Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung (US 20220069042 A1).
Regarding independent claim 20, Jung discloses a display panel (Fig. 1), comprising:
a substrate (110, similarly SUB in Fig. 6) including a display area (DA) displaying an image ([0065]: “an image is displayed”), the display area including:
a first optical area (DA1) from which light is transmitted ([0088]: “light emitting device ED”, See Fig. 5 for ED designation), the first optical area including a plurality of emission areas (Fig. 3: EA1-EA4) and a plurality of first transmissive areas (TA); and
a normal area (DA2) different from the first optical area (position is shown in Fig. 1), the normal area including a plurality of emission areas (Fig. 5: the areas of ED, within EDL; [0108]: “a light emitting device layer EDL”); and
a plurality of light emitting elements (Fig. 3: EA1/EA2/EA3/EA4; [0080]: “emission areas…of subpixels”) disposed in the display area, each of the plurality of light emitting elements including a pixel electrode (Fig. 4: PE; [0088]: “the pixel electrode PE can be disposed in each subpixel”), a light emitting layer (Fig. 4: EL; [0088]: “a light emitting layer”), and a common electrode (Fig. 4: CE; [0088]: “common electrode”); and
a plurality of signal lines (Fig. 4: DL, DVL, GL) disposed on the substrate (“on” in at least some direction), the plurality of signal lines including:
a normal signal line (the cited signal lines of Fig. 4, which correspond to DA2; [0105]: “subpixel SP”) not overlapping the first optical area from a plan view (the cited signal lines are separately applied in the same way for each pixel, for each of the separate and distinct portions of the display area, i.e., the “normal area” and the “first optical area”); and
a specific signal line (Fig. 6: PE) overlapping the first optical area from a plan view (overlapping the NTA portion of DA1 in plan view, See annotated figure for plan view direction designation) and disposed parallel to the normal signal line (“parallel” at least in the horizontal direction, See annotated figure for direction designation. “parallel” is disclosed because Jung does not require different size/shape/arrangement in the cited direction for this line with respect to Fig. 6, and thus the same arrangement of Fig. 6 may reasonably be applied in the same way for the normal signal lines. Thus, coplanar and therefore “parallel” lines are reasonably suggested.), wherein the specific signal line ([0064]: “signal lines can include a plurality of data lines”. Note: “data lines” is used here to link the structure of cited lines SA to the schematic of signal lines Fig. 4: DL/Vdata) is separate and distinct (“separate and distinct” because Fig. 4 shows separate electrical structures between “the pixel electrode” PE) from the pixel electrode.
Illustrated below are Fig. 1, annotated Fig.3, Fig. 4, Fig. 5, and annotated Fig. 6 of Jung.
Regarding claim 21, Jung discloses the display panel of claim 20 (Fig. 6), wherein the specific signal line has the same length (See annotated figure for measurement endpoints) as the normal signal line (Jung does not require any difference in the cited portion, i.e., “length” of the signal lines, and does not require any difference in the size/shape/arrangement of the structures corresponding to the cited portion of the signal lines. Thus, the dimensions of the cited portion of the specific signal line may reasonably be applied in the same way to the normal signal line.). MPEP 2111 with respect to the measurement endpoints for the claimed length configuration.
Regarding claim 22, Jung discloses the display panel of claim 20 (Fig. 6), further comprising a common electrode (CE) disposed on the substrate, wherein the common electrode includes a plurality of first common electrode holes (“holes” are from CE not existing within TA) respectively positioned in the plurality of first transmissive areas, and wherein each of the plurality of first common electrode holes has a symmetrical shape with respect to a center line (Fig. 3 shows circle shapes, which are necessarily a “symmetrical shape”).
