DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-13, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seo et al. (US 2014/0353708) (hereafter Seo).
Regarding claim 1, Seo discloses a light emitting device comprising:
a substrate (45a-45c in Fig. 1, paragraph 0040) having a first pad 45a (Fig. 1, paragraph 0040) and a second pad 45b (Fig. 1, paragraph 0040);
a light emitter 30 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0042) disposed on the substrate (45a-45c in Fig. 1);
a side reflector (portion of 33 on the right hand side of 31 in Fig. 1, paragraph 0045) disposed on the substrate (45a-45c in Fig. 1) and configured to cover a region of the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1);
a conversion layer 51 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0053) disposed on the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1) and configured (see paragraph 0053, wherein “wavelength convertor”) to convert light emitted from the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1); and
a barrier (37 and portion of 33 on the left hand side of 31 in Fig. 1, paragraph 0045) disposed on the substrate (45a-45c in Fig. 1) and configured to cover a region of the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1),
wherein the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1) includes:
a first conductivity type semiconductor layer 29 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0041) disposed on the substrate (45a-45c in Fig. 1) and having a first surface (bottom surface of 29 in Fig. 1) and a second surface (top surface of 29 in Fig. 1) opposing the first surface (bottom surface of 29 in Fig. 1);
a second conductivity type semiconductor layer 25 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0041) disposed on the second surface (top surface of 29 in Fig. 1) of the first conductivity type semiconductor layer 29 (Fig. 1);
an active layer 27 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0041) disposed between the first conductivity type semiconductor layer 29 (Fig. 1) and the second conductivity type semiconductor layer 25 (Fig. 1);
an ohmic layer 31 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0044) electrically connected to the second conductivity type semiconductor layer 25 (Fig. 1);
an insulation layer 43 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0040) covering a region of the first conductivity type semiconductor layer 25 (Fig. 1);
a first bump pad 39a (Fig. 1, paragraph 0048) electrically connected to the first conductivity type semiconductor layer 25 (Fig. 1) and the first pad 45a (Fig. 1); and
a second bump pad 39b (Fig. 1, paragraph 0048) electrically connected to the second conductivity type semiconductor layer 29 (Fig. 1) and the second pad 45b (Fig. 1),
wherein the conversion layer 51 (Fig. 1) covers a region of the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1) and contacts a region of the side reflector (portion of 33 on the right hand side of 31 in Fig. 1),
wherein the side reflector (portion of 33 on the right hand side of 31 in Fig. 1) covers a region of the first conductivity type semiconductor layer 29 (Fig. 1),
wherein the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1) includes a roughened region (R in Fig. 1, paragraph 0042, wherein “roughened surface”),
wherein the barrier (37 and portion of 33 on the left hand side of 31 in Fig. 1) surrounds the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1) and the side reflector (portion of 33 on the right hand side of 31 in Fig. 1), and
wherein the conversion layer 51 (Fig. 1) covers the roughened region (R in Fig. 1) and contacts a region of the barrier (37 and portion of 33 on the right hand side of 31 in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Seo further discloses the light emitting device of claim 1, wherein the barrier (37 and portion of 33 on the left hand side of 31 in Fig. 1) has a region connected to the side reflector (portion of 33 on the right hand side of 31 in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Seo further discloses the light emitting device of claim 1, wherein the side reflector (portion of 33 on the right hand side of 31 in Fig. 1) contacts a region of the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Seo further discloses the light emitting device of claim 3, wherein the side reflector (portion of 33 on the right hand side of 31 in Fig. 1) contacts a region of the first conductivity type semiconductor layer 29 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Seo further discloses the light emitting device of claim 1, further comprising a lens 81 (Fig. 3, paragraph 0060) disposed on (see 100 in Figs. 3 and 1) the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1) and including au upper surface (outer surface of 81 in Fig. 3) having a light exit surface and a lower surface (inner surface of 81 in Fig. 3) having a light incident surface.
