DETAILED ACTION
inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 4-5, 11, 14, 17, 19-20 are currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-14, filed 4/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of
claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nagata.
35 U.S.C. 103:
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that Honma, alone or in combination with the prior art, does
not teach “wherein, each of the holding devices installs at a plurality of locations in a residence of the subject, the portable information processing terminal is settable onto the holder of one of the holding devices in the residence.” After further search and consideration, the examiner will now rely on Nagata to teach this limitation (fig. 1-2; paragraph 54-55, 60-67, and 71-72). It is disclosed that each bedside monitor 13-1 to 13-n shown in figure 1 includes a CPU, display, and data acquisition components. Each CPU unit 21 includes a holding unit 31. Furthermore, the receiving processing unit 33 receives transmission of a biological signal and patient identification information from the patient monitoring apparatus, among the respective bedside monitors 13-1 to 13-n, the telemeter OR transmitter 14, and the bedside monitor 15, that has been detected by the detecting unit 32.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Honma with the plurality of holder and sensing system from Nagata for the benefit of receiving patient data from multiple location and environments. This will also allow the system to monitor multiple patients at once.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONMA et al. WIPO
Pub.: WO 2021182455 A1, hereinafter Honma in view of ABE JP Pub.: JP 2017117274 A, hereinafter Abe in view of Nagata et al. US Pub.: US 20090171169 A1, hereinafter Nagata.
Regarding claim 1, Honma teaches an information processing system comprising:
a communication unit (12) configured to communicate with the portable information processing terminal (1), the portable information processing terminal (1) including a first detector (2) configured to detect biological information (fig. 1-2; paragraph 17-19 and 23-25); The detection device 2 may be a living body information detection sensor, which equates to biological information.
a control unit (10) configured to perform control for acquiring the biological information (fig. 1-2; paragraph 17-19 and 23-25).
However, Honma does not teach a plurality of holding device each including a holder configured to hold a portable information processing terminal; and wherein, when the portable information processing terminal is held by the holding unit, and communication between the portable information processing terminal and the holding device has been established via the communication unit, the control unit is configured to acquire the biological information detected by the first detector; and wherein, each of the holding devices installs at a plurality of locations in a residence of the subject, the portable information processing terminal is settable onto the holder of one of the holding devices in the residence.
Abe, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a holding device including a holding unit (110) configured to hold a portable information processing terminal (fig. 1; paragraph 29 and 34-35);
and wherein, when the portable information processing terminal is held by the holding unit (110), and communication between the portable information processing terminal and the holding device has been established via the communication unit, the control unit is configured to acquire the biological information detected by the first detector (fig. 1-3; paragraph 20-48). The acquisition of biological information begins after the holder 110 is preferably placed in a position where biometric authentication such as fingerprint authentication can be easily performed while the patient is in a state where the patient can be examined. Therefore, proper communication is established.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Honma to utilize a holder unit from Abe for the benefit of obtaining the most optimal and accurate biological information of a patient in an examination room.
Nagata teaches a monitoring network system and further teaches a plurality of holding device each including a holder configured to hold a portable information processing terminal; and wherein, each of the holding devices installs at a plurality of locations in a residence of the subject, the portable information processing terminal is settable onto the holder of one of the holding devices in the residence (fig. 1-2; paragraph 54-55, 60-67, and 71-72). It is disclosed that each bedside monitor 13-1 to 13-n shown in figure 1 includes a CPU, display, and data acquisition components. Each CPU unit 21 includes a holding unit 31. Furthermore, the receiving processing unit 33 receives transmission of a biological signal and patient identification information from the patient monitoring apparatus, among the respective bedside monitors 13-1 to 13-n, the telemeter OR transmitter 14, and the bedside monitor 15, that has been detected by the detecting unit 32.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Honma with the plurality of holder and sensing system from Nagata for the benefit of receiving patient data from multiple location and environments. This will also allow the system to monitor multiple patients at once.
Regarding claims 2, 12, and 18, Honma in view of Abe in view of Nagata teaches the claimed
invention and Honma further teaches wherein the control unit (10) is configured to determine a possibility of a disease on a basis of the acquired biological information (fig. 1; paragraph 14-15 and 23-25). Cerebral infarction is a disease determined based on acquired motion biological information.
Regarding claims 3, 13, and 19, Honma in view of Abe teaches the claimed invention and Honma
further teaches the control unit (10) is configured to determine the possibility of a disease (fig. 1; paragraph 14-15 and 23-25).
