DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,8,21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Ohmi et al., (Ohmi) US 2004/0171233.
Regarding claim 1, Ohmi discloses and shows in FIG. 1-20, a method for fracturing a wafer assembly (901,902, FIG. 2A, [0083]), the method comprising: applying, using a separation device (907, FIG. 2A, [0083]), a separation force (jet from 907, FIG. 2A, [0083]) into a peripheral side groove (906, FIG. 2A, [0083]) of the wafer assembly (901,902, FIG. 2A, [0083]), the wafer assembly (901,902, FIG. 2A, [0083]) comprising an embrittlement plane (903 of 901, FIG. 2A, [0083]) formed in a donor wafer (901, FIG. 2A, [0083]), the donor wafer (901, FIG. 2A, [0083]) being bonded to a support wafer (902, FIG. 2A, [0083]), and the peripheral side groove being formed by chamfers of each of the donor wafer (901, FIG. 2A, [0083]) and the support wafer (902, FIG. 2A, [0083]).
Regarding claim 8, Ohmi discloses and shows in FIG. 1-20, a method, wherein the separation device (907, FIG. 2A, [0083]) is a fluid jet, and wherein applying the separation force (force of 907, FIG. 2A, [0083]) comprises spraying the fluid jet (fluid of 907, FIG. 2A, [0083]) into the peripheral side groove (906, FIG. 2A, [0083]) of the wafer assembly.
Regarding claim 21, Ohmi discloses and shows in FIG. 1-20, a system for fracturing a wafer assembly including an embrittlement plane (903 of 901, FIG. 2A, [0083]) and a peripheral side groove, the system comprising: a separation device (907, FIG. 2A, [0083]) comprising a moveable arm (103, FIG. 23, [0092]), the moveable arm (103, FIG. 23, [0092]) configured to move the separation device (907, FIG. 2A, [0083]) into alignment with the peripheral side groove of the wafer assembly (901,902, FIG. 2A, [0083]), the separation device (907, FIG. 2A, [0083]) configured to apply a separation force in the peripheral side groove of the wafer assembly (901,902, FIG. 2A, [0083]), and the separation force (907, FIG. 2A, [0083]) being configured to initiate fracturing of the wafer assembly (901,902, FIG. 2A, [0083]) on the embrittlement plane (903 of 901, FIG. 2A, [0083]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohmi as applied to claims 1,8,21, and further in view of Sakaguchi et al., (Sakaguchi) US 6,294,478.
Regarding claim 7, Ohmi discloses and shows in FIG. 1-20 a wafer assembly (901,902, FIG. 2A, [0083]).
Ohmi differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a method comprising annealing the wafer assembly in a furnace prior to applying the separation force.
Sakaguchi discloses a method comprising annealing the wafer (col. 28, line 50-60) assembly in a furnace prior to applying the separation force.
Sakaguchi is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Ohmi. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Sakaguchi in the device of Ohmi because it will improve the bonding strength, with good crystallinity and reduce cost (col.7, line 1-6).
Claim(s) 10,11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohmi as applied to claims 1,8,21, and further in view of Iizuka., (Iizuka) US 6,294,478.
Regarding claim 10, Ohmi discloses and shows in FIG. 1-20, a system for fracturing a wafer assembly including an embrittlement plane (903 of 901, FIG. 2A, [0083]) and a peripheral side groove, the system comprising: a separation device (907, FIG. 2A, [0083]) comprising configured to apply a separation force in the peripheral side groove of the wafer assembly (901,902, FIG. 2A, [0083]), and the separation force (907, FIG. 2A, [0083]) being configured to initiate fracturing of the wafer assembly (901,902, FIG. 2A, [0083]) on the embrittlement plane (903 of 901, FIG. 2A, [0083]).
Ohmi differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a method a detector configured to detect a position of the peripheral side groove of the wafer assembly.
Iizuka discloses a method a detector (5) (col.5, line 53-56, FIG. 1) configured to detect a position of the peripheral side groove of the wafer assembly (col.5, line 53-56).
Iizuka is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Ohmi. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Sakaguchi in the device of Ohmi because it facilitates detection of the boundary (col.5, line 53-58).
Regarding claim 11, Ohmi discloses and shows in FIG. 1-20, a system wherein the separation device (907, FIG. 2A, [0083]) is a fluid jet configured to spray a fluid into the peripheral side groove of the wafer assembly (901,902, FIG. 2A, [0083]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6,9,12-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 22,23 are allowed.
Pertinent Reference
Yanagita USPAT 6,653,205 a method for fracturing a wafer assembly (10,20, FIG. 8,9, col. 6, line 55-65), the method comprising: applying, using a separation device (240 FIG. 8,9, col. 6, line 55-65).
Conclusion
MARC - ANTHONY ARMAND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2813
/MARC-ANTHONY ARMAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813