DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 9 and 10 have been amended; and claims 1-10 are currently pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coult et al. (US 2015/0180580 A1, hereinafter “Coult”) in view of Shirao et al. (US 2022/0057256 A1, hereinafter “Shirao”)
In regards to claim 1, Coult discloses (See, for example, Fig. 1) an optical module (90) comprising:
a package having a first surface and a second surface parallel to the first surface (base plate/mounting platform supporting heat sinks 106/108, “an optional base plate (not shown0 may be implemented to support the PIC 104 … . The base plate may support the PIC 104 and the modulator drier 102…”, See Par [0037]);
a driver IC (102) mounted on the first surface via a heat sink block (108);
an optical circuit element (104) mounted on the second surface via a temperature adjustment element (106, “the PIC 104 may be mounted on the heat sink 106 which may be implemented as any desired device configured to remove thermal energy or control the temperature of the PIC 104…”, See Par [0037]); and
a flexible substrate (100) mounted on the driver IC (102) and the optical circuit element (104), and electrically connected to the driver IC (102) and the optical circuit element (104),
wherein the flexible substrate includes a main body extending in a first direction and a second direction intersecting the first direction and a wiring formed on the main body (substrate 116 carrying impedance-controlled transmission structure 126 with signal lines 131a, 131b, 135a, 135b, See Figs. 2-3).
Coult is silent about
the main body includes a first end facing the optical circuit element in a plan view seen in a third direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction,
the wiring includes a first lead portion protruding from the first end to an outside of the main body along the first direction in the plan view, and
the first lead portion is connected to the optical circuit element.
Shirao while disclosing an optical module teaches (See, for example, Fig. 9) the main body (70c) includes a first end (end surface on the first side of the base material 70c) facing the optical circuit element (50(50a)) in a plan view seen in a third direction (thickness direction of FPC 70, normal to first main surface 70a and second main surface 70b, See for example, Fig. 4) intersecting the first direction (longitudinal direction of FPC 70, along which signal wiring 71 extends from first end to the second end of base material 70c) and the second direction (width direction of FPC 70, along which signal wiring layer 71, power supply wiring layer 72 and ground wiring layers 76, 77 are arranged in parallel, See Fig. 6),
the wiring (signal wiring layer 71) includes a first lead portion (electrode protruding portion 71a) protruding from the first end to an outside of the main body along the first direction in the plan view (signal wiring layer 71 extends from the first end to the second end of base material 70c and further has electrode protruding portion 71a protruding from the end surface on the first end side of base material 70c, beyond the base material, along the extension direction of signal wiring layer 71, See Fig. 9), and
the first lead portion is connected to the optical circuit element (an electrode protruding portion 71a in which the signal wiring layer 71 protrudes from an end surface on a first end side of a base material 70c, and by directly connecting the electrode protruding portion 71a to a signal wiring layer 41 formed on a ceramic substrate 40 with solder, See Par [0145]; and See Par [0059] and Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Coult by Shirao because directly connecting the protruding electrode portion to the optical element side wiring prevents deterioration of high frequency characteristics and enables higher speed signal transmission.
In regards to claim 10, Coult discloses (See, for example, Figs. 1-3) a flexible substrate (100) comprising: a main body (116) extending in a first direction and a second direction intersecting the first direction; and a wiring formed on the main body (substrate 116 carrying impedance-controlled transmission structure 126 with signal lines 131a, 131b, 135a, 135b, See Figs. 2-3).
Coult is silent about
the main body includes a first end facing the optical circuit element in a plan view seen in a third direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction,
the wiring includes a first lead portion protruding from the first end to an outside of the main body along the first direction in the plan view, and
the first lead portion is connected to the optical circuit element.