Regarding claim 4, Honma in view of Abe in view of Nagata teaches the claimed invention and
Honma further teaches wherein the biological information includes one of an image of a face, a hand, or a foot, a heart rate, a pulse, respiration, or a body temperature; and the control unit is configured to determine the possibility of a disease related to an abnormality of a heart or a blood vessel on a basis of one of a color, a shape, a motion, or a right-left difference in the face, the hand, or the foot, a respiratory rate, the body temperature, the heart rate or a pulse rate, the heart rate or a pulse rhythm, or a magnitude of a fluctuation of the heart rate or the pulse in the biological information (fig. 1; paragraph 18-20 and 89-90). A camera is disclosed and is capable of obtaining images of a face, hand, and foot for motion data. Body temperature sensor, pressure sensor, and pulse wave sensor is disclosed.
Regarding claims 5, 14, and 20, Honma in view of Abe in view of Nagata teaches the claimed
invention and Abe further teaches wherein the holder (110) is configured to rotatably hold the portable information processing terminal; and the portable information processing terminal held by the holder (110) is configured to rotate and to change directivity of the first detector in accordance with a position of a biological object (fig. 1; paragraph 34-35). The holder 110 can be moved automatically by a moving mechanism or manually.
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Honma in view of Abe in view of Nagata teaches the claimed
invention and Honma further teaches wherein the control unit (10) is configured to acquire biological information different from the biological information detected by the first detector (2), the biological information being detected by a second detector (2) that is provided in a device different from the portable information processing terminal (1) and to detect the biological information (fig. 1; paragraph 18-20 and 89-90). A plurality of detector devices are disclosed, wherein one device is different from the other.
Regarding claim 7, Honma in view of Abe in view of Nagata teaches the claimed invention and
Honma further teaches wherein the device includes the second detector (2) configured to detect biological information of a different type from the biological information detected by the first detector (2) included in the portable information processing terminal (1) (fig. 1; paragraph 18-20 and 89-90). A plurality of detector devices are disclosed, wherein one device is different from the other.
Abe, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a holding device including a holding unit (110) terminal (fig. 1; paragraph 29 and 34-35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Honma in view of Nagata to utilize a holder unit from Abe for the benefit of obtaining the most optimal and accurate biological information of a patient in an examination room.
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Honma in view of Abe in view of Nagata teaches the claimed
invention and Honma further teaches wherein the portable information processing terminal (1) includes a plurality of the first detectors (2) including a camera, and the control unit (10) is configured to acquire the biological information in one of a first acquisition mode in which the biological information detected by the plurality of the first detectors (2) including the camera is acquired, or a second acquisition mode in which the biological information detected by the plurality of the first detectors (2) excluding the camera is acquired (fig. 1; paragraph 18-20 and 89-90). A camera is disclosed and is capable of obtaining images of a face, hand, and foot for motion data. Body temperature sensor, pressure sensor, and pulse wave sensor is disclosed. The mode and configuration in which a first or second detector device is obtaining data is determined/managed by the user.
Abe, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a holding device including a holding unit (110) terminal that can be moved (fig. 1; paragraph 29 and 34-35). The holder 110 can be moved automatically by a moving mechanism or manually.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Honma in view of Nagata to utilize a holder unit and its varying positions from Abe for the benefit of obtaining the most optimal and accurate biological information of a patient in an examination room.
Regarding claim 9, Honma in view of Abe teaches in view of Nagata the claimed invention and
Honma further teaches wherein one of the first acquisition mode or the second acquisition mode is set in the holding device (fig. 1; paragraph 18-20 and 89-90). A camera is disclosed and is capable of obtaining images of a face, hand, and foot for motion data. Body temperature sensor, pressure sensor, and pulse wave sensor is disclosed. The mode and configuration in which a first or second detector device is obtaining data is determined/managed by the user.
Regarding claim 10, Honma in view of Abe in view of Nagata teaches the claimed invention and
Honma further teaches wherein the control unit (10) is configured to start acquiring the biological information, in accordance with one of illuminance around the holding device or time (fig. 1; paragraph 18-20 and 45-50). The control unit 20 of the detection device 2 acquires an image in which a subject is photographed from the motion detection sensor 2a in real time or at a predetermined detection interval,
Regarding claim 11, Honma teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a
computer program for causing a computer to perform a process comprising: acquiring biological information detected of a subject by a first detector (2) (fig. 1-2; paragraph 17-19, 23-25, and 41-43); The detection device 2 may be a living body information detection sensor, which equates to biological information. A nonvolatile memory such as a flash memory is disclosed.
and a portable information processing terminal (1) with a communication unit (12) (fig. 1-2; paragraph 17-19 and 23-25).
