Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specification
Amendment to the Specification filed on 09/03/2026 has been reviewed and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 10-11, 13-16, 18-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barik et al. (U.S. 2022/0230874 A1, hereinafter refer to Barik) in view of Biteau et al. (U.S. 2006/0275627 A1, hereinafter refer to Biteau).
Regarding Claim 1: Barik discloses a method of depositing a film (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown below and ¶ [0001]), the method comprising:
exposing a substrate to a silicon-chalcogen precursor comprising a chalcogen and an electron withdrawing group (note: thiosilane such as —SCF3 includes chalcogen S and electron withdrawing group F3, selinosilane such as —SeCF3 includes chalcogen Se and electron withdrawing group F3 and tellurosilane such as —TeCF3 includes chalcogen Te and electron withdrawing group F3) (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above, ¶ [0038], ¶ [0042], and ¶ [0044]); and
exposing the substrate to a reactant to form a silicon nitride (SixNy) film, a silicon oxide (SiOx) film, or a silicon oxynitride (SiOxNz) film on the substrate (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above, ¶ [0007], and ¶ [0032]).
Barik is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the electron withdrawing group comprises one or more of fluorinated or perfluorinated alkyl groups having the general formula (II) CnF2n+1, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 2 to 10, fluorinated or perfluorinated alkyl groups having the general formula (III) CnH2nCF3, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, nitro (NO₂), nitrile (CN), nitroso (NO), and SO₂CF₃.
For support see Biteau, which teaches wherein the electron withdrawing group comprises one or more of fluorinated or perfluorinated alkyl groups having the general formula (II) CnF2n+1, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 2 to 10, fluorinated or perfluorinated alkyl groups having the general formula (III) CnH2nCF3, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, nitro (NO₂), nitrile (CN), nitroso (NO), and SO₂CF₃ (see Biteau, abstract, ¶ [0001]- ¶ [0004], ¶ [0062]- ¶ [0070], and ¶ [0094]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Barik and Biteau to enable the known precursor silane as taught by Biteau in order to obtain a multi-layer stack of dielectric materials that exhibiting no loss of adhesion as a result of degradation under the effect of UV radiation.
Regarding Claim 2: Barik as modified teaches a method of depositing a film as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Barik and Biteau further teaches wherein the chalcogen comprises one or more of a thiosilane, a selenosilane, and a tellurosilane (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0033]).
Regarding Claim 4: Barik as modified teaches a method of depositing a film as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Barik and Biteau further teaches wherein the silicon-chalcogen precursor comprises a structure of general formula (I)
(I) wherein Y is selected from the group consisting of oxygen (O), sulfur (S), selenium (Se), and tellurium (Te), and Z is the electron withdrawing group (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above, ¶ [0036], and ¶ [0038]).
Regarding Claim 5: Barik as modified teaches a method of depositing a film as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Barik and Biteau further teaches wherein the silicon-chalcogen precursor comprises one or more of —SCnF2n+1 (—SCF3), wherein n is an integer in a range of from 2 to 10, SCnH2nCF3, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, —SNO2, —SCN, SSO2CF3, —OCnF2n+1, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 2 to 10, OCnH2nCF3, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, —ONO2, —OCN, OSO2CF3, —SeCnF2n+1, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 2 to 10, SeCnH2nCF3, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, —SeNO2, —SeCN, —SeSO2CF3, —TeCnF2n+1, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 2 to 10, TeCnH2nCF3, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, —TeNO2, —TeCN, and TeSO2CF3 (see Biteau, abstract, ¶ [0001]- ¶ [0004], ¶ [0062]- ¶ [0070], and ¶ [0094]).
Regarding Claim 6: Barik as modified teaches a method of depositing a film as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Barik and Biteau further teaches wherein the substrate is exposed to the silicon-chalcogen precursor at a temperature in a range of from 100° C. to 400° C (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0056]- ¶ [0057]).
Regarding Claim 7: Barik as modified teaches a method of depositing a film as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Barik and Biteau further teaches wherein the method comprises one or more of chemical vapor deposition or atomic layer deposition (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0015]).
Regarding Claim 8: Barik as modified teaches a method of depositing a film as set forth in claim 7 as above. The combination of Barik and Biteau further teaches wherein the substrate is exposed to the silicon-chalcogen precursor and the reactant simultaneously (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0058]).
Regarding Claim 10: Barik as modified teaches a method of depositing a film as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Barik and Biteau further teaches wherein purging the substrate of the silicon-chalcogen precursor prior to exposing the substrate to the reactant (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0047]).
Regarding Claim 11: Barik as modified teaches a method of depositing a film as set forth in claim 10 as above. The combination of Barik and Biteau further teaches wherein purging comprises one or more of applying a vacuum or flowing a purge gas over the substrate (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0047]).