Claims 1-2, 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20240224664 A1, effectively filed 12/30/2022).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a display device (Fig. 2), comprising:
a substrate (SUB) including a display area (DA) displaying an image ([0049]: “a display area DA in which images are displayed”), the display area including:
a first optical area (OA1) from which light is transmitted, the first optical area including a plurality of emission areas (Fig. 7: EA) and a plurality of first transmissive areas (TA); and
a normal area (NA) positioned outside the first optical area (areas NA and OA1 are separate and distinct, thus “outside”), the normal area including a plurality of emission areas (Fig. 7: EA);
a plurality of signal lines (Fig. 14: SL) disposed on the substrate, the plurality of signal lines including:
a plurality of normal signal lines (Fig. 3: DL or GL; [0311]: “signal lines SL may be gate lines GL or data lines DL”) not passing through the first optical area and disposed only in the normal area (Note: these lines are illustrated schematically for emission areas in the “normal area” and these areas are separate and distinct from “first optical area”); and
a plurality of specific signal lines (Fig. 3: DL or GL; [0311]: “signal lines SL may be gate lines GL or data lines DL”) passing through the first optical area and disposed parallel to the plurality of normal signal lines (Fig. 2 teaches “parallel” because there is no special requirement for alternative directions among NA and OA1); and
a common electrode (CE; [0126]: “cathode electrode CE may be a common electrode”) disposed on the substrate, the common electrode including a plurality of common electrode holes (CH) respectively positioned in the plurality of first transmissive areas (Fig. 7 teaches CH is “in” TA), and
wherein each of the plurality of specific signal lines extends across at least one common electrode hole of the plurality of common electrode holes without bypassing the at least one common electrode hole (Fig. 14 teaches “without bypassing”).
Illustrated below are Figs. 2, 3, 7, and a marked and annotated figure of Fig. 14 of Kim.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the display device of claim 1 (Fig. 14), wherein the plurality of common electrode holes includes a first common electrode hole (See annotated figure) and a second common electrode hole (See annotated figure), wherein the plurality of specific signal lines includes a first specific signal line (See annotated figure) overlapping the first common electrode hole from a plan view, and a second specific signal line (See annotated figure) overlapping the second common electrode hole from a plan view, and wherein a size of an overlapping area (See annotated figure for “area” designation) between the first specific signal line and the first common electrode hole is the same as (“same” is reasonably interpreted from the illustration because these structures appear to have duplicated structure, thus the “size” would also be duplicated) a size of an overlapping area (See annotated figure for “area” designation) between the second specific signal line and the second common electrode hole.
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the display device of claim 2 (Fig. 14), wherein a distance between the first specific signal line and an edge or shape inflection point of the first common electrode hole is a threshold distance or more, and wherein a distance between the second specific signal line and an edge or shape inflection point of the second common electrode hole is the threshold distance or more (these distances are annotated here with dashed reference lines, and are being designated here as “threshold distance”).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of specific signal lines includes a plurality of data lines (the citation of Claim 1 is repeated here, Fig. 3: DL or GL; [0311]: “signal lines SL may be gate lines GL or data lines DL”).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of specific signal lines includes a plurality of gate lines (the citation of Claim 1 is repeated here, Fig. 3: DL or GL; [0311]: “signal lines SL may be gate lines GL or data lines DL”).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the display device of claim 1 (Fig. 14), wherein each of the plurality of common electrode holes has a symmetrical shape (mirror “symmetrical”) with respect to a column-wise center line.
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses the display device of claim 1 (Fig.14), wherein each of the plurality of common electrode holes has a symmetrical shape (mirror “symmetrical”) with respect to a row-wise center line.
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the display device of claim 1 (Fig. 1B),
further comprising a first optical electronic device (11; [0054]: “optical electronic devices”) positioned under the substrate and overlapping the first optical area,
wherein the first optical electronic device performs a selected operation ([0054]: “perform a predetermined function”) according to first light of a first wavelength band of light received through the first optical area ([0054]: “according to the received light”), and wherein the first wavelength band corresponds to a visible light wavelength band or an infrared light wavelength band ([0054]: “may be an infrared sensor”).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the display device of claim 1 (Fig. 1B), wherein the display area further includes a second optical area (OA2) where light is transmitted, wherein the second optical area includes a plurality of emission areas (Fig. 7: EA) and a plurality of second transmissive areas (TA), wherein the common electrode includes a plurality of additional common electrode holes (CH) respectively positioned in the plurality of second transmissive areas (Fig. 7 teaches CH is “in” TA), wherein the plurality of signal lines include a plurality of additional specific signal lines (Fig. 3: DL or GL; [0311]: “signal lines SL may be gate lines GL or data lines DL”) passing through the second optical area, and wherein the plurality of additional specific signal lines include a first additional specific signal line (Fig. 14: See annotated figure) overlapping a first additional common electrode hole (See annotated figure) included in the plurality of additional common electrode holes and a second additional specific signal line (See annotated figure) overlapping a second additional common electrode hole (See annotated figure) included in the plurality of additional common electrode holes.