Shirao while disclosing an optical module teaches (See, for example, Fig. 9) the main body (70c) includes a first end (end surface on the first side of the base material 70c) facing the optical circuit element (50(50a)) in a plan view seen in a third direction (thickness direction of FPC 70, normal to first main surface 70a and second main surface 70b, See for example, Fig. 4) intersecting the first direction (longitudinal direction of FPC 70, along which signal wiring 71 extends from first end to the second end of base material 70c) and the second direction (width direction of FPC 70, along which signal wiring layer 71, power supply wiring layer 72 and ground wiring layers 76, 77 are arranged in parallel, See Fig. 6),
the wiring (signal wiring layer 71) includes a first lead portion (electrode protruding portion 71a) protruding from the first end to an outside of the main body along the first direction in the plan view (signal wiring layer 71 extends from the first end to the second end of base material 70c and further has electrode protruding portion 71a protruding from the end surface on the first end side of base material 70c, beyond the base material, along the extension direction of signal wiring layer 71, See Fig. 9), and
the first lead portion is connected to the optical circuit element (an electrode protruding portion 71a in which the signal wiring layer 71 protrudes from an end surface on a first end side of a base material 70c, and by directly connecting the electrode protruding portion 71a to a signal wiring layer 41 formed on a ceramic substrate 40 with solder, See Par [0145]; and See Par [0059] and Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Coult by Shirao because directly connecting the protruding electrode portion to the optical element side wiring prevents deterioration of high frequency characteristics and enables higher speed signal transmission.
In regards to claim 2, Coult discloses (See, for example, Fig. 1) that wherein a flexibility of the first lead portion is larger than a flexibility of the main body (the limitation is an inherent property of the lead structure. A lead portion lacking the base film and protection film of the main body is necessarily more flexible than the reinforced main body).
In regards to claim 3, Coult as modified above discloses (See, for example, Figs. 1 and 2) the first lead portion (end closer to 124) includes a first coupling portion connected to the optical circuit element (104) via a bump (128b, 128c) formed on the optical circuit element (104).
In regards to claim 6, Coult discloses (See, for example, Figs. 1 and 2 and 3) the main body (116) includes a second end (end closer to 122) opposite to the first end (124), the wiring includes a second lead portion (142a, 142b, 128a, 128d, See Fig. 2) protruding from the second end (end closer to 122) to the outside of the main body (116) along the first direction, and the second lead portion (142a, 142b, 128a, 128d, See Fig. 2) is connected to the driver IC (102).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coult in view of Shirao and Ozaki et al. (JP 2018-189699 A, hereinafter “Ozaki”).
In regards to claim 7, Coult discloses (See, for example, Fig. 1) the first lead portion (138a, 138b, 128b, 128c, See Fig. 2) includes a first coupling portion connected to the optical circuit element (104) via a bump (128b, 128,See Fig. 2) formed on the optical circuit element (104), the second lead portion (142a, 142b, 128a, 128d, See Fig. 2) includes a second coupling portion connected to the driver IC (102) via a bump (128a, 128d, See Fig. 2) formed on the driver IC (102).
However, Coult fails to explicitly teach that an inclination of a straight line passing through the first coupling portion and the second coupling portion with respect to the first surface is 10° or less.
Ozaki while disclosing an optical transmitter/modulator teaches (See, for example, Fig. 1) an inclination of a straight line passing through the first coupling portion and the second coupling portion with respect to the first surface is 10° or less (See, for example, page 9 third full paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the interconnect bridge assembly of Coult such that the inclination through the first and second coupling portions is within ±30 range as taught by Ozaki because this would provide adequate connection strength.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coult in view of Shirao and Ozaki as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Uemura et al. (US 2012/0045168 A, hereinafter “Uemura”).
In regards to claim 8, Coult discloses all limitations of claim 7 above except that wherein the first coupling portion and the second coupling portion are covered with resin.
Uemura while disclosing a flexible optical wiring board module teaches (See, for example, Fig. 5) the first coupling portion (43a) and the second coupling portion (43b) are covered with resin (50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to cover the bump joints between the interconnect bridge assembly of Coult and both PIC and the driver with underfill resin of Uemura would maintain electrical connection reliability of the bump joints against mechanical and thermal stress.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9 is allowable over the prior art of record.
In regards to claim 9, none of the cited references, alone or in combination, provides a teaching or a reasonable motivation to arrive at a lead portion protruding from an end of the flexible substrate facing a driver IC and connected to the driver IC.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/ERMIAS T WOLDEGEORGIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893