver of the upcoming waiting queue and better inform the driver/ user of the upcoming road conditions.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include and provide first notification about the waiting queue to the user through the navigation system as this limitation allows for an interaction to take place between the human and machine and allows the user to be more at ease understanding the condition of the road rather than the feeling of frustration arising from not knowing what they will encounter.
Regarding Claim 19 Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi - Seta teaches The method of claim 18, as previously mapped above.
Yet Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol-Seta fails to teach wherein determining the first estimated arrival time further comprises: updating a destination arrival time by using the first destination arrival time; and providing a first notification about the first waiting queue and the delay time occurring in the first waiting queue to the user through the navigation system.
Mortazavi teaches herein determining the first estimated arrival time further comprises: updating a destination arrival time by using the first destination arrival time; (Pg. 4 – Fig. 3 – 3030 & See Also Pg. 16 – [0075] – “At step 3030, the vehicle 1000 determines a plurality of traffic queue delay times for the plurality of paths. The plurality of traffic queue delay times” & See Also Pg. 16 – [0076] – “the vehicle 1000 may determine how the queue of vehicles will affect the ability of the vehicle 1000 to proceed” & See Also Pg. 16 – [0077] – “In an implementation, the vehicle 1000 reduces or prunes a predetermined portion of the plurality of paths to include the plurality of paths corresponding to the plurality of traffic signals with a traffic queue delay time that is less than a predetermined traffic queue delay threshold” & See Also Pg. 16 – [0078] – “At step 3040, the vehicle 1000 determines a plurality of travel times corresponding to a predetermined portion of the plurality of paths based on the plurality of distances and the plurality of traffic signal states” & See Also Pg. 16 – [0078] – “In an implementation, the vehicle 1000 estimates a travel time for each of the plurality of paths.”(equates to wherein the determining the first estimated arrival time further comprises: updating the existing estimated destination arrival time by using the determined estimated destination arrival time as the quotes shows the delay being factored into the generation of paths as seen from the first three quotes, wherein the third quote updates the arrival time by ensuring the paths then selected aren’t above the threshold including the traffic light delay time. And the last quote shows how the paths that are filtered out by the exceeding of the threshold are then given an estimated time of arrival if the driver selects one.)) and the delay time occurring in the first waiting queue (Pg. 16 – [0077] – “traffic signals with a traffic queue delay time that is less than a predetermined traffic queue delay threshold.” (equates to delay time occurring in the waiting queue as the system can readily observe the waiting time based on the delay in traffic ))
Yet all fail to mention and provide first notification about the first waiting queue to the user through the navigation system.
Huq teaches and provide first notification about the first waiting queue to the user through the navigation system (Pg. 4 – [0005] – “Therefore, a need exists to give alert to a driver of a vehicle stopped at a traffic light and/or in a traffic jam or similar situation with stopped vehicle in front.” & See Also Pg. 5 – [0015] – “The present invention, a system and method for stopped vehicle driver alert,” (equates to and provide first notification about the waiting queue to the user through the navigation system as the first quote shows the notification system alerting the driver of a waiting queue and in this case it is of a traffic jam and the second quote shows this invention comprising an alert system being integrated in a physical system.)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi-Seta to include provide first notification about the waiting queue to the user through the navigation system as this limitation allows for an interaction to be had between the user and navigation system wherein the system can alert the driver of the upcoming waiting queue and better inform the driver/ user of the upcoming road conditions.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include and provide first notification about the waiting queue to the user through the navigation system as this limitation allows for an interaction to take place between the human and machine and allows the user to be more at ease understanding the condition of the road rather than the feeling of frustration arising from not knowing what they will encounter.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi-Hyeong-cheol-Mortazavi-Seta-Huq and in further view of Stolfus (US 2018/0309592 A1)
Regarding Claim 10 Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi- Huq teaches The apparatus of claim 9, as mapped above previously.
Yet Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol fail to mention wherein, to generate the second route having the second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time and having the second estimated arrival time not later than the first estimated arrival time based on the waiting queue database, the instructions further cause the processor to: in response to the delay time being determined, provide a second notification for guiding the second route as a recommended route together with the first notification to the user.