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses the display device of claim 12 (Fig. 1B), further comprising:
a first optical electronic device (11; [0054]: “optical electronic devices”) positioned under the substrate and overlapping the first optical area; and
a second optical electronic device (12; [0054]: “optical electronic devices”) positioned under the substrate and overlapping the second optical area,
wherein the first optical electronic device performs a selected operation ([0054]: “perform a predetermined function”) according to first light of a first wavelength band of light received through the first optical area ([0054]: “according to the received light”), and
the second optical electronic device performs a selected operation ([0054]: “perform a predetermined function”) according to second light of a second wavelength band of light received through the second optical area ([0054]: “according to the received light”), and
wherein the first wavelength band corresponds to a visible light wavelength band ([0138]: “visible light”), and the second wavelength band corresponds to an infrared light wavelength band ([0054]: “may be an infrared sensor”).
Claims 1-6 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bok (US 20210191552 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bok discloses a display device (Fig. 7), comprising:
a substrate (100) including a display area (Fig. 8D: DA) displaying an image ([0238]: “may display an image”), the display area including:
a first optical area (CA1) from which light is transmitted, the first optical area including a plurality of emission areas (Fig. 10: Pa) and a plurality of first transmissive areas (TA); and
a normal area (MDA) positioned outside the first optical area (areas MDA and CA1 are separate and distinct, thus “outside”), the normal area including a plurality of emission areas (Fig. 10: Pm);
a plurality of signal lines (Fig. 33A or Fig. 36A: SL) disposed on the substrate, the plurality of signal lines including:
a plurality of normal signal lines (the signal lines that would be required for Pm below the CA region, in the Y-direction. Note, these lines are not illustrated but would be required to operate these emission areas, [0512]: “more wires may also be omitted”) not passing through the first optical area and disposed only in the normal area; and
a plurality of specific signal lines (SL, the ones explicitly illustrated) passing through the first optical area and disposed parallel to the plurality of normal signal lines; and
a common electrode (Fig. 34: 123; [0317]: “opposite electrode…common voltage” with [0319]: “opposite electrode) disposed on the substrate, the common electrode including a plurality of common electrode holes (TAH) respectively positioned in the plurality of first transmissive areas, and
wherein each of the plurality of specific signal lines extends across at least one common electrode hole of the plurality of common electrode holes without bypassing the at least one common electrode hole (Figs. 33A and 36A each teach “without bypassing”).
Illustrated below are Figs. 7, 8D, 10, 33A, and 34 of Bok.
Regarding claim 2, Bok discloses the display device of claim 1 (Fig. 33A or Fig. 36A), wherein the plurality of common electrode holes includes a first common electrode hole (one of TA) and a second common electrode hole (another of TA, aside in the Y direction), wherein the plurality of specific signal lines includes a first specific signal line (one of SL, corresponding to the 1st hole) overlapping the first common electrode hole from a plan view, and a second specific signal line (one of SL, corresponding to the 2nd hole) overlapping the second common electrode hole from a plan view, and wherein a size of an overlapping area between the first specific signal line and the first common electrode hole is the same as a size of an overlapping area between the second specific signal line and the second common electrode hole (the holes and lines appear to be duplicated structures, thus the sizes are duplicated accordingly).
Regarding claim 3, Bok discloses the display device of claim 2 (Fig. 33A or Fig. 36A), wherein the plurality of specific signal lines further include: a third specific signal line (another of SL, corresponding to the 1st hole) overlapping the first common electrode hole from a plan view; and a fourth specific signal line (another of SL, corresponding to the 2nd hole) overlapping the second common electrode hole from a plan view, wherein the first specific signal line is positioned on one side (Y direction “side”) of a center line of the first common electrode hole (X direction “center line”), and the third specific signal line is positioned on another side (Y direction “side”) of the center line of the first common electrode hole, and wherein the second specific signal line is positioned on one side (Y direction “side”) of a center line of the second common electrode hole (X direction “center line”), and the fourth specific signal line is positioned on another side (Y direction “side”) of the center line of the second common electrode hole.
