DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/287,316, filed on April 21, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 18, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 30, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 38-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 38 recites the broad recitation “wherein M is Ca2+, Sr2+, Cd2+, Cu2+, Ni2+, Mn2+, Fe2+, Co2+, Pd2+, Ge2+, Sn2+, Pb2+, Yb2+, Eu2+, Bi3+, Sb3+, Pd4+, W4+, Re4+, Os4+, Ir4+, Pt4+, Sn4+, Pb4+, Ge4+ or Te4+,” and the claim also recites “preferably Cu2+, Pb2+, Ge2+, or Sn2+” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 38-42, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Cho et al, “Ligand-Mediated Modulation of Layer Thicknesses of Perovskite Methylammonium Lead Bromide Nanoplatelets,” Chemistry of Materials, vol. 28, no. 19, 28 September 2016, pages 6909-6916, XP055434127, ISSN: 089-4756.
In re claim 38, Cho et al discloses a composition comprising: (i) a compound of formula MXn, wherein: M is at least Pb2+, X is Br-, and n is 2; (ii) a compound of formula AX, wherein A is at least (R1NH3) +, wherein R1 is H, and X is I- (i.e. see at least Introduction); (iii) a non-polar organic solvent that is at least a hydrocarbon solvent (i.e. in this case, toluene) (i.e. see least p. 6910-6911); and (iv) a first organic amine comprising at least three carbon atoms (i.e. alkylamine, e.g. butylamine BA) (i.e. paragraph bridging p. 6910 and p. 6911), characterized in that the composition comprises the non-polar organic solvent and the first organic amine in a volume ratio (non-polar organic solvent):(first organic amine) of from 40:1 to 1:2 (i.e. see at least p. 6911, first paragraph).
In re claim 39, Cho et al discloses the non-polar organic solvent is toluene (i.e. see at least p. 6910 – 6911).
In re claim 40, Cho et al discloses the first organic amine (butylamine) is a first alkylamine of formula RANH2, wherein RA is a C4 alkyl group.
In re claim 41, Cho et al discloses wherein the first organic amine is a first alkylamine which is at least butylamine (i.e. paragraph bridging p. 6910 and p. 6911).
In re claim 42, Cho et al discloses wherein the volume ratio is in the range from 20:1 to 4: 1 (i.e. see at least p. 6911, first paragraph).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 43-48 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817