Mortazavi teaches wherein, to generate the second route having the second traffic light waiting time shorter than the first traffic light waiting time and having the second estimated arrival time not later than the first estimated arrival time based on the waiting queue database, the instructions further cause the processor to: (Pg. 18 – [0101] – “Accordingly, the vehicle 5200 proceeds along the path 5210, which is an alternate route that will allow the vehicle 5200 to arrive at the destination location in less time than if the vehicle 5200 waits for the red traffic signal time period to elapse and for the traffic signal 5300 to return to the green left turn traffic signal state 5310.” & See Also Pg. 18 – [0100] - “The traffic signal data indicates that the red traffic signal time period on traffic signal 5300 will have a duration of twenty seconds, which the vehicle 5200 determines will exceed the fifteen seconds of additional time that the vehicle 5200 will expend to arrive at the destination via the path 5210 instead of the path 5320.”) in response to the delay time being determined (Pg. 16 – [0075] – “At step 3030, the vehicle 1000 determines a plurality of traffic queue delay times for the plurality of paths. The plurality of traffic queue delay times”)
Yet Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi fails to teach, provide a second notification for guiding the second route as a recommended route together with the first notification to the user.
Huq teaches together with the first notification to the user. (Pg. 4 – [0005] – “Therefore, a need exists to give alert to a driver of a vehicle stopped at a traffic light and/or in a traffic jam or similar situation with stopped vehicle in front.” (equates to first notification as the alert is based on the waiting queue being experienced.))
Yet all fail to teach wherein the route generating unit is configured to provide a second notification for guiding the second route as a recommended
Stolfus teaches provide a second notification for guiding the second route as a recommended (Pg. 27 – [0027] – “In some embodiments, a user may be provided with an alternative route notification and/or message at a communication device. The notification and/or message may include an option for receiving an alternative route map. For example, a user may choose to receive an alternative route (e.g., in the form of a map and/or instructions, etc.) by interacting with the notification and/or message” (equates to wherein the route generating unit is configured to provide a second notification for guiding the second route as a recommended as the quote show an alternative route and thus a second route being given to the user b way of a notification.)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi- Huq to include wherein the route generating unit is configured to provide a second notification for guiding the second route as a recommended as this allows another interaction to take place between the system and user and thus allows for a better way of alerting the user there is another option to avoid the delay time.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the route generating unit is configured to provide a second notification for guiding the second route as a recommended as this allows for a better line of communication to be had between the system and the user and thus can ease the mental burden of the unknowing for the user in terms of what route they can alternatively take based on the delay time provided.
Regarding Claim 20 Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi-Seta- Huq teaches The method of claim 19, as previously mapped above.
Yet Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol fail to mention wherein generating the second route comprises, in response to the determining that the delay time occurred, providing a second notification for guiding the second route as a recommended route together with the first notification to the user
Mortazavi teaches in response to the determining that the delay time occurred (Pg. 16 – [0075] – “At step 3030, the vehicle 1000 determines a plurality of traffic queue delay times for the plurality of paths. The plurality of traffic queue delay times”)
Yet Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi fails to teach wherein generating the second route comprises, providing a second notification for guiding the second route as a recommended route together with the first notification to the user.
Huq teaches together with the first notification to the user. (Pg. 4 – [0005] – “Therefore, a need exists to give alert to a driver of a vehicle stopped at a traffic light and/or in a traffic jam or similar situation with stopped vehicle in front.” (equates to first notification as the alert is based on the waiting queue being experienced.))
Yet all fail to teach wherein generating the second route comprises, providing a second notification for guiding the second route as a recommended route
Stolfus teaches wherein generating the second route comprises, providing a second notification for guiding the second route as a recommended route (Pg. 27 – [0027] – “In some embodiments, a user may be provided with an alternative route notification and/or message at a communication device. The notification and/or message may include an option for receiving an alternative route map. For example, a user may choose to receive an alternative route (e.g., in the form of a map and/or instructions, etc.) by interacting with the notification and/or message” (equates to wherein the generating the second route comprises, providing a second notification for guiding the second route as a recommended route as the quote show an alternative route and thus a second route being given to the user b way of a notification.)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi- Huq to include wherein the generating the second route comprises, providing a second notification for guiding the second route as a recommended route as a recommended as this allows another interaction to take place between the system and user and thus allows for a better way of alerting the user there is another option to avoid the delay time.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the generating the second route comprises, providing a second notification for guiding the second route as a recommended route as a recommended as this allows for a better line of communication to be had between the system and the user and thus can ease the mental burden of the unknowing for the user in terms of what route they can alternatively take based on the delay time provided.