Regarding claim 9, Seo further discloses the light emitting device of claim 1, wherein a width of the side reflector (portion of 33 on the right hand side of 31 in Fig. 1) is smaller than a width of the barrier (37 and portion of 33 on the left hand side of 31 in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Seo discloses a light emitting device comprising:
a substrate (45a-45c in Fig. 1) having a first pad 45a (Fig. 1, paragraph 0040) and a second pad 45b (Fig. 1, paragraph 0040);
a light emitter 30 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0042) disposed on the substrate (45a-45c in Fig. 1);
a side reflector (portion of 33 on the right hand side of 31 in Fig. 1, paragraph 0045) disposed on the substrate (45a-45c in Fig. 1) and configured to cover a region of the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1);
a conversion layer 51 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0053) disposed on the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1) and configured (see paragraph 0053, wherein “wavelength convertor”) to convert light emitted from the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1); and
a barrier (37 and portion of 33 on the left hand side of 31 in Fig. 1, paragraph 0045) disposed on the substrate (45a-45c in Fig. 1) and configured to cover a region of the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1),
wherein the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1) includes:
a first conductivity type semiconductor layer 29 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0041) disposed on the substrate (45a-45c in Fig. 1) and having a first surface (bottom surface of 29 in Fig. 1) and a second surface (top surface of 29 in Fig. 1) opposing the first surface (bottom surface of 29 in Fig. 1);
a second conductivity type semiconductor layer 25 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0041) disposed on the second surface (top surface of 29 in Fig. 1) of the first conductivity type semiconductor layer 29 (Fig. 1);
an active layer 27 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0041) disposed between the first conductivity type semiconductor layer 29 (Fig. 1) and the second conductivity type semiconductor layer 25 (Fig. 1);
an ohmic layer 31 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0044) electrically connected to the second conductivity type semiconductor layer 25 (Fig. 1);
an insulation layer 43 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0040) covering a region of the first conductivity type semiconductor layer 29 (Fig. 1);
a first bump pad 39a (Fig. 1, paragraph 0048) electrically connected to the first conductivity type semiconductor layer 29 (Fig. 1) and the first pad 45a (Fig. 1); and
a second bump pad 39b (Fig. 1, paragraph 0048) electrically connected to the second conductivity type semiconductor layer 25 (Fig. 1) and the second pad 45b (Fig. 1),
wherein the conversion layer 51 (Fig. 1) covers a region of the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1) and contacts a region of the side reflector (portion of 33 on the right hand side of 31 in Fig. 1),
wherein the side reflector (portion of 33 on the right hand side of 31 in Fig. 1) covers a region of the first conductivity type semiconductor layer 29 (Fig. 1),
wherein the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1) includes a roughened region (R in Fig. 1, paragraph 0042, wherein “roughened surface”),
wherein the barrier (37 and portion of 33 on the left hand side of 31 in Fig. 1) has a region connected to the side reflector (portion of 33 on the right hand side of 31 in Fig. 1), and
wherein the conversion layer 51 (Fig. 1) covers the roughened region (R in Fig. 1) and contacts a region of the barrier (37 and portion of 33 on the left hand side of 31 in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Seo further discloses the light emitting device of claim 10, wherein the side reflector (portion of 33 on the right hand side of 31 in Fig. 1) contacts a region of the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Seo further discloses the light emitting device of claim 11, wherein the side reflector contacts a region (portion of 33 on the right hand side of 31 in Fig. 1) of the first conductivity type semiconductor layer 29 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Seo further discloses the light emitting device of claim 10, further comprising a lens 81 (Fig. 3, paragraph 0060) disposed on (see 100 in Figs. 3 and 1) the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1) and including au upper surface (outer surface of 81 in Fig. 3) having a light exit surface and a lower surface (inner surface of 81 in Fig. 3) having a light incident surface.
