DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barik et al. (U.S. 2022/0230874 A1, hereinafter refer to Barik).
Regarding Claim 1: Barik discloses a method of depositing a film (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown below and ¶ [0001]), the method comprising:
exposing a substrate to a silicon-chalcogen precursor comprising a chalcogen and an electron withdrawing group (note: thiosilane such as —SCF3 includes chalcogen S and electron withdrawing group F3, selinosilane such as —SeCF3 includes chalcogen Se and electron withdrawing group F3 and tellurosilane such as —TeCF3 includes chalcogen Te and electron withdrawing group F3) (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above, ¶ [0038], ¶ [0042], and ¶ [0044]); and
exposing the substrate to a reactant to form a silicon nitride (SixNy) film, a silicon oxide (SiOx) film, or a silicon oxynitride (SiOxNz) film on the substrate (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above, ¶ [0007], and ¶ [0032]).
Regarding Claim 2: Barik discloses a method of depositing a film as set forth in claim 1 as above. Barik further teaches wherein the chalcogen comprises one or more of a thiosilane, a selenosilane, and a tellurosilane (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0033]).
Regarding Claim 3: Barik discloses a method of depositing a film as set forth in claim 1 as above. Barik further teaches wherein the electron withdrawing group comprises one or more of fluorinated or perfluoronated alkyl groups having the general formula (II) CnF2n+1 (—SCF3,), wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, fluorinated or perfluoronated alkyl groups having the general formula (III) CnH2nCF3, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, nitro (NO2), nitrile (CN), nitroso (NO), and SO2CF3 (note: thiosilane such as —SCF3 includes chalcogen S and electron withdrawing group F3, selinosilane such as —SeCF3 includes chalcogen Se and electron withdrawing group F3 and tellurosilane such as —TeCF3 includes chalcogen Te and electron withdrawing group F3) (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above, ¶ [0038], ¶ [0042], and ¶ [0044]).
Regarding Claim 4: Barik discloses a method of depositing a film as set forth in claim 1 as above. Barik further teaches wherein the silicon-chalcogen precursor comprises a structure of general formula (I)
(I) wherein Y is selected from the group consisting of oxygen (O), sulfur (S), selenium (Se), and tellurium (Te), and Z is an electron withdrawing group. In one or more embodiments, Z is selected from the group consisting of fluorinated or perfluoronated alkyl groups having the general formula (II) CnF2n+1, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, fluorinated or perfluoronated alkyl groups having the general formula (—SCF3,) (III) CnH2nCF3, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, nitro (NO2), nitrile (CN), nitroso (NO), and SO2CF3 (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above, ¶ [0036], and ¶ [0038]).
Regarding Claim 5: Barik discloses a method of depositing a film as set forth in claim 1 as above. Barik further teaches wherein the silicon-chalcogen precursor comprises one or more of —SCnF2n+1 (—SCF3), wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, SCnH2nCF3, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, —SNO2, —SCN, SSO2CF3, —OCnF2n+1, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, OCnH2nCF3, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, —ONO2, —OCN, OSO2CF3, —SeCnF2n+1, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, SeCnH2nCF3, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, —SeNO2, —SeCN, —SeSO2CF3, —TeCnF2n+1, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, TeCnH2nCF3, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, —TeNO2, —TeCN, and TeSO2CF3 (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above, ¶ [0036], and ¶ [0038]).
Regarding Claim 6: Barik discloses a method of depositing a film as set forth in claim 1 as above. Barik further teaches wherein the substrate is exposed to the silicon-chalcogen precursor at a temperature in a range of from 100° C. to 400° C (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0056]- ¶ [0057]).
Regarding Claim 7: Barik discloses a method of depositing a film as set forth in claim 1 as above. Barik further teaches wherein the method comprises one or more of chemical vapor deposition or atomic layer deposition (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0015]).
Regarding Claim 8: Barik discloses a method of depositing a film as set forth in claim 7 as above. Barik further teaches wherein the substrate is exposed to the silicon-chalcogen precursor and the reactant simultaneously (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0058]).
Regarding Claim 9: Barik discloses a method of depositing a film as set forth in claim 7 as above. Barik further teaches wherein the substrate is exposed to the silicon-chalcogen precursor and the reactant sequentially (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0058]).
Regarding Claim 10: Barik discloses a method of depositing a film as set forth in claim 1 as above. Barik further teaches wherein purging the substrate of the silicon-chalcogen precursor prior to exposing the substrate to the reactant (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0047]).
Regarding Claim 11: Barik discloses a method of depositing a film as set forth in claim 10 as above. Barik further teaches wherein purging comprises one or more of applying a vacuum or flowing a purge gas over the substrate (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0047]).