Response to Arguments
Response to 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection of claims 1-20 applicant’s amendments to the claim changes the scope. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant Argues on pages 2-4, “In the Action, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is allegedly directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. See Action at pages 13-19. Specifically, the Action contends that the independent claims each include one or more features that the Action believes fall within a mental processes grouping of abstract ideas. Id. Applicant respectfully traverses these rejections for the following reasons.
Applicant thanks the Action for indicating that each of the claims fall within one of the statutory categories of patent eligible subject matter (ioi Analysis - Step 1). Id.
Applicant does not agree with or acquiesce to the propriety of the contentions set forth in the Action regarding the alleged abstract idea to which the claims are allegedly directed (ioi Analysis - Step 2A Prong 1), or that the claims lack significantly more than any alleged abstract idea (ioi Analysis - Step 2B). However, in the interest of promoting the principles of compact and efficient prosecution, Applicant respectfully asserts that, even assuming for the sake of argument that the claims recite or otherwise include the alleged abstract idea, the claims set forth a practical application into which any alleged abstract idea found in the claims is integrated, thereby rendering the claims patent eligible (ioi Analysis - Step 2A Prong 2).
"A claim reciting a judicial exception is not directed to the judicial exception if it also recites additional element(s) demonstrating that the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application." MPEP 2106.04(d)(1). "Step 2A Prong Two determines whether [] [t]he claim as a whole integrates the judicial exception into a practical application, in which case the claim is not directed to a judicial exception (Step 2A: NO) and is eligible ... This concludes the eligibility analysis." MPEP 2106.04(d).
Applicant respectfully asserts that the amended independent claims integrate any judicial exception alleged to be recited therein into a practical application, thereby causing the claim not to be 'directed to' a judicial exception, and, thus, be patent-eligible.
"One way to demonstrate such integration [of a judicial exception into a practical
application] is when the claimed invention improves the functioning of a computer or improves another technology or technical field. The application or use of the judicial exception in this manner meaningfully limits the claim by going beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, and thus transforms a claim into patent- eligible subject matter. Such claims are eligible at Step 2A because they are not "directed to" the recited judicial exception." MPEP 2106.04(d)(1).
As an initial matter, Applicant respectfully asserts that existing navigation systems do not provide detailed information about traffic light waiting conditions (e.g., lane-specific queue information), which can cause drivers to enter unnecessary queues or delay their estimated time of arrival (ETA).
In order to solve this problem, the amended claims of the present invention go beyond
simply calculating the route, and set forth predicting lane-specific queue information (e.g., green light waiting queue information, left-turn light waiting queue information, right-turn light waiting queue information) in real time, and, based on this, generate an optimized route to minimize the driver's waiting time at traffic signals. Additionally, the amended claims set forth precisely determining the user vehicle's location on a lane-by-lane basis (e.g., based on GNSS), and predicting and storing the first traffic light waiting time in real time based on signal change data and movement data of vehicles entering the queue.
Applicant respectfully asserts that this 'lane-by-lane precision positioning', 'real-time waiting time prediction/storage using vehicle movement data', and 'optimal route extraction that minimizes predicted waiting time' are non-conventional functions that go beyond the conventional functions of general-purpose computers, and specifically improve the technology of traffic navigation systems, thereby integrating any alleged judicial exception in the claims into a practical application, rendering the claims patent eligible.
For at least the reasons set forth above, independent claims 1 and 11 recite patent eligible subject matter in compliance with 35 U.S.C.§101. Thus, Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and allowance of independent claims 1 and 11, and their respective dependent claims.” - As to point (A), Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant appears to argue that at Step 2A Prong 1, the claim provided does not show how the limitations can be reasonably performed in the human mind and that the recitation of “'lane-by-lane precision positioning', 'real-time waiting time prediction/storage using vehicle movement data', and 'optimal route extraction that minimizes predicted waiting time' ~ “determine in real time a first traffic light waiting time expected after the user vehicle enters the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal based on linking data on a position of the user vehicle in the first waiting queue and signal change data of the first traffic signal”” each of the limitations precludes the claim from being reasonably performed by the human mind. In Step 2A Prong 1, Examiner considers the impact of additional elements. In this case, the limitations “'lane-by-lane precision positioning', 'real-time waiting time prediction/storage using vehicle movement data'”, and “based on linking data on a position of the user vehicle in the first waiting queue and signal change data of the first traffic signal” are additional elements considered after Step 2A Prong 1. The remaining elements recite abstract ideas that fall into the mental process grouping. As previously stated the limitation “determine in real time a first traffic light waiting time expected after the user vehicle enters the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal” , simply takes the fact the user is waiting for the traffic signal to change and a determination of a waiting time is then estimated based upon previously collected data. In response to “'lane-by-lane precision positioning', 'real-time waiting time prediction/storage using vehicle movement data'”, and “based on linking data on a position of the user vehicle in the first waiting queue and signal change data of the first traffic signal” the examiner submits that this is an insignificant extra solution activity merely amounting to data gathering and thus is considered in Step 2A Prong 2 as not integrating the judicial exception into a practical application.
