DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments, filed 21st July 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-8, 10-18, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, new grounds of rejection, necessitated by amendment, are made as seen below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. The second shock absorber and corresponding connections of Claim 22 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmidt (US 20170043640 A1) in view of Tokioka (US 20180093707 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Schmidt discloses a shock absorber assembly, comprising: a cylinder (3); a piston (5), located in the cylinder (3) and defining an upper chamber (7) and a lower chamber (8) in the cylinder (3); a piston rod (6), connected to the piston (5) and a vehicle body (see [0021]), a fluid channel (12) being disposed in the piston rod (6) and being in communication with the lower chamber (8), and a fluid in the lower chamber (8) being in communication with an outside environment (15) through the fluid channel (12) (see Fig. 1, Fig. 3); a cover (13), comprising a top surface and a lateral surface; a buffer (14); and a spring (40).
Schmidt does not explicitly disclose wherein the lateral surface is surrounding a side wall of the cylinder and the spring is abutting between the buffer and the cylinder within the cover.
Tokioka teaches a shock absorber assembly (S) comprising a cover (14), comprising a top surface and a lateral surface, and the lateral surface surrounding a side wall of the cylinder (40); a buffer (18); and a spring (21), the spring (21) abutting between the buffer (18) and the cylinder (40) within the cover (14) (see Fig. 2, [0028], [0030-0032]).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of a shock absorber cover assembly of Tokioka with the shock absorber of Schmidt in order to prevent the strut mount from falling off and to protect the shock absorber from environmental hazards (see US 20180093707 A1 [Schmidt]; [0032]).
Regarding Claim 2, Schmidt modified by Tokioka teaches wherein a first interface (A) (see Annotated Fig. 1 below) is formed on the side wall of the cylinder (3), and the first interface (A) is disposed close to an upper end of the cylinder (3) and is in communication with the upper chamber (7) (see US 20170043640 A1 [Schmidt]; Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 below).
Annotated Fig. 1
Regarding Claim 3, Schmidt modified by Tokioka teaches wherein a second interface (B) is formed on the side wall of the cylinder (3), and the second interface (B) is disposed close to a lower end of the cylinder (3) and is in communication with the lower chamber (8) (see US 20170043640 A1 [Schmidt]; Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above).
Regarding Claim 4, Schmidt modified by Tokioka teaches wherein an upper end of the piston rod (6) extends out of the cylinder (3) (see US 20170043640 A1 [Schmidt]; Fig. 1, Fig. 3), the buffer (18) is sleeved on the piston rod (Q) (see Annotated Fig. 2 below) and configured to connect to the vehicle body and the upper end of the piston rod (Q) extends out of the buffer (18) and is configured to be spaced apart from the vehicle body (see US 20180093707 A1 [Tokioka]; Fig. 2, Annotated Fig. 2 below, [0032]; see US 20170043640 A1 [Schmidt]; Fig. 1, Fig. 3).
Annotated Fig. 2
Regarding Claim 5, Schmidt modified by Tokioka teaches wherein the buffer (18) being configured to connect to the vehicle body through the cover (14) (see US 20180093707 A1 [Tokioka]; Fig. 2, [0030-0032]).
Regarding Claim 10, Schmidt modified by Tokioka teaches further comprising a support (20) disposed on the cylinder (40), wherein the spring (21) abuts between the buffer (18) and the support (20) (see US 20180093707 A1 [Tokioka]; Fig. 2, [0030-0032]).
Regarding Claim 11, Schmidt discloses A vehicle, comprising a shock absorber assembly, wherein the shock absorber assembly comprises: a cylinder (3); a piston (5), located in the cylinder (3) and defining an upper chamber (7) and a lower chamber (8) in the cylinder (3); and a piston rod (6), connected to the piston (5) and a vehicle body (see [0021]), a fluid channel (12) being disposed in the piston rod (6) and being in communication with the lower chamber (8), and a fluid in the lower chamber (8) being in communication with an outside environment (15) through the fluid channel (12) (see Fig. 1, Fig. 3); a cover (13), comprising a top surface and a lateral surface; a buffer (14); and a spring (40).
Schmidt does not explicitly disclose wherein the lateral surface is surrounding a side wall of the cylinder and the spring is abutting between the buffer and the cylinder within the cover.
Tokioka teaches a shock absorber assembly (S) comprising a cover (14), comprising a top surface and a lateral surface, and the lateral surface surrounding a side wall of the cylinder (40); a buffer (18); and a spring (21), the spring (21) abutting between the buffer (18) and the cylinder (40) within the cover (14) (see Fig. 2, [0028], [0030-0032]).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of a shock absorber cover assembly of Tokioka with the shock absorber of Schmidt in order to prevent the strut mount from falling off and to protect the shock absorber from environmental hazards (see US 20180093707 A1 [Schmidt]; [0032]).
