DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-9, 17-18 and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 A2 as being anticipated by Sugiyama(US20230290871A1).
Regarding Claim 1, FIG 1, FIG 2 and FIG 3 disclose a semiconductor device comprising:
a multi-finger high electron mobility transistor (HEMT) (FIG 2; 10A; ¶[0012]), wherein the multi-finger HEMT comprises:
a two-dimensional electron gas (2-DEG) (FIG 2; 15; ¶ [0014]);
a plurality of source fingers (FIG 1; 42, 43 and 60; ¶[0018] ¶[0019] ¶[0015]), wherein a first source finger (FIG 1; 42; ¶[0018]) of the plurality of source fingers extends continuously across the 2-DEG (FIG 2; 15; ¶ [0014]), and a second source finger (FIG 2 and FIG 3; 43 and 60; ¶[0018] ¶[0019]) of the plurality of source fingers is discontinuous across the 2-DEG (FIG 2; 15; ¶ [0014]); and
a plurality of drain fingers (FIG 1; 32; ¶ [0017]), wherein the plurality of drain fingers is interdigitated with the plurality of source fingers (FIG 1; 42, 43 and 60; ¶[0018] ¶[0019]), and the second source finger is part of a current sensing element (FIG 1; 43; 60 and 92; ¶[0018] ¶[0019]; ¶[0015]).
Regarding Claim 2, The semiconductor device of claim 1, Fig 1 and Fig 2 disclose wherein the second source finger comprises a first section (FIG 1 and FIG 2; 43; ¶[0018]) discontinuous from a second section (FIG 1 and FIG 2; 60; ¶[0015]), and a portion the 2-DEG (FIG 2; R and 15; ¶[0023]) provides a conductive path between the first section (FIG 1 and FIG 2; 43; ¶[0018]) and the second section (FIG 1 and FIG 2; 60; ¶[0015]).
Regarding Claim 3, The semiconductor device of claim 2, FIG 2 discloses further comprising an isolation structure (FIG 2; 13; ¶[0012]) adjacent to the portion of the 2-DEG (FIG 2; 15; ¶ [0014]).
Regarding Claim 4, the semiconductor device of claim 1, FIG 1 and FIG 2 discloses further comprising a resistor (FIG 1; R and 92; ¶[0023]); Element 92 is described as having a resistance), wherein the resistor electrically connects a first section (FIG 1 and FIG 2; 43; ¶[0018]) of the second source finger to a second section (FIG 1 and FIG 2; 60; ¶[0015]) of the second source finger, and the first section (FIG 1 and FIG 2; 43; ¶[0018]) is discontinuous with the second section (FIG 1 and FIG 2; 60; ¶[0015]).
Regarding Claim 5, The semiconductor device of claim 4, FIG 1 discloses further comprising an isolation structure (FIG 2; 13; ¶[0012]) adjacent to the resistor (FIG 1; R and 92; ¶[0023]); Element 92 is described as having a resistance).
Regarding Claim 6, the semiconductor device of claim 1, FIG 2 discloses wherein the 2-DEG (FIG 2; 15; ¶ [0014]) is continuous across an entirety of the multi-finger HEMT (FIG 2; 10A; ¶[0012]).
Regarding Claim 7, The semiconductor device of claim 1, FIG 2 discloses wherein the sensing element comprises a gate (FIG 2; 50; ¶[0012]).
Regarding Claim 8, the semiconductor device of claim 7, FIG 1 and FIG 2 discloses further comprising an isolation structure (FIG 2; 13; ¶[0012]) between the gate (FIG 2; 50; ¶[0012]) and an adjacent source finger (FIG 2; 60; ¶[0015]) of the plurality of source fingers (FIG 1; 42, 43 and 60; ¶[0018] ¶[0019] ¶[0015]).
Regarding Claim 9, The semiconductor device of claim 7, FIG1 and FIG 2 discloses further comprising an isolation structure (FIG 2; 13; ¶[0012]) between the gate (FIG 2; 50; ¶[0012]) and an adjacent drain finger (FIG 1; 32; ¶[0017]) of the plurality of drain fingers.