Response to 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of claims 1-20 applicant’s amendments to the claim changes the scope. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 6, “Additionally, amended independent claim 1 sets forth that the location of the user vehicle is determined on a lane-by-lane basis using satellite system information. Applicant respectfully asserts that Taniguchi, Hyeong-cheol, and Mortazavi, alone or in any combination with each other, fail to disclose this feature of amended independent claim 1. Specifically, the present invention uses lane-by-lane positioning technology to collect and compare traffic signal queue data (green, left turn, right turn) for each lane. This doesn't simply improve location accuracy; it provides a functional link that accurately identifies the specific waiting time associated with a specific lane (queue) a vehicle has entered and reroutes the lane (queue path) accordingly. Applicant respectfully asserts that this is a non-obvious integration that prior technologies failed to address, enhancing the efficiency of predictive systems. Thus, Applicant respectfully asserts that Taniguchi, Hyeong-cheol, and Mortazavi, alone or in any combination with each other, fail to disclose the above-recited features of amended independent claim 1.” – As to point B the examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant asserts that Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi- Seta does not teach “determined on a lane-by-lane basis using satellite system information”. During Patent Examination, pending claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification (see MPEP 2111). The broadest reasonable interpretation of the aforementioned amendment is determining a user vehicle position based on satellite signals in which the lane information of the vehicle is specified . Seta teaches lane by lane positioning of the user vehicle in which data is derived from satellite information. (as mapped above in claim 1 and 11). Therefor the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicants arguments and assert that Seta teaches “determined on a lane-by-lane basis using satellite system information”. Seta teaches : (Pg. 1 – Abstract – “A vehicle controller detects a travel lane on which a vehicle is traveling” & See Also Pg. 14 – [0042] – “The GPS receiver 3 receives GPS signals from GPS satellites at predetermined intervals, and determines the position of the vehicle 10, based on the received GPS signal” & See Also Pg. 16 – [0055] – “The lane detection unit 31 then calculates the degree of matching between the features on or near the road detected from the image and the corresponding features represented in the high-precision map ( e.g., the inverse of the sum of squares” (equates to determine on a lane-by-lane basis a location of a user vehicle travelling on the first rout as the first quote shows the lane detection of the vehicle and allows the vehicle to be located on a lane by lane basis wherein the last quote shows the map matching done between lane detection and the high precision map being used wherein the second quote shows how satellite data from the GPS is taken.))
Applicant argues on pages 6-7, “Additionally, in the rejection of claims 4 and 14, the Action contends that Haixia discloses straight line queue waiting information. However, Applicant respectfully asserts that Hyeong- cheol only discloses left/right turn information, while Haixia focuses on calculating the maximum queue length for the straight lane. In contrast, the present invention encompasses information on green (go straight) queues, left-turn queues, and right-turn queues. Therefore, Applicant respectfully asserts that the conclusion set forth in the Action that a person skilled in the art could obviously combine information incompletely disclosed in the cited references is” -As to point A the examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant asserts that Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi- Seta-Haixia does not teach “wherein the waiting queue information includes straight light waiting queue information, left-turn light waiting queue information, and right-turn light waiting queue information of each of the plurality of traffic signals.”. During Patent Examination, pending claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification (see MPEP 2111). The broadest reasonable interpretation of the aforementioned amendment is the system and method including waiting information based on the left, right and straight directions. Hyeong-cheol teaches waiting queue information on the left and right turning signals and Haixia teaches the waiting queue information on the straight direction (as mapped above in claim 4 & 14). Therefor the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicants arguments and assert that Hyeong-cheol -Haixia teaches “wherein the waiting queue information includes straight light waiting queue information, left-turn light waiting queue information, and right-turn light waiting queue information of each of the plurality of traffic signals.”