Regarding claim 4, Bok discloses the display device of claim 3 (Fig. 33A), wherein the size of the overlapping area between the first specific signal line and the first common electrode hole is the same as a size of an overlapping area between the third specific signal line and the first common electrode hole (the holes and lines appear to be duplicated structures, thus the sizes are duplicated accordingly), and wherein the size of the overlapping area between the second specific signal line and the second common electrode hole is the same as a size of an overlapping area between the fourth specific signal line and the second common electrode hole (the holes and lines appear to be duplicated structures, thus the sizes are duplicated accordingly).
Regarding claim 5, Bok discloses the display device of claim 3 (Fig. 36A), wherein the size of the overlapping area between the first specific signal line and the first common electrode hole is different from a size of an overlapping area between the third specific signal line and the first common electrode hole (the SL each bend different amounts near Pa, thus producing different lengths and therefore different “overlapping area”), and wherein the size of the overlapping area between the second specific signal line and the second common electrode hole is different from a size of an overlapping area between the fourth specific signal line and the second common electrode hole (the SL each bend different amounts near Pa, thus producing different lengths and therefore different “overlapping area”).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the display device of claim 2 (Fig. 33A or Fig. 36A), wherein a distance between the first specific signal line and an edge or shape inflection point of the first common electrode hole is a threshold distance or more, and wherein a distance between the second specific signal line and an edge or shape inflection point of the second common electrode hole is the threshold distance or more (these Y direction distances are being designated here as “threshold distance”).
Regarding claim 14, Bok discloses the display device of claim 1 (Fig. 8D), wherein the display area further includes a second optical area (CA2) where light is transmitted, and wherein the second optical area includes a through-hole of the substrate ([0054]: “substrate…through hole corresponding to the component area”).
Regarding claim 15, Bok discloses the display device of claim 14 (Fig. 7), further comprising: a first optical electronic device (40) overlapping the first optical area (“overlapping” in the Z direction) and operated by receiving light passing through the substrate in the first optical area ([0193]: “a sensor sensing visible light”); and a second optical electronic device operated by receiving light passing through the through-hole in the second optical area ([0260]: “a second camera”).
Regarding claim 16, Bok discloses the display device of claim 1 (Fig. 34), further comprising: a pixel electrode (121´) disposed in one emission area among a plurality of emission areas included in the first optical area; a driving transistor (Fig. 11A: T1; [0301]: “a driving thin-film transistor”. Note: Fig. 11A is linked to Fig. 34 by dashed region PC´) disposed in the first optical area to supply a driving current to the pixel electrode; a capacitor (Cst) disposed in the first optical area; a bank (119) disposed on the pixel electrode and having an opening (OP2); and a light emitting layer (122e) disposed between the bank and the common electrode and positioned on a portion of the pixel electrode through the opening of the bank, wherein an area where the pixel electrode, the light emitting layer, and the common electrode overlap (Z direction “overlap”) corresponds to the one emission area (a single Pa is designated in the figure), and wherein the driving transistor and the capacitor are disposed in an area other than the plurality of first transmissive areas in the first optical area (all of PC is aside area TA).
Illustrated below is Fig. 11A of Bok.
Regarding claim 17, Bok discloses the display device of claim 16 (Fig. 11A), further comprising a scan transistor (T2) disposed in the area other than the plurality of first transmissive areas in the first optical area (all of PC is aside area TA), wherein the scan transistor is connected to one specific signal line among the plurality of specific signal lines (Fig. 11A shows the electrical connection of T2 with SL at the gate terminal).
Regarding claim 18, Bok discloses the display device of claim 17 (Fig. 34), wherein the one specific signal line connected to the scan transistor is disposed in a metal layer (Fig. 17: G2; [0375]: “may include molybdenum”) positioned between (“between” in the Z direction) the pixel electrode and a source electrode (A2 at S2) and drain electrode (A2 at D2) of the driving transistor.
Regarding claim 19, Bok discloses the display device of claim 16 (Fig. 34), further comprising: an encapsulation layer (150) disposed on the common electrode; and touch sensor metals (Fig. 7: TSL; [0616]: “molybdenum”) disposed on the encapsulation layer and disposed in the normal area and the first optical area (TSL spans both areas), wherein the touch sensor metals overlap the bank (“overlap” in at least some direction), and wherein among the touch sensor metals, touch sensor metals disposed in the first optical area are positioned in an area other than the plurality of emission areas and the plurality of first transmissive areas in the first optical area (TSL spans the entirety of CA, which includes areas “other than” Fig. 34: Pa and TA).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Min.
