DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2007/0119371 to Ma et al.
Regarding claim 1, Ma et al. disclose a gas baffle plate capable of being provided below a gas supply line (e.g. Fig. 1, 820, 720) formed in a chamber in which a process is performed (i.e. capable of being performed) on the substrate, the gas baffle comprising: a baffle plate (see, e.g., Fig. 5A-B, 500) configured to dispense (i.e. capable of dispensing) a process gas supplied from the gas supply line; and a plurality of slit-shaped openings (510), each extending in a straight line radially from a central portion of the baffle plate toward an edge portion of the baffle to pass (i.e. capable of passing) the process gas, wherein a pair of sidewalls defining each of the plurality of slit-shaped openings are inclined (e.g. substantially obliquely) at a predetermined angle with respect to the baffle plate (i.e. with respect to a substantially horizontal top or bottom surface of the baffle plate) in a circumferential direction of the baffle plate to disperse (i.e. capable of dispersing) the process gas.
With respect to claim 4, in Ma et al., the baffle plate includes a first surface facing the supply line, and a second surface located on an opposite side of the first surface, and a protrusion (522) is formed on a central portion of the first surface.
Claim(s) 1 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 5,950,925 to Fukunaga et al.
Regarding claim 1: Fukunaga et al. disclose a gas baffle plate capable of being provided below a gas supply line formed in a chamber in which a process is performed on the substrate, the gas baffle comprising: a baffle plate (see, e.g., Figs. 2-4A, 92) configured to disperse (i.e. capable of dispersing) a process gas capable of being supplied from the gas supply line (horizontal portion connected to 98 at “arrow” in Fig. 1); and a plurality of slit-shaped openings (90), each extending in a straight line radially from a central portion of the baffle plate toward an edge portion of the baffle (i.e. capable of passing) the process gas, wherein a pair of sidewalls defining each of the plurality of slit-shaped openings are inclined at a predetermined angle (e.g., approximately 90 degrees) with respect to the baffle plate (i.e. a substantially horizontal top or bottom surface of the baffle plate) in a circumferential direction of the baffle plate to disperse the process gas.
With respect to claim 4, in Fukunaga et al., the baffle plate includes a first surface facing the supply line, and a second surface located on an opposite side of the first surface, and a protrusion (extending wall portion of 98) is formed on a central portion of the first surface.
With respect to claim 5, in Fukunaga et al., a through hole (inner volume of 98) is formed in the protrusion (e.g. in order to supply gas).
With respect to claim 6, in Fukunaga et al., the gas baffle may further comprise a guide (e.g. inner wall of protrusion surrounding through hole).
Regarding claim 7: Fukunaga et al. disclose a substrate processing apparatus comprising: a chamber (see, e.g., Fig. 1, “vessel”) including a chamber body (e.g. 12 and 14) with an open top providing a processing space (10) for a substrate (W), and a lid (86) configured to seal the open top of the chamber body; a gas supply line (horizontal portion connected through vertical 98 at “arrow” in Fig. 1 and horizontal portion connected through 96 at “arrow” and vertical 96 and 70 ) configured to supply a process gas into the chamber; a gas baffle (see, e.g., Figs. 2-4A, 92) formed in the chamber and provided below the gas supply line to disperse (i.e. capable of dispersing) the process gas; and a showerhead (60) provided in the processing space and configured to supply (i.e. capable of supplying) the process gas to the substrate, wherein the gas baffle includes a baffle plate (92) and a plurality of slit-shaped openings (90) each extending in a straight line radially from a central portion of the baffle plate toward and edge portion of the baffle plate to pass the process gas, wherein a pair of sidewalls defining each of the plurality of slit-shaped openings are inclined at a predetermined angle (e.g., approximately 90 degrees) with respect to the baffle plate (i.e. a substantially horizontal top or bottom surface of the baffle plate) in a circumferential direction of the baffle plate to disperse the process gas.
With respect to claim 8, in Fukunaga et al., the gas supply line is formed in the lid, and the gas baffle is provided between the lid and the showerhead below the gas supply line. See, e.g., Fig. 2.