Regarding Claim 17, FIG 1, FIG 2 and FIG 3 a semiconductor device comprising:
a multi-finger high electron mobility transistor (HEMT) (FIG 2; 10A; ¶[0012]), wherein the multi-finger HEMT comprises:
a two-dimensional electron gas (2-DEG) (FIG 2; 15; ¶ [0014]);
a plurality of source fingers (FIG 1; 42, 43 and 60; ¶[0018] ¶[0019] ¶[0015]), wherein a first source finger (FIG 1; 42; ¶[0018]) of the plurality of source fingers (FIG 1; 42, 43 and 60; ¶[0018] ¶[0019] ¶[0015]) extends continuously across the 2-DEG (FIG 2; 15; ¶ [0014]), and a second source finger (FIG 2 and FIG 3; 43 and 60; ¶[0018] ¶[0019]) of the plurality of source fingers is discontinuous across the 2-DEG (FIG 2; 15; ¶ [0014]);
a plurality of drain fingers (FIG 1; 32; ¶[0017]), wherein the plurality of drain fingers is interdigitated with the plurality of source fingers (FIG 1; 42, 43 and 60; ¶[0018] ¶[0019]), and a resistance structure (FIG 1; R and 92; ¶[0023]); Element 92 is described as having a resistance) electrically connecting a first section (FIG 1 and FIG 2; 43; ¶[0018]) of second source finger and a second section (FIG 1 and FIG 2; 60; ¶[0015]) of the second source finger, wherein the first section (FIG 1 and FIG 2; 43; ¶[0018]) is discontinuous with the second section (FIG 1 and FIG 2; 60; ¶[0015]), and the second source finger is part of a current sensing element (FIG 1; 43; 60 and 92; ¶[0018] ¶[0019]; ¶[0015]).
Regarding Claim 18, The semiconductor device of claim 17, FIG 2 discloses wherein the resistance structure (FIG 2; 15, 92 and R; ¶[0021] and ¶[0023]) comprises a portion of the 2-DEG (FIG 2; 15; ¶ [0014]).
Regarding Claim 20, The semiconductor device of claim 17, FIG 1 and FIG 2 disclose further comprising an isolation structure (FIG 2; 13; ¶[0012]) adjacent to the resistance structure (FIG 1; R and 92; ¶[0023]); Element 92 is described as having a resistance).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama(US20230290871A1) as applied to claim 1-9, 17-18 and 20 above, and further in view of Ho(US20220013520A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Sugiyama teaches the semiconductor device of claim 17.
Sugiyama does not teach wherein the resistance structure comprises silicon chromium (SiCr).
Ho teaches in FIG 1 wherein the resistance structure comprises silicon chromium (SiCr) (FIG 1; 116; ¶[0020]).
It is obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the prior art of Sugiyama, a semiconductor device with a resistance structure electrically connecting a first section of second source finger and a second section of the second source finger, and the prior art of Ho having a resistance structure comprised of silicon chromium. This combination produces a semiconductor device with a resistance structure comprised of silicon chromium electrically connecting a first section of second source finger and a second section of the second source finger. The resistor structure comprising of silicon chromium as an alloy to improve the tolerance and performance of the transistor Ho(¶[0020]).
Claims 10-13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Vleeschouwer(US12068408B2) and Takemae(US20120091986A1).