Regarding claim 23, Jung discloses the display panel of claim 20 (Fig. 1), but fails to teach including a second optical area. Thus, Jung fails to teach:
“wherein the display area further includes a second optical area where light is transmitted,
wherein the second optical area includes a plurality of emission areas and a plurality of second transmissive areas, and
wherein the substrate has no through-hole in the second optical area.”
Min discloses a display device (Fig. 1),
wherein the display area further includes a second optical area (OA2) where light is transmitted ([0084]: “through which light…may be transmitted”)
Modifying the display area of Jung by duplicating the first optical area, based on Min’s teaching of duplicated optical areas, would arrive at the claimed second optical area configuration:
wherein the second optical area (Jung: Fig. 1: a duplicated DA1) includes a plurality of emission areas (Fig. 3: EA1-EA4) and a plurality of second transmissive areas (TA), and
wherein the substrate has no through-hole in the second optical area (Fig. 6: there is no through-hole for this illustrated embodiment).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success doing so because: Min teaches the second optical area is a duplication of the first optical area (Figs. 2-4 shows duplication) according to required design utility ([0083]: “performing various functions…may have the same function or may have different functions”); and the design utility of the optical areas overlap in scope (Jung: [0067]: “cameras”; Min: [0084]: “camera”). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to do so according to required design utility serving an alternative purpose. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed second optical area configuration because it is a duplication of parts practiced and used in the same way elsewhere in the prior art. MPEP 2143 (I)(C); MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B).
Regarding claim 24, Jung in view of Min discloses the display panel of claim 23, further comprising a common electrode (Jung: Fig. 6: CE) disposed on the substrate, wherein the common electrode includes a plurality of second common electrode holes (“holes” are from CE not existing within TA) respectively positioned in the plurality of second transmissive areas, wherein each of the plurality of second common electrode holes has a symmetrical shape with respect to a center line (Fig. 3 shows circle shapes, which are necessarily a “symmetrical shape” along any center line).
Regarding claim 25, Jung discloses the display panel of claim 20 (Fig. 1), but fails to teach including a second optical area. Thus, Jung fails to teach:
“wherein the display area further includes a second optical area where light is transmitted, and
wherein the second optical area includes a through-hole of the substrate.”
Min discloses a display device (Fig. 1),
wherein the display area further includes a second optical area (OA2) where light is transmitted ([0084]: “through which light…may be transmitted”)
Modifying the display area of Jung by duplicating the first optical area, based on Min’s teaching of duplicated optical areas, would arrive at the claimed second optical area configuration:
wherein the second optical area (Jung: Fig. 1: a duplicated DA1) includes a through-hole of the substrate (Jung: the embodiment of Fig. 9A: Hole; [0183]: “hole”).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success doing so because: Min teaches the second optical area is a duplication of the first optical area (Figs. 2-4 shows duplication) according to required design utility ([0083]: “performing various functions…may have the same function or may have different functions”); and the design utility of the optical areas overlap in scope (Jung: [0067]: “cameras”; Min: [0084]: “camera”). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to do so according to required design utility serving an alternative purpose. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed second optical area configuration because it is a duplication of parts practiced and used in the same way elsewhere in the prior art. MPEP 2143 (I)(C); MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claims 1 and 20, by referring to earlier entered arguments (entered 8/7/2026) that “Jung itself appears to confirm that metal layers, including signal lines, are excluded from the transmissive areas in order to maximize light transmittance…The claimed arrangement is therefore directed to a particular routing architecture…”. See appendix (entered 8/7/2026): pg. 1.
Examiner’s reply:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Bok is relied upon in the instant Office action as necessitated by claim amendment.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 1, filed 8/7/2026, with respect to amended claim 20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner does not find the remarks entered 8/7/2026 or 8/26/2026 specifically addressing the new limitations included with instant claim 20. Accordingly, the examiner is maintaining the rejection in substantially the same way as before, with adjusted citations and remarks as necessitated by claim amendment, and to promote clarity of the record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jun (US 20230075883 A1) discloses common electrode holes and signal lines.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM H ANDERSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2817