DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/25/2025, 07/29/2025, 06/04/2025, 03/11/2025, 10/18/2024, and 05/08/2024 are considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
In the response filed 01/13/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-15. Claims 16-26 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Haratani et al. (US 20190128882), hereinafter ‘Haratani’.
Regarding Claim 1, Haratani discloses a magnetoresistance (MR) structure (Fig. 1, 100) comprising: one or more MR elements (Fig. 1, 12) each having a serpentine layout formed from two or more groups of parallel lines (Fig. 1; Para [0037] element 12 has a meander structure with sets of three lines), the two or more groups of parallel lines connected by a first plurality of metal pads at a first end of the MR structure and a second plurality of metal pads at a second end of the MR structure opposite from the first end (Fig. 1, pads 21 at both ends of 100; Para [0136]).
Regarding Claims 2 and 3, Haratani further discloses wherein each of the two or more groups of parallel lines include at least two parallel lines (Fig. 1) and of Claim 3, at least four parallel lines (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 4, Haratani further discloses wherein the two or more groups of parallel lines include at least eight groups of parallel lines (Fig. 1, element 12 disclosing groups of parallel lines of more than eight), the first plurality of metal pads includes at least five metal pads (Fig. 1, five pads 21 along element 16 end), and the second plurality of metal pads includes at least four metal pads (Fig. 1, four pads 21 along opposite end of number 16).
Regarding Claims 5 and 6, Haratani further discloses wherein the first plurality of metal pads (Fig. 1, five pads 21 along element 16 end) includes a first metal pad corresponding to a first terminal of the MR element and a second metal pad corresponding to a second terminal of the MR element (Fig. 1, pads 21 with L shaped pads as terminals; Para [0136]) and of Claim 6, wherein the two or more groups of parallel lines are connected to allow current to flow between the first and second terminals of the MR element (Fig. 1, Para [0048-0049] element 12 extends to first area A and second area B with magnetic field input to 12).
Regarding Claims 7 and 8, Haratani further discloses wherein the two or more groups of parallel lines each include parallel lines of equal width (Fig. 1, elements 12) and of Claim 8, wherein each of the parallel lines of the same width include at least two parallel lines with adjacent pairs of the two parallel lines separated by equal spacing (Fig. 1, showing elements 12 parallel lines and respective spacing).
Regarding Claims 11 and 14, Haratani further discloses wherein the one or more MR elements includes at least two MR elements, wherein the serpentine layouts of the at least two MR elements are interleaved (Fig. 1, elements 12 with interleaved pattern and meander structure; Para [0029]) and of Claim 14 wherein the one or more MR elements includes four MR elements, wherein the serpentine layouts the four MR elements are interleaved (Fig. 1, elements 12 with interleaved pattern and meander structure; Para [0029]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haratani et al. (US 20190128882), hereinafter ‘Haratani’.
Regarding Claims 9 and 10, Haratani discloses the MR structure of Claim 1 as disclosed above. Haratani fails to explicitly disclose a first plurality of unconnected lines provided on a first side of the one or more MR elements and a second plurality of unconnected lines provided on a second side of the one or more MR elements opposite from the first side, the first and second pluralities of unconnected lines being electrically isolated from the one or more MR elements, and of Claim 10 wherein the first and second pluralities of unconnected lines both comprise at least two unconnected lines.
However Haratani discloses electrode terminals are connected when it is disposed at a position in contact with the magnetoresistance effect elements 12 (Para [0051]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the lines to be unconnected if not disposed in a position in contact with the terminal. Further Applicants Specification fails to disclose a benefit of unconnected lines therefore no technical effect becomes apparent from the claim of unconnected lines.
Regarding Claim 12, Haratani discloses the claimed structure according to claim 11 above. Haratani fails to explicitly disclose wherein a first one of the at least two MR elements has a longer active area compared to a second one of the at least two MR elements.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide a first one of the at least two MR elements having a longer active area compared to a second one of the at least two MR elements, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 uspq 237 (CCPA 1955), In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Claim(s) 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haratani et al. (US 20190128882), hereinafter ‘Haratani’ as applied to claims 11 and 14 above, and further in view of Endo et al. (US 20160313409).
Regarding Claims 13 and 15, Haratani discloses the claimed structure according to claim 11 above. Haratani fails to explicitly disclose wherein the at least two MR elements are connected to form a half bridge of Claim 13 and wherein the four MR elements are connected to form a full bridge of Claim 15.
Endo discloses a magnetic sensor having a comb-shaped wiring line, the magnetoresistive effect elements, the straight wiring lines, and the second wiring line may be connected, thereby enabling a bridge circuit to be configured for the benefit of enabling the influence of a disturbance magnetic field to be decreased and enabling a detection sensitivity to be increased (Para [0012, 0027]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine and provide the at least two MR elements are connected to form a half bridge or wherein the four MR elements are connected to form a full bridge for the benefit of enabling the influence of a disturbance magnetic field to be decreased and enabling a detection sensitivity to be increased as taught by Endo in Para [0012, 0027].
Conclusion
/ALESA ALLGOOD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858