Regarding Claim 13: Barik as modified teaches a method of depositing a film as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Barik and Biteau further teaches wherein the reactant (any reducing agent known of to one of skill in the art) comprises one or more of dimethylhydrazine (DMH), alkyl amine, hydrazine, alkyl hydrazine, allyl hydrazine, ammonia (NH3), nitrous oxide (N2O), oxygen (O2), ozone (O3), hydrogen peroxide (H2O2), water (H2O), and an oxaziridine (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0048]- ¶ [0049]).
Regarding Claim 14: Barik as modified teaches a method of depositing a film as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Barik and Biteau further teaches wherein the film is substantially free of halogen (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0019]).
Regarding Claim 15: Barik discloses a method of depositing a halogen-free film (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0019]), the method comprising:
forming one or more of a silicon nitride (SixNy) film, a silicon oxide (SiOx) film, or a silicon oxynitride (SiOxNz) film in a process cycle comprising sequential exposure of a substrate to a silicon-chalcogen precursor, purge gas, a reactant, and purge gas, the silicon-chalcogen precursor comprising a chalcogen and an electron withdrawing group (note: thiosilane such as —SCF3 includes chalcogen S and electron withdrawing group F3, selinosilane such as —SeCF3 includes chalcogen Se and electron withdrawing group F3 and tellurosilane such as —TeCF3 includes chalcogen Te and electron withdrawing group F3) (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above, ¶ [0038], ¶ [0042], ¶ [0044], and ¶ [0058]).
Barik is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein an electron withdrawing group comprising one or more of fluorinated or perfluorinated alkyl groups having the general formula (II) CnF2n+1, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 2 to 10, fluorinated or perfluorinated alkyl groups having the general formula (I1) CnH2nCF3, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, nitro (NO2), nitrile (CN), nitroso (NO), and SO2CF3.
For support see Biteau, which teaches wherein an electron withdrawing group comprising one or more of fluorinated or perfluorinated alkyl groups having the general formula (II) CnF2n+1, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 2 to 10, fluorinated or perfluorinated alkyl groups having the general formula (I1) CnH2nCF3, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, nitro (NO2), nitrile (CN), nitroso (NO), and SO2CF3 (see Biteau, abstract, ¶ [0001]- ¶ [0004], ¶ [0062]- ¶ [0070], and ¶ [0094]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Barik and Biteau to enable the known precursor silane as taught by Biteau in order to obtain a multi-layer stack of dielectric materials that exhibiting no loss of adhesion as a result of degradation under the effect of UV radiation.
Regarding Claim 16: Barik as modified teaches a method of depositing a halogen-free film as set forth in claim 15 as above. The combination of Barik and Biteau further teaches wherein the chalcogen comprises one or more of a thiosilane, a selenosilane, and a tellurosilane (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0033]).
Regarding Claim 18: Barik as modified teaches a method of depositing a halogen-free film as set forth in claim 15 as above. The combination of Barik and Biteau further teaches wherein the silicon-chalcogen precursor comprises a structure of general formula (I)
(I) wherein Y is selected from the group consisting of oxygen (O), sulfur (S), selenium (Se), and tellurium (Te), and Z is the electron withdrawing group (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above, ¶ [0036], and ¶ [0038]).
Regarding Claim 19: Barik as modified teaches a method of depositing a halogen-free film as set forth in claim 15 as above. The combination of Barik and Biteau further teaches wherein the silicon-chalcogen precursor comprises one or more of —SCnF2n+1 (—SCF3), wherein n is an integer in a range of from 2 to 10, SCnH2nCF3, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, —SNO2, —SCN, SSO2CF3, —OCnF2n+1, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 2 to 10, OCnH2nCF3, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, —ONO2, —OCN, OSO2CF3, —SeCnF2n+1, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 2 to 10, SeCnH2nCF3, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, —SeNO2, —SeCN, —SeSO2CF3, —TeCnF2n+1, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 2 to 10, TeCnH2nCF3, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, —TeNO2, —TeCN, and TeSO2CF3 (see Biteau, abstract, ¶ [0001]- ¶ [0004], ¶ [0062]- ¶ [0070], and ¶ [0094]).
Regarding Claim 20: Barik as modified teaches a method of depositing a halogen-free film as set forth in claim 15 as above. The combination of Barik and Biteau further teaches wherein the reactant (any reducing agent known of to one of skill in the art) comprises one or more of dimethylhydrazine (DMH), alkyl amine, hydrazine, alkyl hydrazine, allyl hydrazine, ammonia (NH3), nitrous oxide (N2O), oxygen (O2), ozone (O3), hydrogen peroxide (H2O2), water (H2O), and an oxaziridine (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0048]- ¶ [0049]).