Regarding Claim 10,
De Vleeschouwer teaches in FIG 3 and FIG 4
A semiconductor device comprising: a multi-finger high electron mobility transistor (HEMT) (FIG 1; 20; Col 3 Ln 60-62), wherein multi-finger HEMT comprises:
a first two-dimensional electron gas (2-DEG) (FIG 4; 82; Col 6 Ln 49-52);
a first plurality of source fingers (FIG 3; 67, 72 and 79 and ; Col 5 Line 39 and Col 6 Ln 32-33), wherein a first source finger (FIG 3; 67; Col 5 Ln 39) of the first plurality of source fingers extends continuously across the first 2-DEG (FIG 4; 82; Col 6 Ln 49-52), and a second source finger (FIG 4; 72 and 79; Col 6 Ln 32-33) of the first plurality of source fingers is discontinuous across the first 2-DEG (FIG 4; 82; Col 6 Ln 49-52); and
a first plurality of drain fingers (FIG 3; 64 and 65; Col 5 Ln 46), wherein the first plurality of drain fingers (FIG 3; 64 and 65; Col 5 Ln 46) is interdigitated with the first plurality of source fingers (FIG 3; 67, 72 and 79 and; Col 5 Line 39 and Col 6 Ln 32-33), and
the second source finger is part of a first current sensing element (FIG 4; 79; Col 6 Ln 32-33); and
a multi-finger HEMT (FIG 1; 20; Col 3 Ln 60-62), wherein HEMT comprises:
a second 2-DEG (FIG 4; 81; Col 6 Ln 45-48);
a second source finger (FIG 3; 58; Col 11 Ln 60), and
a second plurality of drain fingers (FIG 3; 55, 56 and 77; Col 14 Ln 24 and Col 8 Ln 59), wherein a first drain finger (FIG 3; 55; Col 14 Ln 24) of the second plurality of drain fingers extends across an entirety of the second 2-DEG (FIG 4; 81; Col 6 Ln 45-48), a second drain finger (FIG 3; 56 and 77; Col 14 Ln 24 and Col 8 Ln 59) of the plurality of fingers is discontinuous across the second 2-DEG (FIG 4; 81; Col 6 Ln 45-48), and the second plurality of drain fingers (FIG 3; 55, 56 and 77; Col 14 Ln 24 and Col 8 Ln 59) is interdigitated with the second source finger (FIG 3; 58; Col 11 Ln 60), and
the second drain finger is part of a second current sensing element (FIG 4; 77; Col 6 Ln 32-33).
De Vleeschouwer does not teach
a high side multi-finger high electron mobility transistor
a low side multi-finger HEMT
a second plurality of source fingers
Takemae teaches in FIG 1A
a high side (FIG 1A; Q1: High side; ¶[0029]) multi-finger high electron mobility transistor
a low side (FIG 1A; Q2: Low side; ¶[0029]) multi-finger HEMT
a second plurality of source fingers (FIG 1A; 10B; ¶[0043])
It is obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the prior art of De Vleeschouwer, a semiconductor device with a first and second 2-DEG, a first plurality of source fingers, a second source finger, a first and second plurality of drain fingers and a first and second current sensing element, and the prior art of Takemae a semiconductor device with a high side, low side and a second plurality of source fingers. The combination produces a semiconductor device with a first and second 2-DEG, a first and second plurality of source fingers, a first and second plurality of drain fingers, a first and second current sensing element, a high side and a low side. A semiconductor stacked structure with a high side and a low side efficiently controls power and control the flow of the current through the transistor Takemae(¶[0030]).
Regarding Claim 11, De Vleeschouwer and Takemae disclose the semiconductor device of claim 10.
De Vleeschouwer does not discloses further comprising a connection structure electrically connecting the high side HEMT and the low side HEMT.
Takemae disclose in FIG 1A further comprising a connection structure (FIG 1A; 30; ¶[0044]) electrically connecting the high side (FIG 1A; Q1: High side; ¶[0029]) HEMT and the low side (FIG 1A; Q2: Low side; ¶[0029]) HEMT.
It is obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the prior art of De Vleeschouwer, a semiconductor device with a first and second 2-DEG, a first plurality of source fingers, a second source finger, a first and second plurality of drain fingers and a first and second current sensing element, and the prior art of Takemae a semiconductor device with a high side, low side connected by a connection structure connecting the high side and low side. The combination produces a semiconductor device with a first and second 2-DEG, a first and second plurality of source fingers, a first and second plurality of drain fingers, a first and second current sensing element, with a high side, low side connected by a connection structure connecting the high side and low side. The connection structures couple the high and low side to allow for electrical charge to be exchanged Takemae(¶[0044]).