Regarding Claim 12: Barik discloses a method of depositing a film as set forth in claim 11 as above. Barik further teaches wherein the purge gas comprises one or more of nitrogen (N2), helium (He), and argon (Ar) (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0047]).
Regarding Claim 13: Barik discloses a method of depositing a film as set forth in claim 1 as above. Barik further teaches wherein the reactant (any reducing agent known of to one of skill in the art) comprises one or more of dimethylhydrazine (DMH), alkyl amine, hydrazine, alkyl hydrazine, allyl hydrazine, ammonia (NH3), oxygen (O2), ozone, hydrogen peroxide (H2O2), water (H2O), and an oxaziridine (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0048]- ¶ [0049]).
Regarding Claim 14: Barik discloses a method of depositing a film as set forth in claim 1 as above. Barik further teaches wherein the film is substantially free of halogen (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0019]).
Regarding Claim 15: Barik discloses a method of depositing a halogen-free film (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0019]), the method comprising:
forming one or more of a silicon nitride (SixNy) film, a silicon oxide (SiOx) film, or a silicon oxynitride (SiOxNz) film in a process cycle comprising sequential exposure of a substrate to a silicon-chalcogen precursor, purge gas, a reactant, and purge gas, the silicon-chalcogen precursor comprising a chalcogen and an electron withdrawing group (note: thiosilane such as —SCF3 includes chalcogen S and electron withdrawing group F3, selinosilane such as —SeCF3 includes chalcogen Se and electron withdrawing group F3 and tellurosilane such as —TeCF3 includes chalcogen Te and electron withdrawing group F3) (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above, ¶ [0038], ¶ [0042], ¶ [0044], and ¶ [0058]).
Regarding Claim 16: Barik discloses a method of depositing a halogen-free film as set forth in claim 15 as above. Barik further teaches wherein the chalcogen comprises one or more of a thiosilane, a selenosilane, and a tellurosilane (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0033]).
Regarding Claim 17: Barik discloses a method of depositing a halogen-free film as set forth in claim 15 as above. Barik further teaches wherein the electron withdrawing group comprises one or more of fluorinated or perfluoronated alkyl groups having the general formula (II) CnF2n+1 (—SCF3), wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, fluorinated or perfluoronated alkyl groups having the general formula (III) CnH2nCF3, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, nitro (N02), nitrile (CN), nitroso (NO), and SO2CF3 (note: thiosilane such as —SCF3 includes chalcogen S and electron withdrawing group F3, selinosilane such as —SeCF3 includes chalcogen Se and electron withdrawing group F3 and tellurosilane such as —TeCF3 includes chalcogen Te and electron withdrawing group F3) (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above, ¶ [0038], ¶ [0042], and ¶ [0044]).
Regarding Claim 18: Barik discloses a method of depositing a halogen-free film as set forth in claim 15 as above. Barik further teaches wherein the silicon-chalcogen precursor comprises a structure of general formula (I)
(I) wherein Y is selected from the group consisting of oxygen (O), sulfur (S), selenium (Se), and tellurium (Te), and Z is an electron withdrawing group. In one or more embodiments, Z is selected from the group consisting of fluorinated or perfluoronated alkyl groups having the general formula (II) CnF2n+1 (—SCF3), wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, fluorinated or perfluoronated alkyl groups having the general formula (III) CnH2nCF3, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, nitro (NO2), nitrile (CN), nitroso (NO), and SO2CF3 (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above, ¶ [0036], and ¶ [0038]).
Regarding Claim 19: Barik discloses a method of depositing a halogen-free film as set forth in claim 15 as above. Barik further teaches wherein the silicon-chalcogen precursor comprises one or more of —SCnF2n+1 (—SCF3), wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, SCnH2nCF3, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, —SNO2, —SCN, SSO2CF3, —OCnF2n+1, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, OCnH2nCF3, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, —ONO2, —OCN, OSO2CF3, —SeCnF2n+1, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, SeCnH2nCF3, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, —SeNO2, —SeCN, —SeSO2CF3, —TeCnF2n+1, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, TeCnH2nCF3, wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 10, —TeNO2, —TeCN, and TeSO2CF3 (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above, ¶ [0036], and ¶ [0038]).
Regarding Claim 20: Barik discloses a method of depositing a halogen-free film as set forth in claim 15 as above. Barik further teaches wherein the reactant (any reducing agent known of to one of skill in the art) comprises one or more of dimethylhydrazine (DMH), alkyl amine, hydrazine, alkyl hydrazine, allyl hydrazine, ammonia (NH3), oxygen (O2), ozone, hydrogen peroxide (H2O2), water (H2O), and an oxaziridine (see Barik, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0048]- ¶ [0049]).
Conclusion
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812