DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hausner (US 2019/0210865 A1 - of record).
Regarding claim 1, Hausner teaches a material feeding device, comprising: a material barrel (18), comprising an opening (16); a piston (20), matching with an inner wall of the material barrel through the opening, the piston enclosing and forming a containing cavity for accommodating materials with the material barrel (see ¶0019: for conveying viscous material such as adhesive, sealant or insulation material out of a barrel-like container 12), and the piston being configured to be able to move along the inner wall of the material barrel (see ¶0020); and an elastic member (28), disposed between the inner wall of the material barrel and the piston, and adapted to connect the piston and the material barrel in a sealing manner (see ¶0021) (Figs 1-5 and ¶0019-0028).
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1, Hausner teaches a material feeding device wherein the piston comprises a groove on a side facing the inner wall of the material barrel, and the elastic member is at least partially accommodated in the groove (wiper ring (34) is positioned in a groove or recess on the follower plate (20), conforming to the inner surface of the container (12, 36), see fig. 3a-3b, ensuring sealing between the follower plate (piston) and barrel).
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 1, Hausner teaches a material feeding device wherein the elastic member comprises a pressure chamber for accommodating fluid, the pressure chamber is formed in an annular shape and disposed around an entire circumference of the piston, and the pressure chamber is at least partially disposed between the piston and the material barrel (Hausner discloses that "compressed air is applied to the cavity 30 by means of an aeration and ventilation device", see par. 21 and "seals the container interior 38").
Regarding claim 7, as applied to claim 3, Hausner teaches a material feeding device further comprising a fluid source and a flow passage, wherein the fluid source is adapted to provide fluid to the pressure chamber, and the flow passage is adapted to communicate the pressure chamber with the fluid source (Hausner describes an aeration and ventilation device for the wiper ring (see par. 10), which inherently requires a fluid source (compressed air) and a flow passage to regulate pressure in the sealing chamber).
Regarding claim 9, as applied to claim 1, Hausner teaches a material feeding device wherein the piston comprises a material discharging pipe, the material discharging pipe is communicated with the containing cavity and adapted for the materials in the containing cavity to flow out (Hausner discloses a material outlet (26) that allows material to exit the system (see par. 24); the material outlet in Hausner serves the same purpose as the material discharging pipe in the claimed invention).
Regarding claim 10, as applied to claim 9, Hausner teaches a material feeding device further comprising a pumping unit, wherein the pumping unit is communicated with the material discharging pipe and adapted to pump out the materials in the containing cavity through the material discharging pipe (Hausner discloses a conveyor pump (40) that extracts material from the material outlet (26) and conveys it to a processing station (see par. 24)).
Claims 11, 13-14, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hausner (US 2019/0210865 A1 - of record).
Regarding claim 11, Hausner teaches a glue applying system, comprising the material feeding device according to claim 1, wherein the material feeding device is adapted to supply fluid glue; and a metering system communicated with the material feeding device and adapted to measure a volume of the fluid glue to be applied (see rejection of claim 1 above; Hausner discloses a glue applying system (see par. 19) in which viscous materials such as adhesives and sealants are dispensed; Hausner discloses a metering system (measurement device 90), which is designed to monitor the speed of the conveyor piston during the conveying stroke, thereby detecting variations in material consistency and ensuring controlled dispensing (see par. 24); the measurement device in Hausner performs a metering function, regulating the material flow).
Regarding claim 13, as applied to claim 11, Hausner teaches a glue applying system wherein the piston comprises a groove on a side facing the inner wall of the material barrel, and the elastic member is at least partially accommodated in the groove (wiper ring (34) is positioned in a groove or recess on the follower plate (20), conforming to the inner surface of the container (12, 36), see fig. 3a-3b, ensuring sealing between the follower plate (piston) and barrel).
Regarding claim 14, as applied to claim 11, Hausner teaches a glue applying system wherein the elastic member comprises a pressure chamber for accommodating fluid, the pressure chamber is formed in an annular shape and disposed around an entire circumference of the piston, and the pressure chamber is at least partially disposed between the piston and the material barrel (Hausner discloses that "compressed air is applied to the cavity 30 by means of an aeration and ventilation device", see par. 21 and "seals the container interior 38").
Regarding claim 18, as applied to claim 14, Hausner teaches a material feeding device further comprising a fluid source and a flow passage, wherein the fluid source is adapted to provide fluid to the pressure chamber, and the flow passage is adapted to communicate the pressure chamber with the fluid source (Hausner describes an aeration and ventilation device for the wiper ring (see par. 10), which inherently requires a fluid source (compressed air) and a flow passage to regulate pressure in the sealing chamber).