Regarding Claim 12, Schmidt modified by Tokioka teaches wherein a first interface (A) (see Annotated Fig. 1 above) is formed on the side wall of the cylinder (3), and the first interface (A) is disposed close to an upper end of the cylinder (3) and is in communication with the upper chamber (7) (see US 20170043640 A1 [Schmidt]; Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above).
Regarding Claim 13, Schmidt modified by Tokioka teaches wherein a second interface (B) is formed on the side wall of the cylinder (3), and the second interface (B) is disposed close to a lower end of the cylinder (3) and is in communication with the lower chamber (8) (see US 20170043640 A1 [Schmidt]; Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 above).
Regarding Claim 14, Schmidt modified by Tokioka teaches wherein an upper end of the piston rod (6) extends out of the cylinder (3) (see US 20170043640 A1 [Schmidt]; Fig. 1, Fig. 3), the buffer (18) is sleeved on the piston rod (Q) (see Annotated Fig. 2 above) and configured to connect to the vehicle body and the upper end of the piston rod (Q) extends out of the buffer (18) and is configured to be spaced apart from the vehicle body (see US 20180093707 A1 [Tokioka]; Fig. 2, Annotated Fig. 2 above, [0032]; see US 20170043640 A1 [Schmidt]; Fig. 1, Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 15, Schmidt modified by Tokioka teaches wherein the buffer (18) being configured to connect to the vehicle body through the cover (14) (see US 20180093707 A1 [Tokioka]; Fig. 2, [0030-0032]).
Regarding Claim 20, Schmidt modified by Tokioka teaches wherein the shock absorber assembly comprises a support (20) disposed on the cylinder (40), wherein the spring (21) abuts between the buffer (18) and the support (20) (see US 20180093707 A1 [Tokioka]; Fig. 2, [0030-0032]).
Claims 7-8, 17-18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmidt (US 20170043640 A1) as modified by Tokioka (US 20180093707 A1) in Claim 1, 4, and 14 above further in view of Lyon (US 2812954 A).
Regarding Claim 7, Schmidt modified by Tokioka teaches the shock absorber assembly according to claim 4.
Schmidt modified by Tokioka does not teach further comprising a connector, the connector being in communication with an upper end of the fluid channel and configured to communicate with the outside environment.
Lyon teaches a shock absorber assembly comprising a connector (38), the connector (38) being in communication with an upper end of the fluid channel (34) and configured to communicate with the outside environment (21) (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention, to combine the teachings of a connector assembly of Lyon with the shock absorber assembly of Schmidt modified by Tokioka in order to more easily connect the shock absorber to outside fluid systems and improve regulation of flow rate and control the degree of stabilization in a simple construction (see US 2812954 A [Lyon]; 2: 56-70).
Regarding Claim 8, Schmidt modified by Tokioka and Lyon teaches wherein a cavity (42) is formed in the connector (38), a third interface (C1) and a fourth interface (D1) are disposed on the connector (38), the third interface (C1) and the fourth interface (D1) are in communication with the cavity (42), an extension direction of the third interface (C1) is perpendicular to an extension direction of the fourth interface (D1), the third interface (C1) is in communication with the upper end of the fluid channel, and the fourth interface (D1) is configured to communicate with the outside environment (21) (see US 2812954 A [Lyon]; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Annotated Fig. 2 (Lyon) below).
Annotated Fig. 2 (Lyon)
Regarding Claim 17, Schmidt modified by Tokioka teaches the shock absorber assembly according to claim 14.
Schmidt modified by Tokioka does not teach further comprising a connector, the connector being in communication with an upper end of the fluid channel and configured to communicate with the outside environment.
Lyon teaches a shock absorber assembly comprising a connector (38), the connector (38) being in communication with an upper end of the fluid channel (34) and configured to communicate with the outside environment (21) (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention, to combine the teachings of a connector assembly of Lyon with the shock absorber assembly of Schmidt modified by Tokioka in order to more easily connect the shock absorber to outside fluid systems and improve regulation of flow rate and control the degree of stabilization in a simple construction (see US 2812954 A [Lyon]; 2: 56-70).
Regarding Claim 18, Schmidt modified by Tokioka and Lyon teaches wherein a cavity (42) is formed in the connector (38), a third interface (C1) and a fourth interface (D1) are disposed on the connector (38), the third interface (C1) and the fourth interface (D1) are in communication with the cavity (42), an extension direction of the third interface (C1) is perpendicular to an extension direction of the fourth interface (D1), the third interface (C1) is in communication with the upper end of the fluid channel, and the fourth interface (D1) is configured to communicate with the outside environment (21) (see US 2812954 A [Lyon]; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Annotated Fig. 2 (Lyon) above).
Regarding Claim 21, Schmidt modified by Tokioka teaches Claim 1, wherein the shock absorber assembly is configured to be connected to a hydraulic suspension system comprising a liquid storage device (11) (see US 20170043640 A1 [Schmidt]; Fig. 2, Abstract).