. Hyeong-cheol teaches the waiting queue information (Pg. 5 – [Para. 2 ] – “In the meantime" multiple traffic light status information are extracted from the inputted broadcast signal” & See Also Pg. 7 – [para. 2 ] – “traffic light status information in the display device or it outputs in the speaker and of" the signal waiting time is reflected” (equates to waiting queue information on each of the plurality of traffic signals as the first quote shows multiple traffic signals being taken and the second quote shows the information including the waiting time. )) includes left-turn light waiting queue information, (Pg. 20 – [para. 3] – “For example" before the most up-to-date information is received since the validity of the received information is not any more guaranteed after 02 minutes 03 second in 13 if the traffic signal ID 100" 00 minutes 00 second in the reference time 13" go right on 10 second" 1 second including yellow etc" left turn 10 second" 1 second including yellow etc" pause 100 second"” (equates to left-turn light waiting queue information as the quote includes the left turn time it remains green – 10s, yellow – 1s, and red – 100s for the system to transmit to the traffic light status information encoder. )) and right-turn light waiting queue information (Pg. 8 – Advantageous effects – “The present invention relates to real-time status information transmission and reception apparatus of the traffic light and method thereof" and it prepares to be the driving change including the indication (the go right on" left / rotate right" turnaround" stop light lamp)” & See Also Pg. 7 – [para. 2 ] – “traffic light status information in the display device or it outputs in the speaker and of" the signal waiting time is reflected” (equates to and right-turn light waiting queue information as the first quote shows the right turn traffic light being under consideration for the art and the second quote furthering that each traffic light includes the waiting queue time.)) to determine in real time the first traffic light waiting time expected after the user vehicle enters the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal, (Pg. 4 – [tech solution] – “The real-time status information transmission device of the traffic light according to the present invention for achieving the above-described purpose comprises the traffic light status information encoder producing record data of the multiple individual signal etc using the reference time information provided from the apparatus for providing time of date including the traffic signal information DB:" storing the fixed information and status information of the traffic signal including the traffic signal information input unit: multiple ID including the individual signal etc" receiving the traffic signal information including the indication and signal maintenance time including the individual signal etc. from the traffic signal” & See Also Pg. 2 – [BG Art ] – “The time of arrival to the front traffic light the automatic calculation and this is compared in the navigation terminal in which the operator can do in person and such determination is installed in the vehicle through the distance calculation to the traveling speed and front traffic light with the signal remaining time and the stop or not can be guided to the operator.” (equates to determine in real time the first traffic light waiting time expected after the user vehicle enters the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal as the first quote shows the determination in real time of first traffic signal waiting time via the multiple traffic lights that are under consideration and thus a first one is under consideration and the second quote shows the vehicle traveling the traffic signal waiting time being considered based on a proximity to the traffic signal, )) the instructions further cause the processor to: determine in real time the first traffic light waiting time for the first waiting queue guided on the first route among a left-turn light waiting queue, (Pg. 20 – [para. 3] – “For example" before the most up-to-date information is received since the validity of the received information is not any more guaranteed after 02 minutes 03 second in 13 if the traffic signal ID 100" 00 minutes 00 second in the reference time 13" go right on 10 second" 1 second including yellow etc" left turn 10 second" 1 second including yellow etc" pause 100 second"” & See Also Pg. 4 – [tech solution] – “The real-time status information transmission device of the traffic light according to the present invention for achieving the above-described purpose comprises the traffic light status information encoder producing record data of the multiple individual signal etc using the reference time information provided from the apparatus for providing time of date including the traffic signal information DB:" storing the fixed information and status information of the traffic signal including the traffic signal information input unit: multiple ID including the individual signal etc" receiving the traffic signal information including the indication and signal maintenance time including the individual signal etc. from the traffic signal” (equates to the instructions further cause the processor to: determine in real time the first traffic light waiting time for the first waiting queue guided on the first route among a left-turn light waiting queue, as the first quote shows the extraction of a traffic signal pertaining to the left turn signal and the second quote shows the real time extraction of the traffic signal data among a plurality of traffic signal and thus a first traffic signal is contained within said data.)) and a right-turn light waiting queue of the first traffic signal. (Pg. 8 – Advantageous effects – “The present invention relates to real-time status information transmission and reception apparatus of the traffic light and method thereof" and it prepares to be the driving change including the indication (the go right on" left / rotate right" turnaround" stop light lamp)” & See Also Pg. 7 – [para. 2 ] – “traffic light status information in the display device or it outputs in the speaker and of" the signal waiting time is reflected” & See Also Pg. 4 – [tech solution] – “The real-time status information transmission device of the traffic light according to the present invention for achieving the above-described purpose comprises the traffic light status information encoder producing record data of the multiple individual signal etc using the reference time information provided from the apparatus for providing time of date including the traffic signal information DB:" storing the fixed information and status information of the traffic signal including the traffic signal information input unit: multiple ID including the individual signal etc" receiving the traffic signal information including the indication and signal maintenance time including the individual signal etc. from the traffic signal”)