Regarding claim 20, as applied to claim 11, Hausner teaches a material feeding device wherein the piston comprises a material discharging pipe, the material discharging pipe is communicated with the containing cavity and adapted for the materials in the containing cavity to flow out (Hausner discloses a material outlet (26) that allows material to exit the system (see par. 24); the material outlet in Hausner serves the same purpose as the material discharging pipe in the claimed invention).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hausner (US 2019/0210865 A1 - of record), as applied to claim 3, and in further view of Matshushita (WO 2014/097718 A1 - of record).
Regarding claims 4-5, according claim 3, Hausner does not teach a material feeding device wherein the piston comprises a piston body and a pressing block arranged in an axial direction of the material barrel; and the elastic member comprises an elastic body and a clamping portion, the pressure chamber is formed in the elastic body, the clamping portion is disposed on a side of the elastic body facing away from the material barrel, and the clamping portion is disposed and clamped between the piston body and the pressing block; nor wherein the piston body comprises a first recess portion on a side facing the pressing block, the pressing block comprises a second recess portion on a side facing the first recess portion, and the clamping portion is disposed and clamped between the first recess portion and the second recess portion.
However, in the same field of endeavor, a viscous material supply device for discharging and supplying viscous materials, Matshushita (see Figs 1-4) teaches the known technique of pressing block (11B) and a clamping portion (14B) that secures a sealing element within a groove. The function of these components in Matshushita is equivalent to that in the claimed invention, as they serve to secure the elastic member in place while enabling sealing functionality. The combination of pressing blocks and clamping portions is a known structural configuration in sealing systems for viscous material dispensers. Matshushita clearly discloses a substantially rectangular shaped seal groove in the piston body, where the sealing member is secured between a suction plate (11B) and a pressing block (14B). This structure inherently comprises first and second recess portions that accommodate and secure the sealing element.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the device disclosed in Hausner by applying the known technique wherein the piston comprises a piston body and a pressing block arranged in an axial direction of the material barrel; and the elastic member comprises an elastic body and a clamping portion, the pressure chamber is formed in the elastic body, the clamping portion is disposed on a side of the elastic body facing away from the material barrel, and the clamping portion is disposed and clamped between the piston body and the pressing block; and wherein the piston body comprises a first recess portion on a side facing the pressing block, the pressing block comprises a second recess portion on a side facing the first recess portion, and the clamping portion is disposed and clamped between the first recess portion and the second recess portion as disclosed in Matshushita to the device disclosed in Hausner with predictable results and resulting in an improved device. MPEP 2143(D).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hausner (US 2019/0210865 A1 - of record), as applied to claim 3, and in further view of Hoshino (US 2022/0412347 A1).
Regarding claim 6, as applied to claim 3, Hausner does not teach a material feeding device further comprising a pressure measuring element, the pressure measuring element being communicated with the pressure chamber and adapted to measure a pressure within the pressure chamber.
However, reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned (pressure measuring element; see MPEP 2141.01(a)), Hoshino discloses a known technique wherein a pressure gauge 5 may be provided in the outlet flow path R2 (¶0065).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the device disclosed in Hausner by applying the known technique of a pressure measuring element disclosed in Hoshino to the device disclosed in Hausner such that the pressure measuring element being communicated with the pressure chamber and adapted to measure a pressure within the pressure chamber with predictable results and resulting in an improved device. MPEP 2143(D).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hausner (US 2019/0210865 A1 - of record), as applied to claim 7, and in further view of Hoshino (US 2022/0412347 A1).
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 7, Hausner does not teach a material feeding device further comprising a pressure regulating element, wherein the pressure regulating element is connected to the flow passage and adapted to regulate the pressure in the pressure chamber.
However, reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned (pressure measuring element; see MPEP 2141.01(a)), Hoshino discloses a known technique wherein an opening and closing valve V is provided in the inlet flow path R1 (piping member 50) between the plunger pump 10 and the liquid supply source 2. The opening and closing valve V can be used to open and close the inlet flow path R1 (¶0065).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the device disclosed in Hausner by applying the known technique of a pressure regulating element disclosed in Hoshino to the device disclosed in Hausner such that the pressure regulating element is connected to the flow passage and adapted to regulate the pressure in the pressure chamber with predictable results and resulting in an improved device. MPEP 2143(D).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hausner (US 2019/0210865 A1 - of record), as applied to claim 11, and in further view of Matshushita (WO 2014/097718 A1 - of record).
Regarding claim 12, as applied to claim 11, Hausner teaches a glue applying system further comprising a transfer device, wherein the transfer device comprises a buffer barrel (104) and the buffer barrel is adapted to communicate the material feeding device with the metering system and adapted for the fluid glue to flow into the metering system through it (¶0027-0028).