Schmidt modified by Tokioka does not explicitly teach wherein the shock absorber assembly is configured to be connected to a hydraulic suspension system comprising a liquid storage device, and wherein a fluid in the liquid storage device is configured to enter the fluid channel through a fluid hole at an upper end of the fluid channel to push the piston upward to raise the vehicle body, and a fluid in the lower chamber is configured to be discharged into the liquid storage device through the fluid hole when the piston rod moves downward.
Lyon teaches a shock absorber assembly that is configured to be connected to a hydraulic suspension system comprising a liquid storage device (21), and wherein a fluid in the liquid storage device (21) is configured to enter the fluid channel (34) through a fluid hole at an upper end of the fluid channel (34) to push the piston upward to raise the vehicle body, and a fluid in the lower chamber is configured to be discharged into the liquid storage device through the fluid hole when the piston rod moves downward (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, 7: 61-75, 8:1-39).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention, to combine the teachings of connection to a hydraulic suspension system of Lyon with the shock absorber assembly of Schmidt modified by Tokioka in order to improve regulation of flow rate and control the degree of stabilization in a simple construction (see US 2812954 A [Lyon]; 2: 56-70).
Claim 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmidt (US 20170043640 A1) as modified by Tokioka (US 20180093707 A1) in Claim 5 and 15 above further in view of Rezanka (US 4531759 A).
Regarding Claim 6, Schmidt modified by Tokioka teaches the shock absorber assembly according to claim 5.
Schmidt modified by Tokioka does not explicitly teach wherein the cover is a wheel cover.
Rezanka teaches a shock absorber assembly, wherein the cover (50) is a wheel cover (see Fig. 1, 3:28-29).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention, to combine the teachings of the cover of Rezanka with the shock absorber assembly of Schmidt modified by Tokioka in order to make manufacturing and maintenance easier and cheaper (see US 4531759 A [Rezanka]; 1: 32-67).
Regarding Claim 16, Schmidt modified by Tokioka teaches the vehicle of Claim 16.
Schmidt modified by Tokioka does not explicitly teach wherein the cover is a wheel cover.
Rezanka teaches a shock absorber assembly, wherein the cover (50) is a wheel cover (see Fig. 1, 3:28-29).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention, to combine the teachings of the cover of Rezanka with the shock absorber assembly of Schmidt modified by Tokioka in order to make manufacturing and maintenance easier and cheaper (see US 4531759 A [Rezanka]; 1: 32-67).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmidt (US 20170043640 A1) as modified by Tokioka (US 20180093707 A1) in Claim 11 above further in view of Yamamura et. al. (US 5044660 A).
Regarding Claim 22, Schmidt modified by Tokioka teaches the vehicle according to Claim 11.
Schmid modified by Tokioka does not explicitly teach wherein the shock absorber assembly is a first shock absorber assembly and the vehicle further comprises a second shock absorber assembly, wherein a first connection port is formed on the side wall of the cylinder of the first shock absorber assembly in communication with the upper chamber of the first shock absorber assembly, and a second connection port is formed on the side wall of the cylinder of the first shock absorber assembly in communication with the lower chamber of the first shock absorber assembly, and wherein the first connection port of the first shock absorber assembly is in communication with the lower chamber of the second shock absorber assembly, and the second connection port of the first shock absorber assembly is in communication with the upper chamber of the second shock absorber assembly, such that the upper chamber of the first shock absorber assembly is in communication with the lower chamber of the second shock absorber assembly to realize a roll prevention or pitch prevention function.
Yamamura teaches a vehicle wherein a shock absorber assembly is a first shock absorber assembly (70) and the vehicle further comprises a second shock absorber assembly (71), wherein a first connection port is formed on the side wall of the cylinder of the first shock absorber assembly (70) in communication with the upper chamber (70a) of the first shock absorber assembly (70), and a second connection port is formed on the side wall of the cylinder of the first shock absorber assembly (70) in communication with the lower chamber (70b) of the first shock absorber assembly (70), and wherein the first connection port of the first shock absorber assembly (70) is in communication with the lower chamber (71b) of the second shock absorber assembly (71), and the second connection port of the first shock absorber assembly (70) is in communication with the upper chamber (71a) of the second shock absorber assembly (71), such that the upper chamber (70a) of the first shock absorber assembly (70) is in communication with the lower chamber (71b) of the second shock absorber (71) assembly to realize a roll prevention or pitch prevention function (see Fig. 7, 12: 8-39).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention, to combine the teachings of multiple shock absorbers assembly connected within a vehicle of Yamamura with the shock absorber assembly of Schmidt modified by Tokioka in order to improve stabilization and reduce risk of danger from road risks (see US 5044660 A [Yamamura]; 12: 38-54).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.W.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616