However, Honma does not teach when a portable information processing terminal including the first detector that detects the biological information is held one of a plurality of holding devices each including a holder that holds the portable information processing terminal and a communication unit that communicates with the portable information processing terminal, and communication between the portable information processing terminal and the holding device has been established via the communication unit and wherein, each of the holding devices installs at a plurality of locations in a residence of the subject, the portable information processing terminal is settable onto the holder of one of the holding devices in the residence.
Abe, in the same field of endeavor, teaches when a portable information processing terminal including the first detector that detects the biological information is held by a holding device (110) including a holding unit that holds the portable information processing terminal and a communication unit that communicates with the portable information processing terminal, and communication between the portable information processing terminal and the holding device (110) has been established via the communication unit (fig. 1-3; paragraph 20-48). The acquisition of biological information begins after the holder 110 is preferably placed in a position where biometric authentication such as fingerprint authentication can be easily performed while the patient is in a state where the patient can be examined. Therefore, proper communication is established.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Honma to utilize a holder unit from Abe for the benefit of obtaining the most optimal and accurate biological information of a patient in an examination room.
Nagata teaches a monitoring network system and further teaches a plurality of holding device each including a holder configured to hold a portable information processing terminal; and wherein, each of the holding devices installs at a plurality of locations in a residence of the subject, the portable information processing terminal is settable onto the holder of one of the holding devices in the residence (fig. 1-2; paragraph 54-55, 60-67, and 71-72). It is disclosed that each bedside monitor 13-1 to 13-n shown in figure 1 includes a CPU, display, and data acquisition components. Each CPU unit 21 includes a holding unit 31. Furthermore, the receiving processing unit 33 receives transmission of a biological signal and patient identification information from the patient monitoring apparatus, among the respective bedside monitors 13-1 to 13-n, the telemeter OR transmitter 14, and the bedside monitor 15, that has been detected by the detecting unit 32.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Honma with the plurality of holder and sensing system from Nagata for the benefit of receiving patient data from multiple location and environments. This will also allow the system to monitor multiple patients at once.
Regarding claim 17, Honma teaches an information processing method implemented by a
computer to perform a process comprising: acquiring biological information detected by a first detector (2) (fig. 1-2; paragraph 17-19 and 23-25); The detection device 2 may be a living body information detection sensor, which equates to biological information. A nonvolatile memory such as a flash memory is disclosed.
and a portable information processing terminal (1) with a communication unit (12) (fig. 1-2; paragraph 17-19 and 23-25).
However, Honma does not teach when a portable information processing terminal including the first detector that detects the biological information is held by a plurality of holding device each including a holder that holds the portable information processing terminal and a communication unit that communicates with the portable information processing terminal, and communication between the portable information processing terminal and the holding device has been established via the communication unit; and wherein, each of the holding devices installs at a plurality of locations in a residence of the subject, the portable information processing terminal is settable onto the holder of one of the holding devices in the residence.
Abe, in the same field of endeavor, teaches when a portable information processing terminal including the first detector that detects the biological information is held by a holding device (110) including a holding unit that holds the portable information processing terminal and a communication unit that communicates with the portable information processing terminal, and communication between the portable information processing terminal and the holding device (110) has been established via the communication unit (fig. 1-3; paragraph 20-48). The acquisition of biological information begins after the holder 110 is preferably placed in a position where biometric authentication such as fingerprint authentication can be easily performed while the patient is in a state where the patient can be examined. Therefore, proper communication is established.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Honma to utilize a holder unit from Abe for the benefit of obtaining the most optimal and accurate biological information of a patient in an examination room.
Nagata teaches a monitoring network system and further teaches a plurality of holding device each including a holder configured to hold a portable information processing terminal; and wherein, each of the holding devices installs at a plurality of locations in a residence of the subject, the portable information processing terminal is settable onto the holder of one of the holding devices in the residence (fig. 1-2; paragraph 54-55, 60-67, and 71-72). It is disclosed that each bedside monitor 13-1 to 13-n shown in figure 1 includes a CPU, display, and data acquisition components. Each CPU unit 21 includes a holding unit 31. Furthermore, the receiving processing unit 33 receives transmission of a biological signal and patient identification information from the patient monitoring apparatus, among the respective bedside monitors 13-1 to 13-n, the telemeter OR transmitter 14, and the bedside monitor 15, that has been detected by the detecting unit 32.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Honma with the plurality of holder and sensing system from Nagata for the benefit of receiving patient data from multiple location and environments. This will also allow the system to monitor multiple patients at once.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.J.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/Benjamin J Klein/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792