Regarding Claim 21: Barik as modified teaches a method of depositing a film as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Barik and Biteau further teaches wherein the reactant comprises one or more of tert-butyl amine (tBuNH2), isopropyl amine (iPrNH2), ethylamine (CH3CH2NH2), diethylamine ((CH3CH2)2NH), or a compound with the formula R'NH2, R'2NH, R'3N, R'2SiNH2, (R'3Si)2NH, or (R'3Si)3N, wherein R' is selected from the group consisting of H or an alkyl group having from 1-12 carbon atoms (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0048]- ¶ [0049]).
Regarding Claim 23: Barik as modified teaches a method of depositing a halogen-free film as set forth in claim 15 as above. The combination of Barik and Biteau further teaches wherein the reactant comprises one or more of tert-butyl amine (tBuNH2), isopropyl amine (iPrNH2), ethylamine (CH3CH2NH2), diethylamine ((CH3CH2)2NH), or a compound with the formula R'NH2, R'2NH, R'3N, R'2SiNH2, (R'3Si)2NH, or (R'3Si)3N, wherein R' is selected from the group consisting of H or an alkyl group having from 1-12 carbon atoms (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0048]- ¶ [0049]).
Claim(s) 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barik et al. (U.S. 2022/0230874 A1, hereinafter refer to Barik) and Biteau et al. (U.S. 2006/0275627 A1, hereinafter refer to Biteau) as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Barik et al. (U.S. 2022/0406595 A1, hereinafter refer to Barik ‘595).
Regarding Claim 22: Barik as modified teaches a method of depositing a film as applied to claim 1 above. The combination of Barik and Biteau is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the reactant comprises a compound with the general formula:
R1 where R1, R2 and R3 are independently selected from H, SO2NO2, nitrile (CN), C1-C8 alkyl, C1-C8 perfluoroalkyl, pyridine, aryl, substituted aryl, perfluoroaryl,SO2-NO2 substituted aryl, or R2 and R3 are combined to form a carbonyl. In some embodiments, R1, R2 and R3 are independently selected from C1-C6 alkyl, C1-C6 perfluoroalkyl, C1-C4 alkyl, or C1-C6 perfluoroalkyl.
For support see Barik ‘595, which teaches wherein the reactant comprises a compound with the general formula:
R1 where R1, R2 and R3 are independently selected from H, SO2NO2, nitrile (CN), C1-C8 alkyl, C1-C8 perfluoroalkyl, pyridine, aryl, substituted aryl, perfluoroaryl,SO2-NO2 substituted aryl, or R2 and R3 are combined to form a carbonyl. In some embodiments, R1, R2 and R3 are independently selected from C1-C6 alkyl, C1-C6 perfluoroalkyl, C1-C4 alkyl, or C1-C6 perfluoroalkyl (see Barik ‘595, ¶ [0045]- ¶ [0050]).
The combination of Barik and Biteau teaches the claimed invention except for the material of oxaziridine reactant. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Barik, Biteau, and Barik ‘595 to enable the known oxaziridine as alternative to the Barik’s reactant as taught by Barik ‘595 during deposition of silicon containing film, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 24: Barik as modified teaches a method of depositing a halogen-free film as applied to claim 15 above. The combination of Barik and Biteau is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the reactant comprises a compound with the general formula:
R1 of where R1, R2 and R3 are independently selected from H, SO2NO2, nitrile (CN), C1-C8 alkyl, C1-C8 perfluoroalkyl, pyridine, aryl, substituted aryl, perfluoroaryl, SO2-NO2 substituted aryl, or R2 and R3 are combined to form a carbonyl. In some embodiments, R1, R2 and R3 are independently selected from C1-C6 alkyl, C1-C6 perfluoroalkyl, C1-C4 alkyl, or C1-C6 perfluoroalkyl.
For support see Barik ‘595, which teaches wherein the reactant comprises a compound with the general formula:
R1 of where R1, R2 and R3 are independently selected from H, SO2NO2, nitrile (CN), C1-C8 alkyl, C1-C8 perfluoroalkyl, pyridine, aryl, substituted aryl, perfluoroaryl, SO2-NO2 substituted aryl, or R2 and R3 are combined to form a carbonyl. In some embodiments, R1, R2 and R3 are independently selected from C1-C6 alkyl, C1-C6 perfluoroalkyl, C1-C4 alkyl, or C1-C6 perfluoroalkyl (see Barik ‘595, ¶ [0045]- ¶ [0050]).
The combination of Barik and Biteau teaches the claimed invention except for the material of oxaziridine reactant. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Barik, Biteau, and Barik ‘595 to enable the known oxaziridine as alternative to the Barik’s reactant as taught by Barik ‘595 during deposition of silicon containing film, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812