Regarding claim 16, Seo discloses a light emitting device comprising:
a substrate (45a-45c in Fig. 1, paragraph 0040) having a first pad 45a (Fig. 1, paragraph 0040) and a second pad 45b (Fig. 1, paragraph 0040);
a light emitter 30 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0042) disposed on the substrate (45a-45c in Fig. 1);
a side reflector (portion of 33 on the right hand side of 31 in Fig. 1, paragraph 0045) disposed on the substrate (45a-45c in Fig. 1) and configured to cover a region of the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1);
a conversion layer 51 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0053) disposed on the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1) and configured (see paragraph 0053, wherein “wavelength convertor”) to convert light emitted from the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1); and
a barrier (37 and portion of 33 on the left hand side of 31 in Fig. 1, paragraph 0045) disposed on the substrate (45a-45c in Fig. 1) and configured to cover a region of the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1),
wherein the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1) includes:
a first conductivity type semiconductor layer 29 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0041) disposed on the substrate (45a-45c in Fig. 1) and having a first surface (bottom surface of 29 in Fig. 1) and a second surface (top surface of 29 in Fig. 1) opposing the first surface (bottom surface of 29 in Fig. 1);
a second conductivity type semiconductor layer 25 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0041) disposed on the second surface (top surface of 29 in Fig. 1) of the first conductivity type semiconductor layer 29 (Fig. 1);
an active layer 27 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0041) disposed between the first conductivity type semiconductor layer 29 (Fig. 1) and the second conductivity type semiconductor layer 25 (Fig. 1);
an ohmic layer 31 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0044) electrically connected to the second conductivity type semiconductor layer 25 (Fig. 1);
an insulation layer 43 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0040) covering a region of the first conductivity type semiconductor layer 25 (Fig. 1);
a first bump pad 39a (Fig. 1, paragraph 0048) electrically connected to the first conductivity type semiconductor layer 25 (Fig. 1) and the first pad 45a (Fig. 1); and
a second bump pad 39b (Fig. 1, paragraph 0048) electrically connected to the second conductivity type semiconductor layer 29 (Fig. 1) and the second pad 45b (Fig. 1),
wherein the conversion layer 51 (Fig. 1) covers a region of the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1) and contacts a region of the side reflector (portion of 33 on the right hand side of 31 in Fig. 1),
wherein the side reflector (portion of 33 on the right hand side of 31 in Fig. 1) covers a region of the first conductivity type semiconductor layer 29 (Fig. 1),
wherein the barrier (37 and portion of 33 on the left hand side of 31 in Fig. 1) has a region connected to the side reflector (portion of 33 on the right hand side of 31 in Fig. 1) and surrounds the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1) and the side reflector (portion of 33 on the right hand side of 31 in Fig. 1), and
wherein the conversion layer 51 (Fig. 1) contacts a region of the barrier (37 and portion of 33 on the left hand side of 31 in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Seo further discloses the light emitting device of claim 16, wherein the side reflector (portion of 33 on the right hand side of 31 in Fig. 1) contacts a region of the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Seo further discloses the light emitting device of claim 17, wherein the side reflector(portion of 33 on the right hand side of 31 in Fig. 1) contacts a region of the first conductivity type semiconductor layer 29 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Seo further discloses the light emitting device of claim 16, further comprising a lens 81 (Fig. 3, paragraph 0060) disposed on (see 100 in Figs. 3 and 1) the light emitter 30 (Fig. 1) and including au upper surface (outer surface of 81 in Fig. 3) having a light exit surface and a lower surface (inner surface of 81 in Fig. 3) having a light incident surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo as applied to claims 1, 10, and 16 above, and further in view of Edmond et al. (US 2017/0294418) (hereafter Edmond).
Regarding claim 6, Seo discloses the light emitting device of claim 1, however Seo does not disclose an adhesive layer disposed between the conversion layer and the light emitter.
Edmond discloses an adhesive layer (“light-transmissive adhesive material” in paragraph 0253) disposed between the conversion layer 135 (Fig. 17, paragraph 0253) and the light emitter 10A (Fig. 17, paragraph 0253).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Seo to form an adhesive layer disposed between the conversion layer and the light emitter, as taught by Edmond, since the at least one lumiphoric material 85 (Edmond, Fig. 17, paragraph 0253) may be arranged in a light-transmissive adhesive material, such as epoxy or silicone, that provides a bond between the substrates 15A, 15B (Edmond, Fig. 17, paragraph 0253) and the carrier 135 (Edmond, Fig. 17, paragraph 0253), with a light injection surface 134 (Edmond, Fig. 17, paragraph 0253) of the carrier 135 (Edmond, Fig. 17, paragraph 0253) being adjacent to the at least one lumiphoric material 85 (Edmond, Fig. 17, paragraph 0253).
Regarding claim 14, Seo discloses the light emitting device of claim 10, however Seo does not disclose an adhesive layer disposed between the conversion layer and the light emitter.