Regarding Claim 12, De Vleeschouwer and Takemae disclose the semiconductor device of claim 11.
De Vleeschouwer teaches in FIG 4 the first current sensing structure (FIG 4; 79; Col 6 Ln 32-33) and the second current sensing structure (FIG 4; 77; Col 6 Ln 32-33)
De Vleeschouwer does not teach wherein the connection structure electrically connects
Takemae teaches in FIG 1A wherein the connection structure electrically connects (FIG 1A; 30; ¶[0044])
It is obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the prior art of De Vleeschouwer, a semiconductor device a first and second current sensing element, and the prior art of Takemae a semiconductor device with a connection structure connecting the high side and low side. The combination produces a semiconductor device with a semiconductor device with a connection structure electrically connecting the high side containing a first sensing element and low side containing a second sensing element. The connection structures couple the high and low side to allow for electrical charge to be exchanged Takemae(¶[0044]).
Regarding Claim 13, De Vleeschouwer and Takemae teach the semiconductor device of claim 11.
De Vleeschouwer teaches in FIG 3 and FIG 4 second source finger (FIG 4; 72 and 79; Col 6 Ln 32-33) to the second drain finger (FIG 3; 56 and 77; Col 14 Ln 24 and Col 8 Ln 59).
De Vleeschouwer does not teach wherein the connection structure electrically connects
Takemae teaches in FIG 1A wherein the connection structure electrically connects (FIG 1A; 30; ¶[0044])
It is obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the prior art of De Vleeschouwer, a semiconductor device a second source finger and a second drain finger, and the prior art of Takemae a semiconductor device with a connection structure connecting the high side and low side. The combination produces a semiconductor device with a semiconductor device with a connection structure electrically connecting the high side containing a second source finger and low side containing a second drain finger. The connection structures couple the high and low side to allow for electrical charge to be exchanged Takemae(¶[0044]).
Regarding Claim 15, De Vleeschouwer and Takemae teach the semiconductor device of claim 10.
De Vleeschouwer teaches in FIG 4 further comprising a first isolation structure (FIG 4 with annotations; 89; first isolation structure; Col 6 Ln 11), wherein the first isolation structure is adjacent to the second source finger (FIG 4; 72 and 79; Col 6 Ln 32-33).
PNG
image1.png
100
100
image1.png
Greyscale
Regarding Claim 16, Vleeschouwer and Takemae teach the semiconductor device of claim 15.
De Vleeschouwer teaches in FIG 4 further comprising a second isolation structure (FIG 4 with annotations; 89; second isolation structure; Col 6 Ln 11), wherein the second isolation structure is adjacent to the second drain finger (FIG 3; 56 and 77; Col 14 Ln 24 and Col 8 Ln 59).
PNG
image2.png
100
100
image2.png
Greyscale
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vleeschouwer(US12068408B2) and Takemae(US20120091986A1) as applied to claim 10-13, 15 and 16 above, and further in view of Nakamura(US7138698B2).
Regarding Claim 14, De Vleeschouwer and Takemae teach the semiconductor device of claim 11.
De Vleeschouwer does not teach wherein the connection structure comprises a resistor.
Nakamura teaches in FIG 5 wherein the connection structure comprises a resistor (FIG 5; 18; Col 5 Ln 47-50).
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the prior art of De Vleeschouwer and Takemae, a semiconductor HEMT device with a high side and low side with a connecting structure, and the prior art of Nakamura, a transistor with the connecting structure comprising of a resistor. This combination produces a HEMT with a high side and low side with a connecting structure comprising of a resistor. The resistor in the connection structure is a sensing resistor to monitor the current flowing through the load Nakamura(Col 5 Ln 53-55).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s
disclosure:
Sriram(US8203185B2): This reference teaches a semiconductor device transistor comprising of gate fingers
Bahat-Treidel(US20110221011A1): This reference teaches a semiconductor device transistor comprised of field plate fingers.
/B.Q.R./ Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/RATISHA MEHTA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817