Hausner teaches a glue applying system wherein the transfer device comprises a vacuumizing device and the vacuumizing device is communicated with the buffer barrel and adapted to extract gas in the buffer barrel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, a viscous material supply device for discharging and supplying viscous materials, Matshushita (see Figs 1-4) teaches the known technique a vacuumizing device (11, 12).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the system disclosed in Hausner by applying the known technique of a vacuumizing device disclosed in Matshushita to the system disclosed in Hausner such that the vacuumizing device is communicated with the buffer barrel and adapted to extract gas in the buffer barrel with predictable results and resulting in an improved device. MPEP 2143(D).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hausner (US 2019/0210865 A1 - of record), as applied to claim 14, and in further view of Matshushita (WO 2014/097718 A1 - of record).
Regarding claims 15-16, according claim 14, Hausner does not teach a glue applying system wherein the piston comprises a piston body and a pressing block arranged in an axial direction of the material barrel; and the elastic member comprises an elastic body and a clamping portion, the pressure chamber is formed in the elastic body, the clamping portion is disposed on a side of the elastic body facing away from the material barrel, and the clamping portion is disposed and clamped between the piston body and the pressing block; nor wherein the piston body comprises a first recess portion on a side facing the pressing block, the pressing block comprises a second recess portion on a side facing the first recess portion, and the clamping portion is disposed and clamped between the first recess portion and the second recess portion.
However, in the same field of endeavor, a viscous material supply device for discharging and supplying viscous materials, Matshushita (see Figs 1-4) teaches the known technique of pressing block (11B) and a clamping portion (14B) that secures a sealing element within a groove. The function of these components in Matshushita is equivalent to that in the claimed invention, as they serve to secure the elastic member in place while enabling sealing functionality. The combination of pressing blocks and clamping portions is a known structural configuration in sealing systems for viscous material dispensers. Matshushita clearly discloses a substantially rectangular shaped seal groove in the piston body, where the sealing member is secured between a suction plate (11B) and a pressing block (14B). This structure inherently comprises first and second recess portions that accommodate and secure the sealing element.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the system disclosed in Hausner by applying the known technique wherein the piston comprises a piston body and a pressing block arranged in an axial direction of the material barrel; and the elastic member comprises an elastic body and a clamping portion, the pressure chamber is formed in the elastic body, the clamping portion is disposed on a side of the elastic body facing away from the material barrel, and the clamping portion is disposed and clamped between the piston body and the pressing block; and wherein the piston body comprises a first recess portion on a side facing the pressing block, the pressing block comprises a second recess portion on a side facing the first recess portion, and the clamping portion is disposed and clamped between the first recess portion and the second recess portion as disclosed in Matshushita to the system disclosed in Hausner with predictable results and resulting in an improved system. MPEP 2143(D).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hausner (US 2019/0210865 A1 - of record), as applied to claim 14, and in further view of Hoshino (US 2022/0412347 A1).
Regarding claim 17, as applied to claim 14, Hausner does not teach a glue applying system further comprising a pressure measuring element, the pressure measuring element being communicated with the pressure chamber and adapted to measure a pressure within the pressure chamber.
However, reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned (pressure measuring element; see MPEP 2141.01(a)), Hoshino discloses a known technique wherein a pressure gauge 5 may be provided in the outlet flow path R2 (¶0065).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the system disclosed in Hausner by applying the known technique of a pressure measuring element disclosed in Hoshino to the system disclosed in Hausner such that the pressure measuring element being communicated with the pressure chamber and adapted to measure a pressure within the pressure chamber with predictable results and resulting in an improved system. MPEP 2143(D).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hausner (US 2019/0210865 A1 - of record), as applied to claim 18, and in further view of Hoshino (US 2022/0412347 A1).
Regarding claim 19, as applied to claim 18, Hausner does not teach a glue applying system further comprising a pressure regulating element, wherein the pressure regulating element is connected to the flow passage and adapted to regulate the pressure in the pressure chamber.
However, reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned (pressure measuring element; see MPEP 2141.01(a)), Hoshino discloses a known technique wherein an opening and closing valve V is provided in the inlet flow path R1 (piping member 50) between the plunger pump 10 and the liquid supply source 2. The opening and closing valve V can be used to open and close the inlet flow path R1 (¶0065).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the system disclosed in Hausner by applying the known technique of a pressure regulating element disclosed in Hoshino to the system disclosed in Hausner such that the pressure regulating element is connected to the flow passage and adapted to regulate the pressure in the pressure chamber with predictable results and resulting in an improved system. MPEP 2143(D).
Conclusion
/JAMEL M NELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743