Haixia teaches straight line waiting queue information (Pg. 2 – [0013] – “According to the initial traffic light cycle, calculate the maximum queuing length of vehicles in the straight lane during the straight red light period…” (equates to straight line waiting queue information as the time detected at the stop light of the straight going lane is calculated. ) )
Applicant argues on page 6, “Additionally, in regards to claims 5 and 15, Applicant notes that the route generation device searches for and compares the waiting times of the remaining queues, excluding the first queue guided to the existing route, among the queues of the first signal, and selects a queue having a second signal waiting time shorter than the existing waiting time. In contrast, Mortazavi decides whether to shorten the arrival time when offering an alternative route (path 5210), but it compares the entire route, and does not teach the detailed logic of selecting the most optimal queue (lane change) by comparing the waiting times of the remaining queues excluding the current queue among multiple lane queues within the same intersection, as in the present invention. Therefore, Applicant respectfully asserts that the proposed combination of cited references fails to disclose the features of amended claims 5 and 15.” - As to point A the examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant asserts that Taniguchi- Hyeong-cheol – Mortazavi- Seta does not teach “retrieve the second traffic light waiting time with respect to remaining waiting queues excluding the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal from the waiting queue database and compare the second traffic light waiting time with the first traffic light waiting time.”. During Patent Examination, pending claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification (see MPEP 2111). The broadest reasonable interpretation of the aforementioned amendment is to retrieve any other traffic light information that isn’t currently being conserved and then determine if using the second traffic light information would the route then be faster for the user vehicle. Mortazavi teaches the inclusion of a second path including a second traffic light in which the waiting time of the second determined path is then shorter than the path with the first associated traffic light information (as mapped above in claim _5 & 15 ) . Therefor the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicants arguments and assert that Mortazavi teaches “retrieve the second traffic light waiting time with respect to remaining waiting queues excluding the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal from the waiting queue database and compare the second traffic light waiting time with the first traffic light waiting time.”. (Pg. 18 – [0101] – “Accordingly, the vehicle 5200 proceeds along the path 5210, which is an alternate route that will allow the vehicle 5200 to arrive at the destination location in less time than if the vehicle 5200 waits for the red traffic signal time period to elapse and for the traffic signal 5300 to return to the green left turn traffic signal state 5310.” & See Also Pg. 18 – [0100] - “The traffic signal data indicates that the red traffic signal time period on traffic signal 5300 will have a duration of twenty seconds, which the vehicle 5200 determines will exceed the fifteen seconds of additional time that the vehicle 5200 will expend to arrive at the destination via the path 5210 instead of the path 5320.” (equates to the instructions further cause the processor to: retrieve the second traffic light waiting time with respect to remaining waiting queues excluding the first waiting queue of the first traffic signal from the waiting queue database and compare the second traffic light waiting time with the first traffic light waiting time as the first quote shows the waiting queue and thus the arrival time of use of the second path to be shorter than if taking the first path, and thus a comparison is made between the waiting queues (as shown in the second quote ) ))
Applicant argues on page 6, “Additionally, in regards to claim 6 and 16, Applicant respectfully asserts that the cited references fail to disclose that the signal waiting time is predicted based on the signal change cycle of the first signal and the average travel distance of vehicles in the queue during the signal change cycle. Therefore, Applicant respectfully asserts that the proposed combination of cited references fails to disclose the features of amended claims 6 and 16.” – As to point E the argument is made moot in light of new grounds of rejection as supplied above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park et al. (KR20150002086A) - Disclosed are a device and a method for estimating the waiting time of a traffic light having a database (DB) by using a satellite signal. The device for estimating the waiting time of a traffic light according to the present invention comprises: a control unit including a receiving unit to extract, from a satellite, a satellite signal including position information about the current position of a user and time information about the current time,
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
2/4/26