With respect to claim 9, in Fukunaga et al., the baffle plate includes a first surface facing the gas supply line, and a second surface located on an opposite side of the first surface, and a protrusion (extending wall portion of 98) is formed on a central portion of the first surface.
Claim(s) 1 and 4-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2006/0086319 to Kasai et al.
Regarding claim 1: in e.g., Figs. 3 and 5A-5B, Kasai et al. disclose a gas baffle (205) capable of being provided below a gas supply line formed in a chamber in which a process is performed on a substrate; the gas baffle comprising: a baffle plate (e.g., solid portions of 205B) configured to disperse (i.e. capable of dispersing) a process gas supplied from the gas supply line; and a plurality of slit-shaped openings (opening portions between solid portions, not numbered) extending in a straight line radially from a central portion (i.e. inner portion) of the baffle plate toward an edge portion (i.e. outer portion) of the baffle plate to pass (e.g. capable of passing) the process gas, wherein a pair of sidewalls defining each of the plurality of slit shaped openings are inclined at a predetermined angle (e.g., approximately, 90 degrees), with respect to the baffle plate (i.e. with respect to a substantially horizontal top or bottom surface of the baffle plate) in a circumferential direction of the baffle plate to disperse the process gas.
With respect to claim 4, in Kasai et al., the baffle plate includes a first surface facing the supply line, and a second surface located on an opposite side of the first surface, and a protrusion (205A) is formed on a central portion of the first surface (i.e. extending from a central portion of the first surface).
With respect to claim 5, in Kasai et al., a through hole is formed in the protrusion. See Fig. 5A.
With respect to claim 6, in Kasai et al., the gas baffle further comprises a guide (i.e. inner wall of 205A) configured to guide (i.e. capable of guiding) a flow of gas inside the through hole.
Regarding claim 7: Kasai et al. disclose a substrate processing apparatus comprising: a chamber (see, e.g., Fig. 3, 100) including a chamber body (101) with an open top providing a processing space (100a) for a substrate (Wf), and a lid (102) configured to seal the open top of the chamber body; a gas supply line (206) configured to supply (i.e. capable of supplying) a process gas into the chamber; a gas baffle (205) formed in the chamber and provided below the gas supply line configured to disperse (i.e. capable of dispersing) the process gas; and a showerhead (201) provided in the processing space and configured to supply (i.e. capable of supplying) the process gas to the substrate, wherein the gas baffle includes a baffle plate (e.g., solid portions of 205B), and a plurality of slit-shaped openings (opening portions between solid portions, not numbered) extending in a straight line radially from a central portion (i.e. inner portion) of the baffle plate toward an edge portion (i.e. outer portion) of the baffle plate to pass (e.g. capable of passing) the process gas, wherein a pair of sidewalls defining each of the plurality of slit shaped openings are inclined at a predetermined angle (e.g., approximately 90 degrees), with respect to the baffle plate (i.e. with respect to a substantially horizontal top or bottom surface of the baffle plate) in a circumferential direction of the baffle plate to disperse the process gas.
With respect to claim 8, in Kasai et al., the gas supply line is formed in the lid, see, e.g., Fig. 4, and the gas baffle is provided between the lid and the showerhead below the gas supply line.
With respect to claim 9, in Kasai et al., the baffle plate includes a first surface facing the supply line, and a second surface located on an opposite side of the first surface, and a protrusion (205A) is formed on a central portion of the first surface (i.e. extending from a central portion of the first surface).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 4-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument, except as addressed below.
With respect to previously relied upon reference, Kasai et al., Applicant has argued that newly recited features are not disclosed. Examiner disagrees. See modified rejections above which address the amended claim language.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. KR 20120133822 and U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2010/0310772 disclose gas baffles with inclined openings. USP Pub 2005/0011447 teaches that a hole cross-section can be selected in order to affect the distribution of gas pressure at the exit of a gas delivery assembly (e.g. baffle/showerhead). US Patent 4,825,809; USP Pub 2010/0276084 also teach holes of a baffle/showerhead with varying cross-sections, as well as a central protrusion. USP Pub. 2012/0237696 discloses a baffle having a plurality of slit-shaped openings extending in a straight line radially from a central portion of the baffle plate toward an edge portion of the baffle plate to pass a process gas..
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARLA A MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716