Edmond discloses an adhesive layer (“light-transmissive adhesive material” in paragraph 0253) disposed between the conversion layer 135 (Fig. 17, paragraph 0253) and the light emitter 10A (Fig. 17, paragraph 0253).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Seo to form an adhesive layer disposed between the conversion layer and the light emitter, as taught by Edmond, since the at least one lumiphoric material 85 (Edmond, Fig. 17, paragraph 0253) may be arranged in a light-transmissive adhesive material, such as epoxy or silicone, that provides a bond between the substrates 15A, 15B (Edmond, Fig. 17, paragraph 0253) and the carrier 135 (Edmond, Fig. 17, paragraph 0253), with a light injection surface 134 (Edmond, Fig. 17, paragraph 0253) of the carrier 135 (Edmond, Fig. 17, paragraph 0253) being adjacent to the at least one lumiphoric material 85 (Edmond, Fig. 17, paragraph 0253).
Regarding claim 20, Seo discloses the light emitting device of claim 16, however Seo does not disclose an adhesive layer disposed between the conversion layer and the light emitter.
Edmond discloses an adhesive layer (“light-transmissive adhesive material” in paragraph 0253) disposed between the conversion layer 135 (Fig. 17, paragraph 0253) and the light emitter 10A (Fig. 17, paragraph 0253).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Seo to form an adhesive layer disposed between the conversion layer and the light emitter, as taught by Edmond, since the at least one lumiphoric material 85 (Edmond, Fig. 17, paragraph 0253) may be arranged in a light-transmissive adhesive material, such as epoxy or silicone, that provides a bond between the substrates 15A, 15B (Edmond, Fig. 17, paragraph 0253) and the carrier 135 (Edmond, Fig. 17, paragraph 0253), with a light injection surface 134 (Edmond, Fig. 17, paragraph 0253) of the carrier 135 (Edmond, Fig. 17, paragraph 0253) being adjacent to the at least one lumiphoric material 85 (Edmond, Fig. 17, paragraph 0253).
Claims 7, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo as applied to claims 5 and 13 above, and further in view of Song et al. (US 2015/0219966) (hereafter Song).
Regarding claim 7, Seo discloses the light emitting device of claim 5, however Seo does not disclose the lens includes a concave region placed at the center thereof.
Song discloses the lens 340 (Fig. 2, paragraph 0079) includes a concave region 341 (Fig. 2, paragraph 0079, wherein “lower concave recessed shape”) placed at the center thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Seo to form the lens includes a concave region placed at the center thereof, as taught by Song, since the optical lens 340 (Song, Fig. 2, paragraph 0079) may serve to diffuse light that is emitted from the LED chip 330 (Song, Fig. 2, paragraph 0079).
Regarding claim 8, Seo in view of Song discloses the light emitting device of claim 7, however Seo does not disclose the lens includes a convex region placed around the concave region , and the convex region is formed to surround the concave region.
Song discloses the lens 340 (Fig. 2, paragraph 0079) includes a convex region (340 and 345 in Fig. 2, paragraph 0079, wherein “convex surface”) placed around the concave region 341 (Fig. 2, paragraph 0079, wherein “lower concave recessed shape”), and the convex region (340 and 345 in Fig. 2) is formed to surround the concave region 341 (Fig. 2, paragraph 0079).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Seo to form the lens includes a convex region placed around the concave region , and the convex region is formed to surround the concave region, as taught by Song, since the optical lens 340 (Song, Fig. 2, paragraph 0079) may serve to diffuse light that is emitted from the LED chip 330 (Song, Fig. 2, paragraph 0079).
Regarding claim 15, Seo discloses the light emitting device of claim 13, however Seo does not disclose the lens includes a concave region placed at the center thereof.
Song discloses the lens 340 (Fig. 2, paragraph 0079) includes a concave region 341 (Fig. 2, paragraph 0079, wherein “lower concave recessed shape”) placed at the center thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Seo to form the lens includes a concave region placed at the center thereof, as taught by Song, since the optical lens 340 (Song, Fig. 2, paragraph 0079) may serve to diffuse light that is emitted from the LED chip 330 (Song, Fig. 2, paragraph 0079).
Conclusion